expand arrow-rightsvg-balloonsvg-carsvg-dogsvg-fireplacesvg-flat-screensvg-heatersvg-laundry-washing-machinesvg-snowflakesvg-hot-tubsvg-swimming-poolsvg-wheelchairsvg-wifiarrow-right
Magnifiercirclex

Right on the beach and just steps from the sea!

Milton Bight, Honduras
  • House
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps8
  • Bathrooms3
  • Half Baths1
  • Minimum Stay6 nights

Flexible rates renting 1 to 4 bedrooms, 3.5 Baths, (sleeps up to 8)

Toucan Blue is a beautiful beach house and can be your vacation home with a spectacular view. There are four bedrooms but rates are flexible if only one, two, three, or all four bedrooms are required. You will still have exclusive use of the home and the bedrooms not required will simply not be made up or accessible. It is approximately 20 kilometers east of the Roatan International airport, mid-island on the scenic north shore in Milton Bight. The water of the Caribbean is just steps from the front door and the second largest barrier reef in the world is approximately 300 meters before you. Enjoy the serenity as you look out upon the sea and the never tiring view.

Roatan, one of the Bay Islands of Honduras, is included in the book 1,000 Places to See Before You Die by Patricia Shultz. For years, Roatan was known mainly to divers for the exquisite diving adventure around the barrier reef. Now there are many more options for tourists to enjoy and cruise ships regularly include Roatan as a port. English and Spanish are the languages of the island, and US currency is accepted.

Toucan Blue is perfect for divers, snorkelers, family, or friends. It is a single family home with main living areas and four private bedrooms with flexible rates depending on the number of guests. You will have exclusive use of the home and the bedrooms not required will simply not be made up or accessible. Escape the tourist crowds for the solitude, peace, and tranquility of Toucan Blue.

There are only three other homes on the white sand peninsula that share the dock with Toucan Blue, with security on site. At the end of the dock there is a thatched palapa with benches—a great place for morning coffee at sunrise or beverages at sunset. From the palapa setting, both sunrise and sunset can be events.

The house is decorated in lively Caribbean colors and each room has ceiling fans and air conditioning, if needed. The bright, open main floor on the upper level includes the living area, kitchen, dining, half bath, and huge deck. The large sapphire blue bedroom with private bathroom/shower is also on the upper level with patio doors opening to the deck. It may not be well suited to small children.

There are indoor/outdoor speakers for music while upstairs in the house or on the deck. There is Direct TV (basic plan) and DVD player for those times that you want to be indoors, and you can keep in touch other others using the wireless internet connection. There are many books, games, puzzles, music and movie choices at the house for your enjoyment.

The large, covered, ceramic tiled outdoor deck is a perfect place to relax and enjoy the tranquil setting and endless view. It is likely the place that you will spend most of your time while at the house. It is also a great place to laze in the hammocks, listen to the waves breaking over the reef, watch the hummingbirds at the feeder, or sit by the railing and gaze at the star filled sky at night. The roof extension over the deck helps keep it cooler by blocking some of the afternoon sun.

The patio table seats six with another table and chairs for additional deck seating/dining available. The BBQ grill is handy adjacent to the kitchen, in a separate deck area. A local cook is available for a nominal fee if you are interested in having island meals prepared at the house.

The lower level includes the large emerald green bedroom with private bathroom/shower, and the two other bedrooms that share a full bathroom with tub/shower. There is a laundry room with full size washer and dryer. An outdoor shower is available to wash off the sand before entering the home.

Enjoy the stunning views of the Caribbean Sea from this vacation home, paddle the sea inside the barrier reef in the two provided sea kayaks, stroll the white sand beach, view sea life from the dock, or gently swing in one of the hammocks on the deck.

For divers, a Subway dive shop is located at nearby Turquoise Bay Resort.

Toucan Blue was recognized in July 2011 for a 'Rated Excellent' digital badge. 'This exclusive award recognizes outstanding vacation rentals based on reviews from past guests.'

Our property managers will meet you upon arrival and escort you to the house, stopping at the supermarket on the way. They will familiarize you with Toucan Blue and surroundings, and will be available for any questions you may have while you are a guest. There is a local cell phone at the house for use during your stay that will be loaded with some usage minutes. Additional minutes can be added by purchasing a phone card from places displaying the Claro sign, or at the Claro store in French Harbour. This is an inexpensive way to call home instead of using your personal cell phone.

Island attractions include zipline/canopy tours, botanical gardens, golfing at the new Black Pearl golf course designed by Pete Dye, and water sports of all kinds. Roatan is a diver’s paradise, but you can also snorkel, swim with dolphins, kayak…or just relax. Enjoy the views of the crystal clear water in various shades of blue and the lush green hills from overlook vistas.

You will need a vehicle to get around and explore the island. We strongly recommend renting a 4-wheel drive vehicle and can provide contact information for a preferred rental company.

Rates are based on the number of guests and bedrooms required. One bedroom (1-2 guests) $1025; two bedrooms (2-4 guests) $1250; three bedrooms (3-6 guests) $1475; four bedrooms (4-8 guests) $1700. There is a $50 cleaning fee, and security/damage deposit of $500 that electricity usage will be deducted from.

Make Toucan Blue your home while experiencing the beautiful island of Roatan!

Keywords: Beach House, villa

Owner

Owner

Member Since 2007
Response rate:
100%
Response time:
within a few hours
Speaks:
english
Calendar last updated:
Mar 20, 2018

Amenities

    • Internet
    • Air Conditioning
    • Satellite or Cable
    • Kids Welcome
    • Washer & Dryer
    • TV
    • No Smoking

      Bedrooms

      • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
        • Queen size Beds (3), Double Beds (1)

        Bathrooms

        • 3 Bathrooms, 1 Half Bath

            Location Type

              • Beach
              • Beachfront
              • Oceanfront
              • Waterfront

                Theme

                  • Away From It All

                    Meals

                      • Guests provide their own meals

                        General

                          • Linens Provided
                          • Air Conditioning
                          • Ceiling Fans
                          • Clothes Dryer
                          • Hair Dryer
                          • Internet
                          • Basic Soaps
                          • Mobile Phone
                          • Safe
                          • Towels Provided
                          • Washing Machine
                          • Wireless Internet

                            Kitchen

                              • Ice Maker
                              • 4 Ring Stove
                              • Coffee Grinder
                              • Coffee Maker
                              • Cooking Utensils
                              • Dishes & Utensils
                              • Freezer
                              • Grill
                              • Blender
                              • Kitchen
                              • Microwave
                              • Oven
                              • Refrigerator
                              • Stove
                              • Stove
                              • Toaster

                                Dining

                                  • Dining Area

                                    Entertainment

                                      • Books
                                      • CD Player
                                      • DVD Player
                                      • Games
                                      • Music Library
                                      • Radio
                                      • Satellite / Cable
                                      • Stereo
                                      • Television
                                      • Video Library

                                        Outside

                                          • Balcony
                                          • Barbecue
                                          • Beach Towels
                                          • Boat with Paddles
                                          • Deck / Patio
                                          • Kayak / Canoe
                                          • Lanai / Gazebo
                                          • Outdoor Grill
                                          • Outdoor Grill Gas
                                          • Unscreened Porch / Veranda

                                            Suitability

                                              • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
                                              • wheelchair inaccessible

                                                Pool / Spa

                                                  • Communal Pool

                                                    Attractions

                                                      • reefs
                                                      • restaurants

                                                        Leisure Activities

                                                          • boating
                                                          • shelling

                                                            Sports & Adventure Activities

                                                              • deepsea fishing
                                                              • fishing
                                                              • golf
                                                              • jet skiing
                                                              • kayaking
                                                              • scuba diving or snorkeling
                                                              • snorkeling
                                                              • snorkeling/diving
                                                              • swimming

                                                                23 Reviews

                                                                Wonderful4.8/5

                                                                Latest reviews

                                                                Nearly as we expected

                                                                ZackWashington State

                                                                As for the positives, the other reviewers were spot on. The lack of other tourists and thus the peace and quiet was amazing. That, coupled with still being close to the necessities, makes the location nearly unbeatable. Just know that you will be removed from most other signs of humanity, and I personally would under no circumstance try and drive back to the house at night, especially after a couple of libations. You'll find out why after the first time you head down the dirt road and across the wooden road through the mangrove.

                                                                The only downside, and I really wrestled with docking a star for this, is that the bug situation is no joke. Besides scuba diving (which was great), the other thing I was really looking forward to was sitting out on the deck at night, having a drink, and enjoying the tranquility. The sun set at about 6pm, and shortly after that the insects would appear. My wife was pretty squeamish with the various bugs flying around, and my Kindle screen was a magnet for all sorts of interesting (but annoying) creatures. By the end of our stay we unfortunately found ourselves inside more than we would have liked. We also had to keep the door to the kitchen closed because of the sheer number of insects that would have taken up residence with it open. Perhaps screening-in the deck, like the house two doors down, would be a solution. We gladly would have given up some of the view in exchange for some relief from the bugs. Maybe the insects won't bother you, but it was a little disappointing for us.

                                                                As for the sand flies, the little red welts left by them don't itch, but they're not a good look for most people. The local bug spray in the blue bottle seemed to work, but it's also oil-based so you might keep the bugs away but you'll be asking for a serious sunburn. We went with the deet-based alternatives, and you're going to want to use it early and often.

                                                                Two other tips:

                                                                - I'm not sure how anyone could sleep on the bottom floors with the windows open and not get eaten alive by the bugs. We immediately opened the windows when we arrived, and within a couple of hours we had mosquitos and other guests in both downstairs bedrooms, despite the screen on the windows. Perhaps this isn't an issue on the top floor bedroom, but it certainly was downstairs.

                                                                - The Trooper is no longer a rental option, but you'll need 4WD. Work with Liz ahead of time and she'll find you an alternative.

                                                                Paradise!

                                                                Biloxi MikeBiloxi, Ms

                                                                If you like your bed made daily, cabana boys to bring you drinks, fine dining, and mingling with tourist, DO not go here as you will be completely disappointed. If you don't need any of the above, book now! For our 25th anniversary, I tried to find a place that was quite, off the beaten path, secluded and private & affordable! Toucan Blue checked every box.

                                                                This place is truly the epitome of paradise. Palm trees, fresh coconuts, humming birds, parrots and song birds, lizards, sunsets that will take your breath away, sunrises that will wake you up, tin roof that will make you yearn for a little rain at night, fresh conch and lobster from the old man in the dugout canoe, local dinning that is superb and affordable......

                                                                Lynda was very responsive from the day I sent for information to Liz, the island property manager who emailed answers to every question we had.

                                                                Liz met us at the airport in our rented Isuzu trooper(rent from Lynda!!! You will see why) and took us to Eldons to get groceries. What an experience. We are truly spoiled in the USA! Also stopped off at the gourmet store for a few things like steak and rum.

                                                                Driving to the house, prepare for a drop off the main road down a gravel, steep road to the bottom. Then onto the wooden road across the mangroves to the compound. Wow! Daniel or Wilfred will greet you. They are the on-site "security guards". Not sure what they are guarding but they live under the palm trees for three days at a time. Every morning, you wake up and the entire property is raked and. Nothing but sand remains.

                                                                Caution- apply bug spray every day frequently! We read it and followed the "RULE" and had no problems. We saw some tourist on a trip to West Bay who didn't follow the RULE and will pay the price with bad bites.

                                                                Snorkeling off the reef at the house was unbelievable. Clear, calm, fish, coral, etc! Kayaking was very cool. Kind of like being in a huge swimming pool.

                                                                We never turned the air condition on. Slept with window and blinds open every night with fan on. Breakfast on the upper deck, fishing, port royal beer, siesta and off to McNabbs in Jonesville or Cals cantina or Camp Bay resort for lunch. Cooked on the grill every night. We were told to be off the roads by dark. There are no street lights so we heeded the advice.

                                                                We sunned on the pier to avoid the no seeum bugs and would advice you to do this as well. The palapa was a perfect sunset spot. Bring water shoes!

                                                                Enjoy

                                                                Owner's Response:

                                                                We're so glad that you had an enjoyable vacation celebrating your special anniversary, and that you took advantage of what the east end of the island has to offer. Please consider a future visit!

                                                                Everything we had expected it would be

                                                                Thoms V.

                                                                This trip was our deferred honeymoon. And we could not have picked better. We were originally looking at Belize and then chose Roatan for availability and lower airfare. Everything that was stated in the review just before this one was absolutely true for us as well.

                                                                We were looking for a low key, uncrowded beach location and Toucan Blue fit that bill to a T. The pictures on VRBO are "what you see is what you get" Everything was as described. The views from the deck are stunning and yet it still allows for some privacy. The main bedroom upstairs was perfect. It was nice to have some soft music on the deck as we lounged. We used the kitchen mostly for breakfast and otherwise ate out at recommended restaurants.

                                                                Great movie selection. Decent CD music selection.

                                                                The kayaks were some of the best I've used.

                                                                Definitely need to apply DEET twice a day. Didn't one afternoon and 50 bites appeared on my back!

                                                                The Isuzu Trooper at the house that we also rented was perfect for getting around the island and didn't give us a bit of trouble.

                                                                Can't say enough good things about Liz. She was invaluable and just fun to talk to. Everything she recommended was good if not great. And she was always open to hearing about our other finds that went well.

                                                                Spoke with the owners via phone and email and they made the process for renting as easy as could be.

                                                                We always like to try new and different things but we both said we could easily see ourselves coming back to Toucan Blue a second time.

                                                                If you are looking for laying out on the beach vacation spot, this may not be for you. If you are looking for beautiful views, snorkeling and scuba adventures, friendly, safe adventures around the island, this is the place!

                                                                Owner's Response:

                                                                We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Toucan Blue. The setting is lovely and we want to share it with others for memorable vacations. Please consider a future visit--the hummingbirds will be waiting!

                                                                Everything we had expected it would be

                                                                Thoms V.

                                                                This trip was our deferred honeymoon. And we could not have picked better. We were originally looking at Belize and then chose Roatan for availability and lower airfare. Everything that was stated in the review just before this one was absolutely true for us as well.

                                                                We were looking for a low key, uncrowded beach location and Toucan Blue fit that bill to a T. The pictures on VRBO are "what you see is what you get" Everything was as described. The views from the deck are stunning and yet it still allows for some privacy. The main bedroom upstairs was perfect. It was nice to have some soft music on the deck as we lounged. We used the kitchen mostly for breakfast and otherwise ate out at recommended restaurants.

                                                                Great movie selection. Decent CD music selection.

                                                                The kayaks were some of the best I've used.

                                                                Definitely need to apply DEET twice a day. Didn't one afternoon and 50 bites appeared on my back!

                                                                The Isuzu Trooper at the house that we also rented was perfect for getting around the island and didn't give us a bit of trouble.

                                                                Can't say enough good things about Liz. She was invaluable and just fun to talk to. Everything she recommended was good if not great. And she was always open to hearing about our other finds that went well.

                                                                Spoke with the owners via phone and email and they made the process for renting as easy as could be.

                                                                We always like to try new and different things but we both said we could easily see ourselves coming back to Toucan Blue a second time.

                                                                If you are looking for laying out on the beach vacation spot, this may not be for you. If you are looking for beautiful views, snorkeling and scuba adventures, friendly, safe adventures around the island, this is the place!

                                                                Secluded Roatan Paradise!

                                                                Our family of five (2 adults, kids ages 11, 11, and 13) stayed a Toucan Blue for two weeks in March. We were looking for a beachfront location away from the crowds that allowed us to experience the true life and culture of Roatan. Toucan Blue met our needs and much much more. It is definitely secluded - Milton Bight is a small village off the main road about half way up island. Toucan Blue is one of a handful of beachfront houses in a small development. There are no crowds...trust me. The house was clean, well appointed, and boasts a stunning view of the reef. The covered deck is huge and seems to be the center of most of the action in the house. The kitchen is reasonably roomy and very well set up. The sitting room has a flat screen and a great selection of movies. The master bedroom is amazing and the other three bedrooms (lower floor) are very big...all with access to bathrooms. The BBQ worked great - especially for the lobster, conch, and fresh fish! Outside of the house, the kayaks were a great way to get out to the reef for some snorkeling. We found the best snorkeling to be out near the cut (to the west) but its not for beginners or those timid in deep water. Yet, just out in front of the house, the snorkeling is quite good and there are lots of shallow spots with tonnes of coral and fish. Watch for sand flies on the beach - DEET worked well as did Cactus Juice...just make sure you apply often. This was not unique to Toucan Blue though - seemed to be the general consensus around the island. The pool came in handy for those days when we wanted to avoid the salt water and just cool off.

                                                                The people of Milton Bight were very friendly - we met a number of the local residents and enjoyed hearing about their life on the island. The security guys at the house are very attentive, friendly, and definitely gave us that 'extra' peace of mind. Liz (property manager) was awesome. She is very well connected on the island and had LOTS of excellent suggestions for tour operators, restaurants, etc...she was very accommodating and answered all of our questions quickly. Having access to Liz's expertise and knowledge is a definite bonus when renting Toucan Blue. As well, all of our dealings with the owners were excellent. Lynda was very responsive and professional. The entire transaction went very smooth.

                                                                Generally, our experience on Roatan was unforgettable. I would highly recommend this destination and Toucan Blue for a family vacation.

                                                                Amazing escape

                                                                PeterBrooklyn,NY

                                                                We had an amazing time at Toucan Blue! It was a perfect escape from the hassle that is life in New York city. The description online is spot on. Nothing was missing , the house was well kept. Nearby attractions we visited:

                                                                -Marble Hill Farms (for scuba diving and food)

                                                                -Eldons Supermarket in French Harbor

                                                                Owner's Response:

                                                                We're so glad that your family enjoyed the time at Toucan Blue! Please consider a return visit.

                                                                Lynda and Dave, and our great property manager Liz

                                                                Location

                                                                Milton Bight, Honduras

                                                                Dive shop nearby to arrange diving, snorkeling, or fishing trips. Restaurants a short drive away. Other Activities: Kayaking

                                                                Rates & Availability

                                                                Additional information about rental rates

                                                                Additional Guest Fee
                                                                $16

                                                                1-2 guests/1 bdrm $1025/week; 2-4 guests/2 bdrms $1225/week; 3-6 guests/3 bdrms $1475; 4-8 guests/4 bdrms $1725/week. There will be a reasonable allowance for electricity consumption for the rental period and varies depending on the number of guests. Usage over the allotted amount will be charged at $.50/kwh and will be deducted from the security/damage deposit amount.

                                                                $146avg/night
                                                                23 Reviews
                                                                Wonderful 4.8/5
                                                                Enter dates for accurate pricing
                                                                For booking assistance, call 888-640-7927

                                                                Property # 116204

                                                                x