Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Modern Mauna Kea Stunner - 2 Master Bdrms + Guest House

Bedrooms 4
Space 3,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 10 nights


About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Hale Kea, or the 'White House' is a luxurious 3,500 sq ft vacation home located in the South Fairways of the prestigious Mauna Kea Resort. The home is situated in a completely private and beautifully landscaped setting with stunning 180 degree ocean views. The outdoor garden features a non-chlorinated 30' lap pool (unheated), hot tub, outdoor shower and a covered deck. The home faces westerly overlooking the turquoise waters of Kaunao'a Bay with distant Maui views and nightly sunsets to dazzle.

This architecturally significant residence was completely remodeled with designer finishes of locally handcrafted sustainable wood, reclaimed teak and modern furnishings imported from Europe that have been customized with Hawaii-themed fabrics. The home uses terrazzo Italian Carrara slab marble and imported glass tile extensively. Designers featured include many contemporary and mid-century masters such as Richard Schultz, Eames, Phillipe Starck, Jens Risom for Pucci, Cherner, Chista, Buchfelder for Moss, Marcel Wanders, Verner Panton and Le Corbusier.

Hale Kea has a casual open-space floor plan with glass sliding doors that open every room of the house to the peaceful outdoor setting. The kitchen is equipped with Viking appliances, a wine cabinet and water purification system. The living room features a media center with a large wall-mounted TV & DVD player and a Sonos sound system with speakers in every room of the home that can easily sync to your iPod or iPhone playlist. There are indoor and outdoor dining options, situated to maximize the incredible views. Other amenities include a washer & dryer, an extensive library, complimentary WIFI access throughout the property and air-conditioning in all the bedrooms only. The main living area (living room, dining room & kitchen) is not air-conditioned but designed to enjoy our wonderful trades with several ceiling fans and large sliding screened doors that can be opened for maximum natural ventilation.

There are two bedrooms in the main house, each with a king size bed and private bathroom. The detached 'Hale I'i' (guest house) includes two bedrooms, each with a queen-size bed, and an attached Jack & Jill bathroom. All the bedrooms have air-conditioning and beds are dressed with luxurious Frette linens. The bathrooms feature a large rain shower and provide robes and L'occitane toiletries.

Guests of this property will be serviced by South Kohala Management with a check-in office conveniently located within the Mauna Lani Resort. Our staff is on-site daily to ensure your best stay possible.

* HI ID #TA-005-058-5600-01

More Details

Property Manager
South Kohala Management
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within a day
Calendar last updated:
March 22, 2018

About South Kohala Management

We wanted a home that reflects the history of this classic resort with modern upgrades.

South Kohala Management purchased this house in 2006

Why South Kohala Management chose Kamuela

Mauna Kea Fairways is one of the most exclusive locations in Hawaii. This home provides the perfect combination of being completely secluded yet within a short distance of world class resort amenities.

What makes this house unique

This very private home is designed to integrate with the natural beauty of the area. The outdoor space features a natural pool, hot tub and lots of seating to entertain. The home has been completely renovated with designer furnishings that bring together the natural Hawaiian beauty and mid-century modern feel that is distinctive to the Mauna Kea Resort.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Spectacular mid century modern home with all the amenities. So luxurious yet minimalist at the same time. South Kohala Management is an extremely professional group that insures your needs are being met. Highly recommend this location and this team to everyone.
Aug 2016
  • 1 of 4


Kamuela House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 3500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Golf Course View
  • Ocean View
  • Resort ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Master Bathroom - toilet , shower
    2nd Bathroom - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • L'occitane toiletries and spa robes are provided in each bathroom. Rain showers only (no bathtubs).
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , office that can be converted into a 4th bedroom
  • All bedrooms have air-conditioning
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Boat
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • luaus
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Membership privileges are available for purchase to use the Mauna Kea Resort Club facilities during your stay. The cost is $125/day and must be purchased directly through Mauna Kea Residential Guest Services at least 2 weeks PRIOR to your arrival. Our Reservations Department will provide you with the registration form (when you make a reservation) and it will be your responsibility to complete & return this form back to Mauna Kea Residential Guests Services. Purchase of this membership includes the following privileges at the Mauna Kea Beach Hotel and the Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel facilities: Charging privileges at all hotel facilities, access to hotel beach and pools, towels, use of lounge chairs/umbrellas, reduced golf rates at golf courses, reduced rates at the Mauna Kea Seaside Tennis Club, use of two fitness centers (yoga and group classes available for a fee), and an access card for preferred parking at the hotels.


4.3/5 -
(4 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
Modern Mauna Kea Stunner - 2 Master Bdrms + Guest House
average rating of 4.25 based on 8 reviews

Not worth the price and not great for families

  • 2 of 5

We just completed our 6 day stay. Pros: Beautiful house located near two good resorts that you can access by buying the resort amenities package. Definitely recommend getting the resort package. Location is on the sunny part of the island so we had good weather for most of the trip. Grocery store, shops, etc are within 10 miles so not too bad of a drive. House had all dishes, appliances, etc that you could need and definitely accommodates a group of 8 comfortably. Pool and hot tub were great. Cons: The house has a major pest problem. We have stayed in multiple tropical locations around the world and certainly understand the occasional bug but this house was crawling with roaches and scorpions. Not exactly what you expect from a luxury estate. Definitely wouldn't recommend having small children in the home. We reported the issue after killing two scorpions in the bedroom and getting sick of swatting roaches everywhere so the property management company sent pest control out - meaning we could not be in the house we paid to be in one of the afternoons. Next day house still filled with bugs. Other cons - privacy is a challenge as there are no drapes (just light color shades) and there are floor to ceiling windows surrounding the house. Makes for great views but very easy to see through at night into the bedrooms especially if people are in the yard / pool area. Had to make sure all lights were out in the bedrooms when changing. Location of the house, while great in terms of weather is far from many sights on the island (hour plus) such as Hilo, black sand beach, rainforests/ waterfalls, etc so something to keep in mind if you are trying to see a lot and plan your days accordingly. Overall given he issues encountered I would say the house is overpriced and I wouldn't classify it as a "luxury" home.

  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to review our property. To be clear, we did have a quarterly pest control done at this property a few days prior to your arrival and this usually causes insects/pests to come out of their hiding places before they perish. Based on your complaint, we did send the private housekeeper for this home to go out to inspect and clean. She did find that there were a couple of dead bugs but not the "major issue" that you mentioned. You did ask for pest control to come out and spray, which meant you needed to vacate the property for safety reasons. Regarding the shades, they are not lined or considered black out curtains but the bathroom would have been a better option for changing when people were in the pool area or yard. This property is a luxury home and we will continue to classify it as such.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
Los Angeles

Our Family Summer Vacation

  • 5 of 5

We have been coming to the Mauna Kea Resort for many years but this trip was over the top. This mid century modern home is exquisite in every way. Plenty of night and ocean views from every room. The kitchen was perfectly equipped and the lap pool provided hours of fun when we were not hanging at the beach. South Kohala Management is a first class team of professionals that make sure your needs are being met. We will do this one again. Guaranteed.

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Portland OR

Designer's Dream!

  • 5 of 5

Great "designer's dream" house. So much style, but also comfortable! We enjoyed the killer ocean view (whales!) and the very well equipped kitchen. We will be back!

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2015
  • Stayed: December 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
San Francisco, CA

Ultimate Retreat!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I and another couple booked this home for a much needed getaway this Fall. We have been vacationing at the Mauna Kea resort for almost a decade and we were so happy that we chose this Fairways home instead of staying at the hotel! The home was beautiful and exactly as pictured. We absolutely loved the home's decor and found the furnishings to be very comfortable (including the beds!) and much more updated than the hotel rooms. The home is situated perfectly for two couples as we each had our own end of the home and each bedroom had equally beautiful views and privacy. My husband swam laps every morning in the pool and we had dinner on the outdoor deck almost every night (the property manager suggested some great Farmer's Markets in the nearby town of Waimea and we had home cooked organic meals everyday-much cheaper and better quality than the typical hotel food one finds around here). We also purchased the resort pass which we found to be very reasonably priced and received all the perks of being a hotel guest. We had one issue getting the outdoor speakers to work and the property manager came right over to help us. This was definitely the relaxing retreat that we needed and is the only way we will be vacationing at the Mauna Kea from now on. I highly recommend this home to anybody who wants the full resort experience but with the flexibility to retreat to your own private sanctuary. Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us!

  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2013
  • Stayed: October 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Number 3 Restaurant
Lunch Restaurant
Hapuna Golf Course
Cafe Hapuna
Three Frogs Cafe
Hapuna Beach State Park
Pu'ukohola Heiau National Historic Site
Hot Malasadas Truck
al Vicolo
Italian Restaurant
Aloha Deli
Breakfast Restaurant
Seafood Bar and Grill
Bar & Grill
Cafe Pesto - Kawaihae
Family Restaurant
Anuenue Ice Cream & Shave Ice
Kawaihae Kitchen
Asian Restaurant
Kohala Burger & Taco
Hamburger Restaurant
Hale Kai Restaurant
Brown's Beach House Restaurant
Seafood Restaurant
Under the Bodhi Tree
Vegetarian Restaurant
The Blue Room Brasserie
French Restaurant
Juice 101
Juice Shop
Kimo Bean Coffee Co
Coffee Shop
Hawaiian Restaurant
Bay Terrace
Buffet Restaurant
Ocean Bar & Grill
Lunch Restaurant
Waikoloa Restaurant & Bar
Island Lava Java Waikoloa
Shiono at Mauna Lani
Sushi Restaurant
Racha Thai
Thai Restaurant
Pueo's Osteria, LLC
Italian Restaurant
Napua at Mauna Lani Beach Club
Hawaiian Restaurant
Dona & Toni's
Italian Restaurant
Waikoloa Coffee Co
Coffee Shop
Honolulu Coffee
Coffee Shop
Island Fish & Chips
Seafood Restaurant
Kings' Shops
A-Bay's Island Grill
Pacific Rim Restaurant
Daylight Mind Coffee Company
Lemongrass Express Waikoloa
Asian Restaurant
Ippy's Hawaiian BBQ
Barbecue Restaurant
Paradise Pizza & Grill
Pizza Restaurant
Hawaiian Fish N Chips
Seafood Restaurant
Charley's Thai Cuisine
Thai Restaurant
Pizza Restaurant
Merriman's Big Island
American Restaurant
Red Water Cafe
American Restaurant
Hawaiian Style Cafe
Hawaiian Restaurant
Waimea Coffee Company
Coffee Shop
JoJo's Avenue - Shaved Ice & Treats
Hina Rae’s Sugarshack
Paniolo Country Inn
Parker Ranch Center
Nearest Airport
28 Miles
Kona International Airport (KOA)
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Several within the resort
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Mauna Kea & Hapuna Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
Highway 19
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Several within the resort
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Mauna Kea (Kaunaoa) & Hapuna Beach
Car: necessary

Located just 28 miles north of the Kona International Airport, The Mauna Kea Resort on the Big Island of Hawaii is one of the most iconic travel destinations in the world. Built by Laurance Rockefeller and completed in 1965, it has been the choice of distinguished travelers and dignitaries since it's construction. The resort was developed around two of the world's most picturesque and peaceful beaches, Kauna'oa and Hapuna Bay. Here you'll find soft white sand and brilliant turquoise waters with the majestic Mauna Kea volcano as a backdrop.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional


  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees

  • See Rates Above
  • US Dollars
  • HI ID #TA-005-058-5600-01