Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautiful Beach Bungalo *Prime Location* Sandestin Fins & Family Bungalo

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Space 1,600 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


VRBO Bear stayed here

We found this property to be beary special

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 10-12)

This upscale, beautifully decorated 3 Bedroom 3.5 bath cottage is located in 'The Bungalos' a quaint neighborhood inside the gated community of Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort in Destin. Directly across from the Bungalo neighborhood Pool


This upscale, but cozy and inviting, Bungalo home features new carpeting and restored marble floors and coastal cottage furnishings with plenty of storage, and whimsical beach accents throughout. The home has a large open-plan family room, kitchen with GE Profile appliances, granite countertops with breakfast bar and dining area. Two sets of French doors open onto a large 10'x20' screened porch. Guests will appreciate the spacious rooms, high ceilings, crown moldings, restored shimmering travertine floors, designer custom cabinetry, and distinctive hardware.

There is a master on main, KING bedroom with a top of the line Simmons World Class Beautyrest mattress, night tables, dresser, TV/DVD/VCR, private bathroom and walk-in-closet.. Upstairs there are two guest bedrooms with their own full bathrooms. The upstairs King guest suite features a new comfortable King bed, two night tables, dresser, and tall chest for plenty of storage, oversize chair and TV. The second upstairs bedroom has a dresser and TV/DVD/VCR easily sleeps 4+ with 1 double bed with pull-out twin trundle underneath, 1 bunk bed with lower level double futon and upper twin bunk.

This rental is frequently used by the owners, and the comforts of this home are evident in the top of the line mattresses, appliances, furnishings, and amenities. This is not a bare bones rental. Wireless Internet. Cable TV in main living room and all bedrooms. Stereo system. DVD players. Many extras such as exercise weights/mat, DVDs, videos, books, pool and sand toys, board games, tennis rackets, fishing gear, bikes, and toys galore. Outdoor large Grill; private rear patio area with smaller grill.

Kid friendly, even an ice cream maker. This is the perfect home away from home!

Beach is less than a mile away as the crow flies. Short tram/bike/car ride to beautiful beaches (5 min car, 8-10 min by golf cart/bike on resort path}. The Marina, Tennis Center, the Village at Baytowne Wharf are walking distance and Grand Boulevard food store, restaurants and movie theater are just around the corner. Special parking is available for the golf cart at the beach and there is parking for cars and bikes as well. The Bungalos at Sandestin is a special neighborhood for an unforgettable getaway.

At Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort indulge in endless resort amenities from four championship golf courses : (making Sandestin one of the top Florida golf resorts), 15 world-class tennis courts, full-service marina, water sports, charter sailing and fishing, extensive bike trails, boutique, designer and outlet shopping, fine and casual dining, state-of-the-art fitness center, professional salon and day spa and fun children's programs.

Over 7 miles of beach and bayfront, make Sandestin the choice for those desiring the best of Florida beach resorts. If you prefer solitude, Topsail State Park with its picturesque sand dunes and nature trails is just a short bike ride up the road. Enjoy every imaginable convenience from resort-wide transportation and a host of complimentary amenities each day of your stay.

Keywords: House

More Details

Pamela Atkins
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 20, 2018

About Pamela Atkins

I am a mother and attorney living between my homes in Sandestin and Atlanta.

Pamela Atkins purchased this house in 2005

Why Pamela Atkins chose Sandestin

We have been enjoying the area for many years. We chose this area because we love the white sand beaches and crystal clear, warm water of the Gulf. Sandestin is family friendly providing a safe environment for children of all ages to explore with biking, nature trails, golf, tennis, swimming, boating, and so much more.

What makes this house unique

Our home is directly across from the Bungalo pool and putting green and near the Raven and Baytowne golf courses. Our home contains many vacation extras including games, movies, bikes, fishing polls, tennis rackets, football, kite, horseshoes, bocce ball, beach/water toys, and much more. We are a short walk or tram/bike/car ride to beautiful beaches of Sandestin (within the resort 2 miles), Marina, Tennis Center, the Village at Baytowne Wharf (within the resort <1 mile), Grand Boulevard Publix Foodstore, restaurants & movies & events (<2 miles). The Bungalos at Sandestin is a special neighborhood for an unforgettable getaway.

At Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort indulge in endless resort amenities from (4) four championship golf courses : (making Sandestin one of the top Florida golf resorts), 15 world-class tennis courts, full-service marina, water sports, charter sailing and fishing, extensive bike trails, boutique, designer and outlet shopping, fine and casual dining, state-of-the-art fitness center, professional salon and day spa and fun children's programs. Over 7 miles of beach and bay front, make Sandestin the choice for those desiring the best of Florida beach resorts. If you prefer solitude, Topsail State Park with its picturesque sand dunes and nature trails is just a short bike ride up the road. Enjoy every imaginable convenience from resort-wide transportation and a host of amenities each day of your stay.

Guestbook comments from the owner

I AM 11 YEARS OLD. IF YOU HAVE CHILDREN READ THIS COMMENT. My mother and I own this beach house so I am here a lot. I have a lot of good info about this house and the surrounding areas. Best Resturants: Poppys, Hammer Heads, Marlin Grill, Hartells, Mangos, Jim n Nicks, Another Broken Egg, Tommy Bahamas, and Cantina Laredo. Best Attractions:Swoop charter boats, Bogies water sports, Ripleys, Gulfarium, Gulf World, and Big Kahunnas. The Villiage:In the winter there's ice skating. There's pottery. There is a zip line and a ropes course. You can fish in the lakes or off of the docks. There are 15 tennis courts, 4 golf courses, a marina for water sports, tons of trails, and bike rental. A nice place to go to is Top Sail State Park. Panama city has some fun stuff to do also. For water toys you can go to Alvins Island.

Have Fun,

T.J. F.
Jan 2009
  • 1 of 4


Sandestin House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Max. adults: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 26
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Golf Course View ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Resort ...
  • Village ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Computer Available ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Master Bath on Main Level
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , main level
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master on Main with private bathroom
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon , 1 bunk bed , Upstairs with private bathroom
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Pull-out Queen sofa bed in family room; baby pack & play
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , Upstairs with private bathroom
  • House has 2- King size beds Master - Bedroom 1- King Bed with top of the line Simmons World Class Beautyrest Mattress - on first main house level Upstairs - Guest Room Bedroom 2 - King size Bed Upstairs Bunk Room - Bedroom 3 - 1 Double Bed, 1 Double Futon, 1 twin upper bunk, 1 twin trundle. 1 Queen Sleep Sofa - pull out sleep sofa in living room,
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Games
  • Music Library ...
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Porch / Veranda ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 6 bicycles
  • 2 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Sauna ...
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
  • Massage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Spa facilities on resort. 4 Golf courses. Many shops, restaurants and activities within the resort. The home has a golf cart included with full 2017 rental fee of $2000 per week otherwise inquire regarding golf cart inclusion with rental for additional fee on booking the unit. Extra services such as chef, housekeeper available for additional fee.


Enjoy some ice cream on the porch!

VRBO Bear stayed here

Mar 20, 2015

I just had a fantastic trip to Destin, Florida! I stayed at the Fins and Family Bungalo at the Sandestin Resort, and it was amazing. The bungalow itself was perfect for the family I travelled with. It was two stories, three bedrooms, with a screened in front porch. The house was nicely stocked with comfy sheets, fluffy towels, amazing beds, a fully equipped kitchen (including an ice cream maker,) games, books, beach chairs, bikes, a grill, cable TV, a computer with internet access, wifi, a washer and dryer, a travel crib, and more. It had everything you could possibly need for a wonderful trip with kids. The bungalow’s location was also perfect. It’s in the Sandestin Resort, a large resort with all kinds of fun things to do. The bungalow is right across the street from a wonderful swimming pool. There’s a free shuttle that takes you to all areas of the resort, including the beach, a high end shopping center, and the Baytowne Wharf area with wonderful restaurants, shops, and activities. The young girls I was travelling with loved Baytowne Wharf almost as much as the beach! The bungalow comes with access to Sandestin’s private beach, which was spectacular. But it’s also a short drive to wonderful, less urban and more rural beaches down Highway 30A. I had a terrific time at the Fins and Family Bungalo, and I hope to make it an annual trip. I highly recommend it!

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(24 traveler reviews)

83% Complete
4% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
Beautiful Beach Bungalo *Prime Location* Sandestin Fins & Family Bungalo
average rating of 4.625 based on 28 reviews
Hoover, Alabama, USA

Wonderful Experience

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed at the bungalow onore than one occasion. My wife and I and my daughter and her family stayed a week this time into June. As usual the bungalow was exceptionally and well stocked with amenities such a internet and cable connections. Six of us stayed in the bungalow which was comfortable and roomy. The closeness of the beach and a pool made the experience even more special. Overall it's a great place to stay and hope to do so again.

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Overall great experience

  • 4 of 5

We loved staying at the bungalo. Great location. Very tastefully decorated. Everyone slept really well. I think that the kitchen is lacking in some basic cooking needs. I know lots of people don't cook on vacation, but with such a great kitchen, we wanted to! A few different sized glass baking dishes would be a great addition. Also, a couple more cookie sheets. A pair of scissors. A chef's chopping knife. Just a few things to help a cook out. ;-)

Thanks for sharing your lovely home. It was a great week and we really enjoyed the accommodations. My Vacation Haven was also a pleasure to work with.

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Great Vacation

  • 5 of 5

Of all the years we have gone to Destin for vacation, this by far was the best trip ever! The bungalow was fabulous with all the amenities one could ask for. Having a golf cart was a plus. This was something we thoroughly enjoyed. We used it for taking a drive through the resort and at night to BayTowne Wharf. And it was a special treat. Pamela was fabulous to work with and took great care of us. We highly recommend her. Overall, we LOVED it and will be back next year.

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! We had all the stone floor restored at the end of the summer and new carpet put into all the bedrooms.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Very far from the beach and very cluttered small space.

  • 1 of 5

Extremely disappointed. The house was dirty when we arrived (the owner did send someone over to clean the next day). The bunk bed was broken (and we saw a note from previous renter a month before us that said the bed was broken) which made a child have to share a bed. We are now 4 weeks past our stay and are awaiting our deposits-1 for the damage deposit and 1 for the golf cart. The back and forth has been ridiculous. The owner is blaming VRBO and VRBO is saying the owner needs to release the funds. So disappointed. Last time we used VRBO we had our deposit mailed to us within two days and the owner personally called to thank us for staying and made sure we received our money.

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry you feel you had a bad experience. 1-The house was cleaned the day of your arrival by the same cleaning crew that cleaned the house all summer for the other guests. When you complained on the night of your arrival, I immediately paid another cleaning crew from a new company to re-clean the house within 24 hours of your arrival. You informed me you were very happy with with state of the house after the second clean. I have letters from both managers concerning their inspection of the house. Also as I explained, you were the last guest staying prior to all the stone floors being refinished in September and new carpet. 2-The single broken slat from under the bunk bed would not have prevented anyone from sleeping in the bed. I was aware of the damage and had contacted the manufacturer/retailer for a replacement. The bed was inspected; not a risk. When we personally stayed in the house this Sept a 170 6'3" student slept in that bed. Given the number of beds in the house and the number of people you disclosed on your renters agreement even if you chose not to use the top bunk there were sufficient beds to avoid sharing. 3-The house size is exactly as we represent; 3 bedrooms 3.5 bath Bungalo 1600 sq feet. (actually our house is a slightly larger floor plan of the model due to lot location). The new King upstairs (was Queen) does make the space tighter but most every one prefers a second King bed. 4-The house is inside Sandestin with access to the Beach. Their is a link on the map to see where it is located. It's a short distance from the beaches near the resort golf courses, Baytown Warf, the marina area of the resort, and grand boulevard. It is not on the beach; no represented to be on the beach. 5-I looked into the deposit situation when you contact me. It was caused in part by the fact that you did not do your part to make the required deposit prior to arriving at the property, but used the house computer to finish the contract and deposit, so the normal process we have set up to ensure timely returns did not work correctly. Also there was a golf cart repair (no chgr to u) We have to have your money then can refund it. Also since 2016, VRBO started a new process where they hold and refund the deposit; it does not go to us at anytime in the process, but it is not working consistently. Echeck is unavailable to payments when payments are being made less than 7 days prior to arrival (VRBO will only take credit card at this pt.).
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0

Great House, Great Location, Great Resort!

  • 5 of 5

The Bungalo house was exactly what we were looking for when we decided we were going to Destin this summer. Dealing with Pamela throughout the process made it even easier. She was helpful throughout the booking process, and even right to the very last minute before we arrived. Working with her was fantastic.

The house is right across the street from the community pool- within 15 steps. Or a short golf cart drive to the beach. Having a golf cart for the week was something new for us, and was a delight on the vacation. Whether we were driving to Baytowne Wharf in the Sandestin Resort or to the beach- it was fun to have.

The house is beautiful, it is updated and modern throughout. The beds were very comfortable, showers clean, and the kitchen had everything that we needed to eat throughout the week. We used the grill one night as well. The front porch was nice to have to relax on the night it rained.

The Sandestin resort all together makes this place great to be as well. The wharf has everything you need, for children and adults. We went for live music on Monday, fireworks on Tuesday and dinner/ drinks a couple other nights. There are multiple options that we never got to try out because there is so much. Having multiple golf courses to choose from on the resort too also was convenient.

Overall- this is the place to be. We will be back!

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fantastic vacation

  • 5 of 5

As grandparents, we didn't know what to expect when taking 2 and 3 year olds with us. The bungalow met all our needs. The books, bikes and beach toys were a great addition. Everything was very clean and comfortable. Loved the pool directly across the street.

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2015
  • Stayed: August 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Destin Commons
Silver Sands Premium Outlets
Discount Shopping
The Village of Baytowne Wharf
Tommy Bahama's Restaurant & Bar
Get the Goat Cheese App- one of my favorites!
Another Broken Egg Cafe -- CLOSED
Great Breakfast Spot - two locations within the Resort
Grand Boulevard
10 Screen Movie Theater and Great Restaurants. Tram service.
Bass Pro Shops
Mitchell's Fish Market - Sandestin -- CLOSED
Eden Gardens State Park
Fleming's Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar
Vintij Wine Boutique & Bistro
Wonderful Restaurant inside Sandestin Resort
Serenity By the sea Spa
Acme Oyster House -- CLOSED
Hartell's Village Diner
Marlin Grill
Cantina Laredo
The Red Bar
Gulf World Marine Park
Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Fort Walton Beach Airport or Panama City
Nearest Barpub
0.25 Miles
Baytowne Warf inside Sandestin
Nearest Golf
0.25 Miles
Raven Golf Course in Sandestin
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Highway 98
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
Baytown Warf inside Sandestin
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Sandestin Beach inside the Resort
Nearest Point of Interest
2443 Bungalo Lane
Nearest Point of Interest
Baytowne Warf Area
Nearest Point of Interest
The Shops at Grande Boulevard
Nearest Point of Interest
Nearest Point of Interest
Sandestin Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
Destin Commons
Car: not necessary

Walking distance to Baytowne Warf area and close to Grande Boulevard with restaurants and Imax movie theater.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Golf cart 4 seat $400 + Tax
Cleaning Fee $250 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $500

There is an additional fee of 2.5% charge for instant bookings due to vrbo credit card fee.
We will accept the military per diem rate for active military and their families for extended stays (usually 30+ days).
Long Term Rentals Available
WINTER: SNOW BIRD Monthly Rentals available at discounted price of $3,000 per month Nov-Feb.
SPECIAL RATES AVAILABLE -- $200 off for 100% paid in full 2017 bookings made prior to 1/30/2017 and $100 off for paid in full bookings prior to 3/1/2017 -- LIMITED TIME
The 2017 summer rentals are for a minimum of 7 days - Sat to Sat. The golf cart is included on all 2017 summer season rentals for $400 per week for a total summer rental weekly rate of $2200 per week [$1800 house + $400 cart] plus cleaning fee $250 and taxes. The golf cart fee is mandatory, part of house rental and required on all summer rentals.
During spring break the rental rate is increased from the posted rates.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund