Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Creekfront Contemporary Loft Cottage Sleeps 4

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 900 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

Relaxing, open floor plan cottage sitting on a small creek.This location is a great place for bikers, runners and hikers as the Moses Cone trails are just down the road. The house has lots of glass and is nestled in some trees. It is passive solar but does have a gas monitor heating system ,an electric fireplace and a woodstove.It is very cool in the summer as it is surrounded by trees. Sun warms this cottage in the winter. Bird and wildlife watching is a great past time here with all the windows. Nice cozy comfortable furnishings and linens provided. The kitchen is fully equipped just bring your groceries.There is a small television with cable and a dvd and vcr for movies.This cottage is not fancy but nice and it has older appliances and a small tv. The cottage also has wifi..

The queen bed and a bathroom are located in the loft that is reached by a custom made wooden spiral staircase. The cottage is close to Trout Lake Bass Lake and Price Lake and wonderful trails off the Blue Ridge Parkway. It is 4 miles from Blowing Rock and 3 miles to Boone. Pets and children are welcome. I offer competitive rates.

Keywords: House

More Details

Owner
Sara
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 24, 2017

About Sara

I am a registered nurse and have a private practice in Healing Touch and Craniosacral Therapy. I was a Rehab Nurse for 10 years in the coal mines in 3 states. My first career was a social case worker. I also own a consignment business. I enjoy sharing this delightful cottage with my guests.

Sara purchased this house in 2007

Why Sara chose Blue Ridge Mountains

Blowing Rock and the High Country region is very beautiful. These are the oldest mountains in the world. There are lots of outdoor activities and friendly people. The cottage is centrally located near Boone and Blowing Rock.

What makes this house unique

It is great to hear the little creek that wraps around the cottage. Children enjoy playing in the creek. I am pet friendly. You can see lots of birds, chipmunk, deer and raccoon from the cottage. It is cozy and relaxing and I try to be flexible with my guests and their needs.

Amenities

Blowing Rock House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1) pull out sofa futon couch, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(30 traveler reviews)

Creekfront Contemporary Loft Cottage Sleeps 4
average rating of 4.5333333 based on 30 reviews
5

Beautiful and restful

  • 5 of 5

Loved the rustic-meets-contemporary styling of the cabin. Cabin was clean and all linens just right. Appliances in good shape. All the windows made enjoying the surrounding vistas easy. Perfect for our getaway for 2. Closeness to Boone, Blowing Rock, hiking to Calloway Peak, etc., was much appreciated. Host communicated plenty beforehand and had reasonable expectations for checking out. Had some traffic on the roads, which are close, but not at all bad.

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Cozy but in need of good cleaning and some repairs such as plumbing and deck

  • 3 of 5

We enjoyed our stay. The cottage has a plumbing problem when you flush toilet upstairs the only bathroom it spits up through kitchen sink. Cottage was dusty but all in all was a comfortable cozy little cottage. Needs some repairs deck is shaky. Tv was extremely small. For price we paid expected better. Creek was full of trash and grown up.

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: There are no plumbing problems at my cottage, the toilet upstairs is not connected to the kitchen sink. The kitchen and front of the house was just totally remodeled at the end of May and passed a plumbing inspection. I have a housekeeper come in after every guest leaves and I do not charge guests for this. I advertise in the listing that the tv is small. The deck is not shaky, there is a another deck under the current deck. The stream on my property is clean, the creek on the other side of the bridge belongs to the neighbor above. You did not follow directions on the refrigerator door. It says if you are unhappy with the cottage when you check in please contact me for a full refund You could have stayed at a local motel for 149.00 per night .Apparently you should have done this instead of staying and leaving such a negative review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Lovely location of a pretty cabin

  • 4 of 5

This is a very pretty cabin in a great location near to Blowing Rock and Boone. Loved being able to watch the birds, squirrels and chipmunks on the feeder and really enjoyed staying here. Sara was very helpful with anything we asked and the cabin was very comfortable and cosy.We only had a couple of small issues that could be easily rectified... we arrived as non smokers without matches and couldn't find any at all to light the gas to boil the kettle to make a cup of tea which meant a trip back to the shops and, as we wanted to self cater whilst there, we found most of the pans in the kitchen cupboards were pretty dirty, I guess because they don't get used very often. The crockery was lovely and sparkling but other things needed a good wash. We didn't complain as we don't like to be negative when on holiday but maybe something to think about in the future and it didn't detract from our stay.

  • Submitted: May 31, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: You did not need matches to light the stove, you just turn it on and it lights itself. There were matches in the closet for lighting the wood stove in the winter. I ask the guests to wash their own dishes and put them back up, thank you for letting me know that guests have not been cleaning them.I will double check them in the future between rentals . The week after you left, the kitchen was totally remodeled with new windows, new cabinets , floors and countertops. I wish you would have let me know about any dirty pans as I would have cleaned them or brought out new ones if I had known there was a problem.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Eastern passage NS Canada
4

Very nice relaxing place far enough but not to far from everything.

  • 4 of 5

Beautiful location ! Cottage has some nice features ,very quite , open kitchen, spiril staircase, lots of windows to watch the birds and squreills feeding, nice deck with the sound of the creek only feet away. The place however needs a real good cleaning ( cob web and dust nothing serious)and some general maintenance to make it shine . TV was very small could have been bigger for the price of them now. Over all had a great time and would go back again .

  • Submitted: May 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I just completed a total kitchen remodel at the end of May 2017, new kitchen windows, new wood flooring ,new cabinets and counter tops. Come back and enjoy the remodel when you can.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Best location!!

  • 5 of 5

This was the best most relaxing vacation we have had in along time. My wife and I loved the location situated in the country away from the tourist rat race. The great thing is even though the cabin was out of the way everything from Boone to Blowing Rock could the accessed in minutes. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

A quiet cozy place not far from town.

  • 4 of 5

My husband and I were here for the weekend with our 2 dogs. We thoroughly enjoyed the bird feeders and watching the variety of birds coming to them. Our dogs enjoyed all the windows and being able to watch the outside world. The drive up was not very steep which was excellent with our car not being very winter savvy. It was a perfect amount of space for us and our dogs. We hope to visit again!

  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Located next to a zip line, hiking and the Blue Ridge Parkway

Photos

Rates & Availability

Blowing Rock House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Nightly Rate
Jul 28 2017 - Jul 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$109
$600
$1,500
 
 
fall
Sep 21 2017 - Oct 19 2017
2 night minimum stay
$117
$700
 
 
Nightly Rate
Oct 20 2017 - Oct 22 2017
2 night minimum stay
$117
$700
 
 
fall
Oct 23 2017 - Oct 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$117
$700
 
 
Nightly Rate
Nov 19 2017 - Nov 26 2017
2 night minimum stay
$117
$600
$1,500
 
 
Nightly Rate
Dec 21 2017 - Dec 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$117
$600
$1,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$109
$600
$1,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $10

The rental deposit is non refundable. I do my own booking.


I do NOT charge a cleaning fee.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties