Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Lake Jocassee Mountain Lakefront Home -- Directly on Lake Jocassee!

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Space 2,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 9)

New mattresses added June 2017 along with the incredible "My Pillow" pillows on all adult beds! For the best night sleep in the whole world, visit Black Bear Lodge. Newly remodeled kitchen as of June 29, 2014!! African granite and new stainless steel appliances.

Thank you for visiting our site! My name is Linda and if you have any questions about this property, please feel free to call me at 864-710-2789.

This cozy 2000 square foot cottage, is located directly on Lake Jocassee with a lovely view of the lake and the mountains. This 4BR, 3BA house sleeps 9 people comfortably without feeling crowded, and is perfect for 2 families to share! There are 2 main levels to the house. The house is furnished with unique, handcrafted mountain furniture, and a warm mountain atmosphere is what you experience when you walk through the front door. There is an extra large dock which is always on deep water, and can fit up to 3 boats. Even if you don't bring a boat, the house is located in Fisher Knob, and with the classic Grumman canoe provided with your rental, you can still easily canoe to some of the best waterfalls on the lake.

All linens are provided and for the low price of $2275/week in the summer, this is the best value on the lake! Please bring your own towels.

You can either pay a cleaning fee of $150 or just clean up when you leave.

Trash pickup available for $75.

Please Email for off season pricing. 2-7 nights available off-season. Approximate off-season nightly rates are $250 per night.

Please Email for pricing over holidays and Clemson games. Generally holidays are $200 per week more. 7% tax added to all rates. Canoe is included.

People come from all over the world to experience Lake Jocassee and all it has to offer. Activities in the area include: spectacular waterfalls, kayaking, golfing, horseback riding, world class fishing, motor boating and hiking. Watch the stars at night. See deer and plenty of wildlife. If you want to get away from it all, this is the place for you!

Very quiet and serene! Seasonal snow skiing. Food, shopping, and entertainment at local restaurants can be found in the little mountain village of Cashiers, only a scenic 25 minute drive away. Canoe is provided.

Absolutely no pets allowed. Fine of $500 for any pet on premises.

This house is directly on Lake Jocassee and is located in the Fisher Knob/Badcreek area, close to the base of Whitewater Falls.

Keywords: House

More Details

Property Manager
Linda
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 24, 2017

Amenities

Salem House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • In order for us to keep prices low, please try to conserve electricity by turning off lights and HVAC when not in use.
  • No fires or discharging of fireworks on premises. The closest fire station is 30 minutes away! Use dock at your own risk.
  • All children and those not knowing how to swim should wear a lifejacket near the water at all times. Bring ropes and bumpers to tie your boat to dock.
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (3)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseshoes
  • shopping
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • swimming
Notes:
Please be aware, this is a mountain home and there are steps from the house to the water. This property may not be suitable for the elderly or infirmed. $500 fine for any pet brought on the premises or smoking inside the house. To reserve the house, we require half the rental amount. 30 days prior to arrival we require the remaining half along with a damage deposit of $250. 7% tax added to rental amount.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

63% Complete
9% Complete
18% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
Lake Jocassee Mountain Lakefront Home -- Directly on Lake Jocassee!
average rating of 4.2727275 based on 11 reviews
5

Great place to relax with family.WILL BE BACK!

  • 5 of 5

Jocassee is a great place for a vacation and the house was perfect for relaxation.The owners had great suggestions of things to do in the area, a well equipped kitchen, a pirate sandbox and toy chest to please my five year old, interesting books and a huge dock on deep water for our boat and room for all of our water toys. We paddled the provided canoe to whitewater falls. The house was as portrayed in the photos. We found the beds to be comfortable and the house clean. We thought the house was a great value and we can't wait to return.

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind response. We are glad you had a great time! Looking forward to having you back.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place to escape too.

  • 5 of 5

Set in a quiet cove. Very laid back. We had older kids and middle aged adults and everyone had an amazing time. The kitchen is fully stocked and we cooked everything from making a birthday cake to pot roast. There's seating every where and while there is a TV with Dish we never felt a need to turn it on once. The stairs (and there are many) are not intended for the feable. But we saw them as a free pass to eat all we wanted the entire week without guilt. :) would recommend to ages 6 and up given the climb up and down to the lake. But well worth all the effort. This house has a sweet spirit your family will love.

  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review. I have never heard it put that way, but this house does have a sweet spirit. I feel it every time I am there!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Dock corners, cell service, and code

  • 3 of 5

Let me start by saying I had the best week of my life with my family on the lake, but that would have been the case with any house on the lake. The pros well outweigh the cons, but s few cons are significant and worth noting. Take care when docking your boat. There is exposed angle iron on all 4 of the forward edges. A little wood would go a long way to protect the boats. Also, there are no cleats to tie off to. Second, there is no wifi....even in 2016. If you have a job like mine where you can't check out for an entire week, know you will have to travel to get a signal. The entire staircase, all 177 steps, are in need of serious attention. A member of our group is a contractor and at least half the footers are not up to code. Also, plan on taking your trash with you. That can be an issue if you have a weeks worth of garbage from 2 families. The cabin is poorly lit in key areas like the bathrooms. No biggy for me, but the ladies didn't appreciate it. Some of the furniture is rustic mountain, but much of it is just old to include the mattresses. Don't pass on a chance to spend some time at this awesome vacation spot, but the experience could be greatly enhanced if the owners would make the dock a little more safe for boats, add wifi, upgrade the mattresses, and include trash disposal in the price. A significant part of my job is being fit and the stairs are no joke, but hands down, my biggest complaint is the hazards the exposed angle iron posed to my boat every time I docked. I have a nice scar on my boat as a result from docking while a thunderstorm was blowing in.

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are glad to hear you had the best week of your life on Lake Jocassee and it is feedback like yours that helps us make improvements to make the experience even better!
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
5

Great Lake House

  • 5 of 5

This is a Great Lake House! My family has visited this location twice. Once in 2004 and again this year in 2016! It is great for multiple families... Which makes it great to get the siblings together for a week or weekend gateway. Super simple, rustic and natural to its core :0) A lovely place to explore the great outdoors and gather together for dinner on the back porch while overlooking the lake! We have 3 boys-- from 3yrs to 9yrs... That loved the exploring. From playing in the sand, jumping off the dock, fishing, hiking the stairs, and canoeing to the falls-- they wore themselves slap out in great way! I will add that our visit in 2004 was in fall (for thanksgiving) and although we didn't get to enjoy the swimming our time hiking and exploring the area and surrounding areas (waterfalls, state parks, cashiers and highlands) was a blast! We spent time cozied up to the fire place and enjoying all the beauty of the fall. This year (Spring) we spent time soaking up the sun from the breathtaking view of the dock, canoeing and splashing around. So whatever season this is a great place to spend it--with friends or family of course :0)

  • Submitted: May 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for visiting. Glad you had a great time. Please come back!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great Place

  • 5 of 5

Two years ago I rented this cabin for my baby brothers bachelor weekend. My dad, two brothers, brother in law and two friends stayed the weekend. We brought three boats, two kayaks a lot of food and maybe an adult beverage or two. We left left two trucks and all the boat trailers at the boat ramp as parking is limited at the house. It was the best weekend I have had in a long time. Awesome memories were made that will last until I pass. Before we left the family sat on the deck and took a photo that quickly became a favorite for all of us. To top the weekend off, my baby brother caught a big bass that he brought home and had mounted. So, whenever some asks about that fish, he has an awesome story to tell! I liked the lake and cabin so much that I came back today to see about renting it again! Be warned, the steps arent for the weak. No complaints at all!

  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your kind review. We are glad you had a great time and we love to have people return!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Great location

  • 4 of 5

The house was beautiful and very comfy. The steps were challenging being that I had to carry my 2 year old the entire time. The soft spots in a few steps and the lack of railing concerned me. I had a huge case of tram envy after realizing all of the other homes in the cove had a tram system and we were the only ones "roughing it!" The motivational signs did make me giggle! I was not pleased with the trash rule, especially since we didn't learn of it until our arrival. All trash must be removed or you pay $ 75-$100 fine, depending on which notice you read. The closest trash facilities were 30 mins away either direction. The one we chose to utilize due to the direction of our travels ended up being closed on the day of our departure. We were not happy!! A trash service should be included due to the check out time and the trash facility locations. Otherwise, this was the most relaxing vacation I have ever taken!

  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed the house and had the most relaxing vacation ever!
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1

Map

We are including linens, but we are asking people to bring their own towels!!

Steps from house to the water.

May not be suitable for elderly or infirmed.

$500 fine for any pet brought on the premises or smoking inside the house.

To reserve the house, we require half the rental amount. 30 days prior to your arrival, the remaining half of the rental amount is due along with a separate check of $250 for the damage deposit.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Salem House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
Jul 1 2017 - Aug 4 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
5 night minimum stay
$325
$2,275
 
 
Late Summer
Aug 5 2017 - Aug 19 2017
3 night minimum stay
$325
$2,000
 
 
Solar Eclipse
Aug 20 2017 - Aug 22 2017
3 night minimum stay
$1,070
Flat fee
 
 
Late August
Aug 23 2017 - Sep 7 2017
3 night minimum stay
$325
$2,000
 
 
Off-Season
Sep 8 2017 - May 22 2018
3 night minimum stay
$300
$1,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$370
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Trash Pickup $75
Tax Rate 7.0%

Linens included in the price. Please bring your own towels.
You can either pay a cleaning fee of $150 or just clean up when you leave.
Trash pickup upon your departure available for $75.
Please Email for off season pricing. 2-7 nights available off-season.
Please Email for pricing over holidays and Clemson games. Generally holidays are $200 per week more.
Canoe included.
Absolutely no pets allowed. Fine of $500 for any pet on premises.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties