Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

In Paris' Marais District in an Historic Palace, Artfully Restored 4 Bedroom, 3 Bathroom Apartment

Bedrooms 4
Space 0 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 4 nights


About the property

Bedrooms 4, Bathrooms 3, Sleeps 8

A magnificent 18th century palace on a quiet street in the beautiful, and now chic and trendy Marais District of Paris, offers a special apartment for fortunate guests.

Enter through a high portal into a quiet and beautiful courtyard lined with boxed Magnolias. Then enter through a private door directly into the apartment. The light from the courtyard enters the apartment, but cunning glass French doors prevent any prying eyes from seeing inside, while the insiders have an unobstructed view of the courtyard. The large entry hall, lined with 18th century stone is still modern and welcoming, with planted lemon trees, interesting antiques from the owners' travels, and attractive paintings. Add to this every modern comfort.

The apartment is on two floors with two separate living rooms. There are two master bedrooms on the entry floor each with its own modern bathroom, and one double and one with two twin beds, and its own sitting area, on the lower floor. The two floors are separated by a charming spiral staircase. There is a beautiful dining room which seats 10 easily, a nice kitchen, and much more.

Vivaldi is located in one of Parisians' most favored locations, the Marais. From the mid-thirteenth century, the Marais became one of the most important aristocratic areas of Paris. By World War II the Marais had declined, but a major effort was made beginning in the 1950's to renovate the area. The main palaces and mansions were restored and turned into museums: the Picasso Museum, the Paris Historical Museum and the Cognac-Jay Museum are now prominent and worthy of a visit. In turn, this building has been returned to its former glory by an eminent designer/developer and a very few privileged owners have apartments in it.

The Georges Pompidou Museum, France's national Museum of Modern Art and one of the world's most important cultural institutions, was built on the western edge of the Marais. Richard Rogers and Renzo Piano were the architects of this architecturally revolutionary building. The Marais has become incredibly chic and you will find trendy shops, countless art galleries, and all varieties of restaurants and cafes. You can shop away and dine very well between museum visits!

The Pompidou, Picasso, Carnavelet Museums, the Place de Voges, The Seine, the Cathedral of Notre Dame are a 10 mn walk. You will also find the Opera not far away. Two metros are less than a 4 minute walk, RER a 7 minute walk, 2 bus stops within 2 Minutes.

More Details
Registration Number : 7510300675242

Property Manager
Susan Doull
Speaks: english, french, spanish, italian
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
December 15, 2017

Guestbook comments from the manager

Wonderful stay with family I can only highly recommend this apartment.This rental is very well decorated and the bedding is very comfortable.
Jan 2017
  • 1 of 11


Sainte-Avoye Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Floor Area:
  • 0 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
  • Family
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling


Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(22 traveler reviews)

59% Complete
22% Complete
4% Complete
9% Complete
4% Complete
In Paris' Marais District in an Historic Palace, Artfully Restored 4 Bedroom, 3 Bathroom Apartment
average rating of 4.2272725 based on 33 reviews
Bridgewater MA USA


  • 2 of 5

My friends and I, a group of 7 retired women, recently spent 7 nights at this property. We often travel as a group and typically stay in a home/apartment that allows us to do some meals "in". While the ad for this property said the kitchen was "functional", it was far from that in our estimation. The kitchen is half the size of a normal galley kitchen. This very small space also included the clothes washer. It did not include a full oven, but merely a small convection oven. There was virtually no available counter space for food preparation. A full bathroom was at the end of the galley kitchen. The kitchen in no way met our reasonable definition of "functional." In addition, two of the bedrooms and one bathroom are in the stone basement of this "palace." The area was not only difficult to climb down into on the narrow spiral wrought iron staircase, but it was very damp. In fact, we found mold growing on the ceilings and some of the walls. The caretaker installed a de-humidifyer upon our arrival so we assume other guests had noticed the dampness prior to our arrival. Worse still, the narrow spiral staircase was the ONLY means of egress from the basement bedrooms. I do not know the laws in France, but this would not likely be a legal rental in the United States. When I mentioned our dissatisfaction to the property manager during our stay, she dismissed my comments stating she had clearly disclosed the conditions of the property. Perhaps she should try using different words in her ad that better convey the property's shortcomings.

  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am certainly surprised to hear that you were disappointed in this much beloved apartment. I do believe that I was quite clear in describing the kitchen to you when we spoke, and of course there are several pictures of it on the site. The comi oven has cooked a Thanksgiving Turkey, and caterers have come in and cooked multi-course celebratory dinners for a crowd, so it is fully functional. Though , it is not the kind of kitchen for 7 people to stand around in and cook together. As far as the lower floor being difficult "to Climb down to", I have to object. There is a perfectly comfortable and secure, spiral staircase which is also visible in the pictures and not a surprise. It is certainly not illegal not to have egress from a basement, and is more common than not. There is no mould, it is always well cleaned, but we had had some humidity, which is why we bought the highest quality dehumidifier that there is, and it should have sorted the problem in less than 24 hours. We always try to be polite, and do not dismiss valid complaints. We are proud of this beautiful apartment and most guests agree. That is why we have so many 5 star reviews. I am sorry that you were not one of those contented guests. Kind regards, susan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Fantastic location, comfy rooms and beds, great bathrooms.

  • 5 of 5

Overall great place to use as pad in Paris. On quiet courtyard. Walking to everything nearby. Very comfortable place - rooms, beds, bathrooms, kitchen, sitting space. Fun decor. Owner and greeter both helpful. Would stay here again and will recommend to friends. Note: We had cool weather which was lucky for July but there is no air conditioning in apartment which could be an issue if weather had been very hot. Fans in every room did help.

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Marais Option

  • 5 of 5

Our two families (4 adults and 3 kids) stayed here for almost two weeks in July. The apartment was in a great location close to two different metro stops, lots of restaurants and other sites. We found the neighborhood very Parisian so we felt like we were locals.

The apartment it self is good size and is as described. Two bedrooms on the main floor and two downstairs. To get downstairs you have to go down a very narrow spiral staircase, so we let the kids stay downstairs and spent most of our time upstairs. There's a little living room, then separately a large dinning area attached to a kitchen. Everything was comfortable and we very much enjoyed our stay.

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so pleased to read your review for which I think you, and to know that you all enjoyed the apartment , the neighborhood ,a dn had a wonderful. I bet the kids loved having their own adult-free living room downstairs and to themselves. Thank you again for sharing. Susan Doull The Commendable Rentals Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location, clean and comfortable

  • 4 of 5

As a group of 6 women celebrating our 40th birthdays, this was a great location and lots of space to spread out in the apartment. Beds were comfortable and was spotless clean on arrival. Loved the privacy of the courtyard. Very quiet and we felt quite safe. Area has a lot of great restaurants, cocktail bars and shopping which was perfect. Owners were helpful, reliable and accommodating which was much appreciated! Suggestions for improvement include a new washer/dryer that doesn't take 9 hrs per cycle. The coffee table is vicious on those sharp corners! Consider replacing as a few leg scars have been tattooed on our legs. Basement sleeping is a damp, so a dehumidifier would be a great addition. Overall, a wonderful trip with amazing memories that will last is a lifetime! Thanks for the hospitality!

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for writing! So glad that you have had a great stay! A news item for you: The washer/dryer was replaced today! There is a dehumidifier that normally is put away for summer. I will make sure it gets put out. Best wishes to all of you for your next decade. Susan Doull and the Commendable Rentals Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Francisco,CA

Exceptional Customer Service

  • 4 of 5

Commendable Rentals(CR) represents prime real estate properties in highly desirable locations. What we felt sets CR above similar organizations was their immediate and complete resolution of issues that inevitably arise during any weekly rental in foreign countries. Susan Doull's responsiveness reminded us of a family member who was completely dedicated to insuring everything worked out well...the hallmark of a truly reputable and excellently managed organization.

  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I couldn't be more pleased that to receive this review. You were lovely to work with, and I hope to have the opportunity to help you plan the details of a future trip. Kind regards, Susan Doull Commendable Rentals
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Would not stay here again!

  • 1 of 5

One star, I would NOT rent again. Great location, but the other info is very misleading. First there is NO A/C in the apartment as advertised. There are NOT two master bedrooms on the entry (first) floor. Bedroom one is enclosed by glass and French doors. Very little privacy with drapes that don’t completely cover the doors. Very little privacy off the main living area. The bedroom is connected to a bathroom with a door that open into a hallway. This shower/bath tub is not even completely enclosed or has a shower curtain, which leads to a wet floor and having to mopping the bathroom floor after every shower. The second bedroom is next to the entrance and again is only separated by a glass door. The second bath is at the opposite end of the apartment through the dining room and kitchen and opens into the kitchen. There are only windows and a doors on one wall of the apartment which prevents poor ventilation. The top floor was very hot.

The spiral staircase to the bottom floor is very narrow and treacherous. The bottom floor has no windows or doors, but is cooler. The bathroom is adequate but has what looks like black mold. Also due to the thick stone walls internet reception is very poor on the bottom floor.

The washer that literally holds one outfit and takes 4 hours to wash. It was a joke.

It was like staying in a youth hostel. If they renovated and updated the place it has the potential to be fantastic.

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This apartment so beloved by so many that stay there was clearly not for you. So much of what you say is distorted or not true. There are definitely two lovely bedrooms on the entry floor. They are well designed, so that when wanted , they can open open up into the living area. If you raise the lovely, and completely private-producing draperies, yes, there are glass doors, well-covered,that we find a charming feature, for opening up the space. However with curtains in place, it is totally private, and offers just as much privacy as a wall. Some people like baths, some prefer showers. Shower/tub combos are common in Europe, and when the shower curtain is pulled, the floor remains dry. The thick stone walls keep the apartment beautifully cool except in exceptional heatwaves. But I know that your real problem was that you had not experienced a European washer before, and because they run cycles much more slowly than American ones, you insisted it was broken, and when we did not send someone to see you on a holiday Sunday, you were not happy. In fact, you warned us that if someone did not get over there on that Sunday, you would write a bad review. Most people don’t come to Europe to run laundry as a prime objective, and this machine is standard and works to European standards. So be it. To suggest that this beautiful apartment is like a Hostel is absurd. The pictures tell the story. I know that the rest of your group enjoyed it because they told me. I am sorry that you could not, too.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Other Activities:

Eiffel Tower


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional


  • Rates Posted are for 4 People; Supplement for 5-8 people. End Clean of €250 added to all Bookings. Accidental Damage insurance of €75 required on all Bookings. 50% deposit at booking; balance due 60 days prior to arrival.
    Credit cards possible.