Penthouse On The Piste, Ski-in Ski-out And Top Floor Mountain Views
- english, french
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Small but efficient and comfortable.
As a group of 7 adults (family members), this apartment was small but efficient and quite comfortable for us. We especially appreciated the washing machine, the dishwasher and the porch and porch furniture. Hannah responded to my text messages promptly when I had questions and we would definitely rent this property again if return to Tignes one day!
Lovely comfortable accommodation in a great location
The apartment was perfect for our family of six on skiing holiday. Plenty of room. Two bathroom/ shower rooms worked great. Kitchen is well equipped. Apartment was very comfortable with nice decoration. Plenty of storage for our clothing using the large wardrobe in the hallway and drawers in the bedrooms. Large ski locker swallowed all of our equipment with ease.
Well located for Bollin/ Fresse ski lift, grocery shop next door and a very short walk assisted by a lift into the centre of the town for ski schools, shops, restaurants, bars, etc.
Great views from the balcony of the Tichot lift area, pisted runs and slalom runs. After 5pm when the Tichot lift finished operating we had great fun sledging here!
Communications were very good - all queries answered very swiftly by Howard and Natasha (the owners) and comprehensive information provided after booking. Tignes Angels accommodation management were also very quick to respond and provide assistance when needed.
I have no hesitation recommending this accommodation for a family of our size or two smaller families. Would rate 5 stars except that there were a few minor things overlooked which should be easily addressed - blown light bulbs, broken toilet roll holder, inoperative bedroom TV - but didn’t impact our enjoyment of the accommodation at all.
Way too cramped for 2 families!
The photos of this apartment make it look spacious but I wish we had seen a floor plan in advance. One large wardrobe to share between 8 people (2 families of 4) is the least I have ever had after 20 years of skiing in The Alps. The WC, bathrooms and bedrooms are all tiny and placed so close together it is very awkward to say the least for 2 families to share. We were all tripping over each other constantly and there is zero privacy for anyone.
Hot water pressure is average although on the upside it was nice to arrive with beds made up etc and supplies for bins and dishwashers were appreciated. The views are great, the apartment is in good condition and it is very well located all of which are positives but we would never go back unless it was with half as many people which makes the apartment extremely poor value compared to others in equivalent resorts we have stayed in with the same convenience..
The floorplan is now available on the website, so the separate living and sleeping areas can be seen. The size of the apartment is 60m2, and has always been published on the site. The size of the apartment is exactly double that of 4-6 person apartments in our building, so we feel appropriately proportioned.
Tignes Is a high altitude resort, space is at a premium. So if your experience is chalets in low lying resorts, then it is possible you will feel there is less space.
Each of our rooms has some storage (chest of drawers in the doubles, under-bed drawers in the bunks), and a large shared sliding wardrobe in the corridor near the entrance for all ski wear.
As regards value, we are in line with the overall Tignes standard, although we understand some guests have experienced exchange rate swings (EUR/GBP) of 30% between booking and final payments following the Brexit, so we have reviewed our peak rate pricing for 2017/18.
A complete rip off in a great location! Hardly any reviews, now I know why!!!
The pictures lead you to believe that you are renting an exclusive "penthouse" apartment tastefully decorated. In actual fact, you have two studio flats (and a corridor) put together with a random layout. The result sadly is an impractical flat where the 2 master bedrooms are next to each other separated by paper thin walls, a toilet right by the dining table, the rooms are so small you cannot fit any of your stuff in them so you have to share the corridor's cupboard with each other. It is also worth noting that one of you will sleep squashed against the wall in both the double rooms (the beds are French doubles 140x200 with only one bedside table and the room themselves are tiny).
The flat is allegedly designed for 8 people. We were two families with 2 kids each and the lack of privacy was often felt. The flat is also not equipped if you want to cook everyday. Not enough knives, no veg peeler, dirty and damaged frying pans and no toaster (we used the oven which is dangerous) It was hard work!! You had to reorganise the lounge when you wanted to sit down for dinner as you couldn't pull the chairs out until the tubs were tucked away. It was a permanent reorganising act to fit everybody and keep sane during simple daily activities like cooking, eating, showering or going to the loo!!! It is obvious to me that because of the size of the flat, members of the same family would have been more at ease than 2 separate families.
The other very disappointing thing was the state of the flat. It was very dirty. We found socks, corn plasters, tissues...The amount of dust was unreal (and not new), duvet covers and towels were bleach stained and one of the kids' duvet smelled of urine.
There were no little attentions that you might expect when you reach these sort of prices, i.e. no hand wash in bathrooms, no welcome pack, no washing powder, only two tiny bin liners (filled within ten minutes of arrival!), only one kitchen towel (always wet), and a broom with a snapped handle (on which I cut myself)...
As for the general working order, the bulb above the shower was broken (so you showered in semi darkness!) another one was faulty and flickered when you showered (not very reassuring!), there was no bulb under the extractor fan in the kitchen (cooking in the dark), the tv in the lounge did not always work (often glitchy) and there were no English channels as advertised.
Great location, but not good value for money or even adequately priced in my opinion.
We review all complaints seriously and have taken a few actions as a result of this review, as detailed below. There are however several false information in this review. We must also emphasise that it is the responsibility of the person booking to share our website link with all guests in the party, to ensure the whole group is happy with the booking. We provide clear photos and accurate information on the site.
We have decided though for 2017/18 to reduce the price of certain peak weeks linked to the UK holidays, in view of the weak pound currently following the Brexit.
We ask that if you wish to arrive early, and wish to leave bags in our lockers, that it is agreed in advance with local management, this can often be worked out. But it is then important that you then ski for the day and do not return early and pressure cleaners to finish early, and allow the apartment to be quality checked before you enter the apartment.
We work with professional management locally, we know them personally and have confidence in the standards provided. Small items can be fixed during your stay, if you tell us during your stay, such as switching the TV over to English, plugging in toasters, replacement crockery…
We do not bleach bedding. Some sheets have faded slightly in just one season, so we decided to replace with sheets from John Lewis, hoping for higher quality this time.
The apartment is not constructed from two studios. The apartment was in fact the combination, by the building’s renovation architect, of two times two bedroom apartments, and the only one on the same level access. Most guests like the arrangement, especially families, as it separates very well the living and sleeping areas. Please take a look at the photos on the website, they represent very well what is on offer.
Quiet flat in perfect location
Lovely clean well equipped fifth floor flat. Spacious ski locker on the ground floor and Ski Republic ski hire shop and supermarket both within 25 metres of the flat. Perfect location for access to both Tignes and Val D'isere with ski lifts to both very close to the apartment. The flat is in a very quiet part of the village though only half a mile from the centre where most of the restaurants are located. Wifi very reliable and free. Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again next time.
(It would have been 5 stars but for the building's maddingly unreliable lift.)
Fantastic apartment, fantastic location
The apartment is in an awesome location with 4 chairlifts and the funicular within a slow 5 minute walk. The supermarket is directly opposite the front door which offers everything needed for your stay. The apartment was more than adequate for 8 adults and was warm and homely. The management team was waiting for us on arrival and went through the property with us all which as others have said is a great touch. The apartment also has a private secure boot room for all your kit.
Summing up fantastic apartment, fantastic location and would book again for another trip without question.
Tignes is part of the Espace Killy, over 300km of world class pistes, and seemingly endless off-piste terrain. Our apartment is located in Val-Claret, where the principal lifts are located, giving quick access to the Grande-Motte Glacier and lifts to Val D'isere. There are lifts in all directions just outside our apartment (les Lanches, Tichot, Funiculaire, Fresse). For bad-light days, it is possible to ski down to the tree runs in Tignes Brevieres, or take the bus that stops 100m from the apartment. These buses run daily and nightly through the main seasons, to get to and from events and activities in Tignes Le Lac.
As Tignes is car free, you can pull up in front of the building, and our ski locker is just inside the main entrance, and next to the lift, making it very convenient. The Grande Motte Car park is in front of the apartment. For heavy snow periods, it may be advisable to park in the “Golf” covered parking. It’s a 2-3 minute drive away.
Ski Passes and Parking can be booked online at www.tignes.net, usually from October time. Ski-Set and Ski-Republic (ronde pointe des pistes) are located in our building, for rental equipment.
The Sherpa supermarket just opposite the main entrance also has a small bakery offering fresh breads and croissant daily. There are snack bars and restaurant located in our apartment block and adjacent buildings, and the pedestrian lift taking you to the centre of Val-Claret is located at the back of our building.