Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Gulf Front!Brand New 3 BR/2.5 BA!Private Boardwalk!Screen Porch!Beach Equipment!

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Space 1,500 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

Brand New 3 BR/2.5 BA Gulf front!Private Boardwalk!Screen Porch!Beach Equipment!

You will not regret getting "Aweigh at Last!"... and, as its name implies, our Gulf front home is just what you need if you are looking for a relaxing get-away in a beautifully decorated home on a pristine, peaceful beach.

We have just completed the finishing touches on our brand new home and you can be one of the first to stay here.

You will love the convenient beach front location with private, ramped boardwalk as well as the variety of amenities inside and out.

Our 3 bedroom, 2 & 1/2 bath home accommodates 6 to 7 people.

There are spectacular views of the Gulf and St. Vincents Island from almost every room in the house or from its screened porch & sundeck.

We provide high-quality linens & towels, plush beach towels, beach chairs & other beach equipment; starter supplies of soaps, detergents, paper towels, toilet paper; WiFi, cable, free long-distance and much, much, MORE!


The GROUND LEVEL has ample COVERED PARKING (enough for 3 or 4 cars or boats, depending on size) and is where there is a STORAGE ROOM with a plentiful supply of BEACH EQUIPMENT including: beach chairs & rafts, a beach cart, umbrella, beach toys and much MORE, that are provided for your convenience. There is also an OUTDOOR SHOWER, a FISH SINK & station & outdoor charcoal GRILL.

The PRIVATE BOARDWALK to the beach is completely ramped which makes it easy to roll the beach cart or strollers with little ones directly to the beach.

The FIRST LIVING LEVEL has a large SUN DECK and a SCREENED PORCH that spans the entire front of the home. The screened porch is equipped with dining table and ceiling fans that make it easy to DINE 'AL FRESCO" while enjoying the views of the Gulf and St. Vincents Island... or you may just want to curl up on the porch and read a book or take a nap!

In addition, the first level includes the LIVING AREA with comfortable seating, 42-inch flat-screen TV & stereo; the DINING AREA which has a slate & wood high-top table; a HALF-BATH; and the UTILITY ROOM with full-sized stacked washer & dryer. The fully-equipped KITCHEN has granite counter tops, undermount sink, stainless steel appliances as well as a KUERIG & regular coffee maker, CROCK POT and more!

The TOP LIVING LEVEL has 3 BEDROOMS and 2 FULL BATHS. In addition to its gorgeous Gulf view, the master bedroom has a very comfortable KING BED, 32-inch flat-screen TV & en-suite bath with tile floors and tub/shower combo. The two guest bedrooms have queen beds, ceiling fans and incredible VIEWS OF THE GULF AND ST. VINCENTS ISLAND. The front guest bedroom has a 32-inch flat-screen TV.

To provide for the 7th guest, the full-sized sofa may be made up to sleep on. (There is also an inflatable mattress if you would prefer that instead.)


As you stroll along the quiet beach, you can find a variety of SEASHELLS to collect or just enjoy watching the DOLPHINS swimming by or EAGLES and OSPREY scouting for prey. Of course, swimming, sunbathing or fishing in the surf are always a favorite, too.

Our neighborhood is extremely quiet and friendly, - a great place for families with children, a couples romantic retreat or for anyone who just wants to get away from it all!

You may want to rent a bike or golf cart and cruise quietly through the streets or on the beach. HORSEBACK RIDING on the beach can also be conveniently arranged. There are also KAYAKS to rent if you would like to paddle to nearby St. Vincents Island.

Dinner is right out your door: you can FISH OR CRAB from the shore. SCALLOPING in nearby St. Joe Bay is also a lot of fun during the summer scallop season. These sweet, tender delicacies can be enjoyed on your vacation or frozen for later when you return home.

In addition, the famous INDIAN PASS RAW BAR is just a couple of miles up the road where you can enjoy the area's delicious oysters, other seafood and a cold drink. Weekends at the Raw Bar often feature outdoor live entertainment and dancing.

Our area is reminiscent of 'Old Florida.' There are no tall condos or hotels anywhere near by! Our BEACHES ARE VERY QUIET AND PRISTINE and, in the off-season, you will rarely encounter anyone as you stroll quietly along the beach!

Our home is located on Indian Pass, just a couple of miles east from Cape San Blas - which has been rated in the top five of the best beaches in the United States. Port St. Joe is only 10 miles to the west where you can stock up on all of the provisions you'll need. If you're not in the mood to cook, there are a number of great, local restaurants and night spots nearby. A golf course is only a few miles away and there are 4 separate boat ramps within 15 miles.

Just 20 minutes to the east is the historic and quaint fishing town of Apalachicola. Here you will find some great shopping as well as many wonderful restaurants and night spots. In addition, you can walk along the boardwalk and see what catch the fishing boats have brought in for the day.

We invite you to get away from it all at "AWEIGH AT LAST!"

To book directly and avoid fees, please visit

More Details

Leslie Frye Allen
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 16, 2018

About Leslie Frye Allen

We live in Tallahassee and love this area of Florida's Gulf Coast. I have been coming down here since I was a child and have since introduced my husband and our two girls to this wonderful taste of 'Old Florida.'

We hope you will also fall in love with this area. It is a beautiful part of Florida where you can really get away from it all.

Leslie Frye Allen purchased this house in 2017


World House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Max. adults: 7
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront
  • Waterfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Full guest bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , Tile floor, conveniently located across hall from guest BRs
    Gulf Front Master Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , Master bath has tile floor, long vanity & view of Gulf
    Main level half bath - toilet , half bath is conveniently located on the main living level
  • All bathrooms have tile floors.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Front guest bedroom - 1 queen , TV, ceiling fan & great view of the Gulf & St Vincents Isle
    Middle guest bedroom - 1 queen , Across hall from full bath, ceiling fan, great view.
    Large Gulf Front Master Bedroom - 1 king , Gulf view, walk-in closet, full bath & 32-in flat screen TV
  • All bedrooms have great views and ceiling fans. The home can sleep up to 7 with the use of the comfortable self-inflating queen bed or the full-size sofa.
  • Books
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(17 traveler reviews)

94% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
Gulf Front!Brand New 3 BR/2.5 BA!Private Boardwalk!Screen Porch!Beach Equipment!
average rating of 4.8235292 based on 17 reviews
Guntersville AL

Absolutely fabulous vacation home!

  • 5 of 5

This house is amazingly beautiful and furnished with everything you need! All you really need to bring is your bathing suit!

The beach is covered with the most beautiful shells I've ever seen. The furnished beach buggy and supplies were fantastic!

The kitchen is top notch! Has everything you need for a great meal!

By far the best beach trip we've ever had! We will definitely be back!!

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, SO much, for the kind review. Since our home is brand new and we only put it on the rental market a few weeks ago, we didn't have any reviews yet and we appreciate you being our very first! We are so glad you stayed at our home and that you had a wonderful time. We are also so happy that you let our home be a part of celebrating your recent marriage. That's great that you were able to explore the beach and find some shells, too! We hope you will come back again...SOON!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Greenville, South Carolina

Nature Lover’s Paradise!

  • 5 of 5

Aweigh at last, pleased us well beyond our expectations. The house was very clean, beautifully decorated, and very comfy beds with soft towels. Loved waking up looking straight at the gulf. The kitchen had everything you need to make wonderful meals. Loved the screened porch with ceiling fans. I was concerned that it would be too July hot to sit outside, but the fans and light breezes made it lovely. There is so much joy to be had for nature lovers here. We loved kayaking just across the way to St. Vincent Island , where all the pelicans roost. The wildlife is so amazing here! We saw an alligator pass the boat dock peeping out from the Bay Area. Caught a hammerhead shark but gently returned it to the ocean. Enjoyed a nice fire with a beautiful starry sky and we were also able to see the Milky Way. It has been years since I was any place that I could actually see the Milky Way. Also rented a boat to go snorkeling and fishing at some excellent locations Leslie recommended. THANK YOU, Leslie for all your wonderful suggestions!! We ended up eating at Provisions (Italian food) and Joe Mama’s Wood fired pizza, both had excellent food and service. We hope to get back to Aweigh at last some day, it was wonderful.

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 2 of 5

The house was nice but the overall experience was a little disappointing. The photos are deceiving when it comes to privacy as we did not know there was another house that sits in front of it (also blocking the view), the house was for sale and had random people pull up and walk the boardwalk to view the property, we are covered in multiple bites from the mosquitoes and sand fleas, and the water was merky. I haven't been able to walk on my right foot for 2 days with it swollen, so I had to go to doctor today and found out I have a bacteria infection from the sea shells cutting the bottom of my feet in the water. Not an overall great vacation. We tried to make the best of the situation.

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. I was very surprised when I received this review because when I spoke with you several times during your stay, none of this was ever mentioned: not when I called the second day of your stay (as I try to do with all my guests) in case you had any questions and make sure everything was going well; or, when I called you later in the week to ask if the home could be shown by a Realtor the following day. You were kind enough to allow this inconvenience for which I paid an additional refund to you of $50. I am also very sorry that you thought my photos were deceiving. The pictures I have always had on our VRBO listing have views of our home from the front and back in which the home next to us is also included. That home does not sit in front of our home, however, it is closer to the water. We are very fortunate that there are only 2 homes near us: they are both privately owned and I've rarely ever seen any of the owners in the last year. I am sorry the water seemed murky. We have had a lot of storms lately which may have caused it to be churned up. I always try to make sure that when I talk with a potential guest who is not familiar with our special part of Florida, that they know that our water is usually blue-green-yellow, not the blue-blue of Destin. As far as your foot and bug bites, I hope you will be feeling much better soon. We love this special part of Florida and are sad that you did not enjoy it.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect Beach Home with Ideal Location

  • 5 of 5

This is a beautiful home and everything is in great condition. The owner, Leslie, was extremely responsive and proactive in helping to ensure our vacation was perfect. The house sits on a secluded part of a beach and allowed us to spend a significant amount of time as a family without the hassle of other beachgoers. The house was well equipped with everything you need at a beach and we just needed to show up. I could not have been more impressed with the house, the location, and the owner. Leslie -- thank you for all your support. I would highly recommend this house to others!!

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

Our stay in Port St. Joe was a great way to be introduced the the Florida gulf coast. The house was the perfect size for our family and was beautifully decorated and very clean. We had a great time collecting shells, riding the golf cart on the beach, and fishing. I would recommend this house to anyone wanting a quiet vacation on a beautiful beach!

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great place to vacation

  • 5 of 5

House was wonderful, had everything we needed & more! The beach was great for the little ones also. Port St Joe is not for anyone looking for night life. Couple of restaurants, convenient General Store but everything else requires a ride into town,

  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad that you all had such a nice time on the beach with your grand kids. We are, also, so glad that our home could be a part of that for you. Thank you for staying with us and enjoying this special part of "Old Florida."
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
45 Miles
North Florida Regional Airport in Panama City
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Indian Pass Raw Bar
Nearest Beach
60 Metres
Your front yard
Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $225
Refundable Damage Deposit $300

For Summer Season & Holiday weeks, FULL WEEK requests are preferred unless it is a few weeks before arrival. Rental weeks are normally from SUNDAY to SUNDAY (particularly during peak summer seasons). Monthly rates are available upon request. Check in-4 pm/Check out-11 am (EST)
Rates include high-quality linens and towels, 4 plush beach towels, 4 beach chairs, umbrella, cart & beach toys & rafts; starter supply of paper towels, TP, detergents & soaps.
There is a Kuerig coffee maker and a regular 12-cup drip coffee maker that uses round basket filters. The fully-equipped kitchen also has a Crock Pot & electric hand mixer.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund