Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Cute Little Yellow Cottage Across From The Beach

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Space 900 sq ft
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 5 nights


About the property

Pet Friendly House With Great Yard.

Great property for families and pets.

This cozy little cottage is steps to the beach, parks, restaurants, and town. Everything is clean and fresh. Half bath has access to outdoor shower. Full capacity washer and dryer. Large grassy fenced bank yard perfect for pets or kids to play safely. Beautiful views of ocean from front porch; a great place to sip your coffee while watching the sunrise. Fully equipped kitchen. All linens, towels, beach towels, and even towels for dogs supplied. Cottage has beach access directly across street where you can enjoy boogie boards and beach chairs also provided.

Lindsay Shelton
Member since: 2010
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 20, 2018

About Lindsay Shelton

We have been married over 35 years and raised two wonderful daughters in the Jacksonville area. We moved to Fernandina Beach in 2003 when our youngest was in high school. Both of us worked at Baptist Medical Center until 2010 when we moved to Charleston, SC, and from there to Stafford, VA. Retirement brought us back to our life and friends here on Amelia Island.

Lindsay Shelton purchased this cottage in 2013

Why Lindsay Shelton chose Amelia Island

We loved the quaintness of this little house from the moment we saw it. It is the perfect location! Only steps from the house is a beach access. You can walk or bike to downtown. Right around the corner is Fort Clinch where you can hike, bike, camp, or comb the beach looking for sharks teeth or shells. The house had plenty of room for a nice fenced yard for our dogs too.

What makes this cottage unique

Staying in a house gives more privacy. The fenced yard is a plus for pets. Location is great!


Amelia Island Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Max. adults: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
  • No more than 2 pets each under 40lbs. With nonrefundable pet fee.
  • Renters responsible for cleaning up after pets in yard. Failure to do so will result in forfeiture of deposit.
  • If at booking pets are not disclosed, then pet fee will be deducted from deposit.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View ...
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , outdoor shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 1 - 2 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 sleep sofa /futon , sleeper is a full
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

85% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Cute Little Yellow Cottage Across From The Beach
average rating of 4.857143 based on 14 reviews

Cute cottage! Love that it is dog friendly.

  • 5 of 5

Have been renting this house for many years. Never disappointed. Will be bk next year same time we hope.

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again next year. Walter and Sandra
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

Excellent accommodations. Great location, very well stocked and perfect place for our little dog, Petunia.

Will definitely stay there again.

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Buford GA

Nice clean house and yard!

  • 4 of 5

Overall we had a good visit. The house was clean and there were plenty of towels available. The only items I noted were we could not get the toaster oven to work and there was not a regular toaster that we found. The shower did take some time to get hot and then it would cool very quickly - it took some running of the water for some time to finally settle into a normal temperature, however, that was found on the last day. The instructions for the umbrellas on the back door need to be updated to reflect what is written on the wall. We went by the back door indicating to take down at the end of each day. When the owners came to the house, we felt a bit intruded on when they went in the back yard and put the umbrellas down. My daughter was still in the house and just went in when it started to rain. There were being used at the time. Also the yard folks came in without any warning - opening the gate and my dogs were there. If they had ran out the gate it would have been disastrous. Otherwise, the house itself was a great place to stay with the beach right across the street. Very good place if you have pets to take on vacation with you.

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I’m sorry that you had these issues while visiting. If we had known sooner that something was broken or not functioning correctly, we would have been right over to fix or replace it. Normally the yard service knocks on the door before entering the yard, but I will speak to them about that. Regarding the umbrella, There were serious storms approaching, and had already begun to rain. We were on our adjacent property and noticed the umbrella was still open. After knocking on the door, with no response, entered the yard and lowered the umbrella. The cantilever umbrellas are expensive, and there for your comfort, but we wouldn’t want it damaged and as a result lose your deposit. Sandra
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Summer's End Family Getaway

  • 5 of 5

The cute little yellow cottage was perfect for us! We especially enjoyed the close proximity of the beach. The whole family had a great time! Thanks for sharing such a cute vacation home. It felt so comfortable and homelike that it didn't seem that we were even away from home. Got to meet the owners and they were lovely! Thanks again for a great summer's end family getaway!

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Cute cottage with everything you need, amazing location

  • 5 of 5

Adorable beach cottage, rooms were very nice. Love the extra little room in the back and the fenced in yard for the pup. Beach access right across the street, and even in late June it wasn’t too crowded. Plenty of things to do within walking distance, and downtown Fernandina was a short drive away. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the positive review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future. Walter and Sandra
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

Very beautifully decorated well stocked house across the street from the beach. I felt like I would be happy to move in here!

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Beach
across the street
Car: recommended


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100
Pet Fee $100
Refundable Damage Deposit $300

Minimum of 2 dogs, each under 40 lbs. Speak to owner regarding exceptions. Nonrefundable pet deposit of $100.00.
Special winter and spring monthly rate.
Cleaning fee $100.00. Please clean up after pets or fee will be deducted from deposit. If pet not disclosed prior to payments, and pet in rental, $100.00 fee will be deducted from deposit.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties