Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Available Space Starting April 24, 2018

Bedrooms 2
Space 850 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 5 nights


About the property

2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, + Convertible bed, Sleeps 6

Hono Kai - Steps from the Sea

On site managers Maalaea Bay Rentals Tax #W40839580-01 Online booking has been enabled.

An excellent choice for people who seek a quiet beach vacation, this property has an unbeatable view and is located on a beach that is empty for five miles. Monk seals, whales and rays can be seen in season. Four restaurants and three convenience stores are located within walking distance. A large aquarium and miniature golf can also be accessed without a car. More extensive shopping is six miles away.

Jean Ann Alter
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
November 24, 2017

About Jean Ann Alter

We live in Juneau, Alaska. Jim was born and raised in Alaska. Jean Ann came from Ohio in 1969. We have three grown children and six grandchildren. Both of us are retired educators.

Jean Ann Alter purchased this condo in 1984

Why Jean Ann Alter chose Maalaea

Maalaea is quiet and stunningly beautiful. Everything on the island is convenient to this area. Also, a person cannot beat the seculded beach for long walks or runs.

What makes this condo unique

The building is close to the beach in a way that would not be allowed for new construction. The sound of the surf is spectacular.


Maalaea Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 850 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Waterfront ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Alarm Clock
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Full 1 - toilet , shower
    Full 2 - toilet , shower
  • Remodeled stone and tile large showers.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • Twin beds in downstairs bedroom can be combined to create a king bed. The living room has a double futon with 6 inch foam mattress.
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Binoculars
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
  • bay/sound
  • cinemas
  • marina
  • museums
  • rain forests
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(20 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
15% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
Available Space Starting April 24, 2018
average rating of 4.7 based on 20 reviews

Great location and fabulous views!!

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay here! This was a spacious condo for the two of us. It was so nice to have a bathroom on each level and the view is a good as it looks in the pictures!! It was well maintained and stocked with everything we needed, except spices. Bring you own if you need more than salt and pepper. The centrally located town of Maalaea was perfect for us since we had plans to venture out around the island daily. It's a quite town with a very nice beach. We saw turtles every day, spotted eagle rays from the shore and walked the 2.5 miles along the undeveloped beach to the town of Kehei. We would absolutely stay here again!!

  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Crashing Waves

  • 4 of 5

We loved hearing the waves breaking right outside the condo! Great views, even from the upstairs shower. Steps to the uncrowded beach. I did miss seeing the sunsets, but the sunrises were beautiful, if you're an early riser. There are boogie boards and snorkeling gear, but no beach chairs. The location is good for easy access to other parts of the island.

  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fabulous Family Getaway

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I, along with our three young children (aged 6, 4, and 10 months) truly enjoyed our time away in Maui. Our favourite highlights of the property were the close proximity to the beach, the lovely beach-side swimming pool, and all of the screened open-slat windows that allowed the sound of the waves and wind to put us to sleep every night. As parents, we appreciated the updated bathrooms (the view of the ocean from the upstairs shower was such a treat) and updated kitchen (especially the dishwasher and full-sized refrigerator) as we cooked and prepared most of our meals during our stay; we also loved the lanai, especially for sipping coffee that was programmed and brewed right before sunrise every morning. The kids' favourite part of the "hotel" was "all of it!"

We found the property to be very well stocked for all our daily necessities (the extra towels came in handy for those days we visited both the beach and the pool, as did the large number of tupperware containers for our leftovers, although an extra couple of dishcloths would be handy for families like ours that cooked and washed dishes everyday). We also appreciated having access to other vacation-specific items that helped us enjoy our stay (small food/beverage cooler and ice packs, beach chairs, pool noodles and boogie boards).

Lastly, we greatly appreciated Jean Ann and Jim's quick responses to our inquiries during our planning phase before leaving - it certainly made the whole packing/preparation experience much more enjoyable. Thank you so much Jean Ann and Jim - we'd love to come back one day.

  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

The perfect place for whale watching and long walks on beach.The condo was bright and airy and perfect size.Every morning we saw whales breaching right outside condo.

Jean was available for any question we had.The location was perfect.

Highly recommend this place.

Peter Fundora

Mineral Wells,Texas

  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Ocean sounds, breezes, privacy, centrally located

  • 5 of 5

We loved every minute. Absolutely love your condo. Ocean sounds and constant breezes. Saw stunning sunrises over Haleakala from the deck. Maalaea is peaceful, private, and convenient for going anywhere on Maui. Much better than when I've stayed in resorts in Kaanapali and it took fifteen minutes to get through the people and buildings every time we wanted to explore Maui. We did a month's worth of stuff in two weeks. Two trips to Hana and two trips to the crater. Saw sunset at the crater on one trip. Twice to my beloved Big Beach. Did things I've never done before on all my trips to Maui like the Bailey Museum and Haiku Mill. Absolutely love Alii Kula Lavender and especially Ocean Organic Vodka. Horrified that Iao Valley was devastated by the fluke flood. Shocked that there will no longer be sugar cane covering the isthmus. So much change has come to Maui but Maui is still a place of magic. We did a sunset cocktail cruise out of Lahaina and as the boat pulled onto the ocean a bold complete rainbow appeared over the water, framing Lahaina. I've been a lot of exotic places but that takes the cake. That beats anything I've seen anywhere. Thanks a million.

Steve Fraser

  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2016
  • Stayed: October 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks, Steve, for taking the time to let us know you had a great time. Jean Ann
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Not Exactly as Advertised / What We Expected

  • 2 of 5

I’ll start with the good:

Loved that it was centrally located and close to the airport.

Loved the beautiful showers and the view of the ocean while showering.

Appreciated the “gear” in the closet so we didn’t have to bring, buy or rent any while there.

Appreciated that there weren't hidden fees added to the price when I clicked on "get estimate". The price was very reasonable.

The owners responded very quickly to all my correspondence.

The not so good:

It is not a two bedroom condo. It is more like a studio with a sliding divider downstairs and a (hot) loft upstairs. There is no privacy in either "bedroom".

There is no air-conditioning. Even with all the windows and doors open @ night and all the fans on (2 ceiling fans and 4 other fans) it was too hot to sleep. And, as stated in a review from over a year ago, the fans are still full of dust and need to be cleaned.

The "sound of the surf" was extremely loud. One of the reviews complained about it being in the flight path of the airport (which is true) and the planes are very loud (which is true) but the relentless pounding of the surf right outside overshadowed any noise the airplanes made. I wore earplugs and had a pillow over my head to no avail. It probably depends on the weather as to whether the surf is soothing or pounding but, of course, you have no control over that.

We had a maintenance issue, talked to Maintenance, who said they would fix the issue... never heard from them again.

It felt like there was too much furniture/decor/misc. for the size of the unit. There was very little room to put our personal belongings or move around. (there were 3 of us)

We rented the place for 8 nights. After 3 sleepless nights (due to the noise and heat), we left and stayed elsewhere.

The owners are nice people and try to provide a lovely place to stay, but it didn't work for us in any way.

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I feel badly that our condo did not work for Deanna. Unfortunately, Deanna did not let us know that the fans were dirty or that she was having problems with maintenance until after her stay. We send out information asking to be notified if there are problems. We would have been able to contact our on island managers and ask that she receive better service if we were aware. The sound from the surf is something we cannot fix. Most, but not all, guests love it. The condo sits a few feet from the water. While I have sometimes heard a plane in the early morning, the condo is not in the flight path for mainland /island flights. The amenities section of the condo advertisement on HomeAway does not list air-conditioning as one of the amenities. The condo has two stories of louvered windows plus a screen door and ceiling fans and usually has excellent circulation. While we have no plans to remove the louvers and install air conditioning, we are planning to replace our ceiling fans with newer, more efficient fans. One of the things we like about Hawaii is being open to the out of doors. The on-line condo pictures show the lay-out of the condo. There are two bedrooms. The upstairs "loft" has full ceiling height and room for a bed, two bed stands, desk, closet and hall to the bath. While neither bedroom has floor to ceiling walls, we have found the privacy adequate for family and good friends. It is furnished as we find comfortable for our stays, but I am going to look at things from Deanna's point of view and see what furniture can be discarded. I encourage potential renters to look at the condo pictures and call with any questions before renting. Jean Ann
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


Nearest Airport
8 Miles
Kahalui Airport OGG
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Beach Bums
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Kahili or Dunes
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Beach Bums and others at Maalaea Village
Nearest Beach
30 Metres
Maalaea Beach
Car: recommended

Hono Kai sits on a sandy beach and your door is 50 steps from the water. Turtles and whales (in season) entertain you while you sip your coffee and watch the waves. The very walkable beach is empty for three miles to the edge of Kihei. A deli, aquarium, marina and several restaurants are an easy walk up the Hauoli Street to the Maalaea Village. Bus service is available at the aquarium.

Other Activities: Shopping, mini golf

Golf: Numerous golf resorts are available in a ten mile radius.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 14.41%

5 night minimum stay or $125.00 cleaning fee.
Stays less than 5 days are also charged an additional $100 managment fee.
$200 deposit requested for reservation.;
Payment in full requested one month prior to scheduled rental.;
Deposit refund will be made two months prior to scheduled rental. All other refunds are at the owner's discretion. Generally refunds depend on the ability to rent the unit for the cancelled days.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties