Cottage, 5 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, Sleeps 9
- english, french, german, spanish, portuguese, italian
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Cute cottage in lovely Balboa Island
The cottage is cute with lots of beach charm. The bedrooms were comfortable and just what you'd imagine from an older beach house. Although the bedrooms without air conditioning were very warm at night.
The contraction directly next door is overwhelming and loud. The place is not very clean, indoors and out.
Great Beach Property - Needs Some TLC
This property is a great beach/island property, and well setup for multiple families/groups. It's basically three different living areas...the front three bed/one bath, the back bedroom, and the upstairs unit which is spacious and nice! We enjoyed our time there, the condition of the inside of the property is great.
The heater in the upstairs unit didnt work, and the response from management, and attempt to fix was lackluster at best. Come to find out there were space heaters in the unit, which we didnt find until the last night.
The outside of the property...the place is overrun with weeds, to the point that one side of the house just looks abandoned and run down. It's a shame, with a little maintenance this place is 5 stars easily.
To Note: the current construction next door is a real nuisance. We got lucky in that they werent there a majority of the time, but they would be well served to let tenants know how bad it can be.
Lastly, the garage is listed as tiny, and only fits a small car. My oversized Jeep fit perfectly with some common sense in maneuvering through the alley.
Thank you for sharing your feedback, Michael! We're glad that overall you felt this home to be a great space for your group. However, we apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. We are happy to report that the heater has been repaired, and we thank you for allowing us to arrange an equitable resolution due to this inconvenience. In addition, we have followed up with our management team to see that the yard is landscaped. Please note, the nearby construction will be completed soon. We look forward to hosting you for your next getaway!
Very clean and quaint place!
Very nice and spacious rental! Needed more towels and no DVD player/ tv didn’t work in the living room.
Cassidy, Thank you for the feedback. The home has a private washer and dryer for each guest use. We supply a set for each guest. In the future, please contact our customer service department for assistance with an issue you might have with TX's or DVD's 24/7. Thank you.
We had a great stay for 13 days. The cottage worked well for our family visit. However, a few things should be noted; There is a house under construction through fall/winter of 2020. We didn’t realize this until after we booked the cottage. It would be nice to note this on the preview. The king size room is great, but i would suggest a new bed in there, it’s quite saggy. Other than theses two details, i would recommend this cottage for a family vacation. We would most likely stay here again!
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, Wendy. We're delighted to know you enjoyed a stay at this lovely cottage for your family gathering. We apologize for the nearby construction, however, this is noted on the website listing to ensure that our home will be a good fit for guests prior to online booking. We have passed your comments regarding the bed onto our management team for consideration. We would love the opportunity to host you again in the future!
The house is clean, bright and located in a great area. We have been utilizing HomeAway for years...we've stayed at the Gulf coast of FL, Jersey Shore, Big Bear and Palm Desert. We have been rated as a 5 star tenant on all our stays and we have loved our experiences, until now!
We stayed for 2 nights last week at this property and could not be more disappointed. We woke up each morning to pounding, power drills and construction. The noise was obnoxious and deafening. We could not enjoy sitting outside or even inside from 7:30AM to 3:30PM. So basically we had to be away from the property all day. It is fantastic that there are many homes being refurbished or rebuilt on the island, BUT the fact that the owner is not forthcoming about the construction next door (12 inches away) to potential tenants is disrespectful, rude, and unacceptable. We reached out to the Property Manager to discuss the situation and we did not even get a courtesy call or message back from the owner. They are clearly more interested in making quick money versus having integrity and developing repeat tenants. We will be back to Balboa Island, it is so charming, but we will not stay at this property. There are plenty of other options available. Any potential renters should get more details about the construction before booking their stay!
We are very sorry to hear about the experience that you had and we do sincerely apologize. We want to express that this is not a typical experience that our guests have. Please know that the comfort and satisfaction of our guests is our priority and the experience you had is certainly not commonplace, nor is it indicative of our level of service.
We hope we can host you again.
Great place right in Balboa, just a block off the main st
The place was perfect for our group of eight. We really enjoyed our stay. The back patio that sits between the front house and back house was particularly enjoyable!