Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Rollin’ on the River-Cozy riverfront home in Chimney Rock! Just Remodeled!

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,450 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Private 2 bedroom, 2 bath on the river. Mountain views, fishing, walk to town.

This cozy and spacious single story ranch home is bordered to the front by Chimney Rock State Park and the rear by the Rocky Broad River. The level lot features a large yard with easy parking access. Inside, comfortable furniture and an antique oak claw foot table enhance the large open living and dining area. The master bedroom has a king size bed and private bath; the 2nd bedroom has a queen size bed with an additional full bath close by. The efficient galley kitchen was completely remodeled in 2018 with new cabinets, granite counter tops, all new appliances and new flooring. It is fully equipped with pots, pans, plates, glasses, utensils, cutlery, small appliances & large. There is also a new mud room with a wet bar, recycling center, a 2nd refrigerator for you favorite beverages, and a new washer and dryer -- though if don't prefer to do laundry on your mountain vacay, we get it!. Instead, relax and dine near the river on the comfortable screened porch, and get even closer on the awesome riverside deck. From there you can enjoy the spectacular river breezes and mountain views on all sides! If you are lucky some of the abundant wildlife in the area will stop by. Watch for Blue Herons, ducks, wild turkeys, turtles, otters, bobcats, beavers, deer and lots of other critters that gather at the river. Head down a set of steps off the deck to get in there yourself to wade, swim, and do some amazing trout fishing! The Rocky Broad is known for its stocked trout in the upper sections near Bat Cave. The lower section, right behind the house, provides great smallmouth and even largemouth bass fishing in the mouth of the river where it empties into Lake Lure. Trout species that can be found include rainbow, brown and brook trout.

This a great place to enjoy the mountains, river and country setting.

Our River House is located in the quiet, residential neighborhood of Southside Drive in Chimney Rock Village. There is no through traffic, only one way in and one way out -- a charming one-lane metal bridge over the Rocky Broad River. A few minutes' walk finds you in downtown Chimney Rock, offering unique shopping, restaurants, coffee and ice cream shops, a brewery and winery. Or get high on nature with a visit to "The Chimney" in the town's namesake Chimney Rock State Park--on the top of everyone's must-do list. Also within walking distance (or a very short drive) is nearby Lake Lure, made famous by the film Dirty Dancing and beautiful by Mother Nature. Enjoy its public beach, boat and kayak rentals, and not-to-be-missed Flowering Bridge!

Chimney Rock is centrally located and a great place for your Western North Carolina vacation. The Tryon Equestrian Center, Asheville, Hendersonville, Black Mountain, and the Blue Ridge Parkway are all within 45 minutes of Chimney Rock.

The house is equipped with 100 mbs WIFI, cable TV, and a landline for domestic calls.

Property managers, Chuck and John, are world travelers and local experts. They live one block away and are available 24/7 if needed.

More Details

Property Manager
Chuck Horton
Member since: 2017
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 16, 2018

Amenities

Chimney Rock House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1450 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Not suitable for children ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Smoking allowed ...
  • Our home is non smoking. You are welcome to smoke on the screen porch, in the yard and on the decks. Please dispose of butts properly.
  • House is on a septic tank. Please do not flush feminine products, paper towels, or anything other than toilet tissue.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Village ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master Bathroom - toilet , shower
    2nd Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
Attractions:
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Angler's Paradise!!! Trout fishing right off deck or a few steps down in the stocked Rocky Broad River! Trout species include rainbow, brown and brook trout. Large and small mouth bass where river enters Lake Lure. Also, can rent boats minutes away at Lake Lure Marina!

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
10% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Rollin’ on the River-Cozy riverfront home in Chimney Rock! Just Remodeled!
average rating of 4.7 based on 10 reviews
FERNANDINA BEACH
5

Lovely place to relax to the sounds of the river

  • 5 of 5

Everything you need and more is provided by this host. The street is charming and is within walking distance of the restaurants, shops and attractions in town. Lovely view from the porch or back deck. Our party had three adults and we had plenty of room.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very nice remodeled house.

  • 5 of 5

We loved the new kitchen, comfortable furniture and deck overlooking the river. Very nice visit.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Loved the home,and the views

  • 3 of 5

Very nice. Loved the deck over looking the river. Only complaint, stripping beds,starting the laundry. This is the only vrbo that we paid for cleaning and then had to help by starting laundry. Still a lovely home.

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed the home, the views and it’s riverfront location. I’m sorry we could not accommodate your request to stay another night but the home was not available to extend your stay. We certainly hope to see you in October of 2019 as we discussed. We are sorry our suggestion of getting a head start on laundry was and issue for you. It's not mandatory that guests abide by the request. As a property manager here and for several other properties we take the same approach and this the first negative feedback from a guest. I make myself available to guests to address any issue. I wish you had addressed it with me the times we spoke on the phone or in person. Thanks for staying with us. Chuck Horton
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Charlotte, NC
5

The Perfect Place

  • 5 of 5

We were 2 couples that stayed for a longer weekend. It wasn’t enough! We didn’t feel the need to even leave after we got there. The cabin has every amenity which stands out as we have stayed places that don’t. Wonderful outdoor screened porch that we ate all our meals on and loved the deck over the river. We started counting all the different wildlife we saw, from the cranes fishing to the deer and little woodchucks on the shores. The sound of the river was so relaxing! And there is view of chimney rock right through the trees. State of the art kitchen, comfortable bedrooms and very nice living room. Chuck met us at the property long enough to give us the details, WiFi and local recommendations. It really was the perfect place to stay. We highly recommend and will stay again!

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Marilyn, Thanks so much for your great feedback! We are especially glad you and your friends were able to see and enjoy all the natural beauty right from screen porch and back deck on the river! Also, thank you for noting all the upgrades at our cottage. As frequent travelers, we work hard on trying to provide the type of experiences we enjoy and making our place as comfortable as possible. Thanks again and hope you can stay with us again soon. Bill, Jamie, Chuck and John-
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Chapel hill, NC
5

Well stocked & great location

  • 5 of 5

Great proximity to Lake Lure ( we brought our boat), the Biltmore, Asheville, and a stroll into Chimney Rock for morning coffee and dinner.

The home is clean, well stocked and “ homey”. We’ve stayed in many vrbo properties and I think this rates at the top! Host very helpful as well.

Loved listening to the river out on the back deck!

You will enjoy!

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Kimberly for taking the time to review Rolling on the River! We really appreciate your comments and glad you were able to do some boating on beautiful Lake Lure (plus enjoy our river location) and all the fun things close by. Hope you can stay with us again sometime soon. Bill, Jamie, Chuck and John
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Rock Hill SC
5

We enjoyed our stay and it was a convenient location to everything

  • 5 of 5

The owners were easy to deal with and the property had plenty of everything you would need. This property is very charming and you can hear the river rushing by which makes it so relaxing. We would definitely stay here again

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Tammy for staying with us and for taking the time to review! Rolling on the River is truly a very special place and so glad you guys enjoyed the wonderful river sounds and views. Hope you guys can stay again soon. Bill, Jamie, Chuck and John...
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Asheville, NC
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Riverwatch
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
Lake Lure Municipal Golf Course
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Medina's
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Lake Lure
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $75
Property Damage Insurance $59
Refundable Damage Deposit $300

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.