Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Vacation in Paradise!

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths (Sleeps 6)

Please come visit our lovely Vacationland home with flourishing green and flower loaded yard. Honestly, it is a little old but charming. We plan to remodel soon, and hope you don't mind a gecko or two. It's Hawaii, so to be expected, right? Home has a screened in lanai for listening to the breaking surf and enjoying the ocean breeze. Looking out you see many tropical plants around the tide pool. This is truly a place to relax and unwind and let all your cares slip away. The house is very private and is surrounded by palm trees. The house is peaceful,spacious, uncluttered, with a large kitchen and nice dining areas for your family. . There are three comfortable bedrooms in which to relax and have a great night's sleep.

Vacationland is on the very eastern tip of the Big Island,this is the undiscovered area on swimmable ocean where you can truly relax and let the island rejuvinate you.

Once you are ready for some adventure take a short 5 minute walk to Wai Opae Tide pools . They have some of the island's best snorkeling. A marine preserve attracts an array of colorful fish and often large sea turtles.

Beautiful coral gardens with many kinds and colors of coral await you, the water is almost always calm due to a reef that breaks the waves before they reach the pond. You may also like to visit the Aha Lanui Warm Springs park with a geothermal pond just 1 mile away.

Other places that might interest you are the one of a kind steam vents, the ever amazing Kiluea Volcano ( in Volcano national park), unusual Hilo town, or take a day trip over to Kailua-Kona a 3 hour drive. Also I suggest you take a step back in time to visit Pahoa town, only 15 minutes away, it's a unique place with a number of very good food establishments, and an old-town feel as you stroll the boardwalks of main street. The Sunday Maku’u farmers market is a social event not to be missed where you’ll find unique trinkets and exotic food as well as other amazing finds,and only about 20 minutes away.

This astonishing location is quiet, out of the Hilo rain and the fast pace of Kona town yet close enough to enjoy them both and still make it back in time to unwind in one of our 3 comfortable bedrooms.

So please give yourself the unforgettable experience to enjoy the magic of your Vacationland Beauty rental home.

Keywords: House

More Details

Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 9, 2017

About Owner

I am a nurse-midwife and love Hawaii and I plan to retire there someday. I live and work in California but try to come to my Hawaiian home twice a year.

Owner purchased this house in 2004

Why Owner chose Kapoho

I have loved this area since coming on vacation here in the 1970's. I love the Red Road, the tide pools and the hot pools as well as all of the plants and birds. The Big Island is rich in natural beauty, geological wonders, archeological sites and ancient cultural practices. Also the International Merry Monarch Hula Festival is held in Hilo every April.

What makes this house unique

TaxID #13450612-01

Guestbook comments from the owner

We feel very blesss to be here i Hawaii and are also very grateful to you for opening your lovely home to us
Jul 2007
  • 1 of 4


Kapoho House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Rural
  • Village
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
  • arboretum
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • museums
  • nude beach
  • pond
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Beachfront: 1 block to the beach-You can heat the ocean from the house. Clothing optional/nude beach nearby.


Good! 3.9/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

44% Complete
16% Complete
22% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
Vacation in Paradise!
average rating of 3.8888888 based on 22 reviews

Great location, house needs serious updates

  • 3 of 5

Perfect location and a decent house. It needs updated or at least some basic repairs. Property manager listed on our form was incorrect so we spent 3 days trying to contact them regarding the internet. Also it has snorkel gear listed but I'd recommend your own. BBQ didn't work either. Overall it was a decent place to rest our heads. Tidepools nearby are amazing!

  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry things were not working and worn out. The house has been sold and has a new owner now as of June 2017.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great snorkeling but.....

  • 2 of 5

Cleaners didn't schedule coming before I arrived. Place was filthy. Owner refunded me appropriately, but this is very "worn around the edges". Needs a huge update and repair, but just be ready for a worn out home and furnishings.

Owner tried very hard and is very nice.

  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bellevue, SK. Canada

Great location

  • 3 of 5

Great location because the tidal pools are a daily event and a most see. The house in general works fine for the price, but could use an update to most things. The furniture could be replaced to a more comfortable set with a couch and chairs set. Dishwasher was broken at the time of our visit but owner was trying to change it. The house has lots of room for complete family of 6 with lots of room for kids to play.

  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2016
  • Stayed: January 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1

Rustic. Sort of like staying in a big tree house, and we liked that

  • 3 of 5

The house was close to things we wanted to do. It was ok, but could use an update. The dishwasher didn't work.

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2016
  • Stayed: December 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Having the dishwasher replaced soon and some updates also. Thank you for your input.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Amazing location, amazing potential.

  • 2 of 5

Location is amazing for the tide pools. Very convenient for those non stop snorkelers. House had plenty of space. Very comfy beds. Now for the negative review, house wasn't very clean and the property not kept up. Had to buy items to clean before we could "settle" in. Also, had to deal with a leaky skylight in the restroom,and it rained all week. And the furniture was very uncomfortable for lounging around. I've spoken to the owner, and feel really confident that the issues we spoke of will be taking care of. Until these items are taking care of, look for another house.

  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2015
  • Stayed: November 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

not as great as we thought it would be

  • 2 of 5

The first thing I want to say is that the location is perfect. However, I was not impressed as the rest of the people that reviewed this property. Maybe my expectations were too high, but I was not impressed. The house needs a lot of work (screens are broken for example) and the furniture was not very comfortable so lounging around in the house was not a pleasant experience. I also found mildew on the one of the twin beds when I removed the sheets. It was very hot when we were there and some of the ceiling fans were not working.

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2015
  • Stayed: August 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry that you were unhappy with your stay. It was unusually hot this year. Need to get new furniture. Thank you.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Nearest Barpub
10 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
10 Miles
Nearest Beach
20 Metres
Tide Pools
Car: necessary

Walking distance from Wai'Opae tide pools at Vacationland.

Other Activities: Shopping, Boating, Parasailing, Wildlife Viewing


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $100
Tax Rate 13.25%

$110/nt - $700/wk - $2000/mo
Jan-Dec .. $110/night .. $7000/week .. $2000/mo. 3 Day minimum..$100.00 cleaning fee. 50% Due upon reserving. Balance due 30 days prior to arrival.
Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.

Dates available: Year Round

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties