Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Whidbey Waterfront, Hot Tub, Wifi, Game Rm, Wusthoff Knives, 3 Fireplaces, Boats

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Space 1,900 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths sleeps 12

Welcome to the Beach House at Whidbey, a relaxing and family-friendly beachfront home on a beautiful sandy beach on Saratoga Passage, South East Whidbey. Now available for rent, this sunny, northwest-style, open-plan house offers everything that you need to have a wonderful 1 or 2 family vacation, girl’s weekend, writer’s retreat, or romantic getaway.

Located on the exclusive Bells Beach there are miles of beach steps from the door, sea-life rich tidelands, 180 degree views of Puget sound Mt. Baker and the cascades, and spa-like amenities make this a one-of-a-kind place where you will instantly relax.

* Rare, no-bank, white sandy beach right out your door.

* Private, beachside hot tub.

* Incredible views of Mt. Baker, the Cascade Mountains, Saratoga Passage and stunning sunsets and sunrises.

* Cozy wood-burning stove in living room, romantic fireplace in the master bedroom, and Outdoor firepit

* Outdoor Firepit

* Miles of beach walks.

* Spa-like feel with European down filled duvets and terry cloth bath robes.

* Fantastic fishing and tidelands for exploring.

* Beachside patio high quality gas barbecues and dining table and chairs.

* Beautiful viewing deck accessed from master bedroom and 2nd Bedroom.

* House built to see 180 degree view from most rooms; Master Bedroom has 6 windows!

* 4 Bedrooms with new, high-end mattresses, including a king-sized Westin “Heavenly bed” in the master bedroom. (3 bedrooms in the main house, and 1 bedroom in detached bunk house)

* Fully equipped, large, open kitchen with breakfast bar seating for 4, and dining area for seating for 8.

* Comfortable furnishings, and beachy décor that allows you to relax.

* Ipod docking station, Wi-Fi, washing machine and dryer, dishwasher, cable, stereo, TV, DVD, XBox, housecleaning equipment/supplies, linens and towels.

* Lush garden with relaxing hammock, vegetable garden, fruit trees, and berries.

* Quiet and serene location.

* On-site parking for four cars.

* Stocked kitchen with Wusthoff knives, Cuisinart cookware, KitchenAid mixer, dishes for twelve to eat two meals without doing the dishes, etc.

* Regular wildlife visitors, including whales, otters, seals, deer, rabbits, eagles, cranes and heron.

*10-minute drive to scenic Langley, and Freeland. Close by are grocery stores, wine tasting, farmer’s market, shopping, art galleries, restaurants, and more.

* Proudly VRBO and Homeaway member since 2007.

More Details

Owner
Renee O'Brien
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 16, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

Wonderful house, terrific wild life, very relaxing, comfortable beds!
Jun 2008
  • 1 of 40

Amenities

Bells Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1900 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Monument View
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Rural
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Kitchenette
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Well stocked with fluffy towels and beach towels.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Westin 'Heavenly Bed'.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Hotel quality mattress.
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , Bunk bed - Double bed bottom, Single top.
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , DETACHED BUNKHOUSE - Double and Single bunks.
  • We have 3 comfortable bedrooms in the house, and a detached, cozy, heated bunk house that has a single bed on top and a double bed on the bottom. The bunk house does not have a bathroom, but offers privacy and is just steps from the back door of the house to access the bathrooms. We also have a hideaway bed in the living room (main home), and one in the game room (detached building).
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Binoculars
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 2 garden chairs
  • 12 beach chairs
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Onsite Services:
  • Housekeeper
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Feather duvets and terry cloth robes, IPod Docking Station, Sea life Rich Tidelands, Fully Stocked Kitchen Including Spices - Condiments - Foil - etc., Private Garden with Vegetables/Fruits and Berries.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(31 traveler reviews)

83% Complete
12% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Whidbey Waterfront, Hot Tub, Wifi, Game Rm, Wusthoff Knives, 3 Fireplaces, Boats
average rating of 4.806452 based on 71 reviews
Seattle, WA
5

Wonderful Vacation House

  • 5 of 5

The "House at Whidbey" was a great beach getaway for my family. The house, beach, and spa are absolutely as great as they look in the photos and we were amazed at the amount of things to do at the house, beachcombing, sports, picnics, spa, etc. This house is unique in its offering for family-focused fun and was a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the peacefulness of the island.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2007
  • Stayed: Apr 2007
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
5

Stunning views. Very nice place to stay right on beach.

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed ourselves immensely at the beach house. Weather was great first three days. Enjoyed the views and I think the bad window is being replaced in living room. Enjoyed walks on beach though watch out for the sinking sand. Was quite a laugh by all when I got stuck in it. Double kayak was great to get out on the ocean. Even had a swim and did my exercises in the ocean. Would have been very chilly for most but not this Canadian. Loved having an evening fire to warm ourselves in the yard. So nice Saran Wrap, tin foil, and spices provided. Renee was very nice to speak to . Would rebook again. Think we were great renters and left the place well cared for.

  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review Sherry, and highlighting some of your favorite features. We try to throw in all of the comforts of home so you don't have to bring your whole home. ;) And, yes, you are correct, the cloudy living room window finally came in and was replaced on Friday. Thanks for being such fantastic guests! We hope you come again real soon. It was pleasure.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Edmonds WA.
5

Just beautiful

  • 5 of 5

Very clean, everything you would need. This is my family's favorite place to come and stay. I can't wait until we can come back again

  • Submitted: May 17, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Melody, we always enjoy having you come to our house. We are honored that you choose our place for your special family trips. Cheers until next time!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Seattle, WA
3

Location Great; House Below Expectations

  • 3 of 5

To start with the pros, of which there were many: the listing is totally correct in that the beachfront location is superb. It's a five-star location. Immediate, peaceful access to the beach, nice green lawn and seemingly miles of walk-able shoreline right outside the back door. Easy access from Seattle, Langley, and the wonderful Saturday farmer's market. Great hot-tub. The listing is correct in that the linens, particularly upstairs in the "adult bedrooms," are top notch and the beds are very comfortable.

That said, the house itself was significantly below expectations for the price. There is misleading or not-obvious language in the description, which is good for users to know. Do not come here expecting a "European "spa feel" house as the listing states. The kitchen is a bit outdated and bedrooms are average, with the exception of the Master Bedroom, which is the gem of property. The "4th bedroom" is actually an outbuilding with no bathroom and no connection to the house, and the "game room" with pool table is not a part of the house but part of a separate garage with a dank, musty smell. The path to both is pitch black at night and no flashlight with batteries was provided, except for one inscribed in red marker, "ONLY USE IN POWER OUTAGES." We used it anyway. Neither of these is made clear in the listing, which would be disappointing to families coming with children and expecting everyone together in one building. Also, the "sleeps 12" doesn't seem realistic; nobody in our party could figure out where 12 people could sleep. I'd say 8 comfortable; 10 if you squeeze.

Walls are scuffed/dirty and could use a simple coat of paint, and - the first thing we noticed upon walking in - was that the large view-window from the living room looking out to the ocean, which could be a wonderful visual centerpiece, is extremely dirty or cloudy (we tried scrubbing but to no avail). Investing in a new window would go a long way.

Finally, cleanliness was lacking, and we did let the owners know. The 4th bedroom "outbuilding" had grass and dirt all over the floor, the downstairs bunk room had cobwebs on the wall and general dirt/scuffs, the front faces of the kitchen cabinets were splashed with grease and streaks, and the bathrooms themselves were in need of a "deep clean."

So - with that - I'd say it's a slightly disappointing house in an amazing location.

  • Submitted: May 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Monica, I am so glad that you enjoyed the location, beach, lawn and the linens…we work hard to be sure we have super comfy beds. I am sorry to hear you ran into disappointments in other areas. Cleanliness is super important to us, and after investigation we found that the weather stripping had come off the bunk house door, and debris scooched under the door. Great point about the cloudy window in the living room. We have had difficulty getting it replaced for some time now, but I am happy to say that it has been replaced last week, and you are right…what a difference! Also, a total overhaul of the outside lighting, hooray! As for the house layout, we have always been careful to give a good description of each bedroom in several spots in the listing. The most detailed is on the “Amenities” tab, including a description of the heated, fully finished, detached bunk house (with no bathroom); and for anyone interested we have a floor plan on our website (contact me and I am happy to direct you and answer any questions you have). The game room does have a sleeper sofa bought this year, but we consider it overflow sleeping and is not included in our sleeping for 12, but many use it as that. Not sure the source of the scent you noticed in the game room, except the months of rain surely contributed. We’ll investigate! Sleeping people count…King:2, Queen:2, Small, main floor triple bunk room:3, Small detached building triple bunk house:3, Living room Hideaway:2, game room additional 2. Thanks for connecting.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Home away

  • 5 of 5

Our family came for several days. It was convenient to Seattle so that some of them could go back to work. The beach was wonderful, calm compared to others, and nice to walk on. The view was beautiful, and the hot tub was wonderful. Used very often. It was a well-stocked kitchen . It was one of the best I've seen for VRBO. There were plenty of toys and puzzles for the kids to do. We really really enjoyed the view. The Home was very accommodating for a group of 12. It did have 2 bunk beds to accommodate 3 people each. For some ... that may not work It was very clean. Thank you very much we really enjoyed ourselves.

  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review Linda! We strive to think of a lot of little extras that make our vacation feel like your home at the beach. We hope to see your great group again some soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful lakeside cottage

  • 5 of 5

We had such a wonderful time having girls weekend in this lovely home. The house is right on the beach, and we even got to see the mountain views when the sky was clear. There are so many fun things to do on Whidbey island and in the town of Langley.

  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and you had some crisp days to enjoy the full mountain views. We are so fortunate to have no bank beachfront steps from the sound and we love it. I hope your next stay and just around the corner.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Sea Tac
Nearest Ferry
11 Miles
Clinton/Mukilteo
Nearest Train
40 Miles
Seattle
Nearest Restaurant
7 Miles
Langley or Freeland
Nearest Beach
10 Metres
Beachfront
Car: necessary

Crabbing, Beach Walking, Tide-Pool Exploring, Sand Castle Building, Anchorage Out Front, Art Galleries, Wine Tasting, Quaint Townships, Local Farmer's Market with Homemade Pies - Breads - Organic Vegetables - Crafts, Fresh, Local Seafood

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $195
Damage Deposit $500

***Non- Peak SPECIALS: $760 3 night special for NON-PEAK

Summer Peak Times: 7 night rentals are Friday to Friday

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties