Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautiful Mountain Cabin short drive the the Park.

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,500 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

BEAUTIFUL 2BR 2BA CABIN short drive to Park. (mt-cabins.com)

Mountain View Cabin is situated on a beautiful 20-acre property nestled in the majestic mountains of Montana.Sleeps 8-10 people. This cabin is a perfect location for visting Yellowstone Park & fly fishing. The Madison River is one mile away as the crow flies - a short 2 mile drive - and several lakes are close by.

Location: Nestled between several mountain ranges, rising up as high as 11,000 ft., the main cabin offers stunning views from the wraparound deck. Relax in the hammock or one of the deck chairs as you drink in the peaceful sights and sounds of nature. Since both cabins are situated on a 20 acre property there is plenty of privacy. The nearest neighbor cabin is about a quarter mile away. Wildlife frequent the area, making it a perfect location for photographers and nature lovers. The most common animals to be seen are moose, elk, mule deer, pronghorn antelope, rabbits, bald eagles and coyotes.

Fishing and activities: These cabins are located in the midst of exceptional fly fishing country. The #1 rated blue ribbon trout fishing river, the Madison, is only one mile away as the crow flies - a short 2 mile drive. If you prefer lakes, you can choose from six different ones, ranging from 2 to 10 miles away: Hebgen Lake, Henry’s Lake, Quake Lake, Cliff Lake, Wade Lake and Conklin Lake. Each one is unique and offers breathtaking scenery. There are local places to rent boats, kayaks and canoes, buy fishing gear, sign up for guided fishing trips, or just ask some advice from the experts. There are also 4 restaurants within 5 miles of our cabins and there are numerous hiking, mountain biking, and horse trails only a short walk or drive away.

Yellowstone National Park. You’ll enjoy fishing its rivers and lakes or touring the park’s magnificent scenery. Yellowstone Park is world famous for its geysers, wildlife, waterfalls, and its unique mix of a wide variety of beautiful geothermal features; from mud pots and mud volcanoes to incredible hot spring terraces. You can swim in the Firehole River or soak in natural hot spring pools. There

are several visitor centers with wonderful displays and movies explaining where all this beauty came from. Yellowstone Park and the hundreds of miles surrounding it are definitely a must see.

More Details

Property Manager
Alan Beauregard
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 23, 2017

Guestbook comments from the manager

This was our first trip to the Yellowstone area. Now we know why our son and daughter-in-law recommended it so highly. The cabin was very cozy with spectacular views and numerous chances to see the pronghorn antelope and enjoy the star filled night sky. We appreciated Rocky's helpful information about the area and his company to cheer on the "Saints."
Sep 2010
  • 1 of 18

Amenities

Cameron Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
  • River
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Telescope
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , The main cabin has one bathroom.
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , The smaller cabin has one bathroom.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , The futon sleeps 2
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 double
  • Main cabin bedroom: has one queen size bed. Main cabin great room: a futon that can be folded out and queen size air mattress when needed. Smaller cabin bedroom: one queen size bed and one double size bed.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(20 traveler reviews)

70% Complete
10% Complete
10% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
Beautiful Mountain Cabin short drive the the Park.
average rating of 4.4 based on 38 reviews
Three Rivers, MI
5

Beautiful cabin-great views

  • 5 of 5

We just got home from Montana. We stayed in the cabin for 7 nights - it was perfect. Yeah, we drove a lot, but found anywhere you stay you will drive if you want to see everything. It is beautiful, with great views of the mountains. We have two teenage girls and they loved it too. We were approx 30 minutes from Yellowstone, which was good for us. When we left the park this was the perfect place to return too. No tourists, and very quiet. We felt it was perfect and we loved the area. We would highly recommend this.

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2008
  • Stayed: July 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
14 5
2

It was alright once we found it.

  • 2 of 5

We had trouble finding the place and the manager wasn't easy to contact and I felt he was rude to us on the phone once we got a hold of him. We could smell something really bad and it was the garbage by the kitchen nobody had taken it for a couple of weeks. The coffee pot took a long time to make a pot.

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome cabin

  • 5 of 5

What a wonderful cabin. We had 4 adults and 2 kids that really enjoyed our stay! Scenery was breathtaking. We knew we were 35-45 minutes from the Yellowstone park entrance, but made no difference to us. We enjoyed being able to cook our meals and spend quality time together in the huge living room. It was a nice change from our previous boring hotel rooms. Would definitely stay again. Cabin was maintained very well .

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great location, beautiful spot but maintenance needed on this cabin.

  • 3 of 5

We just returned from a week-long stay in this cabin. It is in a beautiful spot and was a very good size for our family of 2 adults and 3 teenagers. We really enjoyed our stay, but this place needs some attention.

This cabin is actually two cabins, as stated in the description. The bigger cabin has an open living room on the first floor with a futon and two very comfortable couches. There is one bedroom with glass doors in a loft area accessible by a steep staircase. The other cabin has one bedroom with one queen and one full bed and a bathroom. The location is beautiful and you get a sense of space and privacy. It is exactly 45 minutes from the West Entrance of Yellowstone, which is fairly far as other reviewers have pointed out. The advantages are the privacy and the beauty of the mountains. There is wifi which was a little slow but perfectly usable, satellite TV, two telescopes (we saw Saturn’s rings!), and lots of books and maps. We are a family of 5 and found it the right size for us. It would be very small for any group larger than 6.

This cabin is in need of maintenance. It looks to be about 10 years old and I doubt has had much routine maintenance at all. In another few years, it will be noticeably run down if the owner does not take care of it. These are some of the maintenance needs: Front screen door is lying in a heap at the side of the house, broken. Back screen door has a large tear. One of living room miniblinds is broken – we used a string to tie it up. Exterior is in need of paint or stain. Several chairs on deck are broken. DVD player is missing a cable, my husband figured out how to use it but I wouldn't have been able to. Many spot light bulbs are burned out, and in fact, all of bulbs should be changed to LED as they appear to be traditional and produce a lot of heat. Evidence of rat infestation of outside trash cans – rat droppings and tears in cans and bags is present (we left our trash inside). Frying pans are warped and not very usable. Instructions are needed in how to operate ceiling fan with remote control. We figured it out eventually but it was not intuitive.

With some maintenance, this cabin(s) could stay very nice and continue to be a great vacation spot. At very least, please fix front and back screen doors, miniblinds, light bulbs, and put out some rat traps outside.

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Cool cabin, but lack of attention to detail needs improvement.

  • 3 of 5

First the good:

The cabin was in a cool location (remote) out in the mountains. Took about 30 mins to get to the closest town of any size, West Yellowstone. Awesome views and a rustic feel. Had Wifi and a few basic cable channels. The furniture was mostly nice and very comfortable. Kitchen was fully stocked with cooking utensils etc. Owner was quick to reply with any questions/concerns.

Now the bad:

As someone who works in a safety-related profession I was surprised by the absence of any smoke detectors. There are brackets for them mounted but no detector. This is a basic safety issue and really is unacceptable for a rental property to not have functioning detectors. When we arrived there was a strong odor (like curry or something) in the main cabin. No lights in the kitchen worked. We tried breakers, changing bulbs, etc. with no luck. The dishwasher was stuffed full of dirty dishes. The back screen door appeared to have been broken into, with part of the screen pulled away from the door; not a comforting feeling when you're out in the woods. The sheets were rough (not expecting 5000 thread-count sheets but something in the ballpark of a 3-Star hotel should be standard).

I wanted to love this place but sadly it is in need of some repairs and attention to detail. I feel like 3 stars is generous considering the nightly rate with all associated fees was expensive. I would not stay at this cabin again unless some improvements were made.

  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I would like to say we are sorry that we had a breaker go out at the cabin. We did have someone out there with in the hour to fix it. This guest must have missed the new low profile smoke detectors and only saw the old brackets. The dish wash turned its self off with the bad breaker. Now about the screen door the previse guest had contacted us to let us know one of there kids had put there foot through the screen door. this was a back to back rental so we did not have time to replace the screen. Not sure what to say about the sheets there new every year. This is are first complaint ever about sheets.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Denver, CO
2

Would have been a better review but...

  • 2 of 5

The cabin was nice and well stocked with towels and kitchen utensils. I liked the rural location and the proximity to lakes and river. I did NOT, however, enjoy the mice droppings that greeted us every morning both upstairs and downstairs. The mice grew bolder by the day and made everyone sleep uneasy. In short, the mice issue killed my review of this place.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry about the mouse sometimes if the doors are left open a tiny little field mouse will find there way in lets remember it is Montana everyone has a mouse from time to time. But im not sure why this is the first we are hearing about this seeing how this guest checked out 3 weeks ago. No one since then has said anything about a mouse but we will look into the case of the mouse.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Car: necessary

2 miles from the Madison River;

2 to 10 miles from six different mountain lakes (Hebgen, Henry's, Quake, Cliff, Wade, Conklin lakes);

2 miles from fishing outfitter;

5 miles from 4 restaurants;

90 miles from Bozeman, MT airport;

25 miles from West Yellowstone, the west entrance to Yellowstone Park (25 min. drive);

40 miles from Ennis, MT.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $125 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 7.0%

1800-2500
$500 security/damage deposit required to secure booking (returned to renter after stay, minus $125 cleaning fee).
Rent and 7% Montana tax are due 8 weeks prior to stay.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.