Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Tropical retreat 150 yards to ocean, no risk from current volcanic eruption

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,400 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 4

Kona Dreams is a private retreat in Captain Cook, 35 miles south of Kona Airport. An easy drive on highways 19 & 11 along the dramatic coastline takes you past Kailua-Kona, to history-rich Keauhou, Kealakekua, Captain Cook, and Honaunau, through the Big Island’s fertile agricultural region, where coffee grows alongside macadamia, cacao, vanilla beans, avocado, and an endless feast of tree-ripened fruit.

A clearly marked turn takes you from an elevation of 1,500 ft into the quiet Kona Paradise community, right down to sea level and the ocean.

Park your car and take less than 60 seconds to walk to the ocean. Look for turtles or even a monk seal resting on the beautiful black lava pebble beach.

Kaohe Bay is well known for scenic snorkeling – you will find snorkel gear, water toys, beach furniture, umbrella and cooler to enjoy during your visit. Take the kayak out for a paddle and look for dolphins swimming in the bay.

Ho’okena Beach Park and Milolii Beach Park are nearby. Don’t miss Pu’uhonua O Honaunau (Place of Refuge) and allow a day to visit Volcanoes National Park.

The home was designed to capture every breeze. The interior is decorated with artwork the owners collected during their travels around the Pacific Rim. A spacious living area is equipped with a new flat screen TV, media player, games, guidebooks, and leisure reading. Comfortable furniture invites you to relax under the cathedral ceiling supported by solid ohia logs.

The airy master bedroom features a king size bed made of local ohia wood and has a separate walk-in closet, master bath, and a private lanai. The guest bedroom has a full bath and a lanai of its own. The kitchen is equipped with everything to make enjoyable meals from scratch. While you enjoy sitting on the shaded lanai, watch the tropical sunset or look for breaching whales.

Washer and dryer onsite, as well as iron, hairdryer, hangers and beach towels are provided. Guests are able to use owners kayak, free WiFi, high-speed broadband, and free telephone calls to the mainland US, Canada, and Guam keep you wired and connected.

* This rental is managed by Vacasa Vacation Rentals of Hawaii, LLC.

** Please note that the owner's apartment is downstairs next to the garage. It has a separate entrance and living space. Children are welcome but please be aware the home is not baby proof.

***SAFE FROM HAWAII VOLCANIC ERUPTIONS: Vacasa accommodations have not been affected by the recent eruption activity on the Island of Hawaii. This home is located a very safe distance away and well out of the path of activity.

GET #: 096-897-6384-01

More Details

Property Manager
Vacasa of Hawaii
Member since: 2001
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english, french, german, spanish, portuguese, italian
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
August 19, 2018

Guestbook comments from the manager

To the owner

We enjoyed your home very much. The architecture, the furniture, the decorations and the surroundings.


Monique, Robert and Simon (Montreal, Canada)
Jan 2015
  • 1 of 3


Opihihale House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Max. adults: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
  • Water View
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 4 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • - 1 king
    - 1 queen
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear
  • botanical garden
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • luaus
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • spelunking
  • surfing
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(42 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
14% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
Tropical retreat 150 yards to ocean, no risk from current volcanic eruption
average rating of 4.714286 based on 45 reviews

My mini vacation

  • 5 of 5

Very comfortable you feel like home. So many items for your use. <br />

Mango trees right outside the porch which is very nice. You can hear the ocean as you rest. But most of all it was very clean.

  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: Vacasa
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A beautiful, commodious home

  • 5 of 5

Loved Kona Dream's spaciousness, it's large, well-appointed kitchen, the several sliders to decks that afforded still more living space in addition to air circulation. House very thoughtfully designed in it's public and private spaces. Furnishings are lovely and comfortable. Beautiful artwork and wall hangings that are understated. A huge closet in master bedroom. Everything very clean throughout the house. It's clear that the owners love this place and take great care in it's maintenance. I would gladly go back again.

  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: Vacasa
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 1 of 5

Well the house was fine, but quite far from Captain Cook's Bay.

The management of this property is horrific. I have never been treated so rudely and unprofessional in my 60 years. You see I left my swimsuit and booties at the property. I called Heidi the day after we departed. She said she would ask the maid and send back to me in the mail. And she would charge my credit card for cost of mailing. No problem. I assumed she would call me back to confirm that they were found. Two days passed with no word so I left her a voice mail. Another two passed and no word I left another VM. Another day passed and no word and I left another VM to please just let me know and I was thinking of putting this experience in this review.

Wow she calls be back saying I left things in the kitchen and I purposely did not flush a toilet. She had been sick (delayed response) and she would never rent to me again. And she was now going to charge me $25 to mail my belongings. Well I did leave a couple of things in the kitchen, but I paid a tidy cleaning deposit. We followed the directions on clean up very close. Leaving a toilet unflushed was a blatantly rude, crass, and uncalled for statement. She made it out as if we were human pigs. I must admit I have forgotten to flush a toilet in my life, but never intentionally.

It has been 12 days and no returned belongings

I would not recommend staying at this property due to the Property Management.

  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We did receive a call letting us know he left his swimsuit and booties. I immediately called cleaning team as they were cleaning the house the next day and confirmed they found items. The cleaners were upset about how bad the house was left (1 hour cleaning stovetop) and toilet not flushed. We are 1 1/2 hours apart geographically so arrangements to meet were delayed due to my contagious flu. We did mail items and they were received. We humbly apologize for any inconvenience.
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 3

Lovely comfortable home

  • 5 of 5

Came to south Kona for a wedding and this home was in the perfect location, we could walk to the beach and ceremony - and were only minutes from many activities.

The house was appointed with everything we could need - and even stocked with extras we didn't expect. Kitchen had all the basics, and even though we brought all our own toiletries - the host had extras on hand. The beach supplies in the garage came in super handy - mats and umbrella, as well as thick plush beach towels. Kitchen has all the needed supplies and I was pleased to even find a pizza cutter and pan. The house was very clean.

Location was close to several beaches beyond Pebble Beach that we explored. A very relaxing and comfortable time in south Kona - thank you so much!

  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Very nice house.

  • 4 of 5

View not so great, trees blocking the view of the ocean. The bedrooms and bathrooms at opposite ends of the house were great for privacy. The carpet was really dirty with stains. Nice size house with two lanais for sitting out. Big kitchen with nice appliances and fairly well equipped. House was very clean when we arrived.

  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2016
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Marilyn, I am glad you enjoyed our beautiful home. I agree with you about the obstructed view - the palms will be pruned in early February. The carpeting is scheduled to be replaced after our peak season ends. We hope you plan to return and enjoy these improvements. Thank you, Quentin
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Quiet house

  • 3 of 5

Nice clean house with all mod cons.the beach you cannot swim at.the nearest beach is also not 5 mins away. I wish they had better pot and pans( no Teflon) better knives ,made chopping anything difficult.up date the swimming toys.more warmer blankets and more than one toilet roll.

  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2016
  • Stayed: February 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Lisa, I regret you were unable to enjoy some of the amenities during your stay at Kona Dreams. In Hawai'i, ocean conditions vary with the tide, the weather, and the season. Next time you visit, the water may be smooth as glass and full of beachgoers swimming, snorkeling, and kayaking. In addition to the beach in front of the house, there is indeed a second beach a 5 minute walk down our street, just to the south past two ocean side homes. New masks and snorkels, swim noodles, and even a new fishing pole are in the garage for guests to enjoy. Sharp knives are in the knife block on the kitchen counter. Because preferences vary, there is a set of heavy stainless steel pans in one drawer, and a set of teflon pans in the drawer below. Extra blankets are in each closet. I am sorry you did not call the property manager with your concerns, she would have gladly helped you find everything you needed for a 5 star stay. Mahalo, Heidi and Quentin.
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0



Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties