Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Large Waterfront Home Sleeps 13 perfect for extended Families

Sleeps13
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Space 2,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 13)

DEAL DIRECTLY WITH THE PROPERTY OWNER AND AVOID ANY ONLINE BOOKING FEES CHARGED BY HOMEAWAY, VRBO OR VACATIONRENTALS. Call 978-302-1188 or email jdonahoe at alumni dot berklee dot edu

This 2005 rebuilt, Architect designed home is a Long Lake Dream! Located one mile from the Naples Causeway and the town beach. It sits on it's own private 100 'waterfront with just a few steps into the water which is a sandy two feet deep at entry, and a small clean sandy area (depends on lake water level). With a permanent dock, and a provided canoe to explore the lake, you can spend your afternoon boating one of Maine's most famous recreation lakes. There is a Brick Grill / fireplace at the waters edge for evening bonfires and a nice gently sloping grass lawn to run and play, or relax with a book. Because it sleeps up to 13 people (11 on main floor) THIS IS THE PERFECT WATERFRONT VACATION HOME FOR TWO FAMILIES TO SHARE.

The house has newer furnishings, Cable TV, Wireless Internet and Washer & Dryer. Fabulous stone fireplace in the living room, and large picture windows overlooking the waterfront. Walk to Rick's Cafe or Causeway Landing for lunch, rent Jet Ski's at the Causeway, or walk down for an ice cream in the afternoon sun. No Smoking. Pets Ok with $300 Non Refundable Pet Fee per week.

Call or Email to See Additional Photos.

Newer 4BR, 2 BATH, Sleeps 13 on main floor. Bedroom # 1: Queen bed, Bedroom # 2: Full bed and twin bed, Bedroom # 3: Full Futon bed, 2 Bunk beds and twin bed. Plus full Futon bed in living room. Bedroom # 4 (lower level/basement):Full Futon Bed. Pillows and Blankets are provided for all beds. .

Finished Basement which has a 3/4 bath, Full futon bed, Carpeted floors, Ping Pong Table, Washer & Dryer and stone fireplace all included. Note: because this is a basement it is much cooler on hot days, which is nice but can also on occasion have a musty smell. Possibly not appropriate for persons with allergies. We provide a dehumidifier to help control dampness in the basement.

Swimming, Boating, Fishing, virtually any and all watersport activities on Long Lake, Brandy Pond and Sebago lake (all are connected by water - 48 miles of boating). Take your boat or our free Canoe (provided) to the Naples town dock and eat at one of the many restaurants, or go shopping for antiques. Loads of Antique Dealers in Bridgton, Harrison, Norway and Naples. Hiking and Cycling in the Mountains(Shawnee Peak ski area is just 15 minutes away). Outlet Shopping in nearby 'tax free' Conway NH.

The Causeway in Naples (20 minute walk or 3 minutes by boat) has everything for the kids; Arcade games, Library, Sea-plane rides,Riverboat Cruises, Shopping and lakefront Restaurants. There is Live Theater at Deertrees in Harrison or try the Bridgton Twin outdoor drive in Theatre - just like the old days!

In the fall you will enjoy the best Fall colors in New England, and the famous Fryeburg Fair in nearby Fryeburg. Sit by the fire and take in the amazing views with the fall colors reflecting off the peaceful, calm lake. It just doesn't get any better than this!

Keywords: Waterfront Home, lawn, beach, sandy, dock, canoe, new, extended families, cottage

More Details

Owner
John Donahoe
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
July 17, 2017

About John Donahoe

I am a licensed architect and professional musician. You can find me playing saxophone and electric violin at various venues in the southern Maine lakes region during the summer season. Stop by and say hello.

John Donahoe purchased this house in 2005

Why John Donahoe chose Long Lake

As a licensed architect, when I saw this property I immediately recognized that this would be an excellent lake house for extended families to share. It is large enough that up to 13 people can sleep here (11 on main floor and 2 more in basement) and quite often we find that it is shared by relatives of two or more families. The lower level allows for additional privacy and separate sleeping area and extra bathroom as well as a game room with a ping pong table.

What makes this house unique

The ability to go by boat to three different lakes (Brandy Pond, Sebago Lake and Long Lake)makes this a unique location. One of the top 2 lakes in Maine!

Amenities

Naples House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 13
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • One full bath and one 3/4 bath
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , 2 bunk bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Full futon bed in finished basement.Can at times smell musty
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (2), Bunk Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Fully Equipped Kitchen, Lobster Pot, Toaster, Coffee Grinder, Coffee Maker, Ceiling Fans in All Rooms, Games, Cards, Outdoor Furniture, Gas Grille, Picnic Table at Waters Edge, Brick Fireplace at Waters Edge, Large Deep Water Dock, Small Private Sandy area (Depends on Lake Water Level)! Private Parking for 5 Cars, Canoe, Paddles and Life Jackets Provided

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

85% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
14% Complete
Large Waterfront Home Sleeps 13 perfect for extended Families
average rating of 4.428571 based on 14 reviews
5

SR

  • 5 of 5

My family has been very familiar with this area for many years and have stayed multiple times on various lakes and ponds nearby. When we needed to find a place to stay, on fairly short notice to join family for a celebration of life for my brother, who passed away in April, this home definitely met our needs. Dogs, kids and adults were accommodated nicely. The owner was attentive, but not intrusive, and we had a great stay. The weather even cooperated with no rain except the day we arrived! There is a nice lakeside area with a dock, picnic table and fire area. Well equipped kitchen, a brand new TV, and plenty of seating for all completed the living area with an awesome lake view. Would definitely stay again.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. We recently updated many items including some furniture, new carpet in the basement, new paint and some new kitchen items, new gas grill, plus we added a large wooden section to our dock. We have also added landscaping. So glad you enjoyed the updates.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Boston
5

Great Stay on a Lake in Maine

  • 5 of 5

As a child in the 60s my family of 7 with 2 dogs would summer in Maine and we would travel from as far as Atlanta in 2 cars to get there. As an adult I have lived overseas and traveled extensively. After all of these years Maine still holds a dear place in my heart. With all of this in mind, I tried to avoid getting my expectations too high when I decided to rent a place on a lake in Maine for a summer vacation.

I have to say that my stay at this house on Long Lake was everything and more than I had hoped for. To begin with, the process and logistics of renting the place was done with exceptional professionalism. There wasn’t a T uncrossed or an un-dotted I throughout. The instructions and requirements to rent the place were totally accurate and clear. There wasn’t a thing I would have done differently.

The place was very clean, well appointed and quite large. It truly had the feel of the quintessential “Maine lake home”. Everything was there for both sunny and rainy days, from full decks of cards, to games with no parts missing, to the canoe and deep water dock. There was pretty much everything you needed, enough to leave even the most forgetful of tenants without worry. And you can't beat the location and view.

I really love this place. We will be back, that’s for sure. I recommend this place to anyone who is looking for the real McCoy and is picky about the details and especially if your not, because anyone would love this stay.

  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
windham
5

makayla

  • 5 of 5

Waking up in the morning sun shining through the windows with a view of the lake is amazing. whether it be for swimming, fishing or boating you can do it all here with family and friends. The location is perfect, for you are only one mile away from the causeway full of restaurants, boat rentals and little shops! John has been a wonderful landlord always here for what I may need. If you love Maine's features and are looking for a place to just get away then this is it!!!

  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and happy to assist. Thanks!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Rhode Island
1

Awful

  • 1 of 5

Well I assure you, I am NOT from that same group and I will agree with EVERYTHING BOTH parties had to say with regards to this property. Perhaps those people writing reviews were from the same party, but how do we know the renter who submitted his review from Labor Day isn't a friend or relative writing good reviews for this owner? Don't be fooled people, this property is not what it claims to be. You will not relax and be able to enjoy yourselves unless you are out on a boat all day as the lake itself is pristine! The house is despicable, a joke. We had small children and two of them cut their feet and bled just walking up and down the stairs INSIDE the house! Moldy, smelly and bugs everywhere especially in the basement! Also a member of our family was stung twice by bees on the front door step in which we had to purchase bee repellant to remove several nests! This property is not well cared for at all, not even safe (for children or elderly especially) as far as I'm concerned. We were also forced to go out and purchase an air mattress as the futon which claims to sleep two was rock hard and not comfortable for one adult let alone two! The couch in the basement was covered in animal fur and had a terrible dog odor, we had to cover it with our own sheets just to have a place to sit! NOT ACCEPTABLE!

I will agree with one thing, it is definitely a great location, but that in itself is the ONLY good thing I will say. I could say so much more, but the two previous reviews say it all.

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 1
5

Amazing Waterfront Property!

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I booked a last minute vacation and stayed here for 3 nights. John met us at the house and walked us around the property. The house was clean, very spacious, and exactly what we were looking for. The location was perfect, with just a quick boat ride or car ride into downtown Naples where there was plenty to do. We hiked the many trails in the area with our dogs and watched the sunset at night. I highly recommend it, you will not be dissapointed!

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much. Glad we could fit you in last minute for Labor Day weekend. We agree ... The location can't be beat.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

misrepresented rental property

  • 1 of 5

We were very disappointed in this rental which sounded wonderful as represented by the owner. Upon arrival we were first surprised at the smell of smoke in the house. Our surprises continued! The house is sparsely furnished - one loveseat in the living room, a rocking chair & couch in the "TV room" & a vintage TV which periodically stops working. We opened the basement door to an intense odor of mold & mildew. A dehumidifier is provided and guests are asked to keep it emptied. Almost impossible to keep up with it! The carpeting in this downstairs room is gross. A futon is provided to sleep 2 of the 13 people the house supposedly sleeps. No one should be expected to sleep in this environment. Two people in our party had foot injuries from a nail that was popping out of the carpet on the steps to the basement. Steps leading to the large yard are in poor condition; the sandy beach is comprised of a few stones and a smattering of sand; the dock is serviceable but one needs to be aware that the broken cement dock is still underneath and beyond the newer wooden platform. A potential hazard. The kitchen is quite well supplied. However, the grill on the front of the microwave was loose, fell into the pan on the stove below and spattered hot grease, burning one of the guests. The water pressure is minimal. Fortunately, the weather was beautiful that week & our rented pontoon boat was much enjoyed on beautiful Long Lake.

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: First of all We have no idea who is writing this review as we did not rent to anyone by the name of Judith, but we always make every effort to please our guests as you can see by all of our 5 star reviews. If someone staying at our property was unhappy they should have made it known so we could correct it. We have been doing this for over ten years and have never encountered anything like this and we disagree with these comments.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1

Map

Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Portland
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Ricks Cafe
Nearest Motorway
0.25 Miles
Route 302
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Causeway Landing
Car: recommended

Located in the heart of the Maine Lakes Region.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Naples House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer(Peak) rate
May 12 2018 - Sep 15 2018
7 night minimum stay
$2,975
 
 
Blues festival weekend
Jun 15 2018 - Jun 17 2018
3 night minimum stay
$1,500
Flat fee
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$450
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Cleaning Fee $150
Tax Rate 9.0%

9% Maine Tax
Cleaning fee of $150
Pets allowed with additional non-refundable pet fee of $300 paid at time of booking.
CANCELLATION POLICY: Cancel more than 90 days prior to arrival date and receive back 100% of amount paid, minus $300 re-booking fee.
Cancel less than 90 days prior to arrival: NO REFUND.

50% deposit required to book your week. We also require a signed rental lease. 9% Maine tax also required along with $150 cleaning fee and $300 pet fee if you bring a pet.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties