Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

8 bedroom Shamrock Beach Cottage near beach and north of Port Albert, Ontario

Bedrooms 8
Half Baths1
Space 4,000 sq ft
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights


About the property

All bedding, linens, towels soaps included. Free camp fire wood. Pet friendly

The very private 8 bedroom Shamrock Beach Cottage sleeps 24 and is a 5 minute drive north of Port Albert, Ontario and a 5-7 minute walk from Shamrock Beach. The cottage has a large private yard. The closest neighbours are almost 1/2 km away. All bedding linens, towels, soaps, camp fire wood and BBQ with propane is provided. Satellite TV and wireless internet. Well mannered pets are welcome. Pet fee's apply of $19 per night per pet. Shamrock Beach is a private beach and has limited access as we only allow a max of groups of 6 people onto the beach at any one time. There are two quiet, sandy, public beaches with in a 5-9 minutes drive with free parking at the sands edge.

This cottage sleeps 24 however we do allow extra people to stay. Additional charges apply of $19 per person per night over 24 people. Toddlers under 3 stay for free.

There is a balcony on the 3rd floor with great views of the surrounding fields and Lake Huron. The Shamrock Beach Cottage has 4 bathrooms. It has full kitchen facilities(no dish washer) , patio, deck, and sunroom.

Its 5-7 minute drive to free parking at Sunset Beach in Port Albert and a 5-7 minute drive to Port Albert General Store and the waterfalls. Its 7-9 minute drive to free parking at Ashfield Park Beach and conservation area to the north up the coast. Just a 8-10 minute drive to buy gas, fresh produce, take-out food, beer, liquor and wine at the Amberley Store to the north.

The cottage has wireless internet, satellite TV, DVD. Washer and dryer. Two fridges, deep freeze, gas stove, and BBQ. 5 queen beds, 4 doubles beds, 6 single beds. Pets welcome. Pet fee applies. 20-25 minutedrive from Kincardine, Ontario and Goderich, Ontario.

A 5 minute drive to the Port Albert General Store provides all necessities during your stay such as gas, bait, ice cream, pizza, burgers, french fries, sandwiches, and produce. Point Farms Provincial Park is just 10 minutes away with great opportunies for hiking and cross-country skiiing. Just 15 minutes away is Falls Reserve Conservation Area where you will find fishing and summer visitors can swim under in the falls. The Maitland Trail is 20 minutes away and is great for cycling and hiking. 5 minutes away in Port Albert the Nine Mile River is popular with fishing enthusiasts.

Beaches, parks, biking and hiking trails, museums, theater, festivals, shopping, fishing, watersports, snowmobiling, hunting, cross-country skiing, horse-back riding, fairs, many historic sites, a casino, motor sports, golf courses, art galleries, and much more!

Booking Policy

We collect a returnable $300 security/cleaning deposit at check in.

Check in/out

Check in is at 4 pm. Check out is at 11 am. We will do our best to accommodate a request for an earlier or later checkout time.

Code of Conduct

We offer a quiet, relaxing atmosphere. To ensure the peace for residents and visitors to Port Albert area all guests are required to act in a quiet, respectful manner, and comply with all rules.

Rules for Cottage Guests

Parking is only allowed in the designated parking area's.

Noisy behavior that can potentially bother others is not permitted. Yelling, fireworks and any form of amplified music such as a stereo is prohibited.

Windows and doors must be kept closed when the heat is on in the cottage.

Cottage grounds must be kept free of litter at all times.

Renter Agreement

All guests must agree to maintain a friendly, safe, respectful atmosphere, at all times. Please take care of the cottage and grounds as guests agree to leave the cottage as it was upon their arrival and are responsible for paying for the cost of any damages to the cottage that is beyond regular wear. Groups that do not comply with the rules will be asked to leave the property.

We thank you so very much for your cooperation and understanding. We hope you have fun and enjoy our beautiful surroundings! Thanks for helping to keep the area a peaceful, lake-side community!

We are very fortunate to be located in a quiet, lake-side area. The cottage is conveniently located near the sandy, sandy beach. It is a 20 minute drive from Goderich which is "Canada's Prettiest Town". In Goderich you will find shopping, pubs and restaurants, museums, galleries, flea and farmers markets, music festivals, theater, a marina, beaches, trails, and recreation facilities. Within a 20 minute drive you will find Point Farms Provincial Park, Falls Reserve Conservation area, golf courses, hiking, biking, and x-country ski trails. It is a 20 minute drive to Kincardine to the North.

We look forward to having you as our guest on Ontario's sandy west coast!

More Details

Property Manager
Member since: 2017
Speaks: french
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 24, 2018

Why Melissa chose Goderich

It is very private. It has no neighbors close by and it is a short drive to the sandy public beach in Port Albert, Ontario. It is a beautiful quiet location.


Goderich Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 4000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 33 ...
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
  • Guests that do not follow the rules with be asked to leave the property.
  • We collect a returnable $300 security deposit at check in.
  • Failure to leave the cottage as it was upon check in will result in additional charges
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Rural ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 24 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Loft Bathroom - toilet
    2nd level Bathroom - combination tub/shower
    Main level Bathroom - toilet , shower
    Lower level Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 8 Bedrooms, Sleeps 33
  • Lower level Bedroom 1 - 1 double , 1 bunk bed
    Lower level Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 1 bunk bed
    Lower level Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 1 bunk bed
    Mail level Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , 2 twin/ single
    2nd level Bedroom 5 - 1 queen
    2nd level Bedroom 6 - 1 queen
    3rd level loft Bedroom 8 - 1 queen , 1 double , 1 twin/ single
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • churches
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • miniature golf
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • swimming
The cottage features a very large private yard with fire pit. The closest nieghbours are almost 1/2 km away. We supply your camp fire wood.


2/5 -
(1 traveler review)

0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
100% Complete
0% Complete
8 bedroom Shamrock Beach Cottage near beach and north of Port Albert, Ontario
average rating of 2.0 based on 1 reviews
San Francisco, CA

Some positives, but generally disappointed

  • 2 of 5

Our large extended family stayed at the Shamrock Beach House last summer. While it has several useful features, we overall had a fairly disappointing experience.


* Decent living room for hanging out in, plus dining (lots of chairs)

* Large backyard - lots of room for activities

* Isolated and quiet - there aren't really any other houses nearby


* Listing mentions that the kitchen has "full kitchen facilities" and a "fully equipped kitchen" - but there's no dishwasher. Also, the utensils, pots, pans, etc all seemed to be very low quality (some falling apart).

* The property is supplied by well water that has a heavy rotten egg smell (lots of sulphur?). No one in our family wanted to drink the water. We bought many jugs of drinking water during our stay.

* The windows have no blinds or curtains - we had to tape up black garbage bags over the bedroom windows in order to keep the sunlight off of us at 6:00am

* No doors on the bedrooms downstairs (just thin curtains)

* A generally poor level of maintenance throughout - e.g. one of the bedroom doors doesn't latch closed. We had to use a bungee cord on the outside of the bedroom to hold it closed while a baby was napping inside. Another example: The ceramic soap holder in the ground floor bathroom shower had a giant chunk missing, leaving sharp edges. Another example: A large number of the electrical outlets don't work. Another example: The dryer vented directly into the laundry room / bathroom due to a broken exhaust tube. (We fixed it.)

* Wasps - three of our guests got bitten by wasps from the nests in the backyard deck. Owners gave us a can of bug spray when we brought it up.

* Broken glass on the loft balcony when we arrived. One of our guests cut their foot (bleeding).

* No air conditioning

* Dirty floors - on the first evening, after spending time inside, all of our feet were pretty dirty. We did not track dirt inside in these first few hours.

Also, one thing to be crystal clear on: The beach that's 5 minutes walking away is just a narrow rocky shore beside some residential homes, and isn't appropriate for your everyday beach activities (sandcastles, tents, etc). You'll need to drive 8-10 minutes away for that.

Also, FYI: This property has had exclusively poor reviews in the past. But the owners seem to have deleted the old listing, and created this new one, clearing out the old reviews. (Used to be listed under property #4165908.)

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Brian. Thank you for reviewing this cottage and providing your feedback. I am sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects of this cottage during your stay. I value suggestions so that we can make improvements to increase guest satisfaction. This cottage is under new management since April 2017 and significant improvements have been made since your stay in the summer of 2016. I will take this opportunity to address some of the things you have mentioned about Shamrock Beach Cottage. We make every effort to be clear that this cottage in a rural location close to a sandy beach. We are unsure as to where the rocky beach is that Brian referred to in his review. All the beaches we are aware of and refer in our advertising are beautiful, quiet, sandy beaches. This cottage is a 5-7 minute walk to Shamrock Beach which is a private sandy beach. Two other quiet, sandy public beaches are within a 5-10 minute drive where your entire group can gather and park for free at the sands edge. The public beach in Port Albert, Ontario to the south is a sandy, quiet beach and it is a 5-7 minute drive from the cottage. Ashfield Park Public Beach is an 8-10 minute drive to the north and is a very large beach that normally has few people. At Shamrock Beach (the private beach) there is no parking and at this time we are only allowing 6 or less people to access it at a time. However the entire group may walk the lane along the shoreline as a group. The beaches we have mentioned in our advertising are sandy beaches. Guests may find areas with pebbles and stones and this can occur at the river mouth where strong currents can wash away the sand. There are pictures of the beaches on our website and facebook which will give a good indication of our closest beaches along Ontario’s sandy west coast! The closest neighbours to this cottage are almost ½ km away and this allows for a great degree of privacy. However because the cottage is located in a very quiet, natural setting it is not uncommon for guests to encounter some insects and lots of birds. On occasion raccoons or even deer may stroll across the yard. We do provide bug/bee aerosol spray that guests can use if they should find they are being bothered by bugs. There are very few mosquitos near Lake Huron however it never hurts to bring some repellant if you are staying during the summer months. The water at Shamrock Beach House is supplied by a well which is 105 ft deep and the water comes from the porous rocks in t
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0


Car: recommended

Shamrock Beach Cottage does not have any neighbors close by. Check our website to see a complete list of local attractions.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $36.93
Booking Fee $187.66

We collect an additional fee of $19 per person per night over 24 people. We collect a returnable $300 security/cleaning deposit upon check in. We do this by pre authorizing the amount on your credit card when you check in.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties