Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Waterfront Boaters Paradise

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,425 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights


About the property

Large private waterfront lot with private pool, Bring your boat!

Private Cozy Spa-like Beach home in the Heart of the Keys Oceanside. 300 Feet of private seawall, bring your boat or boats! Large lot all waterfront for plenty of outdoor entertainment. Lounge in the pool while watching for Manatees and Sea Turtles. Every part of this home is newly renovated with calm beach decor and includes everything you need to relax and unwind with family or friends.

2 living rooms to share and plenty of indoor and outdoor games to play for kids of all ages. All TVs are Smart TV's. Beach towels, pool toys, kayaks and bikes also provided for guests use.

Walk 2 blocks to Sombero Beach or boat 4 miles due East to the World Famous Sombero Reef.

More Details

Vanessa Valderrama
Member since: 2018
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 20, 2018

About Vanessa Valderrama

I have lived in South Florida in the Palm Beach Area since 1997 and previously lived in Central Florida. Our family wanted a place to enjoy paradise so we purchased our waterfront home in Marathon. We chose Marathon because of the beauty of the water and the laid back atmosphere of the locals. Even though we visit our home often we cannot be here all the time so we decided to share our little piece of paradise with others so they can also fall in love with Marathon.

Vanessa Valderrama purchased this house in 2017

Why Vanessa Valderrama chose Marathon

We chose this property because you can't get much better with the location to beautiful Sombrero Beach and the local shopping and restaurants all while being able to live directly on the water.

What makes this house unique

Our home is unique with it's 300 feet or waterfront and out little cove that adds that much more privacy and space to enjoy the water views and boating.


Marathon House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1425 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
  • No loud noise after 10PM, if police are called for a noise complaint we get fined.
  • Garbage collections times are posted in the boat shed and pantry.
Location Type:
  • Waterfront ...
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Media/Game Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen Size Sofa Bed
    Living Room - 1 queen , Air Mattress
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 4 bicycles
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
  • botanical garden
  • festivals
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

87% Complete
0% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Waterfront Boaters Paradise
average rating of 4.75 based on 8 reviews

Simply Perfect!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 5 had an amazing vacation here. The property is even nicer than the pictures, and the owner helped make our vacation perfect. You can kayak or walk to the beach and snorkel the reef, catch several species of fish right from the sea wall, and relax in the pool, gazebo, or covered patio. For boaters, you are literally 200 yards from the ocean, a quick ride to the Sombrero Reef, and close to many restaurants/bars that are boat accessible. Fishing and snorkeling/diving are all great in the area. The boat house with a bait freezer was an added bonus to store our gear/bait.The beds are super comfortable, and there are nice smart TVs and separate ACs in every room. The location was extremely convenient for shopping, restaurants, and activities (turtle hospital, dolphins, aquarium, marinas). No need to check out any other properties...this house and the owner are top notch. You will leave impressed and wanting to come back again and again.

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Evan! So glad we could help you and your family create memories! Now you know why we fell in love with this little piece of paradise! Thank you for treating our home like your own and the kind words 😊
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Left a bit disappointed

  • 3 of 5

Pros: House is clean and decorated nicely. The pool and yard are well kept. The kitchen has all of the cooking supplies you will need and a little extra. The beds are comfortable and the linens are nice. They supply beach towels and have a few games there to play. The location is very close to a beach. The owner responds quickly.

Cons: There was some type of sea grass that was in the canal that smelled of sewage and it was impossible to stay outside for extended periods of time.When I reached out to the owner she responded quickly with an apology but no recourse for the fact that we were unable to cookout outside, kayak(from the smell and the grass was so thick we could not paddle through it), fish or swim in the pool for any length of time. To say that the home sleeps 8 is a stretch. There is two bedrooms with one bed each and a sleeper sofa. They had a blow up mattress that would only fit in the living room for additional sleepers.

Overall I am disappointed at the price I paid for amenities that we were unable to use.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Misty, I am very sorry that you were disappointed with the Sea grass situation. As I explained to you that was caused by a weather event that affected the entire coastline for the State of Florida and the Caribbean. It is rare that that happens but of course we can not control the weather. As you can see by all the reviews before you our guests typically enjoy the water and kayaking so I'm sorry you were not able to. The sea grass has washed back out to sea now. As you said in your review everything I promise about our house I did provide. You mentioned sleeping 8 is a stretch? Our listing clearly states that this is a 2 bedroom and also has a second living room with a queen sleeper and a queen air mattress. Each bed sleeps 2 comfortably. So I have not misled anyone in my listing. Also you never informed me that there would be 8 people staying. You reserved for 4 people. I always make sure that my guests know what they are getting if they have a large group and groups of 6 to 8 have been staying there all summer with no complaints. Also the condition you left the house in was very unclean. There was food left in our beds and couches and sauce spilled on my jute rugs that I have to replace. There was a hard sticky substance all over the kitchen and living room floor and counter tops that had to be scraped off and required a special cleaning, but because I felt bad about the weather pushing in the sea grass I did not charge you to replace the rugs or the time I had to pay for extra cleaning. I think that was fair. Again I am disappointed you felt the need to give me a 3 rating when you did state the house and yard were nice. I of course wish the sea grass hadn't shown up the way it did, but I'm sure you can understand that it was not just at my house but along every house that has a shoreline when there is a weather event that brings it to the islands.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Tupelo, MS

Perfect Keys home

  • 5 of 5

This house has it all! It is well appointed (and we have stayed at some VRBO's that didn't even supply garbage bags, etc.) and the location can not be beat. We brought our boat but the house pool, games, grill, bikes and kayaks all were used. Just yards from Sombrero Beach and one of the best reefs, Sombrero Reef. Publix, Walgreens, etc. just right up the road. Less than an hour drive to Islamorada or Key West. Vanessa is a very attentive homeowner and was wonderful to work with. Boaters with larger boats (ours was a 21ft SeaPro) may want to know that tide changes are significant, still saw boats going in and out but low tide can get pretty low. The bait freezer is a great extra as well. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Amy! We love that your family had a great time! Hope to see you guys back in the future! Since Irma low tides are challenging, we are still waiting for them to dredge from all the extra sand Irma pushed into the Channel. Hopefully soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

Great place. Everything we needed was there.

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful property!

  • 5 of 5

This home was beautiful and in a great location! Very private and the pool and view was great! We rode the kayaks right around the corner to the beach and it was perfect! Vanessa was great! We visit the keys every two years and this is by far the best house we’ve rented! We would definitely rent this home again and would absolutely recommend this home to anyone looking for a great home to rent in the beautiful keys!

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Devin! So glad you and your group enjoyed our little piece of paradise! You were so respectful of our home and a pleasure to work with. Hope to have you back in the future, thanks again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fun trip & great house

  • 5 of 5

A group of us stayed at this house for a fishing trip. There was plenty of seawall for our boat and the outdoor area was a great place to chill at after a long day on the boat. Owner was very helpful in giving advice about the area, overall it was a great trip and house! I would easily recommend to others!

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Our house is 2 blocks from Sombero Beach and on the Atlantic Ocean. Close to grocery stores and waterfront restaurants and water sports.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $250
Pet Fee $75

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.