Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Lake Jocassee Mountain Lakefront Home -- Directly on Lake Jocassee!

Bedrooms 4
Space 2,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 9)

New mattresses added June 2017 along with the incredible "My Pillow" pillows on all adult beds! For the best night sleep in the whole world, visit Black Bear Lodge. Newly remodeled kitchen as of June 29, 2014!! African granite and new stainless steel appliances.

Thank you for visiting our site! My name is Linda and if you have any questions about this property, please feel free to call me at 864-710-2789.

This cozy 2000 square foot cottage, is located directly on Lake Jocassee with a lovely view of the lake and the mountains. This 4BR, 3BA house sleeps 9 people comfortably without feeling crowded, and is perfect for 2 families to share! There are 2 main levels to the house. The house is furnished with unique, handcrafted mountain furniture, and a warm mountain atmosphere is what you experience when you walk through the front door. There is an extra large dock which is always on deep water, and can fit up to 3 boats. Even if you don't bring a boat, the house is located in Fisher Knob, and with the classic Grumman canoe provided with your rental, you can still easily canoe to some of the best waterfalls on the lake.

All linens are provided and for the low price of $2275/week in the summer, this is the best value on the lake! Please bring your own towels.

You can either pay a cleaning fee of $150 or just clean up when you leave.

Trash pickup available for $75.

Please Email for off season pricing. 2-7 nights available off-season. Approximate off-season nightly rates are $250 per night.

Please Email for pricing over holidays and Clemson games. Generally holidays are $200 per week more. 7% tax added to all rates. Canoe is included.

People come from all over the world to experience Lake Jocassee and all it has to offer. Activities in the area include: spectacular waterfalls, kayaking, golfing, horseback riding, world class fishing, motor boating and hiking. Watch the stars at night. See deer and plenty of wildlife. If you want to get away from it all, this is the place for you!

Very quiet and serene! Seasonal snow skiing. Food, shopping, and entertainment at local restaurants can be found in the little mountain village of Cashiers, only a scenic 25 minute drive away. Canoe is provided.

Absolutely no pets allowed. Fine of $500 for any pet on premises.

This house is directly on Lake Jocassee and is located in the Fisher Knob/Badcreek area, close to the base of Whitewater Falls.

Keywords: House

More Details

Property Manager
Member since: 2007
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 13, 2018


Salem House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • In order for us to keep prices low, please try to conserve electricity by turning off lights and HVAC when not in use.
  • No fires or discharging of fireworks on premises. The closest fire station is 30 minutes away! Use dock at your own risk.
  • All children and those not knowing how to swim should wear a lifejacket near the water at all times. Bring ropes and bumpers to tie your boat to dock.
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Mountain View
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (3)
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseshoes
  • shopping
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • swimming
Please be aware, this is a mountain home and there are steps from the house to the water. This property may not be suitable for the elderly or infirmed. $500 fine for any pet brought on the premises or smoking inside the house. To reserve the house, we require half the rental amount. 30 days prior to arrival we require the remaining half along with a damage deposit of $250. 7% tax added to rental amount.


Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

50% Complete
28% Complete
14% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
Lake Jocassee Mountain Lakefront Home -- Directly on Lake Jocassee!
average rating of 4.214286 based on 14 reviews

Family reunion Oct. 2017 -Black Bear Lodge Lake Jocassse

  • 4 of 5

I like to rent homes each year so I can spend fun time with my grown daughters and grandsons. This time we all got to meet my youngest daughters boyfriend who is expert wake boarder and surfer. He added lots of fun in the Lake for my grandsons.

The home layout is very nice since there is a first floor bedroom with an adjoining bedroom which is a Tree house feeling room with many windows to view the lake. There are 2 other bedrooms upstairs with private bathrooms for each. I enjoyed the upstairs Tree house bedroom -it felt like you were outside and there was a Harvest Moon when we were there.

The home is cozy and rustic and the deck is nice for cooking out dinner. We really enjoyed the Lake and fishing and boating with their canoe. Three of the group ventured out to view the waterfalls- they were a bit exhausted after 4 hours of paddling but really had a great time. The water is cold even in the Summer months but some still got in the water.

We met some very nice people there around the lake. I am in my 60's and was surprised that I managed the steps down to the lake. There are many for sure-just have to take your time up and down them. Along the way down and up are resting spots- a hammock and a swinging bench. There also is upper decking that is covered if you don't want too much sun.

We really did not see many wild animals but saw proof of them here and there. We were there for 3 1/2 days and really loved the stay. I would advise people to bring toilet paper and paper towels and trash bags. They supply only 1 roll per bathroom. The home had a good variety of cooking utensils such as pots and pans and bowls. We opted to use paper plates and plastic utensils to make it easier on all.

We would recommend renting this property--I prefer the cooler months - not sure in the heat of the summer that the stairs down to the dock would be fun. The only cons were the many steps to dock and also the trash charge when you stay. I think there should not be a trash fee when there are not any places for you take yourself easily. It also would be nice if you were allowed to have a fire pit in the cooler months. There is a nice fireplace inside though. I have lots of pictures to remember this place.

  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. I really enjoyed reading about your stay! Blessings.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Secluded, cozy, scenic, and exactly what we were looking for.

  • 4 of 5

Overall this was a wonderful location! All the amenities we needed, great location, and lake Jocassee is amazing. The only difficulty was the 178 stairs to deal with when going back and forth to the deck. We brought a canoe, and carrying it up and down the stairs was a chore. Otherwise, everything was fantastic and I would book this property again!

  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your nice review, and we are looking forward to having you back! You were a great guest. If you decide to bring a canoe again, let me know and I will give you an easier place to put it in.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 4 of 5

Cute charming mountain cottage! Loved the rustic touches. Could use a little updating( living room sofa and chairs) and maintance stairs to lake. Had a great time with family couldn't ask for better weather the lake was beautiful and water was warm. Got lots of exercise the stairs the lake were approximately 178 steps not for the elderly folks with health issues. Saw lots of wild life a bobcat some wild turkeys and deer. Parking is limited and driveway was steep, but the home is on the side of a mountain.Black bear lodge was cute we enjoyed our stay.

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Great suggestion! I'm off to buy a new couch. Thank you for your visit. We appreciate and love all of you who come to Black Bear Lodge. Blessings.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great place to relax with family.WILL BE BACK!

  • 5 of 5

Jocassee is a great place for a vacation and the house was perfect for relaxation.The owners had great suggestions of things to do in the area, a well equipped kitchen, a pirate sandbox and toy chest to please my five year old, interesting books and a huge dock on deep water for our boat and room for all of our water toys. We paddled the provided canoe to whitewater falls. The house was as portrayed in the photos. We found the beds to be comfortable and the house clean. We thought the house was a great value and we can't wait to return.

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind response. We are glad you had a great time! Looking forward to having you back.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Great place to escape too.

  • 5 of 5

Set in a quiet cove. Very laid back. We had older kids and middle aged adults and everyone had an amazing time. The kitchen is fully stocked and we cooked everything from making a birthday cake to pot roast. There's seating every where and while there is a TV with Dish we never felt a need to turn it on once. The stairs (and there are many) are not intended for the feable. But we saw them as a free pass to eat all we wanted the entire week without guilt. :) would recommend to ages 6 and up given the climb up and down to the lake. But well worth all the effort. This house has a sweet spirit your family will love.

  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review. I have never heard it put that way, but this house does have a sweet spirit. I feel it every time I am there!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Dock corners, cell service, and code

  • 3 of 5

Let me start by saying I had the best week of my life with my family on the lake, but that would have been the case with any house on the lake. The pros well outweigh the cons, but s few cons are significant and worth noting. Take care when docking your boat. There is exposed angle iron on all 4 of the forward edges. A little wood would go a long way to protect the boats. Also, there are no cleats to tie off to. Second, there is no wifi....even in 2016. If you have a job like mine where you can't check out for an entire week, know you will have to travel to get a signal. The entire staircase, all 177 steps, are in need of serious attention. A member of our group is a contractor and at least half the footers are not up to code. Also, plan on taking your trash with you. That can be an issue if you have a weeks worth of garbage from 2 families. The cabin is poorly lit in key areas like the bathrooms. No biggy for me, but the ladies didn't appreciate it. Some of the furniture is rustic mountain, but much of it is just old to include the mattresses. Don't pass on a chance to spend some time at this awesome vacation spot, but the experience could be greatly enhanced if the owners would make the dock a little more safe for boats, add wifi, upgrade the mattresses, and include trash disposal in the price. A significant part of my job is being fit and the stairs are no joke, but hands down, my biggest complaint is the hazards the exposed angle iron posed to my boat every time I docked. I have a nice scar on my boat as a result from docking while a thunderstorm was blowing in.

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are glad to hear you had the best week of your life on Lake Jocassee and it is feedback like yours that helps us make improvements to make the experience even better!
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0


We are including linens, but we are asking people to bring their own towels!!

Steps from house to the water.

May not be suitable for elderly or infirmed.

$500 fine for any pet brought on the premises or smoking inside the house.

To reserve the house, we require half the rental amount. 30 days prior to your arrival, the remaining half of the rental amount is due along with a separate check of $250 for the damage deposit.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $75
Damage Deposit $250

Linens included in the price. Please bring your own towels.
You can either pay a cleaning fee of $150 or just clean up when you leave.
Trash pickup upon your departure available for $75.
Please Email for off season pricing. 2-7 nights available off-season.
Please Email for pricing over holidays and Clemson games. Generally holidays are $200 per week more.
Canoe included.
Absolutely no pets allowed. Fine of $500 for any pet on premises.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties