Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Great location, Views, Walk to Ski, Golf, Zoo, Forest

Bedrooms 4
Space 1,300 sq ft
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Condo, 4 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 12)

Actually have two 4 BRs just steps from each other (very similar)

It is hard to believe all these activities are at your disposal and many are within walking distance. There is an unobstructed, indescribable view of Big Bear Mountain Ski Resort and the surrounding mountains.

You can relax on the deck watching the birds and squirrels play in the pondaosa pine trees, or keep an eye on the skiers and snowboarders while enjoying a warm fire or cooking on the BBQ. If you are a skier or snow boarder, you will be sleeping across from one of the best ski ares in Southern California. You may be one of the first skiers on the slopes and return for lunch and nap and head back for more runs in the afternoon. At no extra cost you can catch the tram and ski at Snow Summit free of charge. This is the best winter location in So CA.

Two 4 BR chalets next to each other very similar Mountain views living is larger and cost a little more.

Also have 6BR VRBO #149392 sleeps 15 in beds and a 2 BR VRBO # 151424 sleeps 6 in beds.

If you would like to see my other listings: go to Owner Information Section at bottom of page and click on ALL MY RENTAL LISTINGS

Keywords: top,floor above garages, no connecting walls you are the king/queen.

More Details

Rich Pariseau
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 22, 2018

About Rich Pariseau

I have been the owner for over 30 years. Just fell in love with Big Bear years ago and just can't seem to let go. Taught school in Huntington Beach for many years and enjoyed working and playing in Big Bear in my spare time.

Rich Pariseau purchased this condo in 1975

Why Rich Pariseau chose Moonridge

Great location, walk to: ski, golf, hiking, and biking. Great views! This is the best winter location in So CA

What makes this condo unique

Oh! what a view and try our hot tub


Moonridge Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1300 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Golf Course Front
  • Golf Course View ...
  • Lakefront
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Ski-In ...
  • Ski-Out ...
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • Both bath are full baths
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 1 bunk bed
    Bedroom 4 - 2 double , 1 bunk bed
  • Sleeps total of 12 all in bedrooms and in beds
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Balcony
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Best winter location in SO CA, just steps to Bear and snow board park. Spring, Summer , Fall rates are hard to beat.


Good! 3.9/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

50% Complete
30% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
20% Complete
Great location, Views, Walk to Ski, Golf, Zoo, Forest
average rating of 3.9 based on 10 reviews

Awesome house and location and really can sleep 10-12!

  • 5 of 5

I highly recommend. Quiet community and an awesome house!

  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Amazing location, some great features, but expensive for what you get/have to supply yourself

  • 4 of 5

Amazing location! You can see the skiers from the front window. The lodge is literally right across the street.

The cabin is complete with a fridge, microwave, outdoor grill (propane included), oven (oven is very old; we had problems lighting the stove top), fireplace (bring your own firewood), dishwasher, coffee maker, and central heat that worked fine. The kitchen is well stocked with pots, pans and spatulas. There are only enough utensils for 12 people (bring plastic utensils if you don't want to wash dishes after each meal).

You get access to a nice, outdoor spa and a coin-operated washer/dryer, which are shared with the other renters on location (not sure the # of other people).

It is spacious/great for accommodating 12 people. There are enough towels, blankets and pillows.


The beds and pillows are hard as rocks, and the blankets are very old and scratchy, so consider bringing your own. The couch is broken, but usable.

Everything in the cabin is very old.

There is one (box) tv that has extremely spotty cable. The internet service was also extremely spotty.

The driveway is exceptionally steep, which is really dangerous in the winter. When we arrived, it hadn't been shoveled or salted. Our cars couldn't make it up the driveway. This also made carrying our luggage and ski gear up and down really challenging. Additionally, there are stairs at the top of the driveway, up to the cabin, that were covered in snow/ice, and the handrail was icy. Very dangerous and frustrating. However, notably, the staircase was shoveled the next day.

You have to bring your own tp, paper towels, trash bags, and soap for the bathrooms, which is NOT in-line with VRBO's "home away from home" motto. The owner never confirmed whether dish soap, dishwasher soap and a sponge would be provided, so we had to bring our own. These 3 things ended up being in the kitchen, but may have been left by the previous renters. Additionally, while there is plenty of available parking, you only get 3 spots, and will be charged $20/day for any additional vehicles. For the price you pay for this place, we were VERY disappointed with how cheap & distasteful this all was.

The cabin runs out of hot water quickly. After 3 people showered, it took an hour for the water to heat back up.

I had a lot of issues communicating with the owner leading up to our stay, which left us scrambling at the last minute to buy/pack all of the items we hadn't expected we would need.

  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location, wonderful views, perfect for families with kids!

  • 4 of 5

The condo was very clean. There were four bedrooms, two with queen beds and two with a double and bunk beds. The driveway if very steep, so plan in driving up quickly to make it up the slope, especially after snow or rain. Heater worked great. You do need to go and dump the trash about a mile away. Reason for four stars, the condo needs a complete update. There are stickers advising to save water, however everything needs to be updated to conserve water. Living room furniture, bedroom furniture, and bathrooms, all need a complete overhaul. That's not really a deal breaker to me, so I would most definitely stay here again. Overall, it was a great place. It was accommodating and exactly what we needed for the time we spent in Big Bear.

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Los Angeles


  • 5 of 5

Our experience at Bear View Chalets was fun in the four bedroom, very comfortable chalet. The cabin ambiance felt earthy and wholesome to the twelve individuals in our group. We shared a large living space with a very clean, well equipped kitchen. Rich, the owner couldn't have been nicer and more accommodating; we felt safe and had ample parking available. It was convenient to have access to a washer and dryer. Due that the chalet is located at the very edge of town, there was an unforgettable woodsy, quiet atmosphere. The National Forest is a very short walk away and so is a nearby zoo. It was interesting to hear the animals at the zoo in the evening from our deck as we barbecued our dinner during our mild temperature nights. The skiing was great during our stay, and our group had a great time together without concern for carpooling and traffic to ski at Big Bear Mountain, which is right across the street from Bear View Chalets. We'll certainly come back.

  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2016
  • Stayed: January 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so happy you enjoyed your stay. Please come back. Rich
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Pasadena, CA

Great location, but what a dump!

  • 1 of 5

You could not ask for a better location, right across the street from Bear Mountain Ski Resort. However, this condo is run-down and shabby. The furniture is old, the brown carpet is ugly and dirty. The pillows and bedding were old and stained, and one pillow even had dried blood stains on it. The major appliances were at least 20 years old. The refrigerator was too warm, with no interior light. The dishwasher and toaster did not work properly. You could not turn on the gas burners on the stove when then oven was on. The television in the bedroom did not work. The wi-fi did not work, despite owner representations that it did. Utensils, dishes, pots and pans were cheap and inadequate. We paid an exorbitant rate the week after Christmas, and the owner did not even provide toilet paper, paper towels, trash bags, bath soap, or a clean kitchen sponge. He also wanted us to haul our trash to the municipal dump two miles away, because he has no trash service. When I asked for return of our security deposit, the owner demurred, saying he had 29 days to return it. I had to file a complaint with VRBO. What a rip-off.

  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2016
  • Stayed: December 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I was not going to comment on the review of this unhappy person although the rest of the occupants seem to enjoy my chalet and gave me the impression not to take her comments to serious.Most of her comment were outrageous and just not true. All the appliances are in working order and if they don't work I do have replacements if requested (toasters and coffee makers) All of the bed linens are washed and all the beds 15+pillows have pillow cases on them. I doubt weather there was blood on a pillow case. We replace the pillows when necessary as we do the furniture. Sorry she does not like my choice of furnishings. The only comment that was brought to my attention was the light bulb in the refer was out and the refer was not cold enough. I came with a bulb, but the sockit was damaged and I could not satisfy her wishes The refer seem to work fine. The freezer was making ice cubes and the side of the refer were cold. When there is 12 people going in and out of the refrigerator it is difficult to keep things as cold as one would like. I suggested to keep the drinks in a cooler one the deck. If she would have mentioned anything was not clean I would have sent someone over to take care of it. The busiest time of the year is between Christmas and New Years. Everything in Big Bear is booked months ahead. All the prices are too much. If you can avoid this time you can save money and avoid the crowds, but if you must go at this time my chalet is the place to be. Transepertation is not necessary to get to the ski slopes as you walk across the street, The wi fi does work most of the time. There is one 32" TV. I never stated the deposits would be refunded until after 29 days. My policy is before 21 days and most of the time after the holidays less then 10. She did tell some truths. My guest are notified in advance they are to bring there own personal items, paper products, trash bags and firewood. Trash is brought to the public dumb site as do most of the rentals in big Bear. The oven is actually 30 years old and has a gas pilot. If the oven is very hot some of the stove burners must be lit with a liter or matches that are provided. She was confined to a wheel chair it may have something to do with her attitude, but i get many handicapped skiers and the Jr Blind come ever year. Oh well you can't please everyone, but I still try. rich
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Perfect Location, Great View

  • 4 of 5

We stayed at this rental for 2 nights and it was perfectly located. Just walk across the street and into Bear Mountain Resort. We had a nice view of the mountain and lifts. It was warm, had ample space for 12 people, and it was perfect for lots of children since the furniture was sturdy. This is a simple and functional rental and it worked out well for us. Our only suggestion is that some paper and basic cleaning products be provided. We found the unit clean, but needed to clean up after cooking meals, etc. It would just make things easier.

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2015
  • Stayed: February 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Snow Summit
A free shuttle is caught just across the street. Your ski ticket is accepted at both Bear M...
Bear Mountain
One of the best snowboard parks in the world. Skiing is great also. i love Siver Mountain ...
Big Bear Lake
Best lake in So CA, many activities
Big Bear Snow Play
Fun for all especially the youngsters
Boulder Bay Park
Very nice views, you will want to take pictures
Alpine Slide at Magic Mountain
Fun and more fun
The Bowling Barn
Big Bear Alpine Zoo
For a small town it is awesome
Village Pizza
If you have the time you will enjoy
Swim Beach
Great family fun
Village Theaters North
Big Bear Discovery Center
Forest service does a nice job teaching about the area and it is free.
Castle Rock Trail
Great trail.. The whole family will enjoy.
Big Bear Mountain Golf Course
Great mountain golf. Well groomed and only one block away. Pretty good food.
Big Bear Discovery Center
Forest service does a nice job teaching about the area and it is free.
Nearest Airport
5 Miles
Big Bear
Nearest Barpub
0.2 Miles
Bear Mtn and Moonridge Golf
Nearest Golf
0.2 Miles
Nearest Train
30 Miles
San Bernadino
Nearest Motorway
2.5 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Bear Mountain Resort
Nearest Ski
0.1 Miles
Bear Mountain
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Big Bear Lake
Car: recommended

This location is great for hikers and mountain bikers.Just two blocks to mountain trails that lead to the top of the mountain. No nwayeed to take a lift up as you are half way there from your chalet.




Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Property Damage Protection $59
booking fee $95 + Tax
Cleaning Fee $165 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.5%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund