Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

BARGE BAY - 400 FEET OF PRIVATE SUGAR SAND BEACH

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

Cabin, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 6)

BARGE BAY COTTAGE

CASUAL PLACE TO ENJOY FAMILY/FRIENDS, BICYCLING, BEACH WALKING, RUNNING, SWIMMING, KAYAKING, READING, SUNNING, SHARING A MEAL/WINE QUITE DAYS AND EVENINGS SUPERIOR VISTA’S A PLACE TO LEAVE YOUR TO DO LIST MILES AWAY.

THE CABIN IS LOCATED ON THE NORTHERN END OF THE ISLAND AND IS SOUTH FACING, AND ABOUT A 20 MINUTE DRIVE FROM THE TOWN.

THIS ERY PRIVATE CABIN IS JUST 75 FEET FROM THE LAKE SHORE.

BARGE BAY IS NAMED AFTER THE SUNKEN DREDGE “FINN MC COOL” LYING ON THE LAKE BED OUT IN FRONT OF THE COTTAGE SHORE.

THE PROPERTY FEATURES 400 FEET OF PRIVATE SUGAR SNAD BEACH PERFECT FOR SWIMMING, BEACH COMBING AND BEACH PARTIES AND COOK OUTS. THE ADJACENT BEACHS TO BOTH SIDES IS PERFECT FOR EXPLORING AND BEACH COMBING.

THE CABIN HAS 2 BEDROOMS, (10X 11 AND 10 X 12) FULL BATH (TUB/SHOWER, LAKE VIEW EAT IN KITCHEN, LIVING ROOM AND LARGE LAKE SIDE DECK. IT HAS ELECTRIC BASE BOARD HEATING IN ALL ROOMS AS WELL AS FANS. BEDROON #1 HAS A QUEEN SIZE BED, BEDROOM #2 HAS TWO BEDS A QUEEN AND DOUBLE SIZE.

ATTENTION HAS BEEEN PAID TO EQUIPING AND FURNISHING THE CABIN KITCHEN, THERE IS A GAS AND CHARCOAL GRILL, AND BEACH FURNITUER, KAYAK AND SOME BEACH TOYS.

WELL BEHAVED DOG PETS ARE ALLOWED IF NOT LEFT UNATTENED. A PET FEE IS CHAGED FOR RACH DOG..PETS MUST BE PREAPPROVED BY THE OWNER.

THE CABIN HAS A FLAT SCREEN TV, DVD PLAYYER, BRING YOUR OWN DVD'S AND CD'S.

CHECK IN IS AFTER 3PM AND CHECK OUT AT 10AM PROMPLY. TRASH IS PICKED UP ONCE WEEKLY ON SATURDAY. BEACH FIRE WOOD CAN BE ORDERED FOR DELLIVEY FROM EVAN ERICKSON 747 6565. CELL PHONE SERVICE IS MARGINAL. WI-FI IS AVAILABE IN TOWN.

TO CHECK IN DRIVE 20 MINUTES TO 3617 BIG BAY ROAD. THE KEY WILL BE IN THE DOOR. UPON DEPARTURE PLEASE LEAVE THE KKEY IN THE DOOR OR CABIN UNLOCKED.

WE TRY TO STOP BY EARLY DURING YOU STAY TO CHECK ON THINGS.

BOB KRON 612 839 8331

Keywords: Beach side cottage

More Details

Owner
Bob Kron
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
60%
Calendar last updated:
November 11, 2017

About Bob Kron

We are ISLANDERS for many generations. On the Island we are in the Real Estate business located in town known as MADELINE ISLE Realty. Winters we esacpe to our Minneapolis home. Barge Bay was built by our family in the 1950's as a simple beach cabin as it is today.Our guests have been returning for several generations and feel as stake owners in this cabin. We hope that you wil enjoy it as much as our family has, a place to just hang out.

Bob Kron purchased this cabin in 1950

Why Bob Kron chose La Pointe

This is the finest private beach on Madeline Island.

Map

Apostle Islands National Lakeshore
Beach Club
Car: necessary

Amenities

La Pointe Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lakefront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • TUB AND SHOWER
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (2) In single bedroom and one in the double bedroom, Double Beds (1) one in the double bedroom
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Attractions:
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Contact us for assistance with boat/pontoon rentals and out Island tours

Reviews

Very Good! 4/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

50% Complete
28% Complete
0% Complete
14% Complete
7% Complete
BARGE BAY - 400 FEET OF PRIVATE SUGAR SAND BEACH
average rating of 4.0 based on 14 reviews
4

Very casual, what I expected, great beach, kids loved it!!!

  • 4 of 5

Very casual, what I expected, great beach, kids loved it!!! Adults loved it too!! Great value for cost!

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

One of the best spots on the Island

  • 5 of 5

The place was everything we wanted and more. It was perfect!!!! The beach was great, the house was great everything was great!! We will be back that is for sure.

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: WE ARE ALWAYS PLEASED TO HEAR FROM OUR GUEST FRIENDS AS IT GIVES US PLEASURE TO KNOW WE HAVE MET YOR EX[ECTITATIONS/ THANKS AGAIN/ BOB
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

We really liked it - charming, rustic, fabulous location

  • 4 of 5

The cabin itself was obviously very old (had been repaired and still needing repair in many places) but had everything we needed - kitchen, beds, bathroom. For 2 couples, it was just right. It wasn't any more or less than we expected. We chose this cabin especially because of its location on this portion of the beach. We like its remoteness, fabulous sandy beach with fire pit(s) right out the front door. I don't think it had been rented recently as there was a rather musty odor upon arrival but that resolved itself after a few minutes with the windows open. I'm also pretty certain that some unfortunate critter met its demise somewhere under the cabin as a distinctive odor wafted through now and then the last couple of days. We would stay here again.

  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Great location. Difficult to find(@poor signage. Okay cabin.poorly maintained. Would not recommend.

  • 1 of 5

Private sandy beach.foul odor in cabin upon arrival.after further investigation discovered dish pan full of water under sink.next day in daylight checked further to discover that the entire flooring , was wet with a layer of soggy paper towels under the dish pan full of foul water and a large quanity of mouse droppings were also the problem. Called owner to ask that someone handle this problem .no answer . left message. Cleaned up mess myself as no one came to do it. Crummy way to start vacation. Would not recommend this property in current condition.

  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Occasionally unforeseen damage does occur. In this case unbeknownst to us a drain waste line had been knocked loss under the sink causing it to leak and resulted in standing water under the sink causing a musty smell..House keeping reported this to us and we tried to get a plumber handyman to address the problem. As soon as I became aware of this we contacted the guests advising housekeeping would attend the issue as soon as possible that evening. The guests advised that they had resolved the problem and there was no need to send someone out to the property. We always make it a point to interview our guests by phone before booking to assure they understand the island can present circumstances different than a large resort area/complex and visit each guests shortly after their arrival to assure that everything is in order. In this case I was off the Island that day. Upon my return the guests had already departed as it was only a 3 day rental. We are always concerned when guests encounter an issue as in this case a musty oder from the sink leak. Barge Bay has been a favorite beach vacation destination for over 40 years and most of our guests return each year and in a few cases third generation. They understand that the small remote island community does from time to time present issues that cannot always be handled immediately as one might expect at a large resort complex We are sorry these guests were inconvenienced during their vacation.,
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Hudson WI
4

Loved this place!!!

  • 4 of 5

My family totally enjoyed our stay at this little cottage! We've been coming to Madeline for decades, and this is the side of the island that is the best (in our opinions)! We come for the peace and privacy, which this cottage definitely represents. The place sits right at eye-level to the lake, and we had the entire beach to ourselves!!! Very private, simple and relaxing. Our dogs were welcome and had fun playing in the yard. The accommodations were comfortable and use of space was very efficient. We will rent this place again!!!

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Minneapolis, MN
5

Barge Bay on the North end

  • 5 of 5

If you're looking for a place that allows you to enjoy the beauty and feel of Madeline Island in its entirety, you can find it right here. As a seasoned "summer person" that has visited the Island for decades, I can tell you that this cottage really does capture the character of the island. The inside of the cottage is cozy and comfortable, but if you're looking to spend time enjoying the Island, the beaches and Lake Superior - this is where you should be. If you've been visiting the island for a long time, you'll know that it changes you but you don't change it! That's part of what makes this place special - once you become and islander you'll see why.

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2015
  • Stayed: August 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning & Sanitation $100
Pet Fee $100
Tax Rate 14.0%

Maximum Occupancy - 6 Persons

Weekly rentals only 6/30-8/31 in 2018. Sat to Sat.
3 nite rentals 6/2-6/29 and 9/1-10/7 in 2018. Pets upon Owner approval.

One pet only unless otherwise approved.
Self contained RV/camper may be allowed with prior approval at an additional fee.
In town Rv-Boat storage is available.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties