Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Beautiful redecorated home in the heart of Cozumel

Bedrooms 3
Space 2,094 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights


About the property

Beautifully redecorated home with 3 large bedrooms and baths, 2 living areas

Casa Lucia is wonderfully comfortable, furnished vacation home in Cozumel, Mexico with air conditioning, ceiling fans, perfect for everyone who wants a home away from home! It is in a local neighborhood only eight blocks from the oceanfront, with three bedrooms, three full baths, and two separate living areas, including two screened-in porches for your outdoor pleasure.

The home is tastefully furnished with imported furniture with a tropical flair that will cradle you in comfort. The spacious floor plan of the home allows for views of the garden from almost all rooms, while creating a cool interior without direct sunlight. The master bedroom located on the ground floor has these beautiful bay windows in a private section of the garden, which has mature 30 foot palm tree, 20 foot hibiscus flower 'bush', as well as other local tropical mature plants. The kitchen includes refrigerator, gas stove and stove top, microwave oven, toaster, toaster oven, coffeemaker, and enough housewares to serve eight. Great for get-aways and perfect for divers!

Keywords: Vacation Home

More Details

Property Manager
Kelley Morgan Gonzalez
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 10, 2018

About Kelley Morgan Gonzalez

I have lived and loved Cozumel for over 28 years and learned to scuba dive in this beautiful paradise I now call home. I have raised a family here, started two businesses here and continue to learn something new everyday!

What makes this house unique

Casa Lucia is truly a home away from home, the subtle exterior has a very nice surprise inside! The screened in patio is great for having coffee or relaxing after a great day of diving or snorkeling. The house is designed to be cool with the placement of windows to invite the cross breezes we have here, but also has ceiling fans to help. Ac in each room for those hot summer days too.

Guestbook comments from the manager

My husband and I stayed at Casa Lucia for 2 months, and we were very happy with everything. It is very spacious and clean, as well as nice and cool. We did not need the air conditioning even when it was quite hot outside. The internet is fast and reliable, which was important because I work online. The full kitchen was great because many places in Mexico do not have ovens. There is a lovely outdoor area to eat your meals, and it is private. If you enjoy sports (we play tennis), the sports Unidad is a block away with running track, tennis, basketball, etc. We walked to the grocery store and waterfront, where you can snorkel right off the piers of some of the restaurants. Kelly was very helpful and accommodating. She always responded quickly to emails, and made sure everything runs smoothly. I wouldn't hesitate to rent Casa Lucia again, or any other rental that Kelly had available.
Mar 2014
  • 1 of 4


Colonia Independencia House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2094 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 1:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Village ...
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 2 double
  • King size beds (2), Double Beds (2) Large Bedrooms
  • Books
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Tennis ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Private Yard, Very Secure, Great Local Neighborhood, Close to Town and Local Restaurants


3/5 -
(3 traveler reviews)

33% Complete
0% Complete
33% Complete
0% Complete
33% Complete
Beautiful redecorated home in the heart of Cozumel
average rating of 3.0 based on 7 reviews
Ladysmith BC Canada

Spacious house with good qualities and some negatives

  • 3 of 5

Feb 2017 A one week stay.


Kelley met us and introduced the house. House is very spacious, lots of room for 6 people. Nicely furnished living area with good couches and dining table. Quite well equipped. Newer fridge and clothes washer work well. Didn't use the TV. Cleanliness is OK. Lots of screened ventilation and fans. The A/C's work well, although often not necessary. Downstairs bed was comfortable ( the bedroom we used ). Nice to have the porches. Pictures on the listing are quite accurate. Hot water and bathrooms work OK. We appreciated the juice and lots of drinking water. Kelley was able to book a taxi van to the ferry for us when we left.


House gives the impression it was nicely fixed up but has somewhat deteriorated. We had to find, untangle and reinstall bathroom blind which had fallen off the wall, in order to block the view in from the street. There are tiny ants ( which have in our case nothing to do with leaving food out ), which we understand is not unusual in Cozumel. No other bugs. The house is very noisy, both traffic and neighbours dogs, although the traffic goes quiet overnight and several nights the dogs were quiet. We asked questions about noise before we booked but there was no mention of traffic or dogs in the reply.

Misc Info:

Location is not very convenient. Its 16 blocks to the waterfront ( counted them ), 1.2 Km., about 20 minutes walk. Never got a taxi near the house, usually found one closer to town. By Mexican standards, taxis are very expensive here. Two good supermarkets close together on waterfront road, Mega and Chedraui. Meat and fruit / veg stall across 17 sur. Nice Italian restaurant very close at corner of Xel-Ha and 50 sur. Lots of restaurants on the waterfront road.

Our personal opinion is : This house is good for a larger group who like to walk, do much of their own cooking and are not disturbed by noise.

  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so sorry I did not get a chance to address the ant issues, I wish you would of told me while you were here, it is an easy fix! As for cleanliness, you both even commented to me how well the maid worked and cleaned? Thank you for your frank review, I will advise clients of town noise in the future. Good luck to you both! Kelley
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Don't rent this house

  • 1 of 5

This house was full of ants. The outdoor area could be lovely if anything was done to it but it's not, the beds are so hard we woke up constantly with hip and back pain and the neighborhood is noisy. The acs did not work right the whole time we were there. The bedrooms were cool but the living room areas were hot and the manager blamed us for the acs not working when we left so she kept our deposit. She also left us a scathing note one time because she came into the house when we were gone and the acs were on. Seriously, does a hotel give you acs and then tell you not to use them?? I would advise against renting from this manager.

  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2015
  • Stayed: October 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Trish, Leaving food and dirty dishes out will attract insects on a tropical island. As for any other problems, we had over 15 emails back and forth after your arrival, with no complaints from you, including about the note, which was in response to all of the ac's on with ALL of the windows open, breaking the compressors in the units in the living areas. These are not central ac's that are meant to be left on 24 hours a day, but especially not meant to work with windows open. I have not kept your deposit, VRBO has sent you a note letting you know when to expect it, they are in charge of the refund dates.
Did you find this review helpful?
8 2

Comfortable home in a residential neighborhood

  • 5 of 5

Description is accurate. Property was exceptionally clean and well maintained. Management was excellent and provided a lot of support upon arrival and throughout the stay. Location is near a recreation centre with a swimming pool, basketball courts and a running track. Would recommend this to family and friends who don't want a "resort-style" vacation and prefer a "home-style" stay. Great for families and couples because there are 2 distinct living areas upstairs and downstairs.

  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0


Nearest Airport
5 Miles
Cozumel International Airport
Nearest Ferry
1 Miles
Cozumel to Playa del Carmen
Nearest Golf
7 Miles
Country Club Golf Course
Car: recommended

Some of the best scuba diving and snorkeling in the world right at your finger tips.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $150
Late Arrival Fee $20
Cleaning Fee per day $25
Pet Fee $100

Long term rental prices do not include weekly maid and laundry service, nor electricity usage, this is paid separately, based on actual consumption of guests.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties