check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

PARKING available - Cozy and historic apt in Old San Juan

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
apartment
Sleeps
4
Bedrooms
1
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
3 nights

About the property

Apartment with 1 bedroom and 1 bathroom in the heart of the Colonial City

     Fully air-conditioned one bedroom apartment; accommodates up to four (4) persons. The bedroom has a queen size bed, large dresser and closet. In the living room, there is an L-shaped sofa that converts into two single beds. The living area has TV with cable TV and a dining table that accommodates up to six people. There is a private bathroom that can be accessed from the bedroom and living area. Totally remodeled and stocked with shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and towels. Has full kitchen with refrigerator, stove, microwave, toaster-oven, coffee maker, blender, dishes, glasses, wine glasses, coffee mugs, cutlery, and cooking utensils. It also has four Juliet balconies with views of the historic city. The apartment is equipped with WiFi.

     It has access to a large rooftop terrace, equipped with furniture ideal for sunbathing during the day and enjoying the stars and moon at night. The rooftop terrace is shared with the only other apartment in the building.

    A short walk from the property there are restaurants, pubs, grocery stores, pharmacies, churches, historical monuments, art galleries, hotels, casinos, museums, boutiques, and much more!

More Details

Property Manager
Kim Venegas
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 20, 2017

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(23 traveler reviews)

PARKING available - Cozy and historic apt in Old San Juan
average rating of 4.9130435 based on 23 reviews
4

Amazing location, Fantastic rooftop deck, super comfortable bed

  • 4 of 5

We stayed here as two adults in our 30s for a first time visit in PR. First and foremost- this is the ultimate location hands down! Right in the heart of beautiful Old San Juan. The rooftop deck here is simply amazing- we enjoyed most mornings and nights here! The bed was extremely comfortable. The unit is spacious and decorated well. There are all amenities for cooking and even a cooler for day trips as the grocery store is within close walking distance. Important things to know- the noise outside this unit can get annoying- we rarely get to sleep in and really wanted to enjoy that on vacation. The city employees were yelling in the streets at 7am along with truck sounds of garbage pick up and store deliveries. We live in a City back home and the noise level was fairly intense beginning around 7am each day. If you can't handle stairs-this is not your place. You will go up many flights to get to your unit. If you pay to park with this unit be ready- the spot they tell you to park in is not marked as the paint has worn away. When we first parked someone else was parked in the spot we were to park in and the attendant told us to go to the adjoining sandwich shop (next to the rental) and tell them to move but then the attendant showed us a secondary parking spot the sandwich shop uses. These spots belong to the sandwich shop and you will mention that each time you pull in the garage to the attendant as they will want to park you for a fee. The parking garage is quite the nightmare- do not rent a large vehicle or you won't fit- we paid $500 for damaging our rental car in the tight turns on this garage and bottoming out. But, we were thankful the garage was there as street parking is not easy to find. Some negatives about the unit- more towels should be left for a week stay as our towels were terrible by the last day/ you are showering a ton as you are sweating buckets walking around exploring. There are zero cleaning supplies, this makes cleaning up after cooking difficult- there was one sponge left and that had to be thrown away by day 4. More towels, more kitchen towels, dish cloths, back up garbage bags and dish soap should be at the unit to clean up after yourself. The kitchen sink has issues and needs to be serviced it's very hard to get the water to shut off and needs a new faucet. Similarly the shower handle that controls the shower popped off and was hard to get lined up again and we struggled every time we showered.

  • Submitted: Dec 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry to read this review. I never received a call during their stay, otherwise I would have responded asap. Also I would have known to fix things, this is not the way to find out! I will take care of it asap. For clarification Purpose: We provide 2 bath towels, 1 beach towel, 1 hand towel & 1 wash cloth/guest/week; we believe that in consideration to the environment, this is good enough. We also provide shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, 2 rolls of toilet paper, 1 roll of paper towel, 1 kitchen towel, dish soap and 2 trash bags. There is also broom and mop. From now on we will include some additional cleaning products.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Boulder, Colorado
5

Lovely, Elegant, Comfortable, Convenient, Perfect

  • 5 of 5

This beautiful apartment has everything you could ever need to ensure a magical stay in the heart of historic Old San Juan. Wonderful location near the peaceful Plaza de Armas where they have live jazz on Friday nights. The apt. Has western views of the historic San Juan Cathedral and the opportunity of watching the sunset every evening from the fabulous private rooftop deck area making it feel incredibly special. Many great restaurants nearby, including Meson Restaurant right downstairs that offers delicious coffee and all day breakfast as well as amazing sandwiches on authentic Puerto Rican criollo bread! Yum! The apt was spotlessly clean, had good air conditioning, and lovely touches of interesting artwork and an extremely comfortable bed. I wish I could live here. I hope I'll be able to return soon. Thanks Kim for providing everything I could ever need for my amazing stay here.

  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for this great review! We will be more than glad to have you back so you can re-enjoy Old San Juan and also visit all the great sites Puerto Rico has to offer.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Great apartment

  • 4 of 5

The apartment was clean and updated. Kim was very helpful and responded to text and emails right away. The apartment is on third floor so keep that in mind when packing. Definitely was worth the hike. The only complaint is it's next to Plaza de Armas and it can get noisy at night. I had a couple sleepless night due to the locals playing dominos until 3 am. I would definitely come back to this apartment.

  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are providing ear plugs.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Murrieta, Southern California
5

Great location and apartment!

  • 5 of 5

This apartment was perfect for our two week vacation in Puerto Rico! The very best location. The center of San Juan and walking distance to almost everywhere! Very safe location also because it is surrounded by police for all the nearby government offices. In fact the whole city is very safe. Very good Sandwich place downstairs, drug store, grocery store and lots of fantastic restaurants nearby! The apartment is clean and roomy with everything you need. Great AC and water pressure. A little noisy from the street noise on Friday and Saturday nights so bring some earplugs!! Other than that, we loved the place and would stay there again!

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for this great review :) This apartment is in Prime Location in Old San Juan: 1. It's next to one of the main public squares - Plaza de Armas, 2. It's adjacent to many governmental buildings therefore there's 24 hour security, 3. Walking distance (1-2 blocks) to many shops and restaurants, 4. It's behind the main Cathedral, 5. It's 2 blocks away from the main fort - El Morro 6. And as an added bonus, for those who want to rent a car - has the option of a parking garage. Welcome back anytime!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Fully Immersed...

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I attended a wedding in Carolina Puerto Rico and thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Old San Juan. The apartment was just as pictured. However, the comfort cannot be felt through photos. If you are a traveler and not a tourist, this place is perfect for you. We opted to utilize the parking garage/space (you will definitely enhance your driving and parking skills) and we’re glad that we did. To be able to cook when and if you wanted or, as I did one night, take a 5 minute walk down to the food trucks at midnight and purchase a tripleta (OMG!!!), to be able to walk from the apartment to Castillo San Felipe del Morro and to the Puerta de San Juan, as well as tons of local/more common restaurants/shops, the location couldn’t be beat. The rooftop was the extra treat. At night, that’s where my wife and I enjoyed the night sky and Puerto Rican air with a cold beverage to punctuate our days. We were overjoyed with our stay and have no complaints.

  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank You for this Great Review! :) I'm so glad you got to enjoy all the possibilities, Roof Terrace included! It's also one of my favorites for sunset time. Welcome Back anytime!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Excellent!

  • 5 of 5

Great location! You can walk to everywhere in Old San Juan from here and grab a taxi at the adjacent plaza to get to other areas like Isla Verde, Condado, SJU airport etc...

The apartment is clean and spacious.

I stayed on the third floor so there is some climbing if you get the same unit, and to the rooftop - worth it though!

I highly recommend this apartment building.

  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! We strive to keep the apartment in great condition. The location can't be beat! Close to everything and 24 hour secure area. All this 500 year old structures have high ceilings therefore the stairs from floor to floor are longer than usual but I also consider it worth it. Welcome back anytime!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
8 Miles
Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport
Nearest Barpub
5 Metres
Many options
Nearest Ferry
1 Miles
Bahía Urbana
Nearest Train
5 Miles
Tren Urbano, Estación Sagrado Corazón
Nearest Motorway
7 Miles
Carretera #52
Nearest Restaurant
5 Metres
Many options
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Escambrón
Car: not necessary

The property is located in the historic center of San Juan, Puerto Rico. Walking the streets surrounded by buildings of colonial architecture transports you to the Columbine era. A five minute walk and you reach the two impressive Spanish forts: El Castillo del Morro and Castillo San Cristobal. Also, the streets are full of museums, art galleries and craft shops. For a culinary experience, there is an immense variety of restaurants and pubs.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Catedral Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Winter & High Season 2016/2017
Dec 25 2016 - Mar 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$182
$4,494
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $27 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$128
$3,210
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $27 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $110
Refundable damage deposit $200

PARKING IS AVAILABLE at a rate of $10/night. 7% Room Tax is included in the rate.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Catedral Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 3
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 780 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Near The Ocean
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • - toilet , shower , Sink and medicine cabinet.
  • Totally remodeled with modern facilities.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom - 1 queen
    Living Room - 2 twin/ single , L-shaped sofa convertible into two single beds.
  • Spacious room with high ceilings and wooden beams of the colonial era. Equipped with a Queen bed with direct access to the bathroom. It has air conditioning and a Juliet balcony facing the historic city.
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Porch / Veranda ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • disco club
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties