Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Beautiful Home in The Cloud Forest

Bedrooms 2
Half Baths1
Space 1,076 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms, 1.5 Baths (Sleeps 5)

Close to the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Casa Amanda is the ideal location for nature appreciation and comfort.

Great for couples and families.

- It's located close to all sorts of activities, restaurants and great views.

Come stay with us and get to know the area like few people have a chance to do so.

The house:

- This home away from home is spacey. It has it's own kitchen, dinning area, one large bedroom and a mezzanine bedroom, two living rooms, as well as access to some pretty nice garden spaces. It has a really great fireplace which is perfect for some nighttime coziness.

- The kitchen is fully equipped with two stoves, an oven, fridge, utensils, etc.

- And yes, we have Wifi!

Downstairs: Fully equipped kitchen. Fridge, oven, two stoves, microwave oven, coffee maker, rice cooker, blender, utensils, etc. Full dinning area, gas fireplace and toilette.

Second Floor: Main bedroom with queen size bed and single bed. Amazing views from the windows and a full bathroom.

Third floor: Mezzanine room that can be accessed with a pull down ladder. Double bed, and great view of the mountain and the stars.

Casa Amanda is a separate house, however there are other rooms with their own private access on the side of building. All spaces seen in the photos are for exclusive use of Casa Amanda's customers.

The community:

This community has grown based on the concept of sustainable tourism and there are very many attractions catered for all sorts of tastes, come visit us and get to see some of the wonders of the Cloud Forest (which represent only 2% of the forests of the world, but contain a huge amount of its biodiversity).

In the area you can do from hikes, adventure tourism (ziplinning, etc.), coffee tours, horse back riding, etc.

Getting around:

We offer free parking for our guests.

Cabs are readily available in the Monteverde area and we are close to the public bus stop, however there aren't many buses a day. It's very safe to walk. There are several restaurants in the area as well as a convenience store (3-5min drive, 10-15min walk). Most tours in the area offer free pick-up. walk).

More Details

Property Manager/Owner
Member since: 2017
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 13, 2018

About Property Manager/Owner

I love life, I love meeting new people and I love Monteverde.

Why Property Manager/Owner chose Monte Verde

Because it's located in one of the nicest places of this wonderful community. Close to the Monteverde Reserve in the heart of where nature conservation started here in Costa Rica. It allows us to be part of a great project having to do with sustainable tourism, but at the same time being part of a very nice and local community. Everyone who is part of this project is an active community member

What makes this house unique

The view is amazing. So close to the forest. Fresh air that many people can only dream of.


Monte Verde House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1076 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 9:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Parties/events not allowed
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
  • Books
  • Games
  • Lawn / Garden
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering


3.8/5 -
(4 traveler reviews)

50% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
25% Complete
Beautiful Home in The Cloud Forest
average rating of 3.75 based on 4 reviews
Azle, Texas

Pictures are not always what you see.

  • 1 of 5

I am not trying to hurt the lively hood of the owner but, I must tell the truth as I see it. We were told that this house was a two bedroom, that is not true. There are two beds in one large room ( A Queen and a Twin).

The loft bed is a pull down attic ladder that blocks the bathroom door. There was no heat, no air con., no ceiling fans, no firewood, no trash bags, no dish soap, no wash cloths, no WI-FI, no curtains, the cars driving down the driveway could see you laying in the bed. The other part of the house has two more units that were rented to a total of seven people. They parked on our side of the house and there was very little room for us to park. The garden view from the kitchen table was the view of the neighbors cars. We did not use the kitchen table mainly because it had a very thick coating of some kind of furniture polish. All the wood floors had a Very Thick Coating of this same polish and you could not walk on it without almost falling down. Walking on the upstairs floor made such a loud noise, you thought that you could fall through to the first floor. We never had a chance to talk to the owner because the Wi-Fi did not work and she never came by to check on anything. I could go on and on. We still enjoyed our stay in Monteverde and will be back next year. God Bless

  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Azle, thank you very much for your comments, it's our priority to offer the best experience possible and we will learn form this. However for the reference of future costumers I would like to clarify: when arriving to the house we have an instruction booklet, several issues mentioned here would have been avoided when reading. First of all, there are two routers (wifi), at the time you arrived one was out, but the other was working properly. There is no firewood provided because the chimney is gas and has a video on how to use it. There is no ceiling fan, but there is a floor fan and a small room heater, heating as such is not available in Costa Rica. There are trash bags, dish soap and plenty of kitchen utensils in the kitchen compartments (sometimes staff might forget to supply one of these items, and I apologize if this was the case, we will be more careful in the future). We are also working on improving the parking accommodations to avoid issues in the future, however I would like to clarify that the view from both the room and the loft is quite awesome. The pull down ladder does cover part of the bathroom door (I agree this might not be the best) but you can still go into to the bathroom when the ladder is pulled down. There one main room and a loft, not all the beds are in the same space (in the house description we explain this). The wooden floor squeaks, it squeaks because in the tropics wood expands and contracts, but it's perfectly safe. We will get new curtains as we put the ones you got temporarily while we washed the other ones. I agree the house is not perfect, but it has many wonderful things I think you were not able to appreciate. And many of the things you mentioned are in the house description to begin with. I'm sorry you did not appreciate the closeness to the forest, the very well supplied kitchen, the soft towels, the view from to the stars from the loft, the chimney, the smell of fresh air and the silence (with some nice cricket and frog concerts in the background), and all these things that you did get but did not mention in this comment. All the best.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lancaster, CA

A unique experience...

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay at Casa Valentina. We stayed about 2 weeks. Any problem that needed attention or fixing was dealt with quickly and efficiently. Communications were clear and prompt.

However, keep in mind that there is no heater in the whole house. We stayed in December, nights were very cool, days were cool as well due to the fact that this home is located in the cloud forest. There is a gas fireplace that doesn't really warm the home, but it looks very pretty.

If you will be needing a hair dryer, bring one.

WiFi works, not fast, but it does work.

Refrigerator is a 3/4 size, not a full refrigerator.

The electric oven only works on "Broil". No other setting works.

Overall the setting and landscaping is beautiful and by Costa Rican standards, this home is a step up from most accomodations.

NOTE: When you approach the driveway, you will see a small sign on the right side of the road directing you to "Casa Valentina" with an arrow to the left. Turn left there. It is a very steep driveway down to the home, you will make it just fine.

Have fun!

  • Submitted: Dec 26, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Kathy! thank you for your comments. We have now bought small electric heaters for the colder months of the year, and yes, a hairdryer! Also we have a separate electric oven the works on all settings. Thank you for staying with us, we enjoyed hosting you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Pretty house by Cloud Forest Reserve

  • 5 of 5

Great location for visiting the Monteverde Cloud Forest reserve! Also a short easy drive to get to CPI Language School or anything in Santa Elena. We do recommend a car. The house is spacious, and has beautiful floors. We loved using the fireplace each night. The views are gorgeous from the windows and yard. Lots of hummingbirds! The whole house is an open floor plan with the only doors on the bathrooms. Our kids (6 and 9) wanted to sleep in the loft, and at first we worried about how they would make it down the stairs at night for the bathroom, but it was fine. The beds are really comfortable. There is a baby gate on top of the stairs, which was great for our 2 year old. The kitchen is also really pretty. We only spent 2 nights here but were in Monteverde for over a week and we loved every minute of it!

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for you comments!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Clean,convenient,charming, chalet feel ,great place

  • 5 of 5

Very convenient to Monteverdi,great value,owners very receptive. Home had a charming feel from the time you arrive till we left. Very clean, loved the well stocked fire place, lot's of birds here.. Eat at the Orchid and the tree house.

  • Submitted: May 7, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying with us!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


We are 1km from the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, first left after the Hotel Villa Verde.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties