Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

North Portland Bungalow Near Alberta Arts, Mississppi, Parks, Shops & Downtown

Bedrooms 5
Half Baths1
Space 2 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 nights


About the property


Fabulous restoration of this hundred year old beauty. Kitchen is well stocked with basics for cooking. Home is in an excellent location near all the trendy neighborhoods like Alberta Arts Mississippi, Dekum Triangle and 5 minutes to downtown, the Moda Center, and Civic stadium. Two queen beds with separate baths. I can add a bed to the 3rd bedroom if necessary. There is a bus line on the corner and MAX is a 12 minutes walk.

Cathleen Walker
Member since: 2017
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 19, 2018

About Cathleen Walker

I am a real estate broker in the greater Portland Metro area. My husband and I buy and restore homes in the North Portland area because it is a favorite area of ours. The restaurants in the neighborhood are diverse and so fabulous. Although we live in Lake Oswego, a suburb of Portland, we stay in this home when it is not rented out. If you are coming to Portland to consider moving here let me know and I will arrange a tour for you. My daughter and my 2 amazing grandsons live in the area so I am blessed to see them often. I will be available for any questions or recommendations.

Cathleen Walker purchased this house in 2016

Why Cathleen Walker chose Humboldt

New kitchen, baths and a fabulous porch and patio. Fenced yard for pets. Great walk score and a bus line 20 steps away which will take you to MAX.


Humboldt House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Max. adults: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
  • Internet
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 twin/ single
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • gambling casinos
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
12% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
North Portland Bungalow Near Alberta Arts, Mississppi, Parks, Shops & Downtown
average rating of 4.625 based on 8 reviews

Great house! Great location!

  • 5 of 5

Cathleen’s place was great for the theee weeks that I was in town working. Easy commute downtown and to anywhere that you needed to go really. Spacious and comfortable bedrooms. Great Kitchen. Just an overall great place to stay. Cathleen was easy to get a hold of if need be and communication was always easy. I even left something there and she got it into the mail for me the next day. Thank you for the great stay Cathleen and Mac! Best of luck with everything!!!

  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks. You were the best.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Wonderful experience

  • 5 of 5

Fun older home. Lots of character. Wonderful front porch to sit on. Served us well.

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Cute house with some rough edges

  • 3 of 5

Nicely cleaned up property. The listing said its 100 years old and if you like that era

you'll appreciate the look and feel.

Pros: Very clean, spacious, nicely appointed, refinished hardwood floors. Updated kitchen and appliances, Decent neighborhood, convenient to Freeways.

Cathleen, the owner is very responsive.

Cons: It says 4 bedrooms, there are only 3. Prior to arriving we were told there was AC in the upstairs bedrooms. It turns out only 2 of 3 had AC. While in Portland it was 95 degrees so the bedroom was unbearable. I called Cathleen and she had an AC unit installed along with a new bedframe (for a broken one) within 24 hours. Good response even though it should have already been done

However, no insulation, no screens in the windows made the rest of the house warm...roast or enjoy the flies.

The house is currently listed for sale and we were asked to leave early so it could be shown...we accommodated but it kind of messed up our plans.

Kind of a mixed bag...some corners were cut - no AC in 1 room, broken bedframe, no real window curtains (light comes in at sunrise) I had to buy mattress pad for a rock hard mattress, etc... but a decent base...we were gone most days so it was OK in the evenings. The house works for meals and sleeping but if you plan on hanging out there much you can likely do better for the price.

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The house is advertised with two queen beds with an option for a bed for the third bedroom if you request it. The bed in the third bedroom is basically for staging. When you apply you said three adults and I assumed that it would be two and one. When you called and said you were using the bed that we use for staging and you needed air condition in that room it was 2 in the afternoon and I had the bed and air conditioner installed by 7 p.m. not 24 hours. This was an extreme temperature week for Portland but there was also a huge fan in the downstairs living area and Sunday was the hottest day and I had an open house and it was quite comfortable. I'm sorry you don't like my curtain choice but we like light in the Northwest because it gets pretty grim in the winter. Also the house is insulated in the Attic. As far as your messing up your plans for a showing, the showing was scheduled at 10 and your check out was at 11 and your response to me was that you would be gone by then anyway. And you thank me for our quick response for the AC and bed issue. I'm just surprised. I did give you a 5-star rating however because you left the house very nice. Maybe you need to stay in newer homes in the future. Nothing was misrepresented and the house was exactly as advertised.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Felt like home

  • 5 of 5

Thank you for sharing your beautifully remodeled home! The space was even more than we needed! It was spotless and has everything you could need for a long or short stay. The area has so many great things to do and see - we especially love all the amazing restaurants! It is a perfect rental for visiting our daughter and son in law who recently moved to Portland and live within walking distance. We hope to be back to visit them soon again. Thanks again for bringing the iron, ironing board and cutting board over so quickly and refunding our deposit the same day we left - what great service you provide! Sincerely, Dave, Audrey and Emily

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
St Helena, CA

Great place to stay and close to everything.

  • 4 of 5

Beautiful house with plenty of room for our family vacation. Cozy bedrooms and quiet neighborhood. High temps made it a bit difficult for sleeping as there was no a/c or fans for relief. Over all we really enjoyed our stay and would come back.

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Clean, great location!

  • 5 of 5

Charming house! Quick response to questions from Cathleen. Safe neighborhood to walk to local restaurants day or night. Grocery store close by. Would stay again.

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
5 Miles
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Nearest Train
2 Miles
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Nearest Ski
65 Miles
Nearest Beach
86 Miles
Car: not necessary


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100
Pet Fee $50
Refundable Damage Deposit $500

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties