Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Stunning Oceanfront Mansion Overlooking Cove - Incredible Views & Privacy

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Space 3,250 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Highly coveted estate with 270 degrees of ocean viewing glamour.

This elegant oceanfront estate is located in the heart of the La Jolla, just 5 minutes walk to the village and 5 min walk to the La Jolla Shores. This estate offers beautiful ocean views, and is the perfect option for those who want to be directly in front of one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. Enjoy La Jolla’s world-class shops and restaurants just steps away, then relax in the brand new private wonderful interlude to your day’s activities.

The dining room, located directly behind the living room is ocean front with stunning views, has a table and seating for 8. A modern and fully equipped kitchen offers everything a great cook would need.

The three guest bedrooms are also located downstairs. All guest rooms have a queen size beds.

For your convenience, there is a laundry room available.

Upstairs, guests will enjoy the very comfortable master bedroom which showcases sweeping ocean views. It features a large full bath, king bed, a large flat screen TV, and easy chair - all available to help you make this a sweet enclave from the rest of the world.

For your convenience, there is a garage and 2 parking spots in a driveway are available for guests of this property.

We are pleased to be able to offer this beautiful refuge that invites you to take time out to experience the breath-taking beauty and exquisite charm of the Pacific Ocean, La Jolla, and the surrounding area.

THINGS WE LOVE ABOUT THIS PROPERTY:

Sweeping ocean views and a fabulous location in the heart of La Jolla that allows you to walk to all of the best shops and world class dining as well as La Jolla Shores Beach.

Awesome self-contained upstairs master suite with enchanting ocean views.

Private patio for sunset viewing and romantic dinners.

THINGS YOU SHOULD KNOW ABOUT THIS PROPERTY:

No smoking is allowed.

This home is located in a quiet neighborhood and is only suitable for quieter groups. Our rental agreement includes a no tolerance policy regarding excessive noise, occupancy and/or parties. Deposit forfeitures and/or evictions are strictly enforced. Please make sure you are comfortable with these policies before renting with us.

Enjoy your stay in one of the most coveted areas in all of Southern California. Oceanfront property on the famous La Jolla Cove.

5 min walk to La Jolla Shores and La Jolla Village.

Unforgettable sunsets and ocean view. See wildlife including sea lions, pelicans, and ospreys, and sharks from the balcony!

The house is equipped with anything you need for cooking including pots and pans, Vitamix, juicer, Breville espresso maker and more.

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2017
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 19, 2018

About The Owner

Hello! I'm a local entrepreneur with a taste for fine living. I decided to move to La Jolla after discovering this beautiful town in 2015.

The Owner purchased this house in 2015

Why The Owner chose Village of La Jolla

This property speaks for itself. There are only 25 homes on the shoreline from La Jolla Shores to La Jolla Cove, making the location highly coveted. Our home is among some of the most highly desired in La Jolla, with views that take your breath away.

Amenities

Village of La Jolla House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3250 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Golf Course View
  • Near The Ocean
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , shower , jetted tub , bidet
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Sauna ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

77% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
Stunning Oceanfront Mansion Overlooking Cove - Incredible Views & Privacy
average rating of 4.5555553 based on 9 reviews
5

Views and location unmatched! Everything we were looking for!

  • 5 of 5

This was my second stay at this property, and it's officially our new vacation home when we come to La Jolla every year. This is the only REAL oceanfront property in La Jolla available for rent. You are quite literally hanging on the edge of a cliff, and can easily hear the waves in the bedrooms. Katrina’s property is fully set up, it offers all kitchen appliances, and even cooking spices. We love to juice every morning and having a great juicer and a Vitamix was a huge bonus. The house is clean and furniture is in great condition. There is a beautiful seating area in the living room that seats 8 and TV if needed. Location is perfect, 5 min walk in one direction is the beach, 5 min walk in the other direction is La Jolla Village (shops and restaurants). Master bedroom has a beautiful Tempur-Pedic King bed, it's like a cloud! I would give this place 10 stars if I could.

  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2018
  • Stayed: September 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great House / Great Location / Great View

  • 5 of 5

This was a very warm and friendly house to visit. The amenities were there that were required for a vacation home, but at the same time it allowed us to experience the outside world as well, not forcing us to be locked inside and watching TV. The owners were splendid and polite. The were understanding and fair, and a pleasure to deal with. Just a down to earth couple who knows not to give the run around.

The house is split, so there is a vacationer below you if your on the top floor or above you if your on the bottom floor. Yet, it is completely private with two separate entrances, only from the front of the home.

Overall great view, great home, great stay, and just relaxing. I would stay here again.

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Hayk! We enjoyed having you here!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lincoln, CA
2

Great view but major drawbacks

  • 2 of 5

This older run down house is on a very busy street making parking and exiting the driveway a challenge. Hot water was not found in most sinks or showers. No TV or stereo. The floors were quite dirty. Do not walk around barefoot.

If these things did not exist, it would be worth the asking price. As it is now it is overpriced.

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Doug, we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay, however we are more sorry to see fabricated items on your review. We have never had hot water issues in our property (if we did, how come you did not mention anything when I stopped by?) We DO have TV and speakers, both in great condition. Our house is always clean, the cleaning service left just prior to your arrival. As a veteran you paid only 40% of the rate we normally charge. Moreover we accepted complimentary early check in. We sincerely regret we accepted your reservation as you and your party broke our house rules multiple times by trespassing on our neighbors property. We received multiple complaints from the neighbor.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

AMAZING VIEWS AND LOCATION!

  • 4 of 5

So much to say about our visit to this place. Met the owners and their dog at check in.

Pros:

- overwhelmed immediately by the amazing views! So much more incredible than can even be captured in the pictures!

- very responsive to any needs/questions through out the stay.

- AMAZING location. Walkable to most everything in LaJolla - breakfast every day, the cove, lunches/dinners.

- Garage space. Driveway to allow you to turn around. On a very busy street so this was helpful for getting out into traffic.

Cons:

- we didn't realize that the property is shared with a tenant downstairs. Don't think that we were necessarily being noisy but we received a text asking us to quiet down from the owners due to complaints. Listing definitely specifies quiet hours after 10 PM but 8 adults sitting around in the living room is going to make some noise.

- 4th bedroom is not really a bedroom. Curtained off area of the living room. One couple ended up very disappointed as they really had no privacy at all. Would be a much better place for 3 couples as opposed to 4 or 5.

- 1 small TV in the entire place - Apple TV, located the upstairs Master bedroom. Wifi worked flawlessly. Kinda weird to gather in the Master bedroom so we ultimately ended up moving the TV to watch the World Cup.

- Listing said hot tub but there was not one. There was a new sauna but nobody used it so can't comment.

- Furniture in the living room needs to be updated. Very dingy and uncomfortable. The one "bench" is breaking and the only other couch was old, musky and sunken in. We spent most of our time in the house sitting around the dining table which has seating for 6 (not 8 as stated in listing.)

- Floor was very dirty but this may be a product of the awesome balcony. Walking in and out likely makes it a disaster to keep clean especially with sap from the overhanging pine trees.

- No patio lighting as pictured in listing, outside furniture was also not up to par. Again, not sure it mattered as the views could compensate for almost anything.

- Shared bathroom between 2 downstairs bedrooms did not lock which made for a few awkward moments.

- Lots of items left behind by owners made us wonder if they live here or vacation frequently. Not a big deal, but cabinets and closets full of their own personal items.

OVERALL: VIEW and LOCATION still made for an incredible stay. Except for noise issue and 4th bedroom, everything else was relatively small but would have been nice to know

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful view and great location!!!

  • 5 of 5

Katrina was so nice and very receptive with any questions or concerns I had . Would definitely recommend to anyone to come stay here. Beautiful property and walking distance to the beach or to La Jolla village . I will be coming back here!!!!!! Thanks Katrina!!!!!!

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Los Angeles, United States
5

Great house for a family vacation

  • 5 of 5

Great house for a great family vacation or romantic getaway.

Views and atmosphere are simply amazing.

Thank you Katrina for your hospitality!

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
San Diego Airport
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Torrey Pines Golf Course
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
Marine Room
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
La Jolla Shores
Car: not necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $450
Pet Fee $20
Property Damage Insurance $59
Refundable Damage Deposit $500

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties