Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Grand Victorian with Private Pool and Waterfall

Sleeps11
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 3,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8-11)

Are you looking for an exclusive locale for your vacation this year? Step back in time for your getaway but experience it with all of today’s luxuries. The moment you enter this exquisite Victorian home you’ll feel as if you have somehow become royalty. Every piece of woodwork in the home - from the staircase to the 6 fireplace mantles to the pocket doors - is ornately carved and in pristine condition. The high ceilings and oversized dimensions of all of the rooms add to the castle-like atmosphere of this amazing home.

However, it’s not just the history of the home that is so captivating. The kitchen and bathrooms have been beautifully renovated. There are four televisions, wireless internet, three DVD players, and a VHS recorder to help you through any bad weather days. Central air keeps the entire house cool and keeps you firmly in the 21st century.

The roomy house sleeps eight comfortably. One bedroom has a king-size bed, two bedrooms have queen-size beds, and the fourth bedroom is on the first floor and has a daybed with a trundle.

But the house is just the beginning. Two enormous side porches provide over 1000-square feet of area for relaxing and catching the warm evening breeze from the Gulf. Just off of the first-floor porch paradise awaits with a state-of-the-art tropical pool offering a soothing rock waterfall. Relax in the cool water, nap on the padded chaises, or lounge on the porch. It’s your own private getaway.

Leave the hectic pace and worries of the modern world behind. Look out at your East End Historic District neighbors and transport yourself to a different time and place. When you’re ready to return to the 21st century you’ll find yourself within walking distance to the Strand and next door to amazing restaurants like the Original Mexican Café, the Sunflower Bakery and the Mosquito Grill. And when you tire of swimming in your private lagoon the beach awaits you a mere 10 blocks away.

Keywords: House

More Details

Owner
Mike Wieber
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
October 12, 2017

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Houston Hobby
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
Galveston
Car: necessary

Amenities

Galveston House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 11
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Near The Ocean ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , 2nd floor
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , 1st floor
    Master Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , Master bath
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , 1st floor bedroom
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • water skiing

Reviews

4/5 -
(4 traveler reviews)

50% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
Grand Victorian with Private Pool and Waterfall
average rating of 4.0 based on 4 reviews
5

Great historic home

  • 5 of 5

wonderful historical home close to a couple nice cafes on a quiet section of Galveston. Walking distance to Bishop's Palace for a fun tour.

  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Katy, tx
5

My new home in Galveston!! (loved it)

  • 5 of 5

Charming house, very livable and well stocked with everything you would need to prepare a meal and feed a crowd. Loved the outdoor space and the upstairs bedrooms and double balcony. Close to the beach, strand and places to eat; there is a Mexican restaurant on the same block so that was a wonderful surprise. Wish we had booked earlier for a longer stay but we will be back!

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2012
  • Stayed: August 2012
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
2

Beautiful home but dirty

  • 2 of 5

Positive: convenient access to many quaint restaurants and shops. Not a long drive to beach or shopping on the strand. Our kids loved swimming in the pool and the treasure trove of pool toys supplied.

Negative: Our first impression after entering the home was that it was dusty and dirty. The rugs in the bathroom were filled with hair from previous guests, corners were filled with dust and the refrigerator was molded on bottom shelf. Fruit flies swarmed the kitchen to the point where you never left your cup or plate unguarded making it difficult to cook a meal. When we called the owner, he was responsive but the suggestion of bleach down the drain did not solve the problem. We spent the first couple of hours cleaning the kitchen, refrigerator, and pool. Not an enjoyable start to a short vacation.

Overall, the home is well appointed. But we would recommend to the owners a professional cleaning between guests.

  • Submitted: May 31, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Our 1887 Victorian home is our "baby". Dealing with an older home definitely requires additional work but we think that it is worth it for the unique vacation experience it provides. I'm sorry that your initial impression was not a great one. Unfortunately fruit flies have been a problem in Galveston this spring. We contacted our pest control service and they said there was nothing they could do but suggested the bleach approach. We also sent over our in-town property manager and he reported back to me from the house that the problem was handled and that you were happy with results. As far as the pool, I understand there was a storm before your arrival which led to some debris in the pool. We had our pool cleaner come over the day you arrived to clean everything - I'm sorry if it had not been cleaned upon your arrival. We do have the house professionally cleaned between each of our guests. Had you mentioned the house was not clean when we spoke I would have sent them back immediately. This is completely unacceptable to us and we will certainly discuss your concerns with them.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 3
Church Point
4

Grand Victorian

  • 4 of 5

Our family decided on a Galveston rental this summer. We choose the Grand Victorian in Galveston. We really enjoyed the pool and porches. The convience to all the hot spots we a plus as well. We did not have to drive far at all for the shops, eateries, beach ect. We where able to invite our Texas family down for a cookout and had plenty of room for everyone. The pool and water fall was very relaxing in the evening as well. We really loved the decor of the house. Infact we are building a new home and the kitchen helped us with an idea. The mexican resterant 2 doors down is very good as well. I would recommend this home to my friends as well. Thanks Mike and Sandy for allowing us to spend a nice 4th of July in your beautiful home.

Ellen & Kevin

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2011
  • Stayed: June 2011
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 15.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.