Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Quiet beautiful Duplex with Google fiber close to IHOPU Kansas city 🌃

Bedrooms 2
Space 900 sq ft
Property type house


About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath (Sleeps 7)

We love our guests and try to do our best to serve every each one of them. So here is the start: Clean stylish 2 bedrooms, 1 full bath, about 700sf living area plus laundry room (with washer/dryer/detergent) and attached garage. Free fiber internet in the house. Almost half acre front and back yard. And this is just a sweet start...

My husband and I used to travel a lot for business. We know exactly what a traveler wants. That's why we equip our place with an eye to what we ourselves wanted when we travelled. To name a few:

* full size ironing board and iron


*coffee stand with coffee maker, coffee and different flavored tea bags

*paper towels, napkins, tissue papers

*laundry detergent, dish soaps

* bath soap, shampoo, conditioner, bath gel


And yes, almost everything you have in your own home, like a sewing kit, Advil, First Aid kit, and even a water purifying pitcher, to make you feel like you are home.

And for your convenience, we have paper plates, plastic cups and utensils in case you are tired and don't want to do dishes.

Very convenient location:

2 minutes drive to Truman market shopping center and restaurants

5 minutes walk to IHOPU, dollar tree, library, Little Caesars.

3 minutes drive to IHOPKC FCF, 8 minutes to the Global Prayer Room.

3 minute drive to a beautiful gym - The View - which has an indoor water slide and a climbing wall.

1 minute drive to Grandview City Hall, Post Office, UPS.

2 minutes to HWY 71/49.

15 minutes to downtown Kansas City.

10 minutes to the Belton medical center.

15 minutes to Kauffman Stadium.

15 minutes to Kansas City Convention Center.

30 minutes to Worlds of Fun/Oceans of Fun.

-- pretty much any KC destination is within 30 minutes

We are three blocks from Hwy71, yet you can't hear any noise from the freeway. It's a nice, quiet neighborhood with neighbors who have lived here for decades. Just down the road from IHOP University where IHOPKC trains their missionaries.

Hope you will feel like you are in your own home. May God bless your stay : )

More Details

Hannah McGowan
Member since: 2017
Speaks: english, mandarin, Cantonese
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 15, 2018

About Hannah McGowan

I am a designer and my husband is a retired professional worked in health care industry. We moved from San Francisco bay area to KCMO in 2010 for the better education environment here. We have few small investment properties which I now am turning into vacation rentals. I love to remodel and decorate my houses and hope I can share the beauty and peace with my guests. : D

Guestbook comments from the owner

Connie is so neat and clean, and John gave our girl a silver coin! Very nice family, very friendly and responsible. Sweet people sweet family! They gave us wonderful feedback which will help us to improve in the future. They are clearly very experienced and knowledgable in this area. We hope all of our guests are like the Edwards.
May 2017
  • 1 of 1


Kansas City House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 12:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 1:00 PM
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , One twin size day bed has a slide out trundle bed underneath
  • Television
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • shopping
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services


Very Good! 4/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

33% Complete
55% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
11% Complete
Quiet beautiful Duplex with Google fiber close to IHOPU Kansas city 🌃
average rating of 4.0 based on 10 reviews

Adequate and reasonable

  • 4 of 5

Nothing fancy here, but it was just what we were looking for. Adequate and reasonable, and the location was great for our visit to IHOPKC. We can't comment on TV or Internet because we didn't use either. A couple things could use some attention: the shower curtain was pretty gross, the bathroom door and one bedroom door were difficult to close, and some light bulbs were missing. Other than that, the house was just fine, and we enjoyed some bird-watching in the back yard!

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Fort Myers

Quaintly Perfect

  • 5 of 5

The place reminded me of going home to grandma in so many ways. We spent three nights. We did a road trip got there early and we was welcomed inside the home early. Is very close to Weston where you can ski and go sledding. KC is a 10 minute drive and have markets to Zoos to planetarium to science and history. There is a Mexican restaurant around the corner of the house best food ever. The shower was to die for! The home was warm, comfortable and quiet. Thank you for the use of your home!

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great little place

  • 4 of 5

This was a duplex with 2 bedrooms, both nice size. One room had two twins and the other a queen or king mattress and box spring that was on the floor. I'd give this place 5 stars if they would put the mattress and box springs on a Hollywood or platform frame as it was quite low and hard to get up from but the mattresses were all comfortable. there were plenty of hangers available. There's enough hot water in the shower for one and a half showers so better to split up the shower time. Plenty of bath towels available along with shampoo, conditioner, soap, toothpaste and a hair dryer. I loved the floor radiator. reminded me of my grandmother's home. Only 10 degrees outside but plenty warm inside. The TV has a great picture. you just need to have a netflix or Hulu account to make good use of it. The kitchen was large. I had no issue with the driveway. You have to drive in at an angle to get up it anyway so there's really no problem here. The house is close to the city of Grandview and just a couple blocks off the freeway so it's a quiet neighborhood. Thanks for opening your home to us!

  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Very cozy and comfortable home

  • 5 of 5

We rented the home for a mini family getaway, we attended the Kansas City Chiefs/Buffalo Bills football game and we were happy for we are Buffalo Bills fans. We are a family of 6 and the home was absolutely perfect for us. The owner takes great care in making sure all the comforts of home are there for us. Coffee, shampoo, toothpaste etc. Even a nice first aid kit in the kitchen incase it is needed. The home is tastefully decorated. The kitchen is huge! although I did not need to do any cooking, everything was there incase I needed it. The heater is a bit noisy but not bad. I would definately rent this home again. The owners are also very quick to respond and very accomodating for I needed to check in a bit early.

  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Old house needing more work

  • 1 of 5


*The owners appear to be trying to provide a nice stay

*New or refinished flooring

*We saw no live insect activity in the house

*There were many thoughtful touches: soda, water, apples, cereal, shampoo, dish washing soap, paper towels, etc.

*Washer/dryer in room in garage

*Quiet neighborhood, very large lot

*No one in the attached house, so very quiet (houses separated by the garages so likely quiet in any event)

*Nice shower head

*Good Wi-Fi

*Large TV

*Comfortable mattresses in second bedroom


*The king size bed is sitting on the floor. Top of mattress is only 15 inches off floor. Very difficult to get in/out of so we used beds in 2nd bedroom. We rented expecting a king size bed but couldn’t use it.

*Bathroom is tiny. There is no place to set anything down. The sink is only 30 inches high and not securely attached to wall. The track for shower doors is still in place even though the shower uses a curtain. This is a nuisance and is a cleaning problem. There’s an ungrounded plug in the light fixture over the medicine cabinet which is concerning for electrical safety. Generally speaking, the bathroom is old and very tired.

* Beds were made with only a bottom sheet and a duvet – no top sheet. That may work for some people, but unless the duvet is laundered between guests, that didn’t work for us. We found two extra sheets which solved the problem. I know that’s the way it’s done in some places and we found a work-around.

*Ceiling fan blades and air conditioner very dirty. Floors were clean but a lot of dust elsewhere.

*This is an old house that needs more work to bring it up to today’s standards.

Over all, it looks like a couple trying hard to give a good VRBO experience for their guests. It seems to work for several guests but in our opinion, they have a ways to go.

  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Older homes have their old charms like older people. We never said that this is a big new house. But it is clean, cozy, comfortable and functional like you stated in your review. And that is what we provide to our guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Everything we expected and more!!

  • 4 of 5

The description to this property is accurate. The welcoming amenities from the owners were nice. The location was ok, 15 minutes to town. The owners were very accommodating and responded promptly to all questions and concerns. They were extremely flexible with the check out time which was a huge plus for us because we had a later flight. Having a washer/dryer was amazing. The only thing that took some getting used to was the t.v situation. All in all would totally recomend to others and stay again myself. Thumbs up!

  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
36.5 Miles
Kansas City International Airport
Nearest Barpub
1.7 Miles
54th Grill & Bar
Nearest Restaurant
1.7 Miles
54th Grill & Bar
Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $80

In an effort to be as affordable as possible, we are not charging a damages deposit. We are trusting that you will treat our home as you would your own, and we know that you will honor that trust.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties