Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Honu Haven: Tropical Garden Setting with a Pool

Bedrooms Studio
Space 500 sq. ft.
Property type studio
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

Studio: Poppy's Lanai: sleeps 4

Honu Haven is just a short walk to Kailua Beach and Kailua Town, where you'll find great restaurants and shops.

Poppy's Lanai, a bright, airy detached 500 sq ft studio comfortably sleeps 4 with a queen bed, a double futon couch and Aerobed. The Lanai kitchenette has a microwave, double hot plate, coffee maker, convection oven and refrigerator/freezer. There is a large bathroom with a walk in shower, dresser, toilet and sink. The Lanai opens out to the pool and gardens.

The backyard is fenced and surrounded by beautiful tropical plants. A patio table and a BBQ are provided on the pool deck for guests to enjoy outdoor dining.

The pool is professionally maintained and for all guests to enjoy. You will find chaise lounges, floating rafts, as well as pool toys.

There is also a Cottage studio on the property that sleeps 2. The Lanai and Cottage may be rented to accommodate 6 people. Please visit VRBO 987837.


More Details

Member since: 2002
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 9, 2018


Kuulei Tract Studio Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • studio
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - toilet , shower
  • Walk-in shower, toilet, single sink and dresser
  • Studio, Sleeps 4
  • Poppy's Lanai Studio - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
  • cinemas
  • library
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing


Exceptional! 5/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

100% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Honu Haven: Tropical Garden Setting with a Pool
average rating of 5.0 based on 13 reviews

Quiet, clean, relaxing and great location!

  • 5 of 5

Our week stay at Poppy’s Lanai was just what we were looking for! Great location walkable to town and the beach. It was a beautiful, quiet and relaxing home base for our family as we adventured around the island as well as hung out in Kailua. Ken was very welcoming and helpful. Our 7 year old loved the pool, as well as the resident geckos and lizards outside in the garden! Appreciated the beach toys, chairs and ice chest available for use, as well as puzzles and movies for the rainy day we stayed inside. Overall, we would love to return one day and recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet, clean, low-key, lovely place to stay!

  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Honu Haven exceeding all of our expectations!

  • 5 of 5

Thanks for sharing your wonderful island oasis with other Barb! Sorry that it took me six months write a review, life got back to busy...!

We stayed at Honu Haven in Poppy's Lanai from 6/30 - 7/5 2017 and can't wait to return for our next trip!

My Wife, two boys (11 and 7), and I found everything that we needed from amenities in the room, to laundry, a beautiful pool area with BBQ grill, beach supplies, and lush tropical landscaping surrounding the private fenced in backyard. There is private parking, safe and secure lodging, and a super convenient location to the best (in our opinion) town and beach on Oahu, especially for a family or couple.

The studio, Poppy's Lanai, sleeps 4 people comfortably and has big windows that allow you to view the gardens and clear Hawaii sky at all times. Then just crack open the shutters and let the cool breeze and sounds of nature flood through the room.

A quick walk into town provides a great shopping experience along with the conveniences of Target and Whole Foods, as well as great local eateries. A short walk in the other direction and you are at Kailua Beach Park, arguably the most beautiful and accessible beach on the island. Make sure to stop for a snow capped shaved ice on the way!

-Jesse, Nozomi, Tyler, and Owen

  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Clean and lovely accommodations with thoughtful hosts!

  • 5 of 5

We couldn't have been more happy or comfortable during our stay! The pool and gardens are gorgeous and my children loved it. Poppy's Lanai was clean and well-stocked. So thoughtful to have the essentials there already. Having a washing machine and line to hang the clothes on was a life-saver for us. We only had the pleasure of meeting Ken, but he was a lovely and helpful beyond the call of duty. We definitely want to visit again!

  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Hillsdale, MI

We'll be back!

  • 5 of 5

We recently stayed at this property and were totally impressed. Having been to Kailua on a day trip once before and loved the area, we decided that our next trip to Hawaii had to include a few days in Kailua to enjoy the beaches. Honu Haven was so much more than we could have asked for that we will definitely be back! The property was spotless, fresh, beautifully landscaped and perfectly maintained. The bed was very comfortable and the linens were of great quality. There is no air conditioning, but there was a great breeze, ceiling fan and 2 other well placed fans that kept the place very cool. I prefer a nice breeze over air conditioning anyway. There were coolers, ice packs, beach chairs, beach towels and umbrellas, beach toys, 2 bikes, 2 Weber gas grills, a washer and dryer, movies, games and books. Everything you would ever need for a beach vacation. The pool was clean and the water was clear and refreshing. The kitchen had spices, ziplock bags and foil and there was even condiments in the refrigerator! The location was perfect! Kailua beach is an easy walk and even easier bike ride. Shopping and restaurants were just as close. We will definitely be back on our next visit to Hawaii!

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Calgary Canada

Excellent location , very clean place

  • 5 of 5

Great place for family vacation. Lots of Space for family of 4 in Lanai. Good size pool, all beach toys available , 5 min walk to stores and restaurants. Beach might be good 10min walk , we chose to drive. No A.C. but lots windows and fans so it was not a big issue.

I would strongly recommend it to anyone.

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Seattle, WA

Felt like home away from home with a pool!

  • 5 of 5

Our family had a great stay at the Lanai!

The Lanai was clean & comfortable & it had everything we needed for our stay:

-free Wifi without having to pay the $20/day "resort fees"

-kitchenette stocked with the gadgets you would need to cook a meal + BBQ out by the pool

-laundry on site

-beach gadgets like umbrella, floaties, snorkels, beach toys to be borrowed

-parking that you wouldn't have to pay $25/day for

Just as a side note though, no AC, which is fine by us since it had a couple of fans & windows all around the room to get the breeze going.

It was great to be out of the traffic & congestion that you would normally get in Honolulu especially in the summer & be close to Kailua & Lanakai (our fave!) beaches!

We didn't have to contact Barb a lot but she was very welcoming on the phone & was pleasant to deal with.

We'd stay here again when we come back to Oahu in the future!

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are happy you enjoyed your stay at Honu Haven.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Honolulu International Airport
Car: recommended

Boogie Boarding




Additional information about rental rates

Refundable Key deposit $50
Lanai Cleaning Fee $90
Tax Rate 13.75%

The reservation is refundable upon cancellation at least 30 days prior to arrival, minus a $100 reservation fee. No refunds are made after occupancy has begun. The guest agrees to pay for any damages to the property caused by him, or any member of his party, and agree that any damage incurred will be charged to him and payment will be due upon notification.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.