Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

The Rabbit Burrow - Perfect for couples or families

Bedrooms 4
Space 1,600 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 5 nights


About the property

4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10

Welcome to the Swamp Rabbit Burrow in beautiful growing Travelers Rest just 15 minutes to downtown Greenville. This house is beautifully set up for several couples or a family with kids. Moments to the Swamp Rabbit trail, a 20 mi rails to trails system starting moments from our door and traveling through downtown G'ville. Our house has plenty of indoor bike storage to keep yours out of any weather while you're here. Take advantage of our families vacation spot, the bustling food scene, and beautiful blue ridge mountains just a short drive away.

Mark Richmond
Member since: 2017
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 13, 2018

About Mark Richmond

My wife and I are Furman grads who lived in Travelers Rest after we graduated and who now enjoy traveling back with our 4 kids. We enjoy spending time with our friends, biking on the Swamp Rabbit trail and mountain biking at near by Paris Mtn State park, or hiking in the near by mountains. We would love for you to come stay at our home away from home.

Mark Richmond purchased this house in 2017

Why Mark Richmond chose Travelers Rest

This property was ideally suited just moments from the bustling downtown of Travelers rest while still being situated in a quite neighborhood. It fits the size needs of our large family well and we're confident you'll find it welcoming and comfortable as well.

What makes this house unique

With easy access to trails, mountains, restaurants and the larger downtown Greenville, this spacious home allows you the ideal stay for your time in the upstate.


Travelers Rest House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 10 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Hall bath - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Master Bath - toilet , shower
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Master - 1 king
    Bunk bed room - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , Bunk bed room
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 baby crib , Pack' n play in closet
    Bedroom 1 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Pull out sofa in second living room with door.
  • DVD Player
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
We are located just a short bike, walk, or run from the 20 mile long Swamp Rabbit trail system which stretches through Travelers Rest and downtown Greenville.


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

71% Complete
21% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
The Rabbit Burrow - Perfect for couples or families
average rating of 4.5 based on 14 reviews

Simply the best most cozy, homely place to stay.

  • 5 of 5

I cannot complain about anything here. It has a very homely, cozy feel to the house. I had a need and it was immediately filled. The back yard and front yard are great to enjoy the day on and there are chairs for either choice. The house is big but not too big. I felt at home in this house in that if I wanted to stay here instead of enjoying the beautiful scenery that lies in SC then I could have without any regrets. Again, i have no complaints. Even if i did have any, i wouldn't feel right stating it as so many thing were right about this house. I thank the owner(s) for opening this house up to me and my family and helping our SC experience to be highly memorable in a good way!

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Reuben, We're so glad to hear that you had such a great experience! We look forward to hosting you again in the future. -Mark and Meredith
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Something isn't right about this listing!

  • 1 of 5

This is my first time writing a bad review on VRBO. When we drove up we were a little worried- the grass looked like it hadn't been mowed in 2 weeks, and the homes immediately surrounding this one looked sketchy (especially with the group partying next door calling out to us as we were trying to get in the house). Bad first impression but SC had a great deal of rain the week before, and we weren't planning to be out in the yard so we were willing to overlook that. HOWEVER the house was so dirty and smelled super musty. The master bedroom and bath reeked of body odor (even the one in the family who doesn't have a sensitive nose thought it smelled bad). The door to get in from the outside was filthy and looked like someone had hacked at it with a screwdriver. There was a red stain on one of the blankets-just grossed us out. The mattresses in the master bedroom and bunk room caved in so badly that it was difficult to fall asleep! One kind of funny thing, is that the toilet in the master bath is so close to the wall that you can't sit on it unless you face sideways. Anyway, we contacted Mark and asked for a refund (which we thought was reasonable because we were willing to pay for the first night we stayed there) and he politely but stubbornly refused. He told us that he sent his people over to verify our issues and they thought it was clean. He did own up to the yard being really bad and said he could get someone out to mow.

We felt fleeced after seeing the good online pics and positive reviews (I actually went back and re-read the reviews and I have no idea how to explain the difference, because the VRBO reviews in the past for us have mostly been spot-on) Also no idea how the pics look so bright and airy.

This trip cost us a lot because we had to book two hotel rooms for the remainder of our stay on top of this rental. It won't kill us, but I guess we expected a more equitable response to the issue. Very disappointing experience!

  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is difficult to read such a review of our home that we take great pride in and work hard to keep exceptionally clean and welcoming. We found it very difficult to interact with this guest as they insulted our property and cleaning crew who were still there cleaning when this guest showed up almost 2 hours prior to check in time. After working hard to address concerns and to investigate their claimed issues we were baffled as they continued to add new 'complaints' at every turn when the original complaints proved to be inaccurate. The guest then left without giving us opportunity to meet with them to identify any problems. We still went out of our way to investigate. We had two different individuals we trust come investigate the property since we are out of town. No smell could be found, no stains could be found, the door did have some dirt that seems to have splashed up during the rain, and yes the grass was a bit high from the previous week of rain and was mowed the very next day which was our crew's first available after the previous week of rain. It seemed apparent to us that our guest had had a change of mind or plans and wanted a refund and realized it was well past the window when that was possible and so took a different route. Please see any and all of our other reviews for an accurate portrayal of our home and the very positive experience our other guest have enjoyed.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beyond what we even expected!

  • 5 of 5

We were in town for a family funeral and made last minute reservations. The owner was super helpful to get us in a little early on our check in and was very timely with responses to our questions. The house was VERY clean and perfect for what we needed. Comfortable beds and a quiet neighborhood made for a great stay

  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Greg thank you for your review! I'm happy to hear that our place was able to make your difficult time a bit easier. We'd love to have you again on a happier occasion! -Mark
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great house and priced just right

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay here! The owner was Accommodating and it was in a great area.

  • Submitted: May 31, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

As advertised, bright and comfortable

  • 5 of 5

Comfortable beds and sofas. Well equipped kitchen. Clean and bright. New bathroom and kitchen. Plus TR is a great location for enjoying Greenville and the upstate mountains

  • Submitted: May 25, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much! We're glad you enjoyed your time in our home! -Mark
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very happy!

  • 4 of 5

We stayed at The Rabbit Burrow while in town for a wedding. It was a perfect location and size for our needs. Mark was super to work with and we would stay here again.

  • Submitted: May 24, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so glad that the house fit your needs so well! We'd be happy to have you back anytime!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
18.6 Miles
Greenville Spartanburg International


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $80
Refundable Damage Deposit $200

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties