What makes this Cottage unique
Skyeview Beach House is located in the heart of PEI's spectacular Green Gables Shore and is just minutes from Cavendish.
Check-in: 4:00 PM
Check-out: 10:00 AM
Minimum age of primary renter:25
Max guests:8 (sleeps up to 8 adults)
This vacation home was perfect for us. It was exactly as described in listing. And the view was so beautiful.
Liked the property
Enjoyed our stay. Property is like new and modern. Location is good - close to the water but without big ocean waves due to bay location - good for kids. Liked the decoration and style. Appreciated simple tasteful decorative style, quality of linens and pillows, etc. Kids had beach toys supplied, beach towels. We used billiard table a few times in community building. The pool was closed - opens after June 21st. Campfire set up is a nice added benefit. Plenty of dishes, wine glasses, etc etc. On a hot day some flies on porch but next day were gone. Overall 5/5 and I would come back.
Great house,lovely view
The house was very nice. As other reviewers said needs a bit more furniture & the flies were an annoyance (composting in the kitchen???). Also needs a good shar knife. But overall a lovely setting and a comfortable clean house
Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback Virginia. The owner expects the arrival of a chair and love seat to arrive next week - just after Thanksgiving. And in keeping with the Thanksgiving theme she let me know she is bringing and will leave 4 new chef / prep knives. As for the fruit flies - I'm afraid you were here at their favourite time of year. Only way to avoid them is to be vigilant about getting the kitchen compost emptied more frequently than normal....and I guess just hope that the guests before you were considerate enough to do the same!
All the best and we thank you for choosing booking through PEI Summer Rental Cottages!
Great place, great sunsets!
We had a great week at Skyeview. We traveled with my parents and our two toddlers. Overall, a great place and pretty good location, but there was limited furniture in the house. It sleeps 8, but comfortably seats 4. There is this cool loft area that is completely empty with zero furniture - kind of bizarre. Would have made for a great place for our folks to sit and watch Tv at night. Sitting In the main area with only a 3 seater couch and one chair also made it tough to hang it in the evenings. There were also a lot of flies in the house and we never had the doors open - we were constantly swatting. Likely because of the strict composting rules on the island but it was quite a shift for us to be constantly killing flies. They also need more towels in the unit. Otherwise it was a great spot. The view was priceless and great at Night to sit out with a glass of wine. The beach isn't really swimable, especially with kids - but the field was amazing to run around in. Our kids loved it!! And if you're traveling with a toddler and need a pack n play, they have one. I wish we had known this and had one less thing to worry about on our trip! Overall, I'd recommend this spot, but not with 8 people - Max 4 or 5.
Thanks Julie. We appreciate the feedback. Good news! The owner expects delivery of some new living area furniture next week. I would like to say that there has always been a minimum of seating for 12 in the open concept great room, so not quite as sparse a picture as you painted - but I think the more important point is there was not always enough lounging / relaxing furniture for movie / tv watching. As for the fruit flies - a common theme from mid-August through early September - if everyone including the guests before you emptied the kitchen compost every day then the flies would never have appeared. Maybe we need to note this in the information binder provided in the house - particularly for that period of time toward the end of the summer.
When I saw your review about the towels I took a look (there would certainly be a gap between your stay and your review and then another before I got there!). It is possible that a couple got stained and the cleaner didn't have replacements with her, but in the house now there is currently 1.5 bath towels per person and that is our standard for the properties we manage. There were also 8 beach towels provided in the house. I apologize if anything less was left for you and thanks again for bringing it to my attention.
Wonderful property. Beautiful views
The house is a beautiful, clean home. We had 8 people stay with us and we could have used a few more living chairs in the living room, a love seat or extra couch would have a been awesome. The kitchen is fantastic. Great home, and great company to deal with. Dean Smith answered my questions when i asked. Would recommend this company. The garbage system was a little difficult to get on to lol.
Thanks Kim! You are correct - the garbage system is not easy when you are just here for a week. We have a private pickup each week for exactly that reason. Even with a sorting guide it always seems to be different than everywhere else I've been!
I am happy that you had a good experience booking through, and communicating with, our company and I'm grateful you took the time to mention it in your review. It is a hectic season and all in all there are about 25 of us working in the peak season to try to ensure that all of our guests feel they receive what they've paid for and to also ensure our owners properties are taken care of appropriately by our guests and our team.
Take care and thank you.
PS - more living room furniture ordered and on the way!
May 2018 Stay
A gorgeous waterfront cottage, inside and out. Beds were comfortable and this cottage had better than most amenities, including cable tv, premium appliances and designer features. Owner/manager was quick to respond to the single issue that we had. The Hebrides clubhouse was a nice bonus. We loved this little community so much, we tried to buy a lot in the community (it was already sold).
Thank you so much for your stay and for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and visiting with family! All the best!