Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautiful 2BR Luxury Condo at Phoenix on the Bay - Upgraded AGAIN for 2018!

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,300 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


About the property

Condo, 2 Bedrooms & 2 Bath. Lazy River. Luxury Unit. New appliances, new decor!

Come see all of the changes!! We have invested over $20,000 into upgrades to our condo in the last year - come experience all of the new stuff! Not only did we just remodel and upgrade the entire Living Room with new furniture, paint and accessories, we just spent the entire month of November 2017 upgrading our unit additionally with the following items:

- New 55" 4K LED Smart TV in living room. Smart TV includes a multitude of smart TV apps!

- Replaced old vertical blinds with beautiful, brand new drapery system for greatroom floor to ceiling windows & door

- Upgraded kitchen accessories (silverware, glasses, pots/pans, other accessories)

- New Huge Dining Room rug

- Many new pieces of artwork on the walls

- New Master BR TV Console and 46" LCD TV

- New Guest BR Chest of Drawers and 32" LCD TV

- Now including family friendly items like: Pack n' Play (portable crib), stroller, kids beach toys, boogie boards and more!

In 2017, we replaced most of our appliances including all new Washer/Dryer, Refrigerator with Ice Maker, Dishwasher, Microwave and more!

As you can see, this is easily one of the best 2BR units at Phoenix on the Bay.

Our Orange Beach luxury condominium is located at Terry Cove on the Bay. Still one of the most popular of all of the Phoenix complexes, our condo features a whirlpool bath, open kitchen and great room and two spacious bedrooms overlooking the Bay. The guest bedroom includes a Twin over Full Bunk bed - perfect for growing families or groups! Included in the rental is use of the awesome Lazy River, Water slide and many heated pools indoors and out!

Beautifully and tastefully decorated and furnished, you will have everything you need for a wonderful family vacation or weekend getaway with someone special.


* Free wireless internet in all areas of complex

* Floor to Ceiling Windows

* Indoor/Outdoor Heated Pools

* Kiddie pool with water features and fountains

* Water Slide

* Lazy River

* Tennis Courts

* Hot Tubs (2) & Saunas

* Large Fitness Room

* Optional Boat Slips

* 24 Hour Security

* New Full Size Washer & Dryer, new refridgerator & new dishwasher in 2016!

* Wet Bar

* No keys - we have a coded main entry door for no hassle entry while staying at our condo!

Keywords: Condominium, Phoenix on the Bay, POB, Orange Beach, Lazy River, 2 Bedroom Condo, 2 bedroom, 2BR, Condo, Gulf Shores, Alabama, Beach, Hangout, Fishing, Golf, Wharf, Florabama, Water Slide, Gulf Shores, Wireless Internet, Free Internet, Heated Pool, Bunk Bed. Netflix, Remodel, luxury

More Details

Property Manager
Daniel & Rebecca Matschina
Member since: 2006
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 21, 2018

About Daniel & Rebecca Matschina

Thanks for your interest in renting our condo at Phoenix on the Bay in beautiful Orange Beach, Alabama.

We reside in Saint Paul, MN and frequently enjoy visits to Orange Beach, AL during the chilly winter months and unpredictable springs. We enjoy it for family trips on Spring Break as well as adult getaways to bask in the sun and escape for long weekends at the beach.

We are frequent travelers and we are still impressed with the amenities that our condo and our condo complex provides. We ALWAYS choose condo living when we travel and we think our condo ranks up there with the nicest places we have stayed. Most importantly, we are picky when we travel and as such, we keep our condo up to our high standards. You will not be disappointed.

Daniel & Rebecca Matschina purchased this condo in 2005

Why Daniel & Rebecca Matschina chose Orange Beach

After construction was finished on the Phoenix on the Bay complex, we had multiple offers to purchase our condo but after visiting it for the first time, we fell in love with the complex. The beautifully planned construction, the lazy river, the heated pools, the weather, the water slides...we couldn't even fathom selling it.

It is a GREAT vacation spot and a perfect match for our family to own and rent when we can't be there.

What makes this condo unique

We frequently get inquiries from first time visitors if our condo is on the beach - the answer is 'not quite', we are not directly on the beach. What first time visitors don't know is that most of the families and visitors that choose to rent a condo on the beach are scrambling to find their way to the Phoenix on the Bay complex so they can enjoy the lazy river, the water slides and the beautiful resort-like grounds we have.

The truth is, the beach is great (and is only a 5 minute commute from our condo), but guests rarely want to leave our property once they are there. Our repeat renters know the secret - the beach is overrated when you compare what you get at our property!

Guestbook comments from the manager

Great hosts and great place. The unit is right next to a set of stairs that are right next to your parking so it is super convenient. The unit was very clean as well. Also, it's awesome for families because unit is baby safe, condo amenities are great for young and older kids.
Feb 2016
  • 1 of 4


Orange Beach Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1300 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Elevator ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Guest Bathroom - toilet , tub , Attached to Guest Bedroom
    Master Bathroom - toilet , shower , jetted tub , Jacuzzi Style Tub, Double Sinks, Walk in Closet
  • Master Bathroom includes Jacuzzi Tub & Separate Shower Guest Bathroom is a full bath with tub/shower combo
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king
    Guest Bedroom - 1 bunk bed , Twin over Full Bunk Bed
    Sleeper Sofa - 1 queen , Queen Sleeper Sofa
  • Master: King Bed - New Memory Foam Mattress Guest: Twin over Full Bunk Beds New 2016 Sleeper Sofa in Family Room: Queen
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Indoor Pool
  • Sauna
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
  • jetted tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Staff
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Lazy River with Complementary Tubes, Waterslide, Kiddie Pool, Tennis Courts, Marina with Boat Slips, Workout Facilties, 24 HR Guest Services, Wet Bar


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(66 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
15% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Beautiful 2BR Luxury Condo at Phoenix on the Bay - Upgraded AGAIN for 2018!
average rating of 4.757576 based on 70 reviews

Great snowbirding at Pheonix on the Bay!

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I stayed 5 weeks at this property. We found the condo to be roomy and well stocked. The furniture was comfortable and closet space was adequate. The balcony was large with a great view of the bay and pool area. We were close to many restuarants and the Orange Beach Rec center.

Everything was great, we had fun!

  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

Everything was excellent. Would stay again. Indoor pool was warm despite the freezing weather.

  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A hidden treasure

  • 5 of 5

The family really enjoyed!

  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A little disappointing overall

  • 3 of 5

Pros: The lazy river and slide are real nice. The condo is well maintained and looks good. Great view of the pool since you're right on level 1 beside it. That helps if you have little ones swimming.

Cons: The complex lighting is terrible. Parking deck lighting is poor, hallway / breezeway leading to the pool doesn't have good lighting, etc. Because of this, I didn't feel ok sending 9 year old girls during the day out to the pool without walking with them. Be careful to read documentation about amenities not provided. No blow dryer and owner was not willing to get one to us. (That was a first for us!) No sample dish liquid, no sample coffee filter or pack, etc. Also you will have to pay additional for parking but, again, it is documented so be sure to read all. The fridge worked well but the water dispenser is disconnected apparently so tap is what you get.

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm a little without words - in the 10 years we've owned I've never received negative feedback because of the lighting in the hallway to the pool. The lighting is beyond adequate. We were never contacted about a hair dryer so not sure who John contacted?? We include very detailed information on what is included in our rental and what needs to be either purchased or brought with you on your trip. We go out of our way to accommodate every guest as we understand that people have choices on where they stay and vacation time is precious. Sorry to hear that John's expectations weren't met.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Needs some TLC

  • 3 of 5

My family & I stayed here last weekend! This condo could definitely use some TLC. The vents in the bathrooms are full of dust. The bedding needs to be replaced. The blinds are falling out. The patio furniture has holes in it. The silverware had food dried onto it. There was a whole layer of dust on top of the cabinets that would start to float around after shutting a cabinet door...very, very poor kitchen supplies available. The condo was lovely just needs some work. The lazy river & view of the Gulf is amazing! But because of the poor indoor conditions we would not stay here again.

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Super bummed to hear this - it is the end of the summer and sometimes things get a bit out of place during summer rentals, but that is no excuse for any cleanliness issues. We will be visiting our condo personally very shortly to inspect everything along with our property manager to determine next steps for any fall cleanup and replacement of any worn items. We typically replace $1000's of worth of goods every year and this year will be no different. I can assure you that we are beyond apologetic for any issues you may have experienced and we very much wish you would have contacted us with these issues while you were there so could rectify it immediately.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

A true vacation location!

  • 5 of 5

Spent most of my 50th birthday week floating in the lazy river. When not floating, was lounging in the beautiful condo. Will recommend to all our friends and family looking for a lovely stay. We went parasailing which is a bucket list must do. Were able to walk to the launch spot literally just down from the condo.

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So great to hear you had a wonderful 50th - we look forward to having you down for many more holidays! :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


The Tipsy Taco
Mexican Restaurant
Flora-Bama Ole River Grill
Seafood Restaurant
The Flora-Bama Yacht Club
American Restaurant
Cobalt, The Restaurant
American Restaurant
Pleasure Island Tiki Bar at Sportsman Marina
Bar & Grill
The Gulf
Seafood Restaurant
Gulf Shores Steamer
Seafood Restaurant
The SanBar
Louisiana Lagniappe
Seafood Restaurant
Cafe Grazie
Seafood Restaurant
Tacky Jack's
Seafood Restaurant
Sassy Bass Caribbean Grille
Latitude 30
Fisher's Dockside
Seafood Restaurant
Fisher's Upstairs at Orange Beach Marina
Seafood Restaurant
Barefoot Bar and Grill
Bar & Grill
The Crab Trap - Perdido Key
Seafood Restaurant
Flippers Restaurant Inc
Seafood Restaurant
Master Joe's Sushi
Sushi Restaurant
Wolf Bay Lodge
Seafood Restaurant
Shrimp Basket Orange Beach
Seafood Restaurant
The Keg Lounge and Grill
Bar & Grill
Change of Pace at Turquoise Place
Orange Beach Art Center
Pirates Cove Marina & Restaurant
Hamburger Restaurant
Cotton's Restaurant
Seafood Restaurant
Doc's Seafood Shack & Oyster Bar
Seafood Restaurant
Bravo Tacos
Latin American Restaurant
Hot Rod's Diner
Cactus Cantina
Mexican Restaurant
Big Fish Restaurant
Seafood Restaurant
Chronic Tacos
Taco Restaurant
Cosmo's Restaurant & Bar
American Restaurant
Big Mike's Steakhouse
Steak House
Luna's Eat & Drink
Seafood Restaurant
El Potro Mexican Restaurant
Mexican Restaurant
China King
Chinese Restaurant
Rotolo's Pizzeria
Pizza Restaurant
Liquid Life Cafe
Espresso Bar
DQ Grill & Chill Restaurant
Fast Food Restaurant
Moe's Original Bar B Que
Barbecue Restaurant
Mexico Lindo Mexican Restaurant
Mexican Restaurant
China Dragon
Chinese Restaurant
Mama Lottie's Pizza
Pizza Restaurant
Hazel's Family Seafood Restaurant & Catering
Seafood Restaurant
Buns in the Sun
Sandwich Shop
Little New Orleans
Cajun Restaurant
Franco's Italian Restaurant
Italian Restaurant
Nearest Airport
33 Miles
Pensacola International Airport (PNS)
Car: recommended

Tennis courts on premises, Five minute drive to The Wharf, Five minute drive to Alabama beaches!


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $125
Damage Deposit $250

Quoted rates are subject to change based on time of year and demand. Rates are quoted individually for each request.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties