Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Outstanding Oceanview Condo!

Bedrooms 1
Space 630 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

This is a unique and beautiful location, walk to the village of Kona for shopping and dining. Listen to the ocean from the living room or lanai. Enjoy beautiful Kona Sunsets as you barbeque in the patio area under the gazebo, or stay indoors to enjoy the new TV.

We are always doing updates and you will find a beautiful new tile shower to relax with at the end of a long day at the beach.

Enjoy the well maintained pool and spa. This is the ultimate location for beautiful views and relaxation. It is close to many other activities such as snorkeling, para-sailing, golfing! Take a beautiful drive to Volcanoes National Park. There is much to see and do from this unique location.

Keywords: Condominium

More Details


Kailua-Kona Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 630 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Village
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Elevator
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (1), Child Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Shared Hot Tub
  • Spa Whirlpool
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • marina
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(31 traveler reviews)

74% Complete
19% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Outstanding Oceanview Condo!
average rating of 4.677419 based on 32 reviews

Well located and well equipped, Kathy was exceptional but no central air

  • 3 of 5

Kona Reef is a resort designed and built with no air conditioning in mind, back in the 70's, built when the island and world were cooler and air conditioning was not required. During our stay June - July 2017 temperatures ranged from low 80's to mid 90's; but humidity was also very high which made it feel even hotter and muggier. To make matters worse, there is a small window unit on the balcony; but bedroom is left of entrance, farthest from AC. Worst of all, AC unit has a one hour timer before it cuts off. Therefore, during hottest times of day and specially, at night, you have to frequently get up to reset timer for another hour, which anyone can imagine the horrible quality of sleep you get with this setup. This very important detail should have been disclosed in the VRBO description of the property. I need to say that my first night there was one of the worst nights I have spent in many many years. I would not recommend this unit to anyone, unless they remove the timer and allow paying guests to run AC when needed.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Only a few of the condos at the Kona Reef have central AC and that has just recently been done. It is a very expensive update and as much as I would like to accommodate all of our guest I cannot always do so. There is a timer on the unit so that we don't have utility bills that are astronomical. Those who are extremely concerned about the AC have asked if we have central air and I let them know that we do not. Our unit is on the second level and I have a security door so you can open the slider in the living room and turn on the fans and always get a nice breeze coming through the condo. There are ceiling fans as well as free standing fans to help on those warm Hawaiian evenings. This is the first time I have received a complaint about the air conditioning. I wish I could do more but I am limited and have no way to control the weather. I will add a note that we do not have central air for future guests. I am happy that they found the condo well equipped and pleased with my efforts to help.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Conroe, TX

Perfect Condo, Perfect Location !

  • 5 of 5

We just returned from a 3 Week Trip To The Islands. Our stay at Kona Reef was by far our favorite. The condo was perfect! The location, the view, the accommodations could not have been better. We loved having a washer/dryer in the condo. We spent a lot of time at "On the Rocks". We loved the happy hour prices and the beautiful sunsets. The sunsets were beautiful from the condo also. We also enjoyed Kona Brewing Co. The food was great there. The location was so convenient to restaurants, bars, shopping, etc. It was so nice falling asleep every night to the sound of crashing waves! We had a favorite condo on Oahu, but your lovely spot has taken over First Place. We hope to be back soon!

  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2016
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Phoenix, AZ

Wonderful location

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay at Kona Reef. The condo itself was plenty of room for our family of four (2 small kids) and had everything we needed. We especially appreciate the beach and pool toys (boogie boards, snorkels, noodles, etc). My husband and I actually took the living room futon which was comfortable and allowed us to enjoy the sound of crashing waves as we went to sleep. The lanai was great for eating meals and relaxing. The swimming pool area was well-maintained and perfect depth for our young kids. We enjoyed watching the gorgeous Kona sunsets from the lawn outside the pool. The location is good, easy walk into town for restaurants and shopping.

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Kona reef amazing condo location

  • 5 of 5

First of all the Owner Kathy so wonderful.she got back to me 1hour,

Great location. Walk to town, beach right next door, ocean view, the condo had everything we needed , the pool and barq was great, we meet some many nice people.we will come back again. Thanks again Kathy for making our trip wonderful!!!

Glenn and Tracey young

Long beach California

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Just Like Home

  • 5 of 5

Just Like being home,Everything was Perfect from the Condo to the Views to the short walk into town, I tell everybody that will listen about your Condo, Thank You & We'll be Back

  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

A wonderful place to stay

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I came here for the second week of our honeymoon. In mid September 2015, Hawaii was hot and very humid. There were at least 3 hurricanes which were spiraling in the larger ocean and generally screwing up the water visibility and the humidity. Kona was supposedly the dry side of the island, but it was humid enough that we got some thunder storms there several evenings. My wife doesn't do so well in heat and humidity as a general rule.

So, why am I mentioning this?

Because the air condition in this unit was OUTSTANDING! Located in the living space, it kept the whole unit cool and comfortable when we were there. Given that it wasn't central air but a window unit, The Little AC That Could behaved like a big boy central air unit! The unit was clean and well maintained. There were some boogie boards in the closet. By the time we got to Kona, we were desperate for laundry facilities. The condo had a stacked washer and dryer which was magical! I've never been so excited to see a laundry machine before!

There is a futon and a matching chair in the living room. The futon folds down for others to sleep. The condo is located just shy of ground floor. It's about 4 or 5 steps down to it's level. There is an elevator; however, it stops in between levels and won't be much help to someone in a wheelchair or who just can't handle stairs. The unit is about 1/4 to 1/2 a mile from 'downtown' Kona. There are a TON of shops and a big local good market place bazaar. We liked Jack's Dive Locker for our SCUBA adventures. The restaurants in the area are amazing and we would heartily recommend Kona Brewing Company for wonderful pizza. (Get the pesto sauce!)

Thank you for letting us make use of your amazing condo! We had a wonderful time!

  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2015
  • Stayed: September 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 29, 2018

About Kathy

This is a family owned and operated condo. We live in California but have family located in Kona. We try to get there as often as possible to enjoy the condo and update it as well.

Kathy purchased this condo in 1993

Why Kathy chose Kailua-Kona

The perfect location just outside the Village of Kona. Walking distance to shops and restaurants yet quiet and relaxing.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We found this unit through a friend and so happy that he referred us! The owners were so easy to deal with and the unit is great as was the price. Wonderful views and so clean. I hope we can go back soon!
Apr 2010
  • 1 of 1


Hulihee Palace
"Beautiful scenes and plenty of spots to stop and view the ocean. Along the way are the Marin..."
Kilauea Volcano
"A real MUST SEE while on the Big Island. Be sure to try to view it at night as the Lava flow..."
Nearest Airport
8 Miles
KOA International
Nearest Motorway
1.5 Miles
Queen K Hwy
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Huggo's , Outback
Car: not necessary

Conveniently located within walking distance of many restaurants including Outback, Huggos and Bubba Gumps as well as the shopping village. Unit has excellent whitewater view and you can hear waves crash from the unit. Barbecues located by pool and spa.

Other Activities: para sailing


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning Fee $95 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.42%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.