Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Lahiki O Ka Hale (House of the Rising Sun) Close to Ocean!

Bedrooms 5
Space 3,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

House, 5 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps15)

Welcome to Paradise!

Come to Lahiki O Ka Hale (house of the rising sun) and enjoy your vacation in this spacious, comfortable and colorfully decorated home. Our home is located in the highly desirable Hawaiian Paradise Park neighborhood on the east side of the Big Island. The entire home, upstairs and down, has ceramic tile floors. The huge screened lanai is a great place to dine and relax after a long day of sightseeing. Lahiki O Ka Hale will sleep up to 10. Two queen beds are upstairs. One queen, two twins are in bedrooms and two futon style couches that fold into twin beds are located in the main living area, DOWNSTAIRS ! Holiday stays per holiday day will be $50.

Centrally located on the east side of the Big Island, Lahiki O Ka Hale is only a 20 minute drive to Hilo town or a 10 minute drive to the quaint old village of Pahoa. This home is located within blocks of the Pacific Ocean is the perfect location to set off from for all the sights and sounds of the last of the old Hawaii, Hilo and the Puna district. You’re only a 40 minute drive to the Volcano's National Park. The Kapoho area, with its wonderful swimming and snorkeling spots, is only a 25 minute drive. The Waiopae tide pools have some of the best snorkeling on the Big Island.

Keywords: sleeps 10,blue house,near ocean,

More Details

Property Manager
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 15, 2018


Keaau House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 15
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Master bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , downstairs bath
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 15
  • Master bedroom - 1 queen
    Orange Master - 1 queen
    downstairs queen - 1 queen
    twin walk through - 1 twin/ single
    downstairs livingroom - 2 sleep sofa /futon
    downstairs tiny bedroom - 1 twin/ single
    Livingroom pullout - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Lanai - 1 sleep sofa /futon , large daybed on lanai
  • Queen size Beds (3), Twin or Single Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (2) couch pullout (1)
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 2 beach chairs
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseshoes
  • luaus
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • rock climbing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
any stays longer than 2 weeks the RENTER is responsible for the remainder of the the electric bill to complete your stay.


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(30 traveler reviews)

53% Complete
36% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
Lahiki O Ka Hale (House of the Rising Sun) Close to Ocean!
average rating of 4.366667 based on 30 reviews
Bellingham, WA

Loved the house and the sunrises were gorgeous!

  • 5 of 5

The house was wonderful for our two families. We had small children and they had a blast! Loved having the lanai. We used it every night for meals and playing cards after the kids went to bed. The house was well appointed and had everything we needed - stocked kitchen, snorkel gear, and lots of towels. Anna was really gracious as well. Couldn't recommend this place enough!

  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Erica! Many mahalos!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Good accommodation for 13 people at a good price

  • 4 of 5

Overall the house was spacious, had all required household items, stocked.

  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Clean and close to the ocean

  • 3 of 5

It was a nice place close to the ocean and within a few minutes of town.

  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Keaau, Hawaii

It is an unpermitted home in bad shape. Lots of mold damage to exterior of home, Water leak in onlyb

  • 1 of 5

Her leaking bathtub caused her unpermitted flooring tile in basement to buckle and break. Her exterior stairs are breaking through, due to water damage. Outlet in main bathroom does not work. Woman is now trying to charge us $5200 for electricity usage in our five week stay, attempting to collect for three weeks of electricity costs seemingly she figures our electricity usage to be about $1700 a week.

  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Your lack of facts are astounding. Your lack of closing the shower curtain caused the "leak". The flooring downstairs is already getting an estimate for repair. I'm not trying to charge you $5200. I'm charging you the $752 electric bill that YOU are responsible for, stated in the Signed rental agreement by YOU. The damage you caused my home is clear that you have no respect for others property or respect for this system.Shame on you for not paying your bill for electricity YOU used during your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Really great

  • 5 of 5

It was just great, I definitely will return in the future.

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great space for a lot of people to hang together

  • 5 of 5

My tennis team loved having a huge home where we could all stay and have breakfast together. The majority of our stay was at our tennis tournament or sight seeing but having a big home to gather at made our trip so much more fun.

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Lava Tube Cave
Hulihee Palace
Hiilawe Falls
Punalu'u Black Sand Beach Park
"there have ALWAYS been turtles beached here.....very cool sand!"
Volcano Winery
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Lava Ocean Adventures
"Lava viewing from the ocean. The ONLY company rated by the Coast Guard"
Ahalanui Hot Pond
Hamakua Sports Bar -- CLOSED
South Point
"Green sand beach is about a mile south of this point...."
Lava Tree State Monument
Mauna Kea Summit Adventures
Hapuna Beach State Park
"go past the entrance to this park, for the BEST beach on the island. BEACH 69"
Kona Coast State Park
"A small hike....deserted beaches...FANTASTIC"
Kolekole Beach Park
"the river meets the ocean...."
Kehena Beach
"Perfect spot...medium/dangerous hike down to it....mostly nude beach, hippies, gays....very ..."
Kapoho Tide Pools
"great for snorkeling"
Pu‘uhonua o Hōnaunau National Historical Park
"Best snorkeling around"
Hilo Farmers Market
Keaukaha Beach Park
Laupahoehoe Beach Park
"Beautiful, wiped out by a tsunami in the 40's....beautiful place for a picnic."
Ken's House of Pancakes
"MUST GO!!!!!!!"
"Delicious pizza"
Hilo Town Tavern
"so friendly!"
Hilo Bay Cafe
Island Lava Java
Laverne's Sports Bar
Huggo's Restaurant
"live music, great food, feet in the sand."
Big Island Grill
Kona Town Tavern -- CLOSED
Kona Joe Coffee
Kona Blue Sky Coffee Visitor Center
Nearest Airport
19 Miles
Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Water $100 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $200
Cleaning fee $175 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.41%

A $200 damage deposit is required at time of booking, and refunded after check out inspection, or left up to owner's discretion of any quantity to be returned, minus fees and or troubles. Any people over the age of TWO (2) years old, that exceeds the limit of EIGHT (8) renters for whole house will be charged a per person/ per day fee of $15. $100 water usage fee is per week for 8 or more people. ANY STAYS LONGER THAN 2 WEEKS WILL BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE ELECTRIC BILL.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties