Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Best Value for 5 Star Villa in Tamarindo/Playa Langosta!

Bedrooms 3
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 5 nights


About the property

Condo, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Welcome to Playa Langosta, the quiet exclusive neighborhood adjacent to all of the amenities that Tamarindo has to offer without the noise and congestion.

Casa Erizo, our three bedroom, two bathroom condominium is steps from Langosta beach and located in La Esquina Villa Cerca del Mar, Langosta's exclusive secured luxury Condo complex. La Esquina Villa Cerca del Mar was built in 2006. The Condo features four terraces, one next to the kitchen with a private JennAir BBQ, one adjacent to the master bedroom, one next to the kids room and the fourth is adjacent to the great room which overlooks the 105 foot pool with lush tropical landscaping.

The kitchen is fully equipped and features GE stainless appliances, Reverse Osmosis water purification and a Jenn Aire barbecue.

The interior of the Condo features an extensive use of teak on the ceilings, doors and cabinetry, granite kitchen countertops and slate floors. The professionally designed and furnished Condo has that 'Tommy Bahama island feel' with the finest furnishings including, Henry Link, Palm River, Saw Grass and comfy pillow top mattresses in every bedroom. The master suite has a king-size bed with ceiling fan, private bathroom and terrace, the second bedroom has a queen, ceiling fan, terrace and shares a bathroom with the third bedroom which has two twin beds and ceiling fan. Additionally, we have an aero bed that will sleep either one or two.

When the kids aren't swimming at the beach or pool, they can relax in front of two LCD TV's, one in the great room with DVD, stereo and MP3 player and the other in the master suite.

Nearby amenities include a grocery store, fine dining, hotel with casino and internet cafe. An easy walk takes you to all of the amenities that Tamarindo has to offer.

A vacation in Costa Rica is a pleasant alternative to either Mexico or Hawaii as Tamarindo/Langosta is easily accessible with reasonably priced direct flights into Liberia Int'l Airport from most major U.S. cities.

Keywords: Condominium

More Details

Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 14, 2018

Why The Owner chose Playa Langosta

We've traveled all over the world and once we discovered Costa Rica we knew that this was it. The beaches are beautiful, the people are kind and it's easy to get there from the States and Canada!

What makes this condo unique

Langosta is quiet neighborhood yet down the beach from everything that Tamarindo has to offer. Secluded beaches with great surfing. Don't miss a trip to Costa Rica!


Playa Langosta Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) We have an aero bed that can sleep either one or two.
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gazebo
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
DVD/CD player, wall safe and maid service. Kitchen is fully equipped with stainless GE Profile appliances, ceiling fans throughout, 24 hour gated security, programmable guest safe, rooftop deck with Pergola and BBQ & spectacular ocean views. Baths are beautifully finished with arched entry to shower and hand made vanities. 105' private pool with tropical landscaping.


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(27 traveler reviews)

85% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
Best Value for 5 Star Villa in Tamarindo/Playa Langosta!
average rating of 4.7777777 based on 27 reviews

Very Pleased with the Accommodations During Our Stay in Playa Langousta

  • 4 of 5

This was our first visit to Costa Rica. Scott Garel, the owner of the condo, was available via email from the time we booked the condo, during our stay, and a follow up after our time at the condo was over. The condo was clean, well maintained and roomy for our group of four adults . The pool was fine with the exception of the fallen leaves which was understandable with the trees and shrubs that surrounded the pool. We enjoyed the walks to Tamarindo either on the road or by way of the beach - it was just the right distance to enjoy the sun, the ocean and get ready for a cool cerveza! We enjoyed the many restaurants, shops and bars located near the condo, as well as in Tamarindo. The people in the area were very friendly and very helpful. The property management people (I can't remember the two lovely ladies names) were very helpful and looked after our taxi service requirements while in Costa Rica. I would recommend this location and condo if you are wishing to stay in Playa Langousta. We all enjoyed our stay in Costa Rica - it is a beautiful country and we look forward to revisiting in the near future. Thank you Scott!

  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jim, thanks so much for the review! It's great to have appreciative guests and we look forward to having you come back! Best, Scott
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Fantastic location and five star service!

  • 5 of 5

I can't say enough about what a wonderful experience we had in Costa Rica. And a large part of this was due to this great property we were fortunate enough to have at our disposal for the week. Scott was so accommodating from the very start, answering questions about the location and property itself, to providing a very comprehensive list of suggested activities, restaurants and tour operators. Having the property manager (RPM) literally steps away from the property was a huge advantage and made our check in process smooth and easy. The gate guards and cleaners were pleasant and helpful. During our stay, a tree was being taken down by the pool. As a result, RPM paid the entrance fee to the Playa Langosta beach club (which is a fabulous MUST do) for our entire group of eight. Not only that, but we had access to one of the cabanas for the entire day. This was a fun and restful way to wrap up our holiday. Thank you!!

  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Jessica, Mary Beth and I are so happy that you had a great time spending your holiday in Costa Rica! Please come back and see us again. Best, Scott and Mary Beth
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice place. Well taken care of.

  • 4 of 5

Nice pool. Great security. Close to Beach but not surf or swim spot.

  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2016
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Jim, thanks for the review. We are really close to the sand and the walk to a good swim spot has to be at least 5 minutes!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great property - great location!

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our recent stay at Villas Langosta. A nice property with a beautiful pool, in a great location. A short walk to the beach access, and only two blocks to a great restaurant (Calla Luna) with many gluten free options and a nice spa. The owner was really nice, and great to work with. We've visited Tamarindo several times, we'll be staying in Langosta from now on!

  • Submitted: Dec 8, 2016
  • Stayed: November 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Andrew, I'm so glad that we could accommodate you and your family at the last minute! Thanks for the review and we look forward to having you back. Best, Scott
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

relaxing vacation in a beautiful setting with a perfect place to stay with family and friends

  • 5 of 5

This is a wonderful property with all the amenities of home. Peaceful and relaxing. We traveled with our "kids" ages 22-24 and they were beyond thrilled after a day of surfing and fun in the sun, we could cook meals and wait on them while they enjoyed a swim in the beautiful pool. There is even an adorable iguana that will watch on as you enjoy the early evening swim. The town of Tamarindo is very close enough to walk or catch a $5 dollar cab ride. The guards at the gate are so helpful and will call cabs for you ( they do not all speak English, but with a little high school Spanish and with their kindness the cabs always arrived). The property is also walking distance to the Langosta beach Club.....indulge in a day there. I really can't say enough about our stay. The property worked perfect for us. Scott and Marybeth are wonderful hosts and make arrival and departure a breeze. We would definitely stay again. In fact, we didn't want to leave. Pure Vida.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Kim, thanks so much for the review! We would love to have you back anytime! Scott and Mary Beth
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Good location but had some issues with owner and staff- property not well kept!!!!

  • 2 of 5

The property itself was beautiful but needs painting due to mildew smell, the beds where not changed, bathrooms was dirty and without ac the first day we arrived. he implied that I was a scam artist because I requested some of money back...Will never there stay again!

diane sent a message

Jun 22, 2016

Also did I mention that the master bedroom flooded out do to the AC malfunctioning another clean up that I had to do...I am really concerned that this wasn't worked out prior to our arrival.

diane ford sent a message

Jun 22, 2016

Yes the problems where eventually resolved but we where without ac on Friday, traffic bk n forth sat-mon...we really only enjoyed staying Tuesday...

diane sent a message

Jun 22, 2016

The maid did come n recleaned sat morning, n Rigo showed up mid day on Monday to check on the AC folks...the problem that Iam having with all this is we paid you in advance for something that we did not get not mentioning all the traffic and disturbing for 4 days, totally unfair... I don't if you agree but I believe we should receive part of our money back.

Scott Garel sent a message

Jun 17, 2016

Diane, I forgot to respond to the two other issues as I was trying to get ahold of Rigo. There are clean sheets in the guest bedroom closet. I'm afraid that if the maid didn't get there you're going to have to change the beds.

There are three phones, one in the living room and master bedroom. Those should dial out. The phone in the hallway only goes to the front gate so don't bother with that one unless somebody calls from the gate. I've emailed and called Rigo and he had better have this taken care of in the morning.

Scott Garel sent a message

Jun 17, 2016

Diane, this is a first. The only thing that I can think of is that the maid didn't turn the air on before you got there. So, do a couple of things for me. The thermostat is behind the curtain on the south wall. That's the wall opposite of the entry door. Please make sure that the AC is below 78 degrees. Also, please make sure that all of the ceiling fans are on. This will take care of the musty odor. I'll send the property manager an email right now and ask him to get somebody over to fumigate tomorrow. There may be ant spray under the kitchen sink. If so, please go ahead and spray.

I'll have Rigo come by tomorrow.

diane sent a message

Jun 17, 2016

The beds where not changed n there stains on bed covers n the phone does not work..I suggest if u going to charge this amt of money

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Diane, thank you for your comments. I would point out that you were selective in what you copied and that you didn't share all of the information. Our real estate broker, who is not affiliated with our property manager, was in the condo the day of your arrival to show it. When questioned, he said that the condo was clean, the beds made and the air conditioning was on. Further, last fall we had our beautiful walls hand troweled with a two-stage Venetian finish. They surely don't need painting. I would have to ask; are you sure that you checked in to our place? Interestingly, the family that arrived immediately after you provided a very glowing reference for me, our property and our property management company. I have had over 100 guests during the duration of our ownership. Odd, but you are the only one that has ever complained and asked for a refund. I will leave the conclusion to who was right and who was wrong to our future guests and if they would like, they can reach out to me directly to get the straight story.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Car: not necessary


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties