Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Oceanfront & Crashing Waves on the Sands of Hermosa Beach

Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 30 nights


About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-5)


Wake up to the view of crashing waves, pelicans and dolphins. Open sliding glass doors to step out on to bedroom and living room decks and smell the fresh ocean breeze. Watch the world cycle, jog,or skate by as AVP volleyball players practice in your 'front yard' on the sand. Cuddle up watching 2 flat screen TVs with DVDs in front of 2 cozy fireplaces. Entertain friends in the private back yard patio with barbeque grill. Enjoy 4 bikes, beach games, and beach toys.

This one-of-a-kind 2 story 2 bedroom 2 bath home with hardwood floors and 2 fireplaces is perfect for couples or families. The Master Suite has a queen bed with a walk in closet. The back bedroom has a trundle bed with 2 twins. A pac-n-play is available. A one car garage plus a street parking pass, 4 bikes, beach chairs, beach towels, fully equipped kitchen, washer/dryer, wifi, and free phones make this home perfect for a fantastic vacation.

Walk or bike to piers in Hermosa, Redondo or Manhattan Beach for casual or upscale dining and shopping. An Italian deli, vegetarian restaurant and breakfast cafe with the best homemade muffins at the beach are steps from our home.

15 minutes south of LAX Airport

30 minutes north of Donald Trump Golf Course

30 minutes to Downtown LA; Theatres, Staples Center, Museums, Disney Concert Hall, Clubs,

1 hour to Disneyland, Universal Studios and Magic Mountain

Superb wide beach, sand volleyball courts, surfing, snorkeling, sailing, kayaking, sport fishing, roller-blading, biking and skateboarding. Twenty-mile bike path stretching from Redondo to Venice Beach and Santa Monica. Near Hermosa Beach restaurants, clubs, art galleries, whale watching, Comedy and Magic Club, AVP Volleyball Tournament, shopping malls.

Keywords: House

More Details

Tom Malone
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 9, 2016

Guestbook comments from the owner

This home was terrific for a romantic getaway. We enjoyed the warm atmosphere of 2 fireplaces while looking at the ocean. Restaurants are easily within walking or biking distance and the patio grill is a great private bonus.

We can't wait to return.
Apr 2010
  • 1 of 1


Hermosa Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Queen size Bed with new Westin Hotel Ultra Mattress (1), Twin or Single Beds (1)
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • racquetball
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(38 traveler reviews)

94% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
Oceanfront & Crashing Waves on the Sands of Hermosa Beach
average rating of 4.868421 based on 39 reviews
Annapolis, MD

Perfect place, perfect price.

  • 5 of 5

This is a review long overdo-we visited for 10 days last May. I did an extensive amount of research including with property managers from some of the high end condo's nearby. I truly believe that this is the best bang for your buck in the area unless you do not like walking out the front living room onto your private deck attached to the Strand with the beach 20 feet away or the ability to grill, ride bikes at no charge, or have more room than the pricey condo's that have no deck or direct access to the Strand.

Tom and Mary greeted us the first day with a bottle of wine which we shared and talked. We enjoyed their company and their insight. Remember, this is a VRBO rental, not the Bellagio. If you want the front desk, go pay the money for lesser amenities. I believe renting from owners is a great value and probably not for everyone, but for most. We have rented many times all over the country and found this property to be one if not the best value of places we have stayed. Sitting on your balcony off your bedroom and watching the Strand and the waves crashing is quite a treat. We also loved the back ally as we quickly got to the Italian market for subs, beer and wine. Out the front door onto the Strand for a festival at the pier and in the evening to the comedy club for a great show. Not to mention-you have a garage! The pictures do not justify how nice this place is.

To the one poor review-Tom and Mary are great people! They would be welcome at my house any day! They have a great house, great location and great value! Rent it- you won't be disappointed.

  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Charleston, SC


  • 5 of 5

My husband and I had the privilege of spending 8 glorious nights at the Strandcastle in May of this year, and have neglected to submit our corresponding review until now. Our primary reason for this is that we have stayed there multiple times (see all of our previous reviews below), and simply don't have the verbal skills needed to describe how absolutely perfect this vacation home truly is! From the exceptional location directly on the Strand, to the immaculate condition of the home, to all of the extra perks provided, right down to top quality bicycles and beach chairs, this vacation home always delivers everything we need to have a relaxing and rejuvenating vacation. Tom and Mary are truly thoughtful, considerate, responsive and trustworthy owners and hosts, and we feel truly blessed to have met them and vacationed in this extraordinary home!

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Strand castle

  • 5 of 5

I decide to write my review after seeing the one negative review. My wife and I rented the strand castle. Our stay was perfect. Tom and Mary are the best and their on-site manager Frank who lives in the back studio was awesome. Our stay could not have been better. It was a 10 on a scale of 1 to 10.

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

30th Wedding Anniversary

  • 1 of 5

My husband and I celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary a week early at this property as we grew up in the area. The house was very nice located in a great part of the strand. The neighbors were amazing, very friendly and fun. The weather was amazing!

My reason for giving a POOR rating is because the owners dropped by the house unannounced TWICE! The second time one of the owners walked into the house without being invited with an excuse that she needed water. Very uncool and I think illegal. The owner lectured my husband about moving the bar-b-q to the front of the house (where most houses have their bar-b-q set up) and made him move it back to the tiny back yard where you can smell the garbage cans in the alley. My husband was really irritated by the drop by visits and he confronted the owner about the intrusion, the owner said he had the right to visit his property.

A strange guy lives in a back unit that we were not warned about that did laundry while we were renting the house...not cool. We were very disappointed by the owners disrespect for privacy. We loved the house and location but would not rent from them again, they ruined two days of our vacation.

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were very disappointed to receive our first negative review in 10 years. We had done everything to help the couple's anniversary be lovely. We even gave them a special bottle of champagne. Unfortunately they did not seem to understand that our property next door was vacant so we needed to be there to show the property. We wish them well.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Highly recommend!

  • 5 of 5

Three months later, the time spent at the "Strandcastle" still nourishes us--thank you Tom and Mary! (Wonderfully gracious and accessible hosts!) My daughter, her friend and I stayed at this lovely "beach cottage" right on the ocean for 9 days the end of April. We have relatives in the area--and keep returning to the "Strandcastle" as our home away from home whenever we visit. Everything needed is right at our fingertips: kitchen, two bathrooms (a plus!),outdoor grill, bikes--and walking distance to everything (the piers--Hermosa and Redondo--, restaurants, shops, cafes)--not to mention the pure relaxation of the ocean right outside our door. Highly recommend!

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect Location. Clean and Comfortable

  • 4 of 5

We stayed here for only 4 nights but enjoyed every minute. The location is terrific. It is a short bike ride to the pier area. The kids loved waking up and playing volleyball or riding the bikes. The bikes are older and my husbands tire actually blew on him, but Mary reimbursed us. The bed was comfortable. Having 2 bathrooms was nice with 2 teens. There is a store nearby, I believe it is called Mickeys, that we loved. Good pizza. They sold beer, liquor and wine. The only issue we had, which is not any fault of the owner, is there is a homeless couple that camps out right in front of the condo in the sand. They played guitar all night and are loud. We could not open the door or windows at all. Even with the windows shut they kept us up. The police were called one morning around 5 am because this couple got into a fight with someone walking by. It was a nice stay otherwise. Thanks.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


We are able to rent our home for a minimum of 30 days.


Rates & Availability

Hermosa Beach House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
July - Aug
Jul 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
30 night minimum stay
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 30 2017
30 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

$500. security deposit
Balance paid upon arrival

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
This calendar has not been updated in over 2 months and the availability shown may not be accurate.

You might like these similar properties