Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Luxury Style Cabin with tons of wildlife sightings.

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,000 sq ft
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Cabin, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath (Sleeps 6) -209 Old Spruce Dr. Decorah, IA 52101


209 Old Spruce Dr. Decorah, IA 52101

Green Gate Entrance.

11 miles NE from Decorah, IA.

Beautiful Modernized Log Cabin set upon the beautiful bluffs of North East Iowa. 2 Bedrooms. 1 Bath. Central Air and a beautiful deck to relax and grill out. Tranquility is a given around these parts. Enjoy local wildlife, beautiful chirping of birds, chuckling pheasants with a view that can't be beat. 15 minutes from Decorah gives you easy access to all things North East Iowa.This place will make you think you've died and gone to redneck heaven.

***Bring Bath Towels***


More Details

Shanyn Hart
Member since: 2017
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 21, 2018

About Shanyn Hart

Jacob and Shanyn Hart bought the campground and cabins in 2016. Jacob is a Land Broker/ Auctioneer for High Point Realty and Auction out of Minnesota, Iowa and Wisconsin. Shanyn owns a Social Media Marketing Firm specializing in optimization for businesses through social media. Both Jacob and Shanyn have Owned and Managed Rental Properties for several years. Both take a lot of pride in the property and are continuously updating the Cabins and Campground for an even more enjoyable experience every year. Both enjoy hunting and being with friends and family in their spare time.

Shanyn Hart purchased this cabin in 2016

Why Shanyn Hart chose Decorah

Not Many properties offer the views we do. Cabins sit on top of the Big Bluffs of the Driftless region, a rare view in Iowa. Overlooking the Upper Iowa River and close to the trout streams, it is a great location for anyone wanting to fish, have a campfire experience with their family and enjoy the abundance of wildlife.

What makes this cabin unique

The morning fog rising over the valley is an experience to be seen like no other. It's like you are on top of the mountains.


Decorah Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:30 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events allowed
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • NO TRAILS! If you go outside the mowed yard or Gravel driveway there is a $200 Trespassing Fine.
Location Type:
  • Rural
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • Bedroom -1 King Bedroom- 1 Queen 1 Queen Size Air Mattress
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching


4.3/5 -
(3 traveler reviews)

33% Complete
66% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Luxury Style Cabin with tons of wildlife sightings.
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 3 reviews

Nice Cabin

  • 4 of 5

The view is fantastic, but the weather didn't cooperate, saw deer, pheasant, eagles, and beautiful fall color on the trees. The weather was cloudy & rainy but we had a very nice stay. The only thing I could recommend would be some more seating inside & out on the deck. All in all a great stay, thank you.

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review and we will deeply consider finding a way to put more seating in that space and out on the deck. Let us know if you think we should possibly reconsider putting this cabin as a 4 person cabin instead of 6? Thanks for staying with us and hope you will again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location and cabin...just needs a couple things....

  • 4 of 5

Great location up on a high bluff overlooking several valleys. The wild life was abundant. The cabin is clean and comfortable except for a couple things...IT NEEDS CURTAINS OR BLINDS!..every window is wide open with nothing to cover them with...also the bedrooms lack ceilings which made it quite noisy. Other than these two things, it is a great place to stay at.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Joe, We apologize that you did not have a good time. We had never had a complaint about the cabins not having blinds or the exposed ceiling concept/noise in the past. You will be happy to know blinds were put in the bedroom windows. We have not put them in the living room because we feel the best attribute of the cabin is the beautiful scenic view. Thank you for giving us a try though.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 5 of 5

only regret was we did not spend enough time at cabin. The wildlife and prairie and view were great! we had everything we needed! Shannon

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Shannon, We are so happy to hear this. Yes our views are one of a kind with the wildlife. Hopefully we can have you back in the future!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: necessary

Bring Own Bath Towels an Charcoal for Grill


No Trails


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Deposit $100

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties