Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

1890s Victorian Cottage, 1 Block from the Beach

Bedrooms 2
Half Baths1
Space 650 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

2+ Bedrooms/2 Bathrooms (Sleeps 5)

This Victorian Seashore cottage has been standing 1000 ft. from the Atlantic Ocean since approx. 1880. It has all the modern amenities and was totally redecorated within the last 2 years. One of its most enjoyable features is the patio and side yard adjacent to the newly installed french doors of the dining room. The front porch is surrounded by lush plantings to give a cozy feeling while curled up with a book as the rest of the world passes by. The first floor has a bright living room (with TV and home theater system), a newly redone and well equipped kitchen (microwave oven, coffeemaker, etc.), a comfortable dining room with large french doors opening onto the side yard, and a full bath. Up the stairway is a very bright, roomy master bedroom (w/ king-size bed that can be separated into 2 searate twins), a half bath, a 2nd bedroom w/ double bed and a mid-bedroom with a captain's twin bed. There is also a large outdoor shower, a charcoal grill, washer/dryer, and air-conditioning.

This cottage has a homey, comfortable feeling, like the old seashore homes had in an earlier time. The little town of Avon is full of architectural gems and has a wonderfully old-fashioned boardwalk where people jog, stroll, or sit and watch the ocean from early morning until night but is not busy with commercial establishments or hustle and bustle. All forms of water sports (surfing, boating, and fishing) are available as are nearby golfing, tennis, live music, theater, and fine dining. In this family-oriented town the beach is white sand and very clean with an excellent surf. A pretty lake with swans defines one end of Avon while the Shark River defines the other end. It's a 5 block walk inland to town and minutes drive to larger shopping centers.

More Details

Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 15, 2017


Avon-by-the-Sea Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 650 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom -
    Bathroom - toilet
    Outdoor - outdoor shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • 1 king, 1 queen, 1 twin
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Outdoor Grill
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


3.5/5 -
(2 traveler reviews)

50% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
50% Complete
0% Complete
1890s Victorian Cottage, 1 Block from the Beach
average rating of 3.5 based on 2 reviews
Brooklyn, NY

Perfect Vacation Spot

  • 5 of 5

We just got back from a four-night stay at this lovely beach house. It was our first house rental and was a delightful experience. The house is exactly as pictured: gorgeous landscaping outside and a cheerful decor inside.

It is small—650 square feet—but well designed and worked well for our group of two adults and three children, ages 2, 3, and 9. The outdoor space off the kitchen helped make it more spacious.

The location is perfect, just a block from the beach on a quiet street.

The owners were quite accommodating. They left out some toddler toys since they knew we had kids, and were flexible with out check-in/check-out times and were always happy to answer questions.

Although there is no parking included with the house, we had no trouble finding street parking, even in the middle of the day.

The kitchen was fully equipped, and even had such extras as a basket of lobster picks and crackers.

A very comfortable, pretty house that made for an ideal family vacation.

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1


  • 2 of 5

Very misleading and a poor value for the cost. Very little provided- we were charged for electricity, internet access and we had to buy our own toilet paper. I have had better service in a cheap hotel by a highway and this was considerably more money than that. The location was great but overall the experience was disappointing.

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We had been unaware of this review until recently since we have always gotten such positive verbal reports on the property (for 12 years), so never thought to look at this section. It is quite a puzzling review because when we spoke to this individual while she was in the cottage, the response was entirely positive; they loved the place, the decor, the location, how clean it was, no problems or complaints at all. It was apparently a month later when she saw the electric charge ($13.05) that this burst of fury occurred but she chose not to contact us, complain, or ask for any resolution. It seems deeply sad and unfair that someone can smear another's unblemished reputation and not even mention any complaints so one has no chance to resolve this issue.. Further confusion results from the fact that all charges are reviewed and agreed to before the stay ( and in print in the contract that she signed). Again why wouldn't she have mentioned any objection at that time or when we called to find out how the stay was going? We could easily handle the very minimal electric charge by raising the rent of everyone by that amount but have resisted doing so because it seems unfair to charge everyone the same amount when some people leave the AC on with windows/doors open and others are so careful and considerate, so we go to the extra trouble of having the meter checked at beginning and end of each visit. Regarding the toilet paper and comparison to a cheap hotel. Well, a rental home is NOT a hotel (we also don't supply bed linens, towels, or room service) and since people are told what is supplied and what is not, this is the first time anyone EVER confused us with a hotel. Although most rental homes don't supply paper goods, I actually do make a point of leaving extras at the beginning of the season that I think would be helpful (i.e. dish soap, paper towels, scrubbies, clingwrap, toilet paper) but have no control of what is available or whether people replace it by late July when this person rented. Our cleaners do an excellent job but it would be unrealistic to expect them to do shopping during the Sat. change-over. So, I guess if someone wants to smear another without ever talking to them directly or, in fact, praises the place over the phone while here but writes something of this sort online, this lady has succeeded but I hope this explanation will allow people to decide if her complaints make any sense.
Did you find this review helpful?
30 3


Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Nearest Beach
300 Metres

Avon-by-the-Sea is a small seashore village that is very quiet, safe, and friendly but also very close to major travel attractions. It's a rare situation when you can be biking along quiet seaside streets and then drive a mile and get on a train for New York City with all its exciting cultural events and every form of entertainment (there is also a high speed ferry that goes into NYC from a port 30 min. from Avon). We find the contrast delightful, it feels like the best of both worlds. 20 minutes inland brings you to N.J.'s horse racing at Monmouth Racetrack while 20 minutes in another direction leads to Seven Flags/Great Adventure Amusement Park. Gambling casinos and world class entertainers can be seen in Atlantic City (1 hour), The Garden State Performing Arts Center is 1 hour, historic Philadelphia 'Birthplace of the Constitution' is 1. 5 hours drive and the lovely college town of Princeton is 1 hour away as are the lovely Johnson Sculpture Gardens.


Rates & Availability

Avon-by-the-Sea Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Jul 1 2017 - Sep 8 2017
7 night minimum stay
Sep 9 2017 - Oct 14 2017
7 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $100

$5000/month, $1,600/wk (June)
$9800/month, $2,800/wk (July)
$9800/month, $2,800/wk (August)

September 2009 and beyond - Contact us for rates

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties