Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Hot tub with views $160 per night, 3 night minimum

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 2,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10) Outdoor hot tub

Enjoy our spacious mountain home surrounded by 20,000 acres of Pisgah National Forest yet only 20 minutes west of downtown Asheville, NC and only 10 minutes to grocery, coffee shop, restaurants! Enjoy the outdoor hot tub with mountain views on this 50-acre sunny and secluded property.

This home, built in 1980, offers 3 bedrooms, 2 full baths, equipped kitchen and addt'l kitchenette, open living and dining space with beautiful fireplace (wood provided at no extra cost) and family room. View the stars from our outdoor hot tub! Outdoor firepit with wood provided at no extra cost.

The house will be open, heat/ac and lights on and music to greet you. We have a greenhouse where we produce flowers and organically-grown vegetables pollinated by our own honeybees. While here don't hesitate to call for directions, suggestions, rides to and from the airport or just to borrow a cup of sugar. Relax in the hammock, read a book in the gazebo, sit by the pond, or hike around our 50 acre property. This house is very private with owners living nearby. We are sensitive to our guests' need for quiet mornings and evenings and require our staff to respect your privacy. While no 4 wheel drive is needed we do have 2 short steep parts to our driveway. Also located on the 50 acres is Wineberry Lodge (VRBO #162595) a 5br/3bath; and Catwalk Cottage (VRBO #143424) with 2br/2bath & sleeping loft.

Keywords: House, private, multiple houses on one property,wedding,family reunion, retreat

More Details

Owner
Rob Denton & Holly Berry
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 16, 2018

About Rob Denton & Holly Berry

When hosts Holly Berry and Rob Denton first saw this secluded cove they realized they had finally found the perfect natural setting to host a myriad of gatherings and memorable moments. They worked to add comforts and amenities that are in harmony with the countryside surroundings, that create a haven for people seeking solace and tranquility. Come laugh and mingle under the stars and dance alongside the sparks of a crackling camp fire at Brahma Ridge.

Rob Denton & Holly Berry purchased this house in 2005

Why Rob Denton & Holly Berry chose Candler

Only twenty minutes from all the downtown Asheville happenings yet this property feels so secluded.

What makes this house unique

The house received its name, Earthberm House, due to its construction - built into the side of the mountain. The all-on-one level is very comfortable for wheelchair guests.

Four-person hot tub outdoors under the stars!

A whole house filter on the well purifies all water coming into the home.

Amenities

Candler House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Free Long Distance
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , This bathroom is in the hall and is shared with double bdrm.
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Private bath off suite bdrm w/kitchenette.
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 3 - 2 double
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 sleep sofa /futon , In the family room. Doors close for privacy.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Has own kitchenette and bathroom.
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Sliding glass door opens to patio.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gazebo
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
Notes:
VERY QUIET...Private, secluded, 50 acres bordering National Forest, hiking, pond w/deck, seperate bath house w/showers, organic gardens & greenhouse, original artwork by well known Philadelphia artist, beautiful hardwood floors, kitchen fully stocked w/party platters - spices & paper products, iron and ironing board provided. Another rental house close by for additional guests.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(41 traveler reviews)

90% Complete
4% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
Hot tub with views $160 per night, 3 night minimum
average rating of 4.804878 based on 41 reviews
5

Great weekend getaway

  • 5 of 5

9 friends and I stayed at Rob's house over the weekend and loved it. The view was amazing and the sleeping accommodations were very comfortable. We especially enjoyed the fireplace and the hot tub even though it was 30 degrees outside. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A lovely mountain retreat

  • 5 of 5

We had a lovely time over New Year's at this property. We are a group of seven women, and this house was able to meet our needs in terms of space and amenities.

*Hot Tub - the hot tub is awesome! Sits four comfortably

*Fireplace - the fireplace is really amazing and it was a huge relief to have firewood taken care of.

*Pet-friendly - we were able to have our four-legged friends with us, which is a MUST for any property we rent.

*Well-stocked, spacious kitchen - lots of goodies here, so you may want to ask before hauling stuff up the mountain. For example, they have a crockpot!

*Easy access to groceries, dining, and hiking

Also, Rob & Holly were very accommodating after the winter weather and let us have a late check out for the ice to burn off the driveway.

Our only complaint was the quality of the mattresses - it definitely seemed as though they'd seen better days.

We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the kind words and feedback. Rob and I were worried about you during the ice storm and were glad you stayed in touch via text to let us know when you were home at night and then when you left and made it down the driveway. It gave us peace of mind. I'm surprised about the beds. I love the master bed that is a Vera Wang. I admit I don't sleep on the other beds. Future guests please help me decide what beds need replacing. We put a questionaire in the house will you please rank the beds for me. We will replace them if you say it's needed. BTW Aug 19th review says the beds are SO comfortable.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing place for groups and get-togethers

  • 5 of 5

Wow!! We were blown away by our stay at the Earthberm home. It is not very often that the pictures fall short of the home and this is one of those places. Our hosts were extremely informative and welcoming but completely respectful and let us enjoy our privacy the entire weekend. The views are unbeatable, the hot tub was clean functional and a great size for the group we had! Rob and Holly had a Christmas tree all lit up when we got to the house, and had plenty of wood for the fire ready to go. The living room space is very open and exactly what we were looking for as we love playing games with our family/friends and being together. The house was clean, pest-free and absolutely somewhere we would love to visit again. Thank you for an incredible stay at your home, Rob and Holly! You are remarkable hosts.

  • Submitted: Dec 18, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So SWEET! Reviews like this make being a VRBO home owner worth it. We simply treat our guests the way we want to be treated. Come back and see us.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Alcoa Tennessee
5

Missed opportunity (snow storm)

  • 5 of 5

Thanks for this chance. Thankfully my friend Scott contacted the owners about our travels to the Chandler house. The owners was very open and friendly communicating the snow storm. The owners was very gracious in offering another opportunity to visit their house

  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Pineville, NC
5

Relaxing, comfortable like being in our home away from home

  • 5 of 5

Every subtle detail made us feel so comfortable and able to relax quickly. Our 2nd stay, our experience here has never been anything but thoroughly enjoyable.

  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Jacksonville, FL
5

Wonderful Stay near Asheville

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I spent 3 days at Rob and Holly's home in the mountains. When we arrived, there were flowers on the table, music on and the fire ready to be lit! The home is spacious with everything you need, including a wonderful view of the mountains, a fire pit outside and a hotub! There are amenities a short 10 minute drive away and downtown Asheville is only 25 minutes away. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend. I wanted to comment on a review that said the owners were very close by, you can here their voices. This home is very private and the owners sit well below this property and in no way at all impede on privacy. Also there have been comments about the steep drive. Yes the paved road leading up is a bit steep but ANY modern vehicle can easily tackle this with no issue at all. Enjoyed the stay!

  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: GREAT! It is so important to us to have the comments of our guests while reading other reviews. This is an honest counter to reviews that I thought were a bit unfair, but always opt to allow guests their opinions without taking them personally. We want all our guests to have the best vacation possible when staying with. Your thoughts are really important to us!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
AVL
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Crowne Plaza
Nearest Motorway
7 Miles
I-40
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Artisan Cafe
Nearest Ski
30 Miles
Maggie Valley
Nearest Beach
200 Miles
Charleston SC

In close proximity to Brahma Ridge Event Center for business meetings, weddings, family reunions, and private parties.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $100 + Tax
Pet Fee $50 + Tax
Tax Rate 7.0%

Valentine's and President's Day weekends are considered holidays and free nights may not be available. Holidays, such as Fourth of July, may require additional nights.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties