Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

A beautiful three story house in a private deep water cove just minutes from

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 nights


About the property

A beautiful house off the beaten path. Wonderful views. Room enough to sleep 12.

Please note the address is incorrect and VRBO has it locked. The correct address is

237 Hickory Pass (not court)

Sparta GA, 31087

The details went into this house. Three bedrooms, two double bunks in recreation rooms, pine floors on top two levels, granite counter tops, a small but very well stocked kitchen (owner was a chef), new flat screen TVs on main and basement, fireplace, two decks, one covered with dining table and ceiling fan, the other running length of house with a great view of the lake. A pergola, webber grill, very large gas grill, and a tiny hibachi grill on deck. The back yard is well lit for beautiful evenings relaxing and watching the sun set. A concrete path was just install so walking to the dock is easier. There is a short slope walking to the water with 181' of shore line. There is a large brand new deck that is great for fishing. Off the dock we caught a 27' catfish (among a lot of other smaller ones). The dock has plenty of depth, 7-8 ft of water.

Dan Moran
Member since: 2017
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 21, 2018

About Dan Moran

Dan is the owner of D&K Sheds in Loganville Ga., and Stacy has worked in the banking business for thirty two years. They have a seventeen year old daughter who plans on attending Kennesaw State after her senior year. They plan on retiring at this lake house in 2024 but want to share it with others until this point.

Dan Moran purchased this house in 2016

Why Dan Moran chose Sparta

The bedrooms are on three different levels, Master on main, one bedroom upstairs and downstairs. There are double bunk beds on both of these floors for more people.

The decks are great, one going the length of the house and the other on the side is covered with a dining table. What really attracted us to this property was the design of the house and the area it is in. It may take longer to get to, but once there you are away from everything. Please note that the closest shopping center is a 40 minute drive. There is a c store with non ethanol gas and bait 3 miles down the road.

What makes this house unique

This house not been set up as a regular rental. We spend a lot of time there and have made this a special place. I am a retired restaurant owner and love to cook. There a ton of spices and baking supplies that we encourage our renter to use. There are new dishes and glassware, plenty of dinnerware, real glassware and plastic for outside. Lots of bowls, knifes and cooking utensils (knives that are actually sharp). We have stocked the kitchen with a new blender, toaster, mixer, a portable ice maker, big pots for a low country boil, even an ice cream maker that will make dessert in just 45 minutes. There is an icemaker in the fridge, an under the counter microwave, glass top convection oven, even a 5 gallon water jug stand. This house is on a community well and we prefer bottled water for drinking. Since I'm on the water subject when you first get there you may notice a sulfuric smell when the hot water is running. That is normal for well water and will disappear with the usage of the hot water. We also have a washer and dryer for your usage. Stacy has stocked the bathrooms with new fluffy towels and even have a few for outdoor use. We do own a pontoon boat that can be rented to experienced boaters. We have a golf cart for you to use, but please, adults only.

There are dog hairs in this house, so if you have a problem with pet dander this is not the right house. We do not mind dogs staying but we do have a $75 fee. I've even built a ramp for Sparky (he loves to swim).


Sparta House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet
    Bathroom 5 - toilet
  • Upstairs has one full bathroom, main and basement have full and half baths.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 - 1 double
  • Two recreation rooms have double bunks, single on top and double on bottom.
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
We have a 2014 EZ-GO golf cart for you to use. Adults only!


4.8/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
A beautiful three story house in a private deep water cove just minutes from
average rating of 4.8 based on 5 reviews
Jacksonville, FL

Awesome vacation for our family of 6!!

  • 5 of 5

First lake vacation for us and we were not disappointed! House was great and the owners were extremely helpful in answering all our questions. The lake was amazing and their new dock was fantastic! Rented a jet ski and paddle board which we all loved. It was delivered straight to the house! We fished, swam, tubed, jet skied, and paddle boarded, an absolute blast!! And the serenity was perfect. It is a little remote, but one trip into town was all we needed. We highly recommend this rental for your next lake vacation!

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the great review! We are so happy you had a good time.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Spring Break 2018

  • 4 of 5

Awesome place -- so quiet and very secluded!!! The house was big enough that the seven of us did not feel cramped or crowded; the dock was amazing and perfect. The very large grill on the top deck of the house was wonderful...we were able to cook enough food at one time for all of us. Unfortunately, the fish were not interested in what we offered them as bait. We did catch a few fish that were big enough to keep but most were too small to keep. My 12 year old granddaughter caught the biggest fish of us all - a nice sized catfish - the very last night we were there. I missed it because I was packing! Thank you for sharing your amazing lake house with us. We really had a good time.

  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
newnan, ga 30265

great place and dan was great with info

  • 5 of 5

whole family had a great time looking forward to next year hopefully

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Kevin. I look forward to hearing from you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very nice lake house

  • 5 of 5

Owners were very good at making contact and answering all concerns/questions we had. The lake house was very nice and well stocked for a comfortable family vacation.

  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the nice review!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

House was exactly as represented and had everything we needed for a great week at THE LAKE.

  • 5 of 5

House was great for 4 teenagers, a7 yr old and 2 adults. Nicely furnished and lots of separate gathering spaces. Wish for more seating on the main level. Owners were super nice. Would definitely recommend if you're looking for a true retreat. Thanks for a great week.

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: necessary




Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $75
Cleaning fee $115
Refundable damage deposit $300
Tax Rate 7.0%

We are 40 minutes to a grocery store. The closest is the Kroger in Milledgeville.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties