We believe Hopkins is your most central location to explore Belize, whether you chose to base yourself from a luxurious villa in our gated residential community or from one of the many hotels in the area or some other, more modest abode for which there are several. Hopkins is on the coast with great beaches and a marina only 15 minutes away, offering quick, easy access to the Cays. Also immediate highway access to the peninsula (Placencia), jungle adventures such as Jaguar Preserve and Bocawina, with cave tubing, waterfall hikes, zip lines, or to Mayan ruins which includes exploring interesting towns like Belmopan and San Ignacio along the way. Many excursion companies are based in Hopkins offering guided tours, if you prefer that over driving yourself. However the jungle highway (Hummingbird) is in good condition and BEAUTIFUL! There is much, much more i.e. horseback riding, banana farm tours, chocolate makers, catamaran tours; every type of fishing, on and on. Too much to cover here. We have assembled information binders containing brochures from several local excursion businesses and placed them in each villa. This is free info, we do not take commissions. We also have HS internet on site which makes internet browsing easy. We even provide courtesy local cell phones to guests on request to make booking locally even easier.
Gated residential Community
- Calendar last updated:
- Dec 9, 2018
About Greg Spicer
We are from western Canada, came to Belize for our open water dive certification in November, 2012 and fell in love with Hopkins. We have a great crew on site, all Belize, all very knowledgeable and helpful.
Why Greg Spicer chose Hopkins
Our executive sized, ground level condominiums offers 2,000 sq. ft. including verandas overlooking the sea, central A/C, HD cable TV and HS internet. Each bedroom in the executive size, has its own ensuite plus a half bathroom in the general living area. Each is fully equipped with washer/dryer, stove/oven, fridge, ice maker, dishwasher, microwave and small appliances like toaster, coffee maker, blender, etc. Our common grounds enjoy a communal pool, hot tub, toddler pool, complimentary paddle boards, kayaks & bikes. There is a full service restaurant & bar adjacent called the Rhum Shack. The village of Hopkins is only a few minute walk or bike ride away, offering many other eating spots, fresh produce, dry goods, ATM, & local artisans. Sittee River marina is only a (15) minute drive away, offering many adventures such as guided island tours, reef fishing, snorkeling & diving, catamaran or sailing, river eco tours, etc. Land excursions booked in the village include zip lining, jungle hikes, cave touring, etc. Any of which you can get to yourself by rented vehicle.
Pool / Spa
Check-in: 12:00 PM
Check-out: 12:00 PM
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Great week of sun and relaxation
We had never been to Belize and had a long travel day to get here (2.5 to 3 hour drive from the airport after flying all morning). So we were ready for some comfort and relaxation. We were not disappointed. This unit is perfect for a family or two couples. Let’s start with the plus’s. Right on the beach. We sat on our porch most days and just soaked it in. Well appointed , clean and very nice. The setup of these units are great and made our stay very comfortable. The amenities of the property are nice too, bikes to use to ride into town, paddle boards and kayaks to enjoy on the ocean. The staff is friendly and helpful. We also really enjoyed the town of Hopkins. The people are friendly and everywhere we ate was really good. The only downfall is the full time neighbor who smokes cigars about 4-5 times a day which makes it hard to sit on the porch at times. But other than that we loved it and most likely will be back.
We booked two 2-bedroom room units next to each other for 7 people, so this review covers both units. First the good: All the staff were polite and friendly, and the view was lovely (almost). Second the bad: The location of this property is ok, but has some drawbacks, such as a small beach, lot of trash being washed up from north of the facility and difficult to get to any nice restaurants by foot. Since this is home/condo rental, there are some shortcomings. Each unit is basically set up by the owner and some items were not available in the units we booked, one unit lacked a toaster, both units no water dispenser, both units no extra towels, bigger beach towels needed in one unit, both units no bath mats (almost slipped getting out of shower), matching/nicer drinking, eating & utensil sets, luggage rack, more inside trash cans, darkening window covers (too bright to early). It is strange (even though it’s a rental condo, no water dispenser, paper towels or toilet paper was provided. Other problems included the fact that we were told not to drink/use the water or ice from the ice maker/refrigerator. It was difficult to continually supply water to brush teeth and take care of other needs. Not happy about this! Additionally, we were unable to use the beach or go into the ocean due to the seaweed apocalypse! It smelled extremely bad all day, even though workers were tirelessly removing seaweed daily, it never went away. They worked so hard, yet to no avail. I know the property ownership has no control over this natural occurrence, however, we could have been warned prior to our arrival, but nothing was communicated to us. Further items like no notification about electricity having "brown outs" which occurred several times on our stay, each time the thermostat had to be reset to "cool" because it automatically came back on to "heat". The condo, itself, is not that old, but there is apparently problems with either construction or foundation issues, because there is cracking in walls, leakage in the ceilings, and grout coming out of tile seams. Also, around the exterior shower door there is much needed deep cleaning. The property itself has construction work that has not been finished which makes the property look "abandoned". The swimming pool (if you can call it a pool) is a very small, un-tiled, dirty and falling apart, pool. The liner is tearing and wrinkled on the bottom. For the price we paid for these units, we expected much-much-much more
Dear Valerie, we are so sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your time at Seiri del Mar. It is a shame your visit coincided with the unprecedented influx of seaweed, no doubt that impacted your impression of us. I would like to address some of the specific points you made. Re; Location.The restaurant next door is open 7am-10pm. Additionally, Seiri del Mar is a 15-min walk from the center of Hopkins, where there are many more restaurants. We offer complimentary bicycles and there are taxis, golf-cart rentals and car rentals. Re; Supplies. I was surprised to hear there was no toaster in one condo. We pride ourselves on how well equipped our condos are. One of the reasons we provided you with a courtesy cellphone was so you could call us if you needed something. We have spare toasters, bath mats and towels in inventory. Nonetheless, your point is taken and we will implement a better system for managing supplies. I would like to kindly remind you that that Seiri del Mar is not a hotel. As with most vacation rental homes, we provide paper supplies for the first couple days of your stay only. Re; Water. Our guests use tap water for their dishes, showers and brushing teeth. There is no documented issue with Belize water, however, we suggest guests take caution and drink only bottled water, as is commonplace in the Caribbean. We had not heard the suggestion of water dispensers before, but I think it is a great one, thank you. Re; Seaweed. The sargassum seaweed is a phenomenon occurring throughout the Caribbean and is very unpredictable. It is a result of the movement of the currents and it can come and go in hours, as such, its impossible for us to give guests notice. Generally, we are not hit by it very often or for very long. Unfortunately, it was very bad during your stay. Re; Repairs. I can assure you that our pool and patio area are cleaned every day and kept in good repair. Many of our guests like that it is a lane pool and that it is secluded and quiet. Usually people are drawn to the beach and sea; the water is low for several yards out, with a soft, sandy bottom. We are so sorry you did not get to experience it. Lastly, we checked the ceiling you mentioned and certainly there is no leak. The discoloration is from a prior leak when Belize was hit by Hurricane Earl but we will repaint the whole ceiling. To summarize we take feedback seriously and will always strive to do better. We invite you to contact Jessica directly if you wish to discuss further.
Beautiful relaxing stay
This property is a little patch of paradise! Quiet,beautiful and relaxing. The home is very nice and clean with everything that you need. The outdoor shower is phenomenal!!!! The beach was beautiful, sandy with shell treasures to be found. The seaweed was coming in during our stay. It's a tolerable seaweed, not slimy. It reminded me of a loofah scrubbing sponge. The staff remove much of the seaweed from the shore daily. Bicycles where great to take a ride into Hopkins for souvenir shopping or something to eat. Driftwood pizza is fantastic! Kayaks were fun to try. Bean bag toss was entertaining for an afternoon. The sunset chased us from the beach to the pool which was also refreshing. Friendly, helpful neighbors and staff. This property was perfect for our (2 couples) stay in Belize as we did not want to be on a schedule! We rented an SUV to see the countryside and to visit friends. We would come back tomorrow if time, finances would allow!