Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

LARGEST BIG GROUP SKI ON & OFF HOME FOR RENT WITH PARKING FOR OVER 10 CARS ,SITE

Sleeps28
Bedrooms 7
Bathrooms5
Half Baths1
Space 6,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

- 6 BR+, 6 BA, Sleeps 10 to 28 comfortably SHORT TERM RENTAL UNTIL END OF SEASO

WATCH THE SKIERS GO BY FROM A BUILDERS 6000 SQ FT HOME looking out of the many large picture windows including TWO MASTER BEDROOM SUITES. 3 FAMILY ROOMS WITH FLAT SCREEN T V, HBO STARS AND 150 CHANNELS: 3 REFRIGERATORS IN DIFFERENT AREAS OF HOUSE WITH FREEZERS; NEW FREE STANDING ICE MAKER, MAKING 15 POUNDS OF ICE A DAY. AND OF COURSE THERE ARE 2 LARGE DECKS FACING THE SLOPES .Located on Okemo Mountain where you can ski-on/ski-off Sachem Trail. NOT YOUR ORDINARY PACKED BEDROOMS HOUSE WITH MANY BEDS IN ONE ROOM AND NO PRIVACY. VERY NICE TO SKI BACK FOR LUNCH OR A LITTLE NAP BEFORE SKING THE AFTERNOON. 2 WASHERS AND DRYERS TO KEEP CLOTHES DRY. HOT TUB IS COVERED BY DECK ABOVE SO YOU CAN ENJOY WATCHING THE SKIERS GO BY WITHOUT GETTING SNOWED ON AND GETTING ICE HEAD DURING A SNOW STORM, SHORT 3 FOOT WALK TO INSIDE FROM TUB. THE SOLITUDE AND QUIET CANT BE MATCHED EXCEPT ON THE MOUNTAIN! CALL ME FOR SLEEPING ARRANGEMENTS WHICH WILL FIT YOUR NEEDS. SPRING,SUMMER AND FALL ARE BEAUTIFUL ON THE MOUNTAIN ALSO . This is the perfect spot for a couple of related families with a large group to enjoy. 3 large family rooms, pool table, ( and many places to just hide out from everone else) 3 LARGE FLAT SCREEN TV,S WI-FI WET BAR LOWER LEVEL NEAR HOT TUB, hockey table IN SEPARATE ROOM FOR KIDS TO MAKE NOISE WITHOUT ANOYING PARENTS, 2 gas fireplaces, . Three levels of living space and a large ski room means there is plenty of room to spread out and enjoy. WHY WAIT FOR A SHUTTLE BUS ,OR THAT LONG WALK TO THE PARKING LOT, THIS IS SKI PARADISE AT OKEMO FOR YOU AND YOUR FRIENDS no smoking or pets allowed, age and group ltd.

More Details

Owner
Fred Detar
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
February 2, 2018

About Fred Detar

I am the owner of this home and others in Vermont, Connecticut , Florida, Boston and the Caribbean. I have been renting, building and selling properties for over 33 years. It has been my pleasure to rent vacation properties to people like you!

Why Fred Detar chose Ludlow

THIS IS A VERY LARGE, ROOMY FUN PLACE TO BE ; WITH YOU AND YOUR FRIENDS. SKI ON AND OFF FROM THE CORNER. OF THE LOT.

What makes this house unique

IF YOU WISH A HEATED 3 CAR OVERSIZED GARAGE , WITH LOTS OF OUTSIDE PARKING ON SITE FOR YOUR FRIENDS

Amenities

Ludlow House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 6000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 28
  • Min. age of primary renter: 24
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Extra cleaning, extra fees. No video games allowed on house T V. Disconnect of any wires so T V do not work extra fees
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Resort
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 20 people
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 6 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 7 Bedrooms, Sleeps 28
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 1 double
    Bedroom 6 - 1 double
    Bedroom 7 - 8 twin/ single
  • 3 sleeper couches
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Pool Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Spa Whirlpool
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Outdoor hot tub, indoor Jacuzzi, full kitchen, garage

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

62% Complete
12% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
12% Complete
LARGEST BIG GROUP SKI ON & OFF HOME FOR RENT WITH PARKING FOR OVER 10 CARS ,SITE
average rating of 4.125 based on 8 reviews
5

Great house in great location

  • 5 of 5

Very nice house, has everything you need and plenty of space, we had a blast like usual

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
3

Accommodating

  • 3 of 5

The large home was very accommodating for our large group, we were very fortunate to have wonderful weather with lots of fresh powder. Plenty of room. Thank you Fred and Allen for your quick responses to our questions. We love Okemo Mountain.

  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your comments Rhoda and you large group. My people who live in Ludlow are always there to help give answers to questions , problems that might arise. we always aim to make your stay as great as possible. Okemo always has the best conditions in the east, and it is nice to be on the slopes
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
1

FILTHY DIRTY HOUSE, UNRESPONSIVE OWNER

  • 1 of 5

WARNING!!! This house is disgusting. It has not been cleaned in months, possibly years.

The owner is unresponsive to complaints and takes zero responsibility for the condition of his house. When we arrived there was no water period. No hot water, no cold water, nothing. The owner took great pride getting the water turned back on. However, by then it was obvious with the lack of water, the house was not cleaned at all prior to our arrival.

Everywhere inside the home is debris, dirt, human hair, grime, mold, scum and even dried muddy footprints everywhere. Every single cup, coffee mug, plate, pot, pan and piece of kitchenware was so filthy it had to be scrubbed and disinfected prior to use. The bedrooms were not vacuumed, littered with cookie wrappers, old discarded deodorant sticks, stained underwear from prior tenants, and chewed straws and long black hairs inside the beds. The bed sheets were also stained and filthy dirty. We had no choice but strip the beds, wash all sheets & towels ourselves. The first night consisted of all the guests of the home cleaning the house for 6 hours. The bathrooms were moldy, with hair everywhere, and decorated with ripped shower curtains tied to fasteners. Both of the gas fireplaces had slow gas leaks and are barely functioning; the fire cuts out in less than 5 minutes. The garage is stacked with construction material, dirt, debris and an illegal oil/gas tank. The driveway was akin to an ice skating rink with very little dirt and salt — the maintenance man offered us directions where we could find a shovel and dirt in case we wanted to spread it ourselves. There is no direct ski on / ski off access from the home to the mountain. You have to walk down the street and through the backyard of neighbor's home — and they did not appear to be pleased!

The owner accused us of lying, doctoring photos we sent to him within 30 minutes of our arrival, and trying to run some sort of scam on him.

Renters Beware!

  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Keith k asked to check in early and I allowed him to come in early to ski all day because it was available. he came back to the house at 3:14 pm while the hot tub guy was servicing the tub, because of high calcium in the mountain wells the whole house filter plugged up, my maintenance was called and fixed it by 3:45 pm fifteen minutes before regular check in time. Keith called and demanded $1000 of the price because of the problem, I said that if he wanted i would give him a full refund if he left and didn't use and dirty the house, he said no and stayed full term. Later he called and said home was dirty, I called my cleaning crew of 35 years and she called to talk to keith and he verbally said to her " you come over here and i will rip you face off ", when I called him back he said he will take care of it himself . He later sent some trumped up pictures t hat he had to have made up. Linens and house keeping are superior and can be backed up by rave reviews on both sides of his rental. By Sunday evening he had a personal injury attorney contacting me about getting a full refund on the 4 day rental. I talked before , during, and after the rental even after many malicious, slanderous, and defaming calls by Keith. in 35 years of renting I have never run in people like this. It is my opinion that the group had a motive before entering my home, what he said was impossible with the reviews that I have on either side of his rental. people have enjoyed and loved being in SKI PARIDISE @ Okemo for over 25 years Fred Detar resort 104851
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
Northbridge, MA
5

Great slope-side rental for larger groups!

  • 5 of 5

This place was perfect for our large group of skiers. Fred (owner) was very responsive, helpful and flexible. Being able to ski on and off and have meals at the house made things so convenient with our large group. The house worked out so well with plenty of space, beds, bathrooms, parking, etc. I would definitely return. If you have a large group definitely consider this place.

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Its always my p;easure to have people enjoy themselves at my location any time of the year
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Perfect house for large group!

  • 5 of 5

This property was perfect for our large group! The various levels worked great for our mixed generations. Plenty of bedrooms and private bathrooms. Can't say enough about how well this works for a large crowd.

  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was a pleasure to serve Jennifer and her group of doctors from Yale university, thet told me they spread out and had plenty of room for all, and the skiing wa great as always at Okemo
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
4

Great location! Helpful owner!

  • 4 of 5

Relatively easy ski in/out trail access, views of the lower part of the mountain and lifts, great for kids! The owner, Fred, was wonderful at keeping in touch with us, answering questions, etc. Wifi, hot tub, large garage, lots of parking, pool table, air hockey, 2 washers & dryers.

The only suggestion I'd make if you rent this property is to bring your own towels as the ones provided are small.

  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I OFFERED 2 TOWELS PER PERSON AND THOUGHT THAT WAS ENOUGH, I WILL BE GETTING AT LEAST ONE LARGER BATH TOWEL PER PERSON IN THE FUTURE
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Map

Skiing, hiking

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $350
Damage Deposit $1,000

$4000/midweek (5 days) - Sunday-Thursday MOVING FURNITURE, DISCONNECT OF T.V FOR PLAYING GAMES, & EXTRA CLEANING MAY INCREASE FEES
$$40,000 TO $60,000/ Ski Season
Call for off season rates.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties