Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Sylvan Lake Cottage 1/2 Block to Beach

Bedrooms 4
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights


About the property

Licensed Tourist Home with Town of Sylvan Lake

Our peaceful cottage Lazy Day Haven is a licenced tourist home with the Town of Sylvan Lake. It's located 1/2 block from the beach, children's park, restaurants and pubs. It has a main and separate lower suite perfect for families to be together and yet everyone have their own space. It has 4 bedrooms, 3 upstairs and 1 down, with 2 sofa beds in each living room. 3 full bath, 2 upstairs and 1 down. 2 fully equipped kitchens, 2 laundry, 1 up and 1 down, fire bit, bbq, patio furniture.

July and August are weekly only Fri-Fri

More Details

Tara Wakefield
Member since: 2017
Speaks: english,
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 10, 2018

About Tara Wakefield

We are new to VRBO but have been renting our vacation home for over 10 years. We welcome you to our home and hope you have a wonderful stay!!

Tara Wakefield purchased this cottage in 2006


Sylvan Lake Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 5:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 1:00 PM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Min. age of primary renter: 26
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Downtown
  • Lake View
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Has Full Master Bathroom
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Junior walk in closet
    Bedroom 3 - 3 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 4 queen , Located in lower suite
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks


3.6/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

20% Complete
40% Complete
20% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
Sylvan Lake Cottage 1/2 Block to Beach
average rating of 3.6 based on 5 reviews

Nice clean cozy home

  • 5 of 5

Ideal location, clean and comfortable.

  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Good Accommodations

  • 3 of 5

There is enough space for two families and the furniture and beds are comfortable. It is conveniently located near shopping and the beach. The house is in need some repairs. The stove on the main level does not work properly and the stove in the basement is slow at best. The house and bedding wasn't as clean as we would have preferred and the walk was not shoveled. We had infants and small children, so that was a bit of a hazard. For the price, it is a good place to stay.

  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Many items should be addressed before renting out the property.

  • 2 of 5

Beds, sinks, toilets were clean but the baseboards and walls were extremely filthy. One light bulb out of 8 in the lower suite actually worked. We added 3 bulbs out of 5 above the table. Stove upstairs didn’t work properly. Had to cook from the lower level. Microwave didn’t work in lower level. Dishwasher could only be used on light cycle. Dryer could not be used as it left marks on clothing. BBQ did work but had no propane which we needed to source out 10:30 pm in -30 degree weather. Extra hooks laying on the shelf downstairs bathroom. Plywood leaning against the wall in master closet. All the components of the lower level TV could not be plugged in due to lack of receptacles. Closets were messy and unorganized.

The house was a close distance to the lake. Would be handy in the summer time. We couldn’t take advantage of that as it was -40 with windchill our entire stay.

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry that you did not find the home to your satisfaction. We do have a cleaning lady come in. She has been with us for a year and not a complaint . I will however show her this review. We do leave light bulbs so the cleaning lady can change them. I apologize that they were missed but glad you found the replacement bulbs. This is the first I have heard about the stove upstairs not working properly. I will look into it, but we did have guests just stay 6 weeks with us and said nothing. The cycle we recommend on the dishwasher again has never been a complaint for anyone as the dishes come clean. I apologize if there there was another setting you would have preferred but all do work. We have two washer and dryers in the home and yes one does have a note on it not to use as it leaves marks but there is still another set available for your use so I am not sure how this effected your stay as most places do only have the one. The propane was out on the bbq and when you called about it we told you that there were two more tanks steps away on the deck . During that conversation we were told there were not. We thought that was odd and said perhaps they were moved to the garage. We were told going to the garage to look was unacceptable. When we arrived a few days later the two tanks were on the deck as suggested. Clearly the time of night or the weather was out of our control. We did suggest other options to get propane however NONE were acceptable . Yes there are some hooks on a top self in the downstairs bathroom. I am not sure how that effected your stay. Yes there was a smaller sheet of plywood in the closet upstairs which struck me as very odd. I am not sure why it was there and have to assume left by a previous guest and not removed by the cleaning lady. We did remove it and apologize that it was left behind. Yes there are extra sheets in the closets for our guests to use as well as fans. I am sorry you saw it as messy/clutter, but I believe those items are of use. Yes guests find our location to be fantastic and close to the lake, however the time of year you chose to stay and the weather again is not something I had any control over. Our cleaning lady did tell us that non fixable damage was done to the love seat. Because of the almost hostile conversation over the propane we did not hold back your damage deposit and find it upsetting that our property was damaged and we now have this review with complaints that have not been an issue in the past
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Cozy and comfortable.

  • 4 of 5

The house is comfortable the neighborhood is quite; it is really close to the lake and the space is perfect for 4 couples.

We would like to make some suggestions about improving the cleaning of the house, washrooms, and the sofa beds because we found small bugs in between them. The stove and oven from upstairs did not work properly and it took very long to heat up. The shower from the master bedroom was not working while we were staying. However we had a really nice Christmas time in the house along with family. Thank you very much, happy holidays!

  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you and your family had a wonderful stay. We have not had a complaint about cleanliness in a year till this week. Another family spoke of it as well and I am sorry it wasn't to your satisfaction. I will be speaking to the company I deal with as I agree those issues are not acceptable. The other family this week did mention the stove as well and not that this helps you now but we will be replacing it for future guests. The shower I was not aware of but will look into it. Thank you for letting us know. You are most welcome and glad your family had a wonderful Christmas. We welcome your family anytime :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Location. Lots of space.

  • 4 of 5

We had a great stay in Sylvan Lake. The house was clean and well equipped. The location was fantastic so close to the main beach and ice cream store. The living room is small but was not an issue as we had perfect weather and were able to spend lots of time out on the deck. The only issue was the barbecue did not work. Thanks again Tara for the use of your home.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $61.25
Refundable Damage Deposit $191.41

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.