Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Guanajuato's Best 5-Star Value & Bargain House

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 14 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

See why we're Guanajuato's best value and bargain price. We have a special rate for April - September: US$267 per week and US$577 per month. If you are a couple, we have a special rate at our associated apartments for April - September: US$197 per week, US$527 per month! See these VRBO listings: https://www.vrbo.com/997610, https://www.vrbo.com/997765, https://www.vrbo.com/997773 Contact us immediately for these special rates!

The Alhóndiga House is located on the Callejón Gritería near the historic Alhóndiga museum, close to restaurants, stores, and the central plazas of Guanajuato. It's just a 10 minute walk to get to the central bus stop, or to the big super market, and a 15 minute walk to the main plaza (Jardín de La Unión) and the University.

The Alhóndiga house has living and dining rooms, kitchen, 2 bedrooms (1 full bed and two twin beds,) and 1 bath. It features a front patio (very rare in Guanajuato) with two large citrus trees. From the roof terrace, you can enjoy the view of the Alhóndiga museum, the Valenciana cathedral, and the Mina de Cata.

The Alhóndiga House is fully furnished, and decorated in Mexican style. Furnishings include bed linens, towels, dishes, cookware, coffee maker, microwave, TV, stove, refrigerator, washing machine, a safe for your small valuables, and filtered drinking water. Cable TV, and fiber optic Internet and wireless.

Please note that we cannot accept arrivals after 7:00 PM. Please make sure your flights arrive by 5:30 PM and your bus arrivals are by 6:30 PM before reserving this house.

More Details

Owner
Mike and Ana Anderson
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english, french, spanish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
January 6, 2018

About Mike and Ana Anderson

We are a Americans living in Guanajuato since 1992. Mike manages the vacation rental houses and apts., and does travel writing about Mexico, Guatemala and elsewhere in the world. Ana keeps Mike on good behavior.

Why Mike and Ana Anderson chose Zona Centro

Our vacation rental houses and apartments are simply the best quality for the price in Guanajuato.

Amenities

Zona Centro House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Monument View
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
  • Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • photography
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

87% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
12% Complete
Guanajuato's Best 5-Star Value & Bargain House
average rating of 4.5 based on 8 reviews
1

not what we were expecting

  • 1 of 5

The house is okay, it's location is terrible. Because it is referred to as the "Alhondiga House", our impression was that it would be near the Alhondiga, but it isn't. Perhaps half a mile away and further from the historic and interesting part of the city. It is on the north side, and located on a steep and difficult and dirty "callejon" or alleyway, that you must hike to everywhere. You must carefully watch every step you take in order not to take a fall, or step in dog feces or trash. We originally intended to stay for 6 weeks, but left after 2 weeks. Not recommended.

  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It's disheartening to receive a dishonest review. Susan and Mai left the Alhóndiga house because, in their exact words, "Things have come up at home that need attending to." In the middle of their stay, they left and asked for a refund to return back-home to attend to personal problems. At that point, we had no chance of re-renting the house, we had already turned-away other reservation requests, and didn't see why we should incur a big financial loss because of their personal back-home problems. We refused the refund (while offering a 50% credit) and their attitude changed to "terrible" afterward. Now the 5 minute walk from the house to the museum became a dangerous obstacle course. This is the same alleyway walked by hundreds of Mexicans each day, and by hundreds of our guests over the last 8 years. And when Susan and Mai left, they did not move to a better location in Guanajuato, but did indeed return back-home to their personal problems. I hate giving bad reviews to any guest, thinking that in different circumstances, their behavior might also have been different. However, dishonest reviews deserve a response. A fair and honest review would have been a simple, 'we left early, the owner wouldn't refund our rent, and we're upset about that.'
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Place to Stay

  • 5 of 5

The house has everything you need and Mike is a great, attentive host. The location is good, only a 10 to 15 minute walk to almost everything. Guanajuato is a beautiful city and there's something going on every day (and night). The only caution is that you must be reasonably fit to stay in the city and especially this house as the streets are steep. I certainly am more fit than when I came!

  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Nice roomy place with a great view of the city

  • 5 of 5

This was a great place to spend a month and see the sites. It has fiber optic cable and WiFi and It is close to city center, all of the local bus lines and one of the big grocery stores. You will get your hiking in if you stay here but it is worth it.

  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2016
  • Stayed: November 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
British Co,umbia, Canada
5

A month in Guanajuato

  • 5 of 5

I loved my stay at Alhondiga House. It was clean and well maintained. The private terrace had a great view and got the first morning sunlight which was welcome on a nippy Jan. morning. The neighbors were friendly and the area was quiet. It was about a 10 min walk to the town center. The owners were always available and helpful.

  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2013
  • Stayed: January 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

We Loved Our Stay At Alhondiga House

  • 5 of 5

This little house has everything you need for a great time in the unique city of Guanajuato. The location is convenient to the historic center and all it has to offer. We found the house fully equipped with everything we needed, and we felt comfortable & secure there. We loved the climb up the winding alley to reach our home. The neighborhood is quiet, the neighbors are friendly. We highly recommend this delightful property to anyone who wants to really get a good feel for Guanajuato.

  • Submitted: May 1, 2012
  • Stayed: April 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Sunshine Coast, British Columbia, Canada
5

Fantastic Stay in Beautiful Guanajuato

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed for the month of October in the Alhondiga House to take in the international Cerventino Festival . The house was clean, well-appointed and well-maintained and was even better than the online photos. We loved sitting on the rooftop with a coffee or glass of wine to enjoy the great view. Although the house is only a short walk to all of the action in the historic center, we found it to be surprisingly private and quiet -- it provided a wonderful respite from the crowds and bustle of the festival. The owners were very helpful when needed but also gave us the privacy we craved. We would recommend this place to friends and family, and plan to stay here again the next time we come to the city.

  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2012
  • Stayed: October 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Car: not necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $50

Two person only apt. special: April - September USD$187 per week, USD$527 per month, with discounts for longer term.
Special house rate for April -September: US$267 per week, US$647 per month.
Standards house rates;
One week: USD$297
2-3 weeks: USD$247 per week
1-3 months: USD$697 per month
4-6 months: USD$647 per month
7-9 months: USD$597 per month
12 months or more: USD$547 per month

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties