Condo, 1 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 5
- english, french, german, spanish, portuguese, italian
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Not bad if you are on a budget
This property is really outdated and in need of repair and updates. The property was clean and the management company was very attentive and great. It is central to everything but the pools and pond in the area are not impressive at all.
The main thing we had a problem with is the mattresses. They need to be replaced ASAP. We bought air mattresses. And the one couch in the house is stained and old.
Great family location for traveling with a pet
Management was upfront about some damage to the unit from a prior guest. It was pretty much cosmetic stuff that they were waiting on the contractor to fix, but it was nice they told us ahead of time, and it didn't affect our trip at all. <br />
The location is great if you have a dog. It's maybe 3/4 a mile to a really nice dog park, so we were able to walk our dog in the afternoon after a morning at the public beach with the family.<br />
It was an older unit with some minor negatives - There weren't many outlets in the bedroom, the appliances were maybe a little dated, and the mattress in the master was firmer than we normally prefer. That being said, the price and location were pretty much perfect for us!
Good Price...Clean... but some quirks
We were overall thankful for our accommodations. The staff made sure our room was clean, stocked with “starters” such as soap, dish soap, and linens. We are giving it four stars because of how helpful RealJoy Vacations’ communication was. As soon as the threat of Hurricane Michael became real, they offered immediate refund or rescheduling. We decided to stay in Destin, and thankfully were spared damage.
We were disappointed in the structural upkeep of the property. It is showing its age and past water damage is evident. Tiles are beginning to pop up in main bathroom. It is also evident the owners have tried to remodel. However, baseboards do not reach the flooring which gives the appearance of an incomplete job. Electrical sockets are few and far between in the kitchen, or are in odd places. Electrical socket by the sink is not GCF. The unit is not well lit. While the kitchen had overhead lighting, the main living area had one light from a ceiling fan and a floor lamp. Entry way for the units were not cleared of bugs.
Airport traffic is pretty frequent, but it seemed to stop after 9 PM.
We appreciated the washer and dryer and second bathroom for our family of four. The unit’s back door faced the lake, although blocked by trees, it was a serene back drop. The kitchen table gave us space to play board games and eat our meals. The unit had two TVs with cable, DVD player, and access to Netflix through the Roku Tv in the master bedroom. WiFi was also included and life saver during our hurricane.
The kitchen functioned well for us. The entrance was well lit to the units. We had no issues with bugs or critters. The day bed and sleeper sofa in the living room gave our two children separate sleeping areas and we appreciated that very much. Although not on the water, it was a very short drive to several free beach access points along the coast. There are three small swimming pools on the property in various locations and a beautiful bridge that crosses over the lake.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Gulf Terrace. If you are on a budget and don’t mind being off the gulf, and are not concerned with cosmetic issues, sharing space with residents and other guests this place would work for you.
Hi Carey, thank you for your feedback regarding this lovely condo. We are glad to see that you enjoyed the three pools on the property, and the serene backdrop from the balcony. Also, thank you for staying during Hurricane Michael, we were so fortunate to not be affected from it. We appreciate your information on the upkeep of the property, and will forward this information to our Operations Team to have them access. Again, thank you for your input and choosing RealJoy for your stay.
Great location and nice stay!
Great location and nice stay!
Not that good
The ac was not working when we got there
The sofa bed was the most uncomfortable bed ever the springs were coming out of the mattress the kids ended up sleeping on the floor
The only reason I gave them two stars it was because it was close to the beach
Hi Adalberto, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your stay. We’re glad that you enjoyed the easy beach access and we hope you got to enjoy some of the activities included with your Fun Pass. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced here. We did some checking and found that a technician was sent the same day you called and found that the breaker was tripped, and AC was working as normal. We couldn’t find where you had contacted us regarding any other issues, giving us an opportunity to correct them during your stay. Again, thank you for your feedback.
Nice place, great location.
Nice accommodations. Nothing fancy but great location. Close to everything you would want to do.
Hi Sarah, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your stay. We’re pleased to hear you enjoyed the location of this unit and found the accommodations nice. We hope you enjoyed some of the activities included with your Fun Pass also! Thank you again for your feedback and thank you for staying with Real Joy!