expand arrow-rightsvg-balloonsvg-carsvg-dogsvg-fireplacesvg-flat-screensvg-heatersvg-laundry-washing-machinesvg-snowflakesvg-hot-tubsvg-swimming-poolsvg-wheelchairsvg-wifiarrow-right
Magnifiercirclex

Sunset Beach Cottage

Haleiwa, HI, USA
  • House1200 sqft
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • Bathrooms1
  • Half Baths0
  • Minimum Stay3 - 5 nights

2 Beds (King and Queen) - 1 Bath ( Sleeps 4)

Located on a gated acre in the heart of Sunset Beach on Oahu’s North Shore. The Cottage has 1 bedroom King bed with ensuite bathroom and an additional queen bed (pune'e). The room can be divided by plantation doors that slide. The cottage is 1000 feet (.2 miles) from Sunset Beach and is a short walk or bike ride to Banzai Pipeline, Waimea Bay and Shark’s Cove. The cottage is 40 minutes to downtown Honolulu and Waikiki.

Features include very private, outdoor living, dining areas, gas grill, hammock, lounge chairs and beach amenities. This is a serene, detached cottage on a lush 1 acre lot with fruit trees, orchids, and more.

Property Manager

Yuki

Member Since 2006
Premier Partner
This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.
Response rate:
100%
Response time:
within a few hours
Speaks:
english
Calendar last updated:
Apr 18, 2018

Amenities

    • Internet
    • Accessible
    • Satellite or Cable
    • Kids Welcome
    • Washer & Dryer
    • Parking
    • TV
    • No Smoking

      Bedrooms

      • 1 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
      • King Bed
        1 king
      • Queen Bed
        1 queen
      • The Cottage has 1 King bed with ensuite bathroom and an additional queen bed (pune'e) located in living room area. The layout is suitable for a couple and a small family. Not recommended for 2 couples that would prefer 2 bedrooms.

      Bathrooms

      • 1 Bathroom
      • Bathroom 1
        toilet, shower
      • Travertine bathroom with shower

      Location Type

        • Beach
        • Mountain View
        • Near The Ocean
        • Ocean View

          Theme

            • Adventure
            • Away From It All
            • Family
            • Romantic

              Meals

                • Guests provide their own meals

                  General

                    • Paper Towels
                    • Ceiling Fans
                    • Hair Dryer
                    • Internet
                    • Iron & Board
                    • Laundry Soap
                    • Linens Provided
                    • Clothes Dryer
                    • Parking
                    • Parking Off Street
                    • Telephone
                    • Toilet Paper
                    • Towels Provided
                    • Washing Machine
                    • Wireless Internet

                      Kitchen

                        • Ice Maker
                        • Blender
                        • Cooking Utensils
                        • Dishes & Utensils
                        • Dishwasher
                        • Freezer
                        • Grill
                        • Coffee Maker
                        • Kitchen
                        • Microwave
                        • Oven
                        • Refrigerator
                        • Stove
                        • Stove
                        • Toaster

                          Dining

                            • Dining Area
                            • comfy seating for 4 people

                              Entertainment

                                • DVD Player
                                • Satellite / Cable
                                • Television

                                  Outside

                                    • Beach Towels
                                    • Bicycles
                                    • Deck / Patio
                                    • Lanai / Gazebo
                                    • Lawn / Garden
                                    • Outdoor Grill
                                    • Outdoor Grill Gas
                                    • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
                                    • Wood Deck

                                      Suitability

                                        • Long-term Renters Welcome
                                        • suitable for elderly or infirm
                                        • wheelchair accessible

                                          Attractions

                                            • health/beauty spa
                                            • reefs
                                            • restaurants
                                            • waterfalls
                                            • zoo

                                              Leisure Activities

                                                • scenic drives
                                                • bird watching
                                                • eco tourism
                                                • horseback riding
                                                • luaus
                                                • paddle boating
                                                • boating
                                                • shelling
                                                • shopping
                                                • sight seeing
                                                • walking
                                                • whale watching
                                                • wildlife viewing

                                                  Local Services & Businesses

                                                    • ATM/bank
                                                    • fitness center
                                                    • groceries
                                                    • hospital

                                                      Sports & Adventure Activities

                                                        • sailing
                                                        • cycling
                                                        • equestrian events
                                                        • fishing
                                                        • golf
                                                        • hiking
                                                        • jet skiing
                                                        • kayaking
                                                        • mountain biking
                                                        • deepsea fishing
                                                        • scuba diving or snorkeling
                                                        • snorkeling
                                                        • snorkeling/diving
                                                        • surfing
                                                        • swimming
                                                        • tennis
                                                        • water skiing
                                                        • wind-surfing

                                                          Notes

                                                            • Hammock

                                                              House Rules

                                                              Check-in: 4:00 PM

                                                              Check-out: 10:00 AM

                                                              Cancellation Policy

                                                              Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

                                                              43 Reviews

                                                              Wonderful4.8/5

                                                              Latest reviews

                                                              Overall 4 out of 5.

                                                              Clean property. The location and proximity to beaches is very good. Availability of bikes/beach equipment was also nice. Unfortunately, our visit included a considerable amount of rainfall which resulted in the drain lines backing up into the only shower in the house (only 1 bathroom). To her credit, Yuki was very responsive and apologetic for the situation. She was very fair and willing to refund us for the day we had to leave early.

                                                              The property and accommodations of Yuki’s Sunset Beach Property were comfortable, clean and pleasant

                                                              Bob D.

                                                              While the accommodations and property were comfortable, clean and peaceful, we had some problems with Yuki herself. She became unreasonably angry with us when we informed of finding maggots in the house. We did not tell her it was her fault, only wanted to make her aware of them so the problem could be dealt with and the next guests arriving would not find them. She became uncontrollably angry with the 4 of us, 2 couples celebrating our 70 birthdays. Said we blamed her for the maggots. As stated above, we made no such accusations. Told us the maggots were from us because we were so messy. Accused of not emptying the garbage for 5 days, which was not true. Insulted us by saying we were messiest guests in 13 years. Said she found poopy diapers and used Depends in the trash. Again, not true in any way. She screamed at my husband and my friend on cell phone calls and ranted and raved so much that they had no chance to question or explain accusations. We did tell her she had ruined our celebration with her accusations and she became even more angry. Told us she was not comfortable renting to us, so we checked out a day and 1/2 before scheduled. She did reimburse us fairly. We did have 1 concern with a broken drainage pipe that drained the waste water from the dishwasher, kitchen sink and washing machine. The drain water emptied onto the lawn in the backyard. Mentioned that to her and Yuki said that was not a concern. Before becoming so angry, Yuki was very nice to us. Just sorry our stay ended in such an unpleasant manner.

                                                              Owner's Response:

                                                              When a complaint is made, we always immediately respond. It appeared that the travelers did not take out the trash during their stay. Future travelers do not need to worry because the source was found (trash can) and was not from the property as implied. We would never insinuate personal hygiene products as a cause. Bob tried to give me a vodka bottle filled with maggots when I entered house. He used a spoon to collect them and attempted to give it to me. That is the only time I screamed, not at the traveler only out of fear. During your stay, we had flash flood advisory and heavy rain. The yard was very wet due to weather. I encourage other travelers to read all the views and also reviews from my other properties. Aloha

                                                              Clean, Comfortable, Quiet, Perfect Getaway

                                                              Stephen H.

                                                              The owner Yuki went out of her way to be sure we were going to enjoy our stay after extremely heavy rains crossed the island the night before our arrival with a chance of continued bad weather and flooding. Yuki texted me detailed info and photos offering another house on higher ground on the same property and it all worked out perfectly. Not only was the weather amazing but the private, gated peaceful property, location, and amenities (including beach bikes that we rode to town every day and easy safe parking) were terrific. Have already told mainland friends and local family about Yuki and the great time we hsd. Would rent again without question from Yuki. Mahalo nui loa, Yuki! - Stephen

                                                              Great Location but a bit tired

                                                              Jodie G.

                                                              We enjoyed our stay at Sunset Beach Cottage. The owner was very helpful and tended to a couple of issues we encountered very quickly. This was our first time at the North Shore of Oahu so cannot compare to other properties in the area but we have stayed in a number of VRBO's over the years. The value is reasonable although, if I went again, I would probably look for something else. The property is spacious with a large comfortable king bed. The property was clean and adequately stocked. The location near Sunset Beach was excellent. We did find the property in need of some paint and repair. Window coverings in the living room area would also be nice. The landscaping around the deck was probably the least attractive and is in need of some TLC.

                                                              Owner's Response:

                                                              Sunset Beach is a small country beach town. Our property is rural and rustic. The acre property was designed by a horticulturist. We have noted your concerns about repairs and we appreciate the feedback.

                                                              Very Very Clean and comfortable

                                                              Mike S.

                                                              Yes it’s in the tropics but a very clean place. We enjoyed eating breakfast on the deck and using the grill and full kitchen at night to cook local fish we bought. We were happy we had a Jeep to get down the driveway, not essential but easier to navigate. Yuki is really great and a professional host!

                                                              Sunset Beach - real Hawaii lifestyle

                                                              Rachel Z.Huntington Beach, CA

                                                              Really liked the location - close to Banzai Pipeline and Ted’s Bakery! Rode the bicycles down to the beach - much easier than driving a car. This is real Hawaii and not an air conditioned timeshare with tons of people, so don’t let the neighborhood rooster crowing bother you. There are a ton of windows with a nice breeze and ceiling fans throughout so we did not need air conditioning. Beds and linens are great and the shower is wonderful with great water pressure. There are two areas with a small one inch step down inside the house so be careful to not stub your toe in the middle of the night. The driveway is steep but no problems in our Ford Focus rental car. We would come back and stay again if we visit Oahu.

                                                              Location

                                                              Haleiwa, HI, USA

                                                              The Cottage is across from world-famous Sunset Beach, an excellent location for world class surfing, snorkeling and diving. The property is .2 miles to Sunset Beach and the bike path. Located in a prime location near all famous surf breaks. Take a bike ride to Waimea Falls for nature-lovers. There is plenty of sea turtle and whale watching available for your enjoyment. Nearby facilities provide horseback-riding, boating, sailing and flying. You can play an outstanding game of tennis and golf at Turtle Bay. Shopping and restaurants are yours to enjoy at historic Hale'iwa Town.

                                                              Availability

                                                              Additional information about rental rates

                                                              Tax Rate
                                                              14%

                                                              Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. No refund for cancellations, HomeAway travelers insurance in recommended.

                                                              $250avg/night
                                                              43 Reviews
                                                              Wonderful 4.8/5
                                                              Premier Partner
                                                              Enter dates for accurate pricing
                                                              For booking assistance, call 888-640-7927

                                                              Property # 225859ha

                                                              x