Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Private, Gated Community - on the Pacific Ocean!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,300 sq. ft.
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Villa, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Welcome to my lovely villa that is a short walk to the beach. This is a one level, detached casita that offers privacy and security with endless on-site amenities.

The full service kitchen, with newer appliances( including a washer/dryer) opens to the dining and living areas in a great room effect. Attractive living room furniture, drapes, artwork and accessories add to the warm and welcome atmosphere.

The master bedroom has a queen sized bed and a private bathroom. There is ample storage and closet space. The second bedroom has a queen bed and shares the second bathroom (with walk in tiled shower) with the third bedroom, which has two twin beds.

There is a large covered patio and lanai for outdoor living. There is a large table for dining and a new gas grill for your use and enjoyment. The beautiful private plunge pool is adjacent to the patio.

One of the reasons I chose to purchase in this area is it's close proximity to the Liberia airport. It is a short 20 minute drive over new roads. Once you arrive at our gated resort, there are complimentary staffed open air vehicles that shuttle resort guests around the property, to the beach, 2 restaurants, 2 large pools, (one of which has a swim up bar), the disco and sports facilities including new tennis and basketball courts.

In addition to all of the on-site amenities, there is also an optional all-inclusive food and beverage package, if you choose to partake. Otherwise, there are many shops, grocery stores and excellent restaurants to visit close by and a small convenience store on site for small meal preparation and miscellaneous items.

There are five National Parks within a couple of hours drive, including Lake Arenal( 5 hours away), which boasts a volcano, hot springs and a world class spa. Also nearby are deep sea fishing, first class scuba diving, sailing, four wheeling and zip lines for racing through the tree tops on a rigged line with a harness, just to mention a few. You can arrange these excursions through Avispas Adventure.

I have tried to make my home away from home special and comfortable for not only my friends and family, but guests too! Please come and enjoy 'La Pura Vida.'

Keywords: Villa/Casita

More Details

Owner
Chris Spirer
Member since: 2006
Speaks: spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 26, 2017

About Chris Spirer

I am a licensed Realtor who lives in Hilton Head Island, SC. I have always loved to travel and had a dream to own a property in the Caribbean/Central America area. After looking at many destinations, I traveled to Costa Rica and it clicked. The country is rich in rainforets, lush vegetation, volcanoes, beautiful beaches and much more. The local people (Ticos) are friendly and welcoming. The weather is fantastic and it's an easy location to travel to. There are many non-stop flights from Atlanta, Houston, Miami, New York and other departure cities.

Chris Spirer purchased this villa in 2006

Why Chris Spirer chose Guanacaste

It was important to me that my property be in a resort, gated community and I wanted three bedrooms for family and friends. The amenities are plentiful. Yoga by the pool, walks on the beach, fitness in the gym, teen discos, karaoke, bird and monkey sightings onsite and much, much more.

What makes this villa unique

For the first day of my arrival, I usually like to stay around the resort and enjoy the many amenities on site. There are 2 large pools in addition to my private plunge pool. The beach is a short walk or hop on one of the complimentary open air vehicles. After a day or two I'm ready to venture out to shop in Playas del Coco, a 10 minute drive, or to take an excursion to the rain forests. Ziplining is very popular as is horse-back riding, kayaking, turtle watches, hiking and much more. The local restaurants are terrific ranging from casual to fine dining although casual attire is the norm.

Amenities

Playa Hermosa Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1300 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking ...
  • Parking On Street
  • Safe
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • Both bathrooms offer large, tiled walk in showers, mounted hairdryers and ample storage.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master Bedroom - 1 queen , Private Bathroom
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , Shares full bathroom with bedroom 2
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Shares full bathroom with third bedroom
  • Queen size Beds (2) Master and Second bedroom have new queen beds, Twin or Single Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gated Community
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Patio
  • Tennis Court
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • 6 garden chairs
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
  • Whirlpool
Onsite Services:
  • Car Optional
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • rain forests
  • restaurants
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
spa services, two on site restaurants, two onsite pools, disco and more.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(33 traveler reviews)

Private, Gated Community - on the Pacific Ocean!
average rating of 4.939394 based on 33 reviews
5

Perfect Family Retreat in Playa Hermosa

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time staying at Chris' unit in Villas Sol! At first, my husband was a little disappointed that the unit didn't have the view offered by many others advertised on VRBO in Playa Hermosa. However, we quickly realized that our unit's proximity to the beach was far more important and convenient than if we had rented a villa with a view as those units were all located up a very steep hillside! The unit itself was very clean and spacious and had all of the amenities we needed. The patio was perfect for playing board games, dining al fresco or simply reading and/or napping on a chaise and the small pool was ideal for our use with two small children ages 5 and 2. They LOVED it!! Plus, if we wanted to go socialize and play around in a bigger pool, there was that option also with the other two resort pools!

Being in the complex itself made us feel safer and it was nice knowing that if we needed ANYTHING (especially having small children with us) there was always 24 hour staff that could assist us.

Another great thing about being a part of the resort was that they offered great tours, as well as car rentals. I highly recommend getting shuttled into Villas Sol (preferably by Liberia Shuttle-Javier is great!) and renting a car from the resort. As it turned out, it was actually CHEAPER to rent from them than it was to rent near the airport AND it was much more convenient.

Playa Hermosa itself was so peaceful with very few people on it at any given time. It is definitely not the 'mill' that Playas del Coco or Tamarindo are where you have people begging for money or trying to sell you things at your every turn. I think we were approached maybe twice to buy something the entire week we were in Playa Hermosa.

As for restaurants, we favored Roberto's! We found it to have the best location, delicious food and a wonderful waitstaff!! AquaSport was also another fun spot a little further down. And if you rent a car, you MUST find Father Roosters! It's kind of tucked away in Playa Ocotal, but once you find it, you'll love it! Good food (although a bit on the pricey side), great entertainment and waitstaff and spectacular sunsets! Just a really unique place!

All in all, we had a fabulous time while staying at Chris' unit and HIGHLY RECOMMEND it!! She, too, was a gem to work with and made everything very simple and stress-free. We can't wait to return to our newly found paradise as soon as possible!

  • Submitted: May 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your great comments! I too agree that my location is way more convenient than those up the (steep) hill or near the main activities where you can hear pool aerobics, disco and Bingo going on. Not to mention that my landscape/mountain view is really lovely! I'm so pleased you had a great time..I hope you'll be back. 26 Villas Sol will be waiting for you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Seattle, Washington
5

A Pura Vida trip!

  • 5 of 5

Four in our family stayed ten days at Villa Sol and had a marvelous time. The home provided all we required for our family vacation: private pool, lounges, outdoor dining table, air conditioning, lovely decor, cooking equipment, TV, etc. We did not rent a car and found that within the complex a hefty up or downhill hike could be traded for a shuttle ride. Being on the end of a row of homes gave an extra measure of privacy and separation from the public music. It was close enough to walk to the front desk, mini mart, or exercise room and a half mile walk to a grocery store. We mostly cooked our meals or took a taxi to nearby restaurants. La Finisterra was a favorite. We were disappointed with the meal at the Heliconia in Villa Sol. The only minor personal wish in the home was a softer mattress. A provided visitor's packet of information was very helpful prior to our arrival.

We booked adventure tours with Avispas Adventures. The owner acted like a personal consierge/all around visitor support person helping us pick tours to suit our personal interests and providing the taxis for us to venture out to Coco or the restaurants. We also enjoyed a snorkeling trip with a local who recruits his customers from Hermosa Beach for two hours trips inside the bay.

We had some issues with the ATMs being out of money but had a back-up option of travelers' checks which we cashed at a bank. Wish the hotel had an ATM. Most stores and restaurants took credit cards, however.

I would recommend this home away for a comfortable, enjoyable stay. We heard some rather disgruntled hotel guests voicing their complaints while we visited the hotel and one must be ready for close neighbors and loud music in that venue. In this Villa we were separate enough from the other guests, but could readily join them at the pools or dance lessons etc. if we wished. We truly had all the rest we required and all the adventure we desired. We were treated to visits by Howler monkeys and iguanas in the area along with spectacular sunsets. Truly a Pura Vida wonderful vacation!

  • Submitted: May 6, 2009
  • Stayed: Apr 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Sharon, I'm so glad you had such a wonderful time. Thanks for your nice comments; it makes me homesick to be back there again! Best wishes, Chris
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
4

Great location....

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time at this property. We enjoyed the location, access to the private beach and far enough from the pool to not hear all the music late at night but still not far to walk to the pool when desired. Loved the little splash pool right on the balcony. Property had all the kitchen cookware we needed. There are a few spices, but not too many so bring your own if you need more then salt and pepper. AC worked wonderfully.

  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Suzanne, Thanks for staying at my villa and for your nice review. I'm glad that everything was to your liking. I picked this location for the same reasons you mentioned; not on top of the activities center where the music is very loud but at a peaceful distance to everything you need. As far as the spices, when I'm there twice a year, I stock up on lots of "extras" and leave them, but unfortunately not all guests do the same. I have always considered spices to be the same as food in that guests purchase what they would like to cook with. Many of the spices are sold in very small quantities so that the expense is minimal. Thanks again for renting. Chris
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

What a Lovely Month

  • 5 of 5

The condo was situated at the end of the street and above the street so we had lots of privacy. The kitchen was very well equipped, the beds were comfortable, and we LOVED the plunge pool! The condo was far enough from the noisy pool with the swim-up bar and activities. There was easy access to the shuttles to get to the beach and the quieter hotel pool. Having a good washer and dryer was very handy for our month long stay. There wasn't anything we needed that the condo didn't have, except maybe good beach chairs. The Villa Sol property lounges on the beach left a lot to be desired, but Playa Hermosa is a lovely beach complete with monkeys in the trees. Did I mention that fabulous plunge pool?!

  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Judy, I'm so pleased you had such a great time. I work hard to make sure that the villa is in great shape and that every experience is as good as it possibly can be. Thanks for the tip on the beach chairs..I'll look into purchasing some when I'm next there. Pura Vida, Chris
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Beaufort SC
5

Honeymooners paradise

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed for a week at Villa Sol for our honeymoon! It was AMAZING! The house was adorable and comfortable. Very Clean and spacious and Ana the housekeeper was very sweet asking if we needed anything else to make us feel at home. It was an easy walk to and from the beach and we had a sweet view of the mountains and ocean! We didn't have to carry keys because it was a coded lock! That was a bonus since we didn't want to carry a lot of stuff with us while we went exploring! We loved having our own kitchen to cook breakfast and dinners in. Plus, having a little grocery store 1/4 mile away made it fun to cook fresh food! We had our own little private pool to relax in and it was always a great way to end the day! Every 15 mins there was a shuttle if you needed a ride around the area. We didn't rent a car because we heard the roads were terrible, but they weren't that bad and we found that we enjoyed staying local and could walk almost anywhere. We did a few tours with the locals and called Amy at Avispas for The Eco Tour. BEST tour and I would highly recommend it. She was very accommodating and her tour guide Chephe was wonderful! You must eat at Casita Del Marisco-they have the best Ceviche Mix! We liked Aqua sport which was a little further down the beach-they had great drinks! Playa Hermosa is a very beautiful beach and we did some exploring around the rocks and saw three private beaches (wear water or walking shoes, the rocks will hurt your feet after awhile!) The people aren't too pushy and only ask once in while if you want to buy stuff! They pretty much relaxed with you on the beach! Pura Vida! We didn't get to go to Playa Coco but heard it was a fun day beach, maybe next time. We did meet a few people who spoke English, but most of the locals spoke english and spanish and were very willing to work with you on your spanish. We had so much fun and can't wait to come back with friends and family! Thank you Chris for a having the best place for us to stay for our honeymoon!!!! We made wonderful memories!

  • Submitted: Dec 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great villa, excellent location!

  • 5 of 5

Myself, husband and 4 year old daughter stayed July 26-August 3. We had a great time, this was our 5th trip back to Costa Rica. Although we haven't been back in 5 years we were worried about the development of Playa Hermosa. We were pleasantly surprised that little had changed, a few new buildings but nothing crazy. The beach is still as beautiful as the first time we visited.

The Villa was great and had everything that we needed. We did have a problem with the AC, but was fixed very promptly. The pool did get cloudy our last 3 days, but we played in the ocean so it wasn't too much of a problem. Chris and Amy were really easy to reach and help solve problems.

Very short walk down to the beach that we did everyday, my daughter liked to ride the tram so we rode that back to the villa office on the way back.

If you do plan a stay buy groceries in Cocos, the snack shop for the hotel/villa is very pricey.

My husband spoke with Amy from Avispas, turns out she does dog rescue and my husband is a veterinarian.

We had a great time and would highly recommend this villa.

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Kim, Thanks for your great review. I'm so pleased that you and your family had such a great time. Between Amy (my property manager) and I we work hard to quickly fix maintenance issues as quickly as possible and to ensure a great travel experience. Thanks for visiting and please come back...sooner than 5 years. It's truly a Pura Vida experience. Chris
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Liberia (LIR)
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
onsite
Nearest Point of Interest
26 Villas Sol, Playa Hermosa
Car: not necessary

Free daily activities for children and guests

Photos

Rates & Availability

Playa Hermosa Villa Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Spring/Summer 2017
Apr 30 2017 - Aug 31 2017
4 night minimum stay
$225
$1,400
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$180
$1,250
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250

Christmas and New Years Weeks $1750/week

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties