Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Maui , Kihei, Family Property,! 3 BD, 2B, King Beds, Pool, Spa, beach!

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,200 sq. ft.
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

Townhome, 3 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 7)

Aloha. We do have a three minute video to help in your decision. Press the video button at the top of our webpage on VRBO or please go 3/4 down this page under Owner's information right before our photos to our two links. One link is to our Facebook page and the other is a three minute video to help in your decision. You may also go to you tube and post https://youtu.be/rncSKECqFZo

Near the bottom of this site there are Reviews and Guest Comments.

When you book our home you will be eligible for a free app that gives you all information about our home and our property. You will not be dealing with a rental agent but the owners. We rent our home when we go to the mainland to visit grandchildren; so you can expect a home and not a rental! We have everything you need just like your home.

The average nightly rental stated at the top of our web page is a weighted average of nightly rentals in our area as researched by HomeAway and VRBO. Please review our rates on this site. We have rates for whale season, spring, summer, fall, and a Holiday rate during December and first part of January. Our prices are very competitive for the leeward (dry) side of the island.

The KOA Resort is a beautiful 54 unit low density community. This resort is unique in having 5.7 acres of lush landscaping. We are located across the street from over 6 miles of the most beautiful beaches in the world! Being on the leeward (drier side) side of the island provides warm dry days, cool evenings with intoxicating trade winds from the Northeast, and no insects!

We update our calendar over coffee each morning. Please use for our calendar for your planning so text, or give us a call or email us an inquiry.

Our town home is over 1200 square feet with a 300 square foot lanai (patio). We are very proud of our clean, comfortable home which we love. Three complete bedrooms, two baths, a large living and dining area including a washer & dryer will allow six guests to be very comfortable. There is one master bedroom with a king bed and private bath which is on the second floor with a spiral staircase; the second bedroom on the main level has a king bed and the third bedroom on the main level has a queen bed. We have a pack-n-play with a 3 inch foam mattress with linens in addition to the three bedrooms and a new hide-a-bed queen in our living room couch. There are new ceiling fans in all rooms as well as air conditioning in the living dining area and the master bedroom. Most units on the island do not have air conditioning due to the trade winds and wonderful weather. Our unit is situated to take full advantage of the trade winds. Bring a sweater or light jacket for the winter evenings. For those of you that have to work, we have high speed secure wireless Internet in our home and wireless Internet in our Cabana just steps away. Just bring any of your electronic devices.

The KOA Resort has the largest heated pool on the south side of the island (100,000 gallons), a very nice hot tub spa by the pool, and two outside showers. Two new tennis courts, a large spacious cabana, gas grills, and shuffle board are all within steps of your front door. Shopping, dining, Safeway, Starbucks,, Kihei Cafe, all types of restaurants and more are less than a mile to the east down Kihei Rd. Please look at our map.

Our townhome is very close to the best things to do in Maui. The Maui Ocean Center and Ma’alaea Harbor are a few miles to the west to include Humpback Whale watching with the Pacific Whale Foundation, snorkel trips or deep sea fishing excursions. Whale season is November 1 through mid May. The beach is right across the street. Two blocks to the west is the Hawaiian Islands Humpback Whale National Marine Sanctuary. You can watch the sunset or whales from their deck, visit their education center, explore the ancient Hawaiian fishpond, or walk six uninterrupted miles on the sand beach to Ma’alaea Harbor. The Kihei Canoe Club and Maui Canoe Club is one mile down Kihei Road right on the beach and welcomes guest paddlers on Tuesday and Thursday mornings with donations. Snorkel, swim, wind surf, paddle, SUP or just sit on the beach is the way to recreate at our beaches.

There is a bus service available right down on Kihei Rd. The bus schedule is available at 808-871-4838.

Lanai’s are made for sipping Mai Tai’s and you can definitely try that activity as well. For your Holiday on Maui our location, cleanliness and comfort should be your expectation in choosing the right lodging.

Another significant feature is that you are working with owners and not rental agents. This is our home that we rent when on the mainland visiting grandchildren. So you can expect a clean, comfortable home for your stay. You don;t have to pay Wailea prices and you can have a real home with everything you need for your island visit. Our home and property is non smoking but we do have three smoking designated areas for those interested.

Parking is free but you will have to register your car with our site manager please.

Mahalo for considering our home.

Keywords: Townhome

More Details

Owner
Andrew Anderson
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 23, 2017

About Andrew Anderson

Aloha. I am a retired Colorado Firefighter and my wife, Phyllis, is a retired Colorado teacher. We moved to Maui in 2004 and lived here for four years. After Four wonderful grandchildren came into our lives we go back and forth to the mainland. We rent our home when we leave the island. You can expect just that; a home and not a rental. We love the island of Maui and are quite knowledgeable about the county of Maui.. Let us help you in your decision and assist you while on island.

Andrew Anderson purchased this townhome in 2005

Why Andrew Anderson chose South Maui

Our Kihei home is unique in that it is in a residential area and is a low density property. We have the only heated pool on the south side of the island. The KOA Resort has a wonderful 100,000 gallon pool, hot tub spa, two new tennis/pickle ball courts, gas grills,and a great location. We are approximately two blocks from a state beach park, an ancient Hawaiian fish pond being rebuilt, and the headquarters of the Hawaiian Islands Humpback Whale National Marine Headquarters plus educational and visitor center. They have a large deck open to the public where we go for our sunsets. This Marine Headquarters has a wonderful visitors center open 10:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. each day. There is a free whale lecture every Tuesday and Thursday at 11:00 a.m. all year. This lecture is a family oriented venue which all will enjoy. Take advantage!

What makes this townhome unique

Our pool area is the largest on the leeward side of the island. Hours are 9:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. . The pool area has 2 showers, heated with new tile and deck, a large shallow area for children, a built in hot tub spa, shuffle board, nice clean new lounge chairs and nice flora. This pool is 100,000 gallons and a keystone of our property.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Aloha Andrew and Phyllis. Thank you for letting us rent your lovely home. We especially loved the tea kettle from New Zealand that you obtained for us. We will definitely recommend your home to our family and friends. Mahalo. Terry and Audra
Oct 2017
  • 1 of 26

Map

Nearest Airport
8 Miles
OGG/Kahululi
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Numerous Bars off Kihei Rd
Nearest Golf
0.5 Miles
Three golf courses
Nearest Motorway
0.1 Miles
Piilani
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Numerous restaurants
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Kalepolepo Beach Park
Nearest Point of Interest
Hawaiian Fishpond
Nearest Point of Interest
Hawaiian Island Humpback Whale National Marine Sanctuary
Nearest Point of Interest
Kihei Canoe Club
Nearest Point of Interest
Maui Ocean Center at Maalaea Harbor
Nearest Point of Interest
Kalepolepo Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
Kalepolepo Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
Shopping
Nearest Point of Interest
Longs Drugs
Nearest Point of Interest
Stella Blues
Nearest Point of Interest
Bus Stop
Nearest Point of Interest
Kalepolepo Beacfh
Car: recommended

We live in a neighborhood in the 800 block of S. Kihei Rd.

Our home is centrally located for all activities. Our swimming pool is the largest on the leeward side of the island and is heated with a hot tub/spa located next to the pool. We are across from the beach with a Beach Park two blocks away. Next to this beach is the Humpback Whale National Marine Sanctuary Headquarters. They have a great deck for whale watching and sunsets open to the public. At 11:00 a.m. year round on Tuesdays and Thursdays is a free Whale Lecture for all ages. This is not to miss. Down Kihei Rd. is the Kihei Canoe Club that offers 7:00 a.m. paddling for the family with donation. Not to miss! To the southeast down Kihei Rd is our favorite beach 1 mile away. It is in our guest book or ask us. Their is also a community pool (well run in Hawaii) for recreation if desired. Please visit our Facebook page for more information.

Amenities

Kihei Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Resort ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 7 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , This bathroom was updated August 2015. A spout also.
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , This bathroom was updated August 2014. Shower for two!
  • Both bath rooms are remodeled and have shower only. The main bathroom has a tub spout in the shower for bathing the little ones or additional rinsing of feet. The second bathroom upstairs is private and has a large shower with removal shower head.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , One of three bedrooms. Queen bed, ceiling fan, dresser, TV
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , Second bedroom, King, dresser, chair, ceiling fan, TV
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king , Master up, King, private bath, Ceiling fan, A/C, TV, DVD
    Other (See Description) - 1 baby crib , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen sofa bed; pack-n-play with 3 inch foam mattress, linen
  • King size beds (2) The king bed is in the master bedroom on the second level of this town home. One uses a spiral staircase to enter. This is our bedroom when on island and is wonderful. The two bedrooms on the main level have a king in one and a queen in the other. These guests share a new bathroom in between the two bedrooms downstairs. . Child Beds (1) Pack-n-play with linens as well as a new sofa hide a bed with a queen bed for that extra guest.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Gas grills, Cabana with wireless Internet, rest rooms, picnic tables, ping- pong, shuffle board at the pool area, six miles of white sandy beaches across the street for snorkeling and swimming; Hawaiian Islands Humpback Whale National Marine Sanctuary two blocks away, Ko'ie'ie Ancient Hawaiian Fishpond two blocks away, Kihei and Maui Canoe Club one mile away, Ma'alaea Harbor containing the Maui Ocean Center and Pacific Whale Foundation six miles away

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(44 traveler reviews)

86% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
Maui , Kihei, Family Property,! 3 BD, 2B, King Beds, Pool, Spa, beach!
average rating of 4.818182 based on 70 reviews
5

Amazing Place!! I felt Andrew Anderson's hospitality in the house!!

  • 5 of 5

Great property! Very modern, very very clean! Great kitchen! Great rooms! You really really feel the ALOHA when you enter! The house has amazing MANA! Great complex! Great Location! I highly recommend staying and will probably come back and stay here again!! Thank You Andrew and Phyllis for an amazing time!!

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great Family Fun & Location!

  • 4 of 5

This was our first time visiting Hawaii, more specifically Maui. The location of the KOA resort condo was amazing and central, perfect for getting around the island and seeing the sights. By far the best part of the condo was the raved/previously mentioned pool, which was large in size and never really busy (aka always had plenty of pool-side seating). The condo met expectations as advertised. Three couples and a 18mo old had no problems with space. Owners (I'm talking about Andrew here) were very easy to talk to and quick to be helpful with any concerns/questions, even though they were not present themselves.

The only downside (and this is why the stay received 4.5 stars - if that were possible to give) would be that the condo itself is a little dated. One of the things that we discussed was that the condo could use a good floor-to-ceiling scrubbing, especially in those hard to get/dust accumulating areas.

Again, our families had a great time! I would recommend this place.

  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful place

  • 5 of 5

Nice place and clean...really love it...thank you for those days you let me rent your place...god bless

  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location, awesome amenities!

  • 5 of 5

Stayed here with my husband, our two kids (ages 6 mo and 3 yrs) and my parents for a 10 day family vacation. We loved it! We accessed the pool at all hours and it was wonderful morning, noon & night. The unit is nice and close to the parking which was handy for carrying in luggage, groceries and beach day gear. It is also super close to the communal BBQs and tennis/pickle ball courts. We liked hanging out on the property almost as much as we enjoyed exploring the rest of the island. The owner was always super helpful whenever we had any questions and responded quickly. The unit was super clean and comfortable and very well equipped for those traveling with children (pack n plays, high chair, pool/sand toys, etc). We never had to turn on the AC as we would get such a nice breeze from opening the front door and lanai door (both had screens for bugs and geckos). The resort provided us quick access to almost anywhere we wanted to go. Approximately 15 mins to amazing beaches in Wailea/Makena, 10 mins or less to the aquarium, 10-15 mins to Kahului and 30 mins to Lahaina. We also made very good use of our super handy access (2km!) to Ululanis in Kihei ;) (best shave ice we found, in our opinion). If I had one suggestion, it would be that the unit could maybe use some new towels. We found that although they were clean, many of the towels had a bit of a musty smell. I really don't think you can go wrong with renting this property. We loved it and would definitely stay here again!!!

  • Submitted: Dec 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for your feedback. Yes our beach towels get a lot of use and were due to be replaced first of the year. Due to your comment on drying the towels our housekeeper will change the sequence for cleaning the linens. Mahalo for your kind words. Andrew Anderson Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beyond our expectations!!!

  • 5 of 5

We had such an amazing time both in your home and on the island!! The accommodations were impeccable!!! We hope that we can use your home again the future!!!!

Mahalo,

Natalya Lovato and family

  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Austin, TX
5

quiet, convenient location, lovely grounds and condo

  • 5 of 5

I stayed at this condo with my husband and my parents for 5 nights in August. I would definitely recommend this place to family and friends and can't wait to stay here again!

The great: two king beds were essential for us, as we're all tall people, and it's not easy to find in a rental property. Andrew texted me a welcome and responded super quickly when we had information to pass along from a neighbor. The location on Maui can't be beat, and parking is easy. The grounds are great -- a very nice pool, ping pong tables and grills. The condo complex has quiet hours from 10pm to 8am, which we appreciated. The kitchen is well-stocked and well-organized and there's a closet full of beach gear to borrow. The condo is clean, well-maintained, and has everything you could need. I wanted to stay forever!

The less-great (but not a big deal): It was unusually hot while we were on Maui, to the point that locals were complaining about the weather and there was a run on A/C units at Costco. The cool air from the living room A/C didn't quite reach the front bedroom where my husband and I slept, so it was difficult to get to sleep at night, at least before it cooled off outside late in the evening. If we went to bed later, it was fine, but it was a little rough with the direction our jet lag was going the first couple of nights. This is not a knock on the condo at all -- we will return!

We loved our stay here and will return as soon as possible! I would love to come back for whale season!

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha. We always appreciate feedback from our guests. The note about the heat was spot on. There was a weather anomaly that involved a perfect storm so to speak. We had two simultaneous hurricanes, one South of Hawaii and one North of Hawaii. These two hurricanes cut off the constant trade winds for Hawaii. During recorded weather history we have never had a hurricane hit the island and county of Maui nor two distant hurricanes on both sides of our island. Our home has two air conditioners and seven ceiling fans and normally constant trade winds that blow over 2,500 miles of uninterrupted water. You actually need a light jacket or sweater for the evenings. When home we have never used our air conditioners. Hawaii weather is always perfect and one of the many reasons we live here. Mahalo for reading. Andrew and Phyllis, Owners for our unit at the KOA Resort.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee $150 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.25%

We prefer personal checks. All International guests need to pay by Bank Official Checks. We accept PayPal and credit cards through HomeAway and VRBO secure services.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.