check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Oceanfront Penthouse at Sugar Beach, Free Wifi, Cal King Bed ~ Updated!

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
condo
Sleeps
4
Bedrooms
1
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
5 nights

About the property

Condo, 1 Bedroom + Queen Sofa Sleeper, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

Our OCEANFRONT condominium is a Penthouse unit at Sugar Beach Resort (6 floors total) in Kihei, Maui.

Our condo is one bedroom, one bath with a California king size bed and a Queen sofa sleeper in the living room to accommodate up to 4 people. We have just updated our condo with all new living room and bedroom furniture. The unit is non-smoking and elevator accessible. Enjoy all the comforts of home including FREE wireless internet access, central air conditioning, in-unit washer and dryer, 2 LCD flat screen televisions, cable and DVD player.

This Maui beachfront condo offers spectacular ocean views from the private lanai (balcony) and since it is a penthouse, you can enjoy a peaceful vacation with no sounds from neighbors above! The living room opens to the lanai so you can experience beautiful ocean views throughout the entire living area and kitchen as well. There is a 42 inch-HD LCD flat screen TV with a DVD player in the living room and also FREE wireless internet access.

The kitchen is fully equipped with everything you will need to enjoy your vacation including dishes, utensils, blender, dishwasher, microwave, toaster, stove, full-size refrigerator, and much more.

The bedroom has a new pillow-top California king size bed, a 32-inch LCD HD flat screen TV and ceiling fan so you will feel right at home. Fresh, clean linens and towels (including beach towels) are provided as well as an iron and ironing board. The bathroom is attached to the bedroom but it can also be easily accessed without entering the bedroom.

Sugar Beach Resort is located on the white, sandy beaches of Sugar Beach in Kihei, Maui. Kihei is centrally located on Maui, just a 15 minute drive from the airport and 5 minutes from upscale Wailea. The resort is oceanfront and each of the two buildings is just steps from the beach. The grounds are beautifully landscaped with tropical flowers and palm trees. There is a large beachfront pool and also a Jacuzzi and sauna that overlook the ocean. Plenty of lounge chairs are available at the pool and on the beach. There are also several gas barbeque grills for your use, 2 tennis courts and a putting green for practicing your golf game.

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
January 5, 2017

About The Owner

My husband and I fell in love with Sugar Beach Resort and bought this condo in 2006. This is our home away from home and we hope you enjoy it as much as we do! We live in Michigan with our twin daughters. They were born in 2014 and keep us very busy!!

The Owner purchased this condo in 2006

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(16 traveler reviews)

Oceanfront Penthouse at Sugar Beach, Free Wifi, Cal King Bed ~ Updated!
average rating of 4.5625 based on 16 reviews
5

Picture Perfect

  • 5 of 5

We’ve been to Maui several times but this was our first stay at Sugar Beach. The condo was lovely and the view was incredible. We enjoyed our morning coffee everyday on the balcony overlooking the ocean. The condo was very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. We had one issue connecting to the wifi when we arrived but we contacted the owner and she got back with us in minutes. It was a perfect getaway and we are planning to return next year for our anniversary!

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Everything was wonerfull.

  • 4 of 5

The accommodations were all as stated.

  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Boulder, CO
2

Beautiful setting, very comfortable bed & enjoyed walks along the beach.

  • 2 of 5

The carpets are filthy, closet rods, wood trim,baseboards, ventilation grills, floor tile grout need a thorough cleaning. The shower is moldy and the caulk needs to be replaced. The closets seem to be used as storage areas for left over stuff. Kitchen utensils are a collection of mismatched items. If this unit were thoroughly cleaned and updated, it could be fantastic! As it is, unfortunately, there seems to be a lack of care by the owner. We have used VRBO previously in Hawaii, the mainland and Canada and this unit has been a real disappointment.

  • Submitted: Dec 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so very sorry; we really do appreciate your comments and take them very seriously. We have the condo professionally cleaned before the arrival of every guest and about two months ago we started using a different cleaning company. Upon receiving your comments we contacted them immediately to have them deep clean the entire condo. We find the items you mentioned unacceptable and apologize again. We also just scheduled a company to professionally clean all of the carpeting later this week as well. As for the closets, we do have an extra comforter set and linens available for our guests to use during their stay. We just ordered new curtains and have purchased all new utensils and flatware as well. We do hope you will consider staying with us again in the future. We have many guests return year after year and we hope you will do the same. Mahalo!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
California
5

Wonderful view, nicely furnished unit

  • 5 of 5

Pictures were right. It's a great ocean view from the lanai. We even saw the green flash at sunset the second night there. Condo unit was nicely furnished, king bed was comfortable. Resort has a big pool, hot tub, and sauna. Just steps to the beach where you can walk about five miles total. Wifi worked well on our iPads. We found two great FM radio stations, PBS at 90.7 and mostly Hawaiian music at 92.5. Mostly older people at the resort although there were a few younger ones with kids. Using a keypad for condo entry was a much better idea than carrying around an extra key for a week. Of course it helped that the weather was beautiful all week; no rain at all.

  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The view is out of this world!

  • 5 of 5

This condo was absolutely perfect for our first time in Maui. The brand new bed that was put in right before we arrived was super comfortable! We never heard any noise while we were in the condo. In fact the sugar beach complex was kepted up very nicely. You always saw staff working on the property and everyone was very friendly. The restaurant Which Which on the property had the best BLT I've ever had. Very fresh and very large. We booked a couple events through the staff and we enjoy them very much. I suggest doing the tour to Hana and not driving it yourself. The condo is also very centrally located to everything. I could go on forever about this place. Thank Amy for our stay at you home. We will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Roseville, California
5

Our 2nd stay - we will be back!

  • 5 of 5

This was our second stay in this condo in two years and we absolutely loved everything about it. Let me start with the view – the view is breathtaking from the top floor. We spent many hours on the lanai (and in the living room, because you are right there, on the ocean) just taking in the view. The condo was very clean and had everything we needed to make us feel at home. The kitchen was fully stocked which was great because we like to hit the local seafood market, cook dinner and enjoy some wine on the lanai. The bed was very comfortable and we appreciated having a good size TV in the bedroom and the living room. The owner is great to deal with, gave us recommendations on restaurants and grocery stores and even gave us a late check out for free because our flight didn't leave until the evening. We will definitely be back again next year!

Richard & Evelyn Pieters

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Maalaea Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
High Season 2017
Jan 1 2017 - Apr 16 2017
5 night minimum stay
$225
$1,393
 
 
Holiday Season 2017
Dec 20 2017 - Jan 3 2018
5 night minimum stay
$269
$1,750
 
 
High Season 2018
Jan 4 2018 - Apr 8 2018
5 night minimum stay
$249
$1,603
 
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$160
$973
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $105 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.42%

The above rates are for reservations of less than 7 nights. For reservations of 7 nights or longer, the following rates apply:

January 4 - January 31.....$189/night
February 1 - February 28.....$195/night
March 1 - April 20....$189/night
April 21 - December 15....$139/night
December 16 - January 3.....$195/night

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Maalaea Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Oceanfront
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Elevator
  • Free Long Distance
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Private Pool
  • Sauna
  • Shared Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties