Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Waterfront Cottage Heart of Irvington Near Tides Inn Resort

Bedrooms 2
Property type guest house


About the property

When we say waterfront, we mean you walk out the waterside door and you are 15 feet from Carter's Creek with gorgeous views out the mouth of the creek to the Rappahannock River. Super cute cottage with a massive waterside deck for soaking in the sun and the water views. The cottage has two bedrooms. One is equipped with a queen bed and the other with two singles. We can provide an air mattress for an extra single if needed. There is one full bath, a small living room, dormitory style refrigerator and coffee maker (coffee provided). Note that there is not a kitchen. Less than a 1 minute walk to the Rappahannock River Yacht Club and two other marinas with transient slips if visiting Irvington on your boat or yacht. Only a 10 minute walk to the Tides Inn Resort. It's a mere 5 minute bike ride into Irvington to enjoy shopping, eating the farmer's market, tennis, the Dog & Oyster Vineyard and marinas. Plenty of room at the pier for your boat with a nearby boat ramp for easy launching when you arrive and trailering when you depart. Owners are easy to contact and happy to provide recommendations for making the most of your visit to Irvington.

Bo Bragg
Member since: 2017
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 23, 2018

About Bo Bragg

Bo owns Bragg & Company which serves the Northern Neck and Middle Peninsula of Virginia from three distinct business lines - Real Estate Brokerage, Development and Construction.

Why Bo Bragg chose Irvington

Best location on Carter's Creek in the heart of Irvington with spectacular water views.


Irvington Guest House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • guest house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Tennis ...


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

77% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
Waterfront Cottage Heart of Irvington Near Tides Inn Resort
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 18 reviews
Richmond, VA

Great weekend getaway

  • 5 of 5

Peaceful setting right on the water. 1 mile walk to the Tide's Inn and Irvington Restaurants. Very clean and comfy.

  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you enjoyed your stay. You were a great guest. Love to have you back anytime.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Cozy Cottage On The Water

  • 4 of 5

Spent a few days for husband’s birthday. The property is right on the water, tucked away in a quiet neighborhood. Tons of deck space to just sit and relax and enjoy the view. House was clean and just right for the two of us. We had fabulous meals at Trick Dog and Merroir. Any issues we had were addressed by Bo immediately which was greatly appreciated.

  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Easter Weekend Stay

  • 4 of 5

Had a great time. Irvington is quiet and beautiful and Bo was very responsive.

  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great waterfront cottage

  • 4 of 5

Wonderful weekend stay. Perfect for the four of us. Super comfy beds, clean, and quiet which fit our needs exactly.

  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Wonderful water. Shabby, tacky inside.

  • 2 of 5

Pictures on line are not what you walk into. Pictures show a well thought out arrangement of furniture, with a comfortable love seat and chair. Chic bedroom. There is not one comfortable chair to sit in. No side tables to put a glass of wine or cup of coffee on.

No one ever greeted us, did not have the wi fi code that was needed for the purpose of our trip. Got that from a plumber who showed up at 7:30 the evening we arrived and did not leave until 9:30 PM. No one checked to see if there was anything we needed for 4 days. Ran out of coffee, had to dump our own trash. Plastic glasses provided were crazed, cracked and dirty.

Cups, glasses need to be washed in the bathroom sink that does not drain well and had to be wiped down after every use.. There was limited hot water, not enough to take a shower (this was after it was fixed). Be sure to bring your own shampoo and toiletries. Tub caulking inside and out is cracked and dirty. Tub is extremely slippery. No where to put anything in the in the bathroom except a small glass shelf above the sink. Nice towels. Bathroom floor is worn, dirty and not the flowing red color in the pictures. This comment also includes the flooring through out.

No closets or hooks to put clothes in the bedroom. Only one bedside table. Bed was however comfortable. Miss- matched pillow cases and loud bedspread, no extra blankets that were obvious. Bring your own pillows. Larger bedroom heating/cooling fan in ceiling blew directly at your head while in the bed. Had to shut off everything to be able to sleep. There were only two of us, cannot see this cottage sleeping 6, or even being comfortable for 4 to sit around.

Outdoor chairs could benefit from an ottoman to relax, instead of sitting upright, to enjoy the view and a glass of wine.. Over all extremely disappointing. We were looking forward to relaxing after busy days. Because of it's location, this cottage could be very nice with some forethought and better furniture as shown in pictures, obviously from a prior time.

  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Well gosh what can we say? We are floored by your response in light of all of the 5 star ratings we've received from previous guests. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your time there but we will speak to a few of your points. On the plumber - yes we are sorry that he had to be there to fix the hot water heater but we made you aware of that. We just didn't realize it would take so long. Perhaps in hindsight we should have cancelled the reservation but we were working overtime to correct something that went wrong at the eleventh hour. We provide very high end linens as expressed by some of the guests and of course there are all kinds of toiletries in the linen closet in the bath. We provide ivory soap bars, many shampoos, tooth paste, shaving cream and even have earbuds in case you forget yours. There are about 15 super soft white towels in the linen closet along with wash cloths, hand towels, blow dryer, iron and ironing board. Do we take out your trash? Of course not. There is a super can outside in plain sight. We provide super cute wine glasses, several cork screws and even bottled water in the fridge. With the Kuerig there is hot chocolate, tea and a ton of coffee. Extras for all of those are on the open shelf just above the microwave. On the waterside porch are tow chairs with large cocktail table and a large dining table with four chairs. There are six pillows in the cottage and lots of extra lines in the foyer. Again we are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay and wish you would have called us as I emailed you my contact info and mentioned that we are only a stone's throw away so call if you need anything at all but you didn't and that's really too bad because strive for excellent customer service.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Beautiful and Relaxing

  • 5 of 5

The property is beautiful and peaceful. Perfect for relaxing and getting away. Bo, the owner, was attentive and responsive the whole time. Cheers!

  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Amy. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $35
Damage Deposit $150

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.